The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Marcello's in Douglas is good, my Italian housemate introduced me to it. I had a lovely limoncello gelato the last time I was there.

I've never had the ice-cream but I found Marcello's to be fairly ordinary to be honest. Nothing special at all.

Ate in Hayes' bar in Glandore over the weekend. The setting is incredible overlooking the water when the sun is shining. Food was great and very reasonable, even if the menu is a bit too big for my liking. Couldn't decide what I wanted!

Anyway, it gets a firm thumbs up from me. Probably not worth spinning all the way down from the city but if you're in the area, you'll be rewarded for dropping in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Harika

At Pier 26 in Ballycotton on the weekend, outstanding. My partner enjoyed the fish who is usually no fish lover. Also the service were really looking after us with the two kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Five of us went to Ichigo Ichie last night - chefs counter. We were all blown away.

I have mixed feelings about Myizaki - I've had some amazing food there and some underwhelming.

I was very excited going but was also kind of prepared for disappointment.

After about 3 courses, a wave of sadness came over me because I thought about the experience being over! There were still around 9 courses to go.

I will definitely do this again.

Sake is pricy! Very nice, very interesting, very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

Five of us went to Ichigo Ichie last night - chefs counter. We were all blown away.

I have mixed feelings about Myizaki - I've had some amazing food there and some underwhelming.

I was very excited going but was also kind of prepared for disappointment.

After about 3 courses, a wave of sadness came over me because I thought about the experience being over! There were still around 9 courses to go.

I will definitely do this again.

Sake is pricy! Very nice, very interesting, very expensive.

How much is it for the 12 courses?

limnam wrote: »
    How much is it for the 12 courses?

It's €95.
    The way I look at it, it's twice the price of a fairly standard 3 course meal.

I'd way prefer to do that once than the likes of Les gourmandises or Jacob's twice. Better value for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Rachel's gone. Millions lost, debts to creditors in the millions also. He's turning it into another pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,627 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Is this true or another rumour? Sorry have you a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭clio_16v

rob316 wrote: »
    Rachel's gone. Millions lost, debts to creditors in the millions also. He's turning it into another pub.

Is this official? Nothing announced about it

clio_16v wrote: »
    Is this official? Nothing announced about it

Do business with reardens group, sinking ship from day one. He's done everything to save it, reached out to ex wife and all to run it. It'll be closing once he gets a licence approved to turn it into a pub.

A lesson for even a rich man like Monty, restaurants are serious money pits if it fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭clio_16v

rob316 wrote: »
    Do business with reardens group, sinking ship from day one. He's done everything to save it, reached out to ex wife and all to run it. It'll be closing once he gets a licence approved to turn it into a pub.

Big financial hit I would imagine. Is he still in Reardans? Heard there was a dispute there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Harika

Interesting as it has high prices and was well booked afaik.

Creditors aren't been paid as far as 9 months back. A healthy business doesn't carry those sort of debts in only a years trading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

Was in Rachel's for lunch today actually, had a great chickpea salad with chorizo. Every time I've been there the food's been great actually.

There was only 3 tables taken in the entire place on a Saturday at about 13:30 though...

nerwen wrote: »
    Was in Rachel's for lunch today actually, had a great chickpea salad with chorizo. Every time I've been there the food's been great actually.

There was only 3 tables taken in the entire place on a Saturday at about 13:30 though...

So Rachel's is still trading?
    That seems a bit odd.

FFS, not for the first time, its been posted here as ceasing trading. That is unfair, likely to be a self fulfilling prophesy.
    I accept that for many wholesalers, getting restaurants to pay can be a nightmare.

Rob, have you anything to say on the Rachel's affair?

Maybe they didn't get the license yet he mentioned ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Jentle Grenade

I have Rachel's booked for a family event in July. After reading the thread the other day I spoke with one of the suppliers (my BIL) who told me he has never had a single problem regarding payments. He also said their orders had bumped up. Tbh I wouldn't bother ringing the restaurant themselves for obvious reasons. My BIL had no problem in issuing me his list of "at risk" restaurants which I wouldnt reply on here with because of the unfairness of it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

People really have it in for that place. Tearing someone’s hard work down is like a national sport. No wonder our entrepreneurs mainly emigrate for support.

New place open in Ballintemple recently. Cafe / lunch place with a couple of benches inside. Basil. I had a feta spinach pasty there last week, and got a slice of coffee cake to take away for himself. Cake was a smidge dry, but otherwise good. Hope their opening hours increase a bit. 10am morning is late for passers by for brekkie. 7am and I could zip in for something on the way to work.

pwurple wrote: »
    People really have it in for that place. Tearing someone’s hard work down is like a national sport. No wonder our entrepreneurs mainly emigrate for support.

What a load of rubbish.

No one is tearing down the people behind places like market lane/elbow lane/orso/jacques/greenes etc more than anyone else deserves.

People have put up some good reviews and bad about Racheals.

It's not like there's been some sort of witch hunt against it

someone heard they're in trouble, someone also heard they're not.

