Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭kirving

CIP4 wrote: »
    Was driving through town the other night late enough and had the window down and some guy shouted at me basically but using not so nice words 'didn't I think I was great showing off driving my dads car' :pac: You'd swear it is an E class Merc I was driving.

In my 20's here and recently bought an E-Class. A bit too old for me to be honest, I'm astonished at the amount of abuse I get over it, can think of a few times I got similar comments to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

In my 20's here and recently bought an E-Class. A bit too old for me to be honest, I'm astonished at the amount of abuse I get over it, can think of a few times I got similar comments to that.

People are too jealous these days.

Its a shocking mentality to have that just because they cannot have the nice cars other people shouldn't either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Is anyone following thhe car throttle series on Myles the Octavia? It's making me want a Mk1 Octavia in a bad way :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Once you like it I wouldn’t let it get to you. I find that if you own the likes of a Merc, Audi, BMW people seem to talk about it a lot more even those not into cars. Like I am often asked about the A4 by people who would have never asked me about my Leon or Megane etc.
    Is anyone following thhe car throttle series on Myles the Octavia? It's making me want a Mk1 Octavia in a bad way :pac:.

I only started watching car throttle videos on YouTube a few months ago. But I actually love the Myles series it’s very good. The mk1 and even early mk2 Octavia really are the definition of cheap reliable motoring they just go and go I know so many people with them. Refinement and creature comforts are non existent but that’s not the point of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The car throttle presenter is a lot less annoying these days? Doesn’t put on the stupid voice now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I still find him fairly insufferable but the content is good.

He did a pretty poor Mitsubishi FTO review, where he didn’t even drive the proper MIVEC model.

Once you like it I wouldn’t let it get to you. I find that if you own the likes of a Merc, Audi, BMW people seem to talk about it a lot more even those not into cars. Like I am often asked about the A4 by people who would have never asked me about my Leon or Megane etc.

I can imagine them dragging the A4 chat out of you :pac:

Augeo wrote: »
    I can imagine them dragging the A4 chat out of you :pac:

Haha I constantly get slagged over the clutch everyone is like how’s the new clutch going :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Looking for recommendations to get an alarm/immobiliser installed in Dublin.
    Have seen MDS mentioned in a few places but is there anyone else I should be talking to?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I only started watching car throttle videos on YouTube a few months ago. But I actually love the Myles series it’s very good. The mk1 and even early mk2 Octavia really are the definition of cheap reliable motoring they just go and go I know so many people with them. Refinement and creature comforts are non existent but that’s not the point of them.

The 1.4 and 1.6 petrol variants are sh1te tbh

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The 1.4 and 1.6 petrol variants are sh1te tbh

Ah who buys them ones though 1.9tdi is where it’s at with them.

Not a paragon of reliability either tbh

Ah FFS.....unless it's Toyota it can't be worth a complement

That's not the case. The first tdi's were very reliable but the newer units were not as good as made out. Head gaskets, and camshaft wear are common enough as well as the crankshaft issues with the bxe which affects a few other variants as well although on a less wider scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Iv an early start tomorrow and just copped that iv feck all petrol so jumped in the car and went into town to get a fill. The rally crowd are still in town, and the sound of rev limiters getting tested and tyres squealing is in the air, along with the smell of rubber. Came out of the station after getting robbed by 90 quid again, to see something that cheered me up. A fella casually getting into his car (an IS200 wouldn't ye know) via his window. Pretty feckin cool, not sure why I hadn't thought of it and everyone doesn't do it. You heard it here first. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Did you do a few rings for the craic? Just to be sociable like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,563 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Round the cone, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Think of how much fun the real life conversations must be...

Someone scuffed the rear door of my car yesterday and drove off while I was parked up in Blanch. Can't pinpoint what time as we were out for a few hours... Jokes on them, I have spare doors at home I can swap over :cool: hope it costs them a bit to put whatever sh*tbox they were driving right! :D

Which also got me thinking I must see if I have an impact/parking knock sensor on the dashcam, it locks the videos if it detects a knock (usually a bump on the road) so my instinct is it must have one for when stationary too

And while I'm rabbiting on about the Avensis, here's a late reg one I saw this morning

453668.png

Late Avensis.png

Attachment not working here. Dying to see it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Attachment not working here. Dying to see it!

I'll spoil it for you: a 10 registered T25 Avensis.

I am so sorry to ruin it for everyone else :(

Fun fact - there were 8 old model petrols and 4 old model diesels that made it till 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Looking at changing my mother's car, looking for something small and auto. So the Jazz/Fit pop up a fair bit along with a Micra and Colt. The cars I'm looking at max 10 years old.

Jazz/Fit seem like it could be a great little car that would suit her down to the ground anything I should be worried about?

Id go with hyundai i10/i20 or Kia Picanto with the torque converter box.

I’d be a little wary of JDM cars for insurance down the line.

Yaris hybrid would be very good if within budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Thanks, Colm, I'll have a look and see what pops up. Expand the budget a little and some low mileage polos come into the equation.

.. Jokes on them, I have spare doors at home I can swap over :cool:

Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭Dartz

Why black is the best colour for cars.

Being laid up waiting for repair has had the worst effect on the RX8.

At least it's mostly on the hidden or lower parts of the car - altough the damaged wheelarch is starting to show some rust too.

So I put a deposit on a "new" car today. It's got 4wd, 250+bhp and room for the dog :)

I'll throw up a picture when I collect it. The e46 was cracking me up.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    So I put a deposit on a "new" car today. It's got 4wd, 250+bhp and room for the dog :)

I'll throw up a picture when I collect it. The e46 was cracking me up.

Do you not only have the E46 like a week :)