Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish debate enders.

• 10-06-2018 1:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭

Anyone else notice these little phrases that pop up in Irish arguments, and automatically make you right, no matter what.

Like 'cop on' or 'you must be great craic on a night out' or 'good lad'.

How do they work?

It's like you could say 'no, water is not dry' and then all the other person has to say is 'yeah, good lad' and they auto-win. Even though wrong, they become right.

What is this trickery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Ah ya know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Jog on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Sure look, that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

greencap wrote: »
    What is this trickery?

Ask your ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Do one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Birneybau wrote: »
    Do one

That's a Brit term .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

..because that's the why!

..because your face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

/end thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,081 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Ask your ma.

no u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Strawman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,615 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Nazi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yore Ma (the ban was lifted on that, wasn't it?)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

They haven't won, they are signaling their opinion isn't worth listening to and to disregard whatever they've said. So in effect the listenee wins by default!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

I know you are, but what am I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

It's my ball and my rules.

This is when a penalty decision goes the way of the ball owner even if the alleged foul was at the other end of the pitch. Nothing trumps it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

That’s the problem.
    Argument winners.
    There are no winners in arguments.
    Work on your communication skills if you find yourself argueing a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Snowflake. SJW. Edgy. Triggered. Patriarchy. Feminazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Don’t worry about it OP it’s just the local versions of the common Americanism.

We have : “you must be great craic on a night out
    They have: “you think grass is green? You racist misogynist homophobe! I’m triggered!”

We have: “cop on”
    They have: “snowflake libtard cuck”

Ours seems less aggressive somehow, in a classically couldn’t be arsed irish way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

800 years of oppression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'West Brit'

"Because it says so in the book!" (doesn't matter which book though)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Do one

What does that even mean? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Ask your ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Tell it to the back of me bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Hyperbole is a word much loved and used by those who wish to appear knowledgeable on boards.

I never ever hear it used anywhere else.

Rennaws wrote: »
    I never ever hear it used anywhere else.

Never? Don't be so hyperbolic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,039 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Sure lookit, that's it.
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I will in my hole
    Get up the yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,867 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I will yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Yore Ma (the ban was lifted on that, wasn't it?)

There was never a ban on yore ma ...... although there should have been.....would have given the local STD clinics a bit of a deserved break

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

You're a fascist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm entitled to my opinion.

Seems to imply that "You are not allowed prove me wrong"

Simple as/End of.

I hate those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Dublin 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It must be her time of the month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

caveman,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

"It's not a race, it's a religion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Do one

That's a Brit term .....

Jog on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    FYP

Ah here, leave it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Shi*e in a bucket

Ask me boll*x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

*bomb explodes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭893bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

I don't know what a free state bastard is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Unsubscribes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

"As per usual, anyone with an opinion different from the accepted orthodoxy is immediately shouted down"

Seems to be how racists avoid having to respond to people who disagree with them. When they do it it's challenging people on their bull****, when others do it it's being shouted down. It applies to any form of disagreement however mild, and it instantly ends the argument.

*MOD WARNING*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

"As per usual, anyone with an opinion different from the accepted orthodoxy is immediately shouted down"

Seems to be how racists avoid having to respond to people who disagree with them. When they do it it's challenging people on their bull****, when others do it it's being shouted down. It applies to any form of disagreement however mild, and it instantly ends the argument.

Ah whist up and stop being a langer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Roll-eyes emoji or Facepalm, in any of its iterations.