Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Browney7 wrote: »
    It's a funny one - Clare were the width of the base of the post from being nearly knocked out and then went and won by two so there is very fine margins in games this year. It's a good sign of a team's attitude that they stick with it and keep close even when not playing well.

As a Limerick fan I'd have us marginal favourites in a neutral venue but that bear pit in Ennis will make it red hot on Sunday. Lynch and Kelly at midfield could give exhibitions of hurling.

From watching this Clare team for the last fewyears, they seem like a streaky team where they could hit ten unbelievable scores one day and the same ten would be awful wides on another!

I think you can see that Limerick will be red hot favourites. The job ye done on Waterford has really caught the eye. However, those who know Limerick have been here before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Yeah, Conlon's catch, shoulder, pass combination was a delicious 2 seconds of hurling so too was SOD's diving possession win and Duggans belter of a point at the end.

I will say this though, it's a big difference when the management play with 6 forwards. We were able to hassle and harry the Tipp backs from the start. In the Davy years post '13, we were pretty much in the exact same position, down a couple of points against Cork in 2015 and Galway in 2016 and the game just peetered out for us. That was mainly in my opinion due to Davy's stubborness to keep the sweeper and let O'Donnell run after 4 backs on his own. The Galvin goal we got yesterday.. like there's no way even in a blue moon we would have scored that goal when we needed one in the '15 and '16 games we were knocked out in. When Podge was running through he had Galvin on his shoulder and SOD and Corry in front. At least the team were allowed go for it yesterday, even though we didnt play well as a whole over the 70mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Keano wrote: »
    I think you can see that Limerick will be red hot favourites. The job ye done on Waterford has really caught the eye. However, those who know Limerick have been here before.

Clare 6/5, Limerick 10/11 - red hot favourites they are not! Could easily see a draw

At the end of the day, Clare and Limerick have only beaten the two eliminated teams with the consensus being those teams had poor years. Sunday will tell a lot more

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Great win yesterday, I don't think it's much of an exaggeration to say if Clare lost that it could have been the end of this team. With a bit of sharpening we'd be the best team in the country but our first touch and shooting was diabolical, Kelly had 3 extremely bad wides in the first half.

Love this score!

XcZK9g.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭irelandrover

letowski wrote: »
    Love this score!

32qjq4.gif

I love everything about that score.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I love everything about that score.

Could you imagine if it went wide, he might as well have hit the ball down on the 21 himself, some score though.

1 of the big pluses for me was Duggan and Kelly not disappearing after the bad wides in the first half (Duggan from the 65), not too long ago they would have disappeared into themselves but they kept trying.

Looking at the draw,

If Clare finish third, they'll be up against the Joe McDonagh winners and then Galway/Kilkenny
    If they lose the Munster final, they'll be up against Wexford/Joe McDonagh runners up
    If they win the Munster final, open draw in AI semi final.

There's almost a month's break for the provincial winners and their next game, that's an awful break this time of year.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Browney7 wrote: »
    Clare 6/5, Limerick 10/11 - red hot favourites they are not! Could easily see a draw

At the end of the day, Clare and Limerick have only beaten the two eliminated teams with the consensus being those teams had poor years. Sunday will tell a lot more
    The bookies will never get burnt but the pundits will all be backing Limerick. Not many will give Clare a shout as we were so bad for a lot of the game yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Clare at home in Cusack Park will be extremely hard to beat, the place will be a cauldron on Sunday. The buzz is back now in the county and i can see Clare on fire this Sunday. Its gonna be the atmosphere of the summer.

Warper wrote: »
    Clare at home in Cusack Park will be extremely hard to beat, the place will be a cauldron on Sunday. The buzz is back now in the county and i can see Clare on fire this Sunday. Its gonna be the atmosphere of the summer.

It should be great, I just realised I haven't gotten tickets yet, oops, hopefully they'll "find" more to release near the end of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Keano wrote: »
    The bookies will never get burnt but the pundits will all be backing Limerick. Not many will give Clare a shout as we were so bad for a lot of the game yesterday.

Ah! yes. Is it worth while for Clare to turn up at all for the game :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭C__MC

The limerick story is great, I seen them last year in Thurles against Clare and they looked very ordinary. My worry for them is hype. I was at the 2007 final and it was over after 20mins. In 2013- they just fell to weight of pressure in the semi. This weekend is a real good test to see where they are at.

As Davy Fitzgerald said last week, it will be a new competition in a few weeks. The games in Munster have been unreal but in the all Ireland series I’d expect it to be more cautious due to what’s at stake.

It’s set up for Galway but nothing is certain. I wouldn’t take the Leinster final as a certiny either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Any advice about parking for next sunday? I heard people were ticketed by the boys in blue for a few league games. Coming up from limerick. Thinking about parking out the tulla road somewhere in roslevan and walking in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

pajoguy wrote: »
    Any advice about parking for next sunday? I heard people were ticketed by the boys in blue for a few league games. Coming up from limerick. Thinking about parking out the tulla road somewhere in roslevan and walking in?
    The mart would be handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,051 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The mart would be handy.

https://goo.gl/maps/WdLEX6wSEy52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭finbarrk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Clareman wrote: »
    Could you imagine if it went wide, he might as well have hit the ball down on the 21 himself, some score though.

