Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

They managed to string people along for virtually 2 years, Levy probably spent all the money on his sex robots, a lot of their cheerleaders are pretending like it never happened now, the two faced feckers.

The Spectrum Next cased model is hopefully not too far away now though.

https://www.specnext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1221

Getting Super Excited now. I can't wait to get my Spectrum Next Now. Sir Clive really backed the wrong project although not the first time he got things wrong!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,384 ✭✭✭Doge

Just discovered Megaton Rainfall and it seems like a PSVR game even Retr0gamer would approve of!

It reminds me of Earth Defense Forces except not as linear and you can fly around the earth and space, defending cities from Alien attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Doge wrote: »
    Just discovered Megaton Rainfall and it seems like a Superman game even Retr0gamer would approve of!

Fyp... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Any of you lads have much experience buying from Japan? I've noticed the sellers are fairly competitive and the games don't seem to be as scarce either. I've seen 3-4 copies of a game all priced the same whereas PAL versions on eBay there'd be 3-4 copies in total. Shipping rates are feck all too. Don't mind waiting 2-3 weeks. Just looking at picking up the odd game. Mainly rail shooters or fighters.

If it’s rail shooters or fighters you’re after then the language barrier shouldn’t be a problem. Just make sure your console can play the games and isn’t region locked. Or you’ve got a modchip or whatever. I’ve sourced most of my games from Japan because they’re usually much cheaper in general and nearly always in fantastic condition.

Drunken Atavan time. Unless you’ve seen a drag queen perform to this song you haven’t lived, because men are trash.

This has been your public service announcement.

Lots of love, me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Inviere

Drunken Atavan time

Also known as, Sunday morning for us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Do any of ye use any 3rd party sites to order from Yahoo auctions? Have a few PS1 games that need to be picked up

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Burzum wrote: »
    Right guys i'm stuck for space and cant decide what to keep, the amstrad cpc464 or the atari st 520stfm, enjoy both of them but cant choose which to part with.
    I like both equally, which is the more powerful of the two, i'm leaning towards the ST since its boxed but hard to make a decision.
    Go with the ST !

Inviere wrote: »
    Also known as, Sunday morning for us :D

Pssh. It’s 5pm somewhere in the world. So there for acceptable to be drinking rum and listening to crappy country music.

Rum and country music? An eclectic choice Sir Halen. When drinking rum, this is what you should be listening to

Do any of ye use any 3rd party sites to order from Yahoo auctions? Have a few PS1 games that need to be picked up

You could try buyee.jp (haven’t veriefied myself) or send a very nice mail to the seller to ask for intl. shipping.

Rum and country music? An eclectic choice Sir Halen. When drinking rum, this is what you should be listening to

Haha, no you really need some Shania Twain to ease the pain.

Who’s bed have your boots been under Inviere? (If that is your real name) please tell us.

Unrelated, but y’all should really follow my cat on instagram. He’s very handsome and his content is lit.

https://instagram.com/p/Bi9gWuZn3Js/

Who’s bed have your boots been under Inviere? (If that is your real name) please tell us.

My boots are made for walking. Sincerely, MyrddinEnterNowInviere.

Touché whateveryournameis, touché :pac:

29kuwip.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,750 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I have definitely missed Drunken Atavan around here, a cornerstone of the forum!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I have definitely missed Drunken Atavan around here, a cornerstone of the forum!

Aw hun, you only need to holler and I’ll be here with a bottle of vodka and sassy comments.

Xoxo gossip girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭eric90000

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Yep, KV-21LS30B. Great little TV she is, colours just pop.

Do you know what the difference is between the LS30B and the LS35B line of Sony Trinitrons? Looks like they have the same FE-2 chassis, just not sure of any other differences. Think I'm about to snatch a KV-29LS35B....

Official NeoGeo mini presentation, 40 games with differences per region

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdINRIwjmwI

Neo Geo Mini Japanese version:
    Aggressors of Dark Kombat
    Alpha Mission II
    Art of Fighting
    Blazing Star
    Burning Fight
    Cyber-Lip
    Fatal Fury Special
    Garou: Mark of the Wolves
    King of Monsters 2
    Kizuna Encounter: Super Tag Battle
    Metal Slug
    Metal Slug 2
    Metal Slug 3
    Ninja Commando
    Ninja Master’s: Haou Ninpou Chou
    Puzzled
    Real Bout Fatal Fury 2: The Newcomers
    Real Bout: Fatal Fury
    Samurai Shodown II
    Samurai Shodown IV: Amakusa’s Revenge
    Samurai Shodown V Special
    Sengoku 3
    Shock Troopers: 2nd Squad
    Super Sidekicks
    The King of Fighters ’94
    The King of Fighters ’95
    The King of Fighters ’96
    The King of Fighters ’97
    The King of Fighters ’98
    The King of Fighters ’99
    The King of Fighters 2000
    The King of Fighters 2001
    The King of Fighters 2002
    The King of Fighters 2003
    The Last Blade
    The Last Blade 2
    Top Hunter: Roddy & Cathy
    Top Player’s Golf
    Twinkle Star Sprites
    World Heroes Perfect