We've no idea what the truth is at this point, but to come out with anyone who needs to do anything worth while needs to emigrate to do well? clap trap.

C'mere.... there are plenty of completely atrocious overpriced rip off crappy restaurants in the city. milanos, luigi malones, loads of other places. I can name more of them than good places. But you never hear a word!

I've put up mixed reviews myself of rachel's... cocktails and food good, wine and service so-so. So, I'd put it at middling. Not my fav, but grand like. Jaysus almighty. I have yet to see anything like the attack dogs on the place, and the woman herself personally.

Here's a sample, and note, none of them are actual reviews of being in there
    After everything I've heard to date about rachel's, I'd be reluctant to go there even if someone else was footing the bill.
    10-Jul-2017 20:10 in Cork City by northgirl
    Anyone made a reservation for Rachel's yet? Opening tomorrow. No prices on the on line menu.. huummmm... I suspect they prices with be >average. I hope that its not the name one will be paying for?? Its not like she is gonna be working there
    19-Mar-2017 19:27 in Cork City by sporina
    With regards to Rachel's - i think the problem is basically that expectations are v v high! She puts her name on the door - so high expectations are "expected"! Any aspect of the dining experience is bound to be majorly frowned upon. one would expect "exceptional"
    28-Jun-2017 18:21 in Cork City by sporina

Had lunch in Miyazaki today. <snip> Rachel Allen was there with a friend. Despite only spending €11.50 between them, two special taster bowls came out for them free of charge.
    01-Sep-2017 14:11 in Cork City by the beer revolu
    I haven't been to Rachel's yet at this point it's unlikely I will go but from the reviews it doesn't seem people are expecting too much they're just dropping the ball on what should be bog standard for any place.
    01-Jul-2017 11:29 in Cork City by limnam
    Rachel Allen's restaurant ? I took it as Reardens Montgomery's restaurant with Rachel Allen getting a nice slice of pie to put her name behind it and hang around shaking hands for a couple of days as it opens. Easier to fleece people for a €45 lunch that way!
    28-Mar-2017 19:08 in Cork City by kcb
    Be one of the few people In Cork who has gone to Rachel's and enjoyed it :eek
    17-Jul-2017 20:14 in Cork City by Jentle Grenade
    Doubt i would ever risk Rachel's - sounds like a gimmick
    16-Sep-2017 09:09 in Cork City by sporina
    Coffee forgotten for a table in Rachels - seriously, what's going on with the staff there?
    10-Jul-2017 10:34
    Rachel's gone. Millions lost, debts to creditors in the millions also. He's turning it into another pub
    07-Jun-2018 11:43 in Cork City by rob316

Is that suppose to prove there's a witch hunt?

Someone mentions new place.

Reviews come in and someone states they'll give it a miss.

That's your witch hunt?

Then you quote people giving out about the service when you yourself stated it's so so ?

Get off the stage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

It’s as if Rachel’s has some celebrity connection that would attract more attention.

Putting a celebrity over the door, is to attract clientiele, but equally has a downside. Not a fan of it, myself.
    Equally you may not have liked the food, ambience, services etc, personal opinion. Any outlet has to earn the plaudits of the public. Unless the negative review is for malicious reasons, it goes with the territory.
    Saying a place is closed or about to close is a different thing. Any retail, but esp food outlets, trade on goodwill. You are damaging that goodwill.

Exactly... I know some pubs in the city tettering on the edge of receivership at the moment, but I’m not about to blabber it all over the internet, because it damages their trade ,reducing their ability to pull through it, reduces their chance of resale and keeping the jobs going if they go under, and risks the income of their creditors.

It’s people’s livelihoods you’re messing about with here.

Reviews are great, positive or otherwise! Rumours and talking places down when you’ve never darkened the door? Leaves a bad taste in the mouth. (Boom boom!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

And on that note, I ate in Koto the other night. The best "Asian Street food" (I hate that term!) in the city by my reckoning.

Service was great and food was lovely. A pad Thai and a green curry were had by our group and nothing but good reports after.

I find some of the other "street food" places can be quite inconsistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

I ate in Marcello's in Douglas this evening and really enjoyed it. I had a very tasty mussel, clam and Italian sausage tagliatelle and friends enjoyed the special and lasagne too. Very nice wine and coffee to finish. Good value too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

was in Spitjack last night - enjoyed it as a casual dining experience..

it was tasty - but i have 2 -ve comments..

I asked for the dressing on the side - which I got, but my salad was already dressed!?
    There were these carrot ribbons - they had a plastic texture to them..

But the chicken was tasty - and lovely wine menu and nice glasses..

Would I go back? Perhaps - for something quick to eat

And on that note, I ate in Koto the other night. The best "Asian Street food" (I hate that term!) in the city by my reckoning.

Service was great and food was lovely. A pad Thai and a green curry were had by our group and nothing but good reports after.

I find some of the other "street food" places can be quite inconsistent.

Really wish Aroi was still there. Loved that place