Irish debate enders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I could agree with you .... but then we'd both be wrong >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> BOOOOOM!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Go fcuk yourself usually does it

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Go fcuk yourself usually does it

ah sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭evil_seed

greencap wrote: »
    Anyone else notice these little phrases that pop up in Irish arguments, and automatically make you right, no matter what.

Like 'cop on' or 'you must be great craic on a night out' or 'good lad'.

How do they work?

It's like you could say 'no, water is not dry' and then all the other person has to say is 'yeah, good lad' and they auto-win. Even though wrong, they become right.

What is this trickery?

It's because people don't like to be told they are wrong. Even if they know they're wrong. They hate to be dictated to of another opinion that's different to their own. They can't think beyond their own reasoning so you are wrong in their eyes and then there's no point arguing with you as they will lose so they throw this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

PICS OR GTFO

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Gimmie me ball, I'm going home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Nope you’re wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

"You have been infracted for personal abuse"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

Ok, I'll let you go.

"Having read this thread I've changed my view. It's a complete utter disgrace that the rest of you sheep have seen the great deception!!....
    This one of the last morsels of personal wisdom I shall impart on this thread...I kid you not!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,809 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

And your point is...?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

West-Brit
    Godwin
    Shinnerbot
    xenophobic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Snotty

*you're

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

You don't know what you're talking about.

Yez are all a bunch of incorrigible delinquents. You'll all be the worse off without my enlightened presence here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

West-Brit
    Godwin
    Shinnerbot
    xenophobic

Godwin in particular has been flogged to death. It had a very specific purpose: to prevent hyperbolic comparisons to the nazis in discussions where they aren't relevant.
    Instead it reached the point where you could be having a discussion about political economy in 20th century Europe and some smart-arse would tell you you'd Godwinned the thread if you mentioned Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    West-Brit
    Godwin
    Shinnerbot
    xenophobic

Godwin in particular has been flogged to death. It had a very specific purpose: to prevent hyperbolic comparisons to the nazis in discussions where they aren't relevant.
    Instead it reached the point where you could be having a discussion about political economy in 20th century Europe and some smart-arse would tell you you'd Godwinned the thread if you mentioned Hitler.
    You just godwinned the thread.

Speaking of which, on topic:

/Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Birneybau wrote: »
    Do one

Jeremy Kyle says that a lot :P

Yez are all viewing everything at The Cool Vantage Point and doing nothing about it ;( !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Mod: This thread has been closed in After Hours and moved to the Politics Cafe as the topic is more suited for discussion in the PC.

I am not allowed discuss …

In light of recent events, "backward old culchie" is now high on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,505 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Sure look, that's it.
    HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Originally Posted by riffmongous View Post
    Sure lookit, that's it.
    FYP

Sure, lookit, isn't that it?

Sure, lookit, that's it now and no more about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭PapaOscar

Racist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Liberal.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I actually haven't read the article but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,786 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I like cake

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭fergus1001

that's it yeah gud lad yeah gluck gluck gluck gluck ...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

a friend of mine had a great one;

"you can take it or leave it after that"

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Has 'blast then with piss' been done yet?