Neo Geo Mini International:
    3 Count Bout
    Art of Fighting
    Blazing Star
    Blue’s Journey
    Crossed Swords
    Fatal Fury Special
    Foot Ball Frenzy
    Ghost Pilots
    King of the Monsters
    King of the Monsters 2
    Last Resort
    Magician Lord
    Metal Slug
    Metal Slug 2
    Metal Slug 3
    Metal Slug 4
    Metal Slug 5
    Metal Slug X
    Mutation Nation
    Puzzled
    Robo Army
    Samurai Shodown II
    Sengoku 3
    Shock Troopers
    Super Sidekicks
    The King of Fighters ’95
    The King of Fighters ’97
    The King of Fighters ’98
    The Last Blade 2
    Top Player’s Golf
    World Heroes Perfect

Better line up on international version imho with last resort. all the slugs, mutation nation and shock troopers. Undecided yet but if I do pick one up it'll be the Japanese version becasue its looks a lot better and I'am sure itll be ahem 'fixed' to play whatever games you want.

I think I want the Neo Geo Mini. I have a feeling I'll be unpleasantly surprised by the price though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,384 ✭✭✭Doge

A bit of controversy surrounding the Atari VCS cobsole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,806 ✭✭✭iamtony

Official NeoGeo mini presentation, 40 games with differences per region

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdINRIwjmwI

Neo Geo Mini Japanese version:
    Aggressors of Dark Kombat
    Alpha Mission II
    Art of Fighting
    Blazing Star
    Burning Fight
    Cyber-Lip
    Fatal Fury Special
    King of Monsters 2
    Metal Slug
    Metal Slug 2
    Metal Slug 3
    Ninja Commando
    Puzzled
    Real Bout Fatal Fury 2: The Newcomers
    Samurai Shodown II
    Sengoku 3
    Super Sidekicks
    The King of Fighters ’94
    The King of Fighters ’95
    The King of Fighters ’96
    The King of Fighters ’97
    The King of Fighters ’98
    The King of Fighters ’99
    The King of Fighters 2001
    The King of Fighters 2003
    The Last Blade
    The Last Blade 2
    Top Hunter: Roddy & Cathy
    Top Player’s Golf
    Twinkle Star Sprites
    World Heroes Perfect

Neo Geo Mini International:
    3 Count Bout
    Art of Fighting
    Blazing Star
    Blue’s Journey
    Crossed Swords
    Fatal Fury Special
    Foot Ball Frenzy
    Ghost Pilots
    King of the Monsters
    King of the Monsters 2
    Last Resort
    Magician Lord
    Metal Slug
    Metal Slug 2
    Metal Slug 3
    Metal Slug 4
    Metal Slug 5
    Metal Slug X
    Mutation Nation
    Puzzled
    Robo Army
    Samurai Shodown II
    Sengoku 3
    Shock Troopers
    Super Sidekicks
    The King of Fighters ’95
    The King of Fighters ’97
    The King of Fighters ’98
    The Last Blade 2
    Top Player’s Golf
    World Heroes Perfect

Better line up on international version imho with last resort. all the slugs, mutation nation and shock troopers. Undecided yet but if I do pick one up it'll be the Japanese version becasue its looks a lot better and I'am sure itll be ahem 'fixed' to play whatever games you want.

It looks freaking awesome but is that his real voice on the presentation? I though it was dubber till I lip read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭wheresmahbombs

Doge wrote: »
    A bit of controversy surrounding the Atari VCS cobsole.

Couldn't care less about the system anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,396 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

International game list is better, but only just.

Jap version has Alpha Mission II, Twinkle Star Sprites and The Last Blade over it. (Can't believe they only included The Last Blade 2 on the Int version)

Also, where the **** is Puzzle Bobble?!

Anyone see the following video? The Japanese version looks miles better. International one doesn't really look like it knows what it wants to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I still don't get why they didn't just do a mini AES with HDMI out and one of those nice control pads.

The tiny stick and GBA SP sized screen are just awful looking.

Yeah Japanese version looks far nicer.. Who needs so many kof though.. It'll be hacked in no time anyways making the gameslist irrelevant. Not hearing great things about the controllers though, hands on impressions say they feel cheap.

DinoRex wrote: »
    I still don't get why they didn't just do a mini AES with HDMI out and one of those nice control pads.

The tiny stick and GBA SP sized screen are just awful looking.

Definitely, I'd have been interested in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

The AES is such a pretty console but half that is the finish. I don't know if they'd be able to do a mini version that does it justice?

This looks like an effective novelty product to put on store shelves. There isn't a huge shared nostalgia for the AES because nobody here had them back in the day but they'd probably find the mini arcade machine appealing. There's no way I'm going to want to play these games on a 7" lcd screen for more than 10 minutes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,750 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

So, time to pick up a NeoGeo X, strip it out and install a dedicated NeoGeo image on a RPi inside.
    Better than that thing.
    I would imagine it must be licencing but there isn't Neo Turf Masters or Neo Drift Out.
    I wonder if this will be a device that can be hacked... we shall see!

And no Street Hoop. I'd say it'll be moddable alright. It's easily connectable to a pc and there's onboard memory.
    Although to be honest I'm only saying that to convince myself it's true