1 of the big pluses for me was Duggan and Kelly not disappearing after the bad wides in the first half (Duggan from the 65), not too long ago they would have disappeared into themselves but they kept trying.

Or like earlier this Year Management would have taken Duggan off the frees or told Tony to stop shooting, or Worse taken Duggan off :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Also in regards to parking, it'll depend on the entrance you are assigned (even tho it's all the same really) but some tickets are for entrance via the Cloister Bar (beside the Garda Barracks) if you are entering here it's just as easy park out by the schools, up towards the Fair Green or (not yet confirmed) but in the Co. Co. offices as the walk is roughly the same distance either way

If you are crazy early this may help, but since there is a Minor game first, and 2 other Clare games on in the town, It's more realistic to expect people to be walking in from the Tulla rd., Quin rd. business park, From the West County and in the Lahinch rd.

And given a recent incident I'd expect the boys in blue to be ticketing and lifting any stupid parking creating EMS access issues

12-11-a9hro-jokic.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭supernova5

As regards the Munster minor championship permutations, would I be correct in saying that a Clare win against Limerick [even if its only by 1 point] and a Cork victory over Waterford would actually set up a Clare-Tipp final?

supernova5 wrote: »
    As regards the Munster minor championship permutations, would I be correct in saying that a Clare win against Limerick [even if its only by 1 point] and a Cork victory over Waterford would actually set up a Clare-Tipp final?

munster-mhc-table.png
    That's the table at the moment, if Clare win that's Clare, Tipp and Limerick on 4 points so scoring difference will come into it, as Clare will have at least +2 and Limerick will have at best 0 so that's Clare above Limerick. If Waterford win (or draw) they'll have more than 4 points so they'll be guaranteed a final place, if Cork win they'll have to have a major score to trouble Limerick or Clare on 4 points.

So by my reckoninn

Clare and Cork win, Clare/Tipp final
    Clare and Waterford win, Clare need to win by 14+ to get to the final against Waterford
    Limerick and Waterford win, Limerick/Waterford final
    Limerick and Cork win, Limerick/Tipp final.

I make it Tipp at +12 and Cork at -12,
    Clare at +1 are 11 points worse off than Tipp so that would mean a Clare win by 12 points over Limerick would suffice [provided Waterford win] Cork are about 95% out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Hurling Rankings

The big thing Limerick has is Paul Kinnerk, Limerick are finishing games extremely well and even when down a man they don't seem to fade. It's going to be awful close on Sunday, it's been a while since any team got 2 in a row in championship games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Clareman wrote: »
    The big thing Limerick has is Paul Kinnerk, Limerick are finishing games extremely well and even when down a man they don't seem to fade. It's going to be awful close on Sunday, it's been a while since any team got 2 in a row in championship games

Id also give huge credit to O connor for the S and C. Clare are goung for 3 in a row I believe. Both teams seem to have stepped up from last year. Limericks progress is a bit more obvious as we were coming from a low ebb. I dont think it will be a shoot out. Both teams do hit a lot of wides at times so that might keep it tight .

Good post Hurling Rankings.

I will say this about the current Limerick team. Ye have a core group of young players there that have tonnes of talent and can develop and bring success to the county. One of the big things your team has is good appetite and workrate which is cruical. That's very exciting for Limerick supporters and Kiely looks like the right man for the job too. The team shouldnt be effected by hype as much as the '07 or '13 teams though, both of those teams came from pretty much nowhere previously (ok the treble u21 champs was good but Limerick never properly kicked at senior level) while this current crop has been built of continual underage success. This year we are seeing Limerick transition that success to senior level.

just viewed the Tipp/Clare game on RTE player, my observation is that Clare were extremely poor and if they repeated the first half showing on Sunday Limerick will simply annihilate them.

supernova5 wrote: »
    just viewed the Tipp/Clare game on RTE player, my observation is that Clare were extremely poor and if they repeated the first half showing on Sunday Limerick will simply annihilate them.

Take the last 10 minutes out of each half and we were terrible, but won so onwards and upwards. Thinking of the match last week, very similar to the Cork game where were were in the mix going into the last few minutes except Cork got the goal and Clare didn't.

I think the big pitch will suit Clare more than Limerick on Sunday and we can't be as bad at shooting from distance again (can we???) so I think Clare should win

yes, I would much prefer my team to perform badly and win than play fantastic and lose,
    its a great way to get a win, essentially a smash-and-grab [horrible way to lose]
    any team that can get their true purple patch in the last 5/10 minutes of a game stand a great chance of victory

Clareman, - can you name all the other players outside the 26 on the extended Clare panel?

any word on Shanagher's progress?

Shanagher is back training, but probably a good bit off match fitness and sharpness. Would be a great impact sub though in the later rounds!