Irish debate enders.

• 10-06-2018 02:47AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭

Anyone else notice these little phrases that pop up in Irish arguments, and automatically make you right, no matter what.

Like 'cop on' or 'you must be great craic on a night out' or 'good lad'.

How do they work?

It's like you could say 'no, water is not dry' and then all the other person has to say is 'yeah, good lad' and they auto-win. Even though wrong, they become right.

What is this trickery?

Ah ya know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Jog on

Sure look, that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

greencap wrote: »
    What is this trickery?

Ask your ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Do one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Birneybau wrote: »
    Do one

That's a Brit term .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

..because that's the why!

..because your face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

/end thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,083 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Ask your ma.

no u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Strawman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,451 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Nazi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yore Ma (the ban was lifted on that, wasn't it?)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

They haven't won, they are signaling their opinion isn't worth listening to and to disregard whatever they've said. So in effect the listenee wins by default!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

I know you are, but what am I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

It's my ball and my rules.

This is when a penalty decision goes the way of the ball owner even if the alleged foul was at the other end of the pitch. Nothing trumps it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

That’s the problem.
    Argument winners.
    There are no winners in arguments.
    Work on your communication skills if you find yourself argueing a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Snowflake. SJW. Edgy. Triggered. Patriarchy. Feminazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Don’t worry about it OP it’s just the local versions of the common Americanism.

We have : “you must be great craic on a night out
    They have: “you think grass is green? You racist misogynist homophobe! I’m triggered!”

We have: “cop on”
    They have: “snowflake libtard cuck”

Ours seems less aggressive somehow, in a classically couldn’t be arsed irish way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,091 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

800 years of oppression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'West Brit'

"Because it says so in the book!" (doesn't matter which book though)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Birneybau wrote: »
    Do one

What does that even mean? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,550 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Ask your ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Tell it to the back of me bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Hyperbole is a word much loved and used by those who wish to appear knowledgeable on boards.

I never ever hear it used anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Rennaws wrote: »
    I never ever hear it used anywhere else.

Never? Don't be so hyperbolic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,637 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Sure lookit, that's it.
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I will in my hole
    Get up the yard