Someone hanging around the house at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Hedgehogs!

They scurry fast (up to 6 kph for a bog standard hedgehog), are nocturnal, and can make a sound like they are dragging - especially if you have gravel driveway.

Had similar ourselves and it freaked herself out for a while till we saw the little fecker.

Everyone knows hedgehogs are faster than that. Especially the blue ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭italodisco

Putting all the jokes aside, you would want to increase your security IE some halogen lights for a start.
    Personally I don't see anything to joke about, with the amount of rural robberies being committed these days, in particular by the 'culture boss' lot it would be wise to be careful.

And a word to the wise, in the unfortunate event that you are confronted by a trespasser and you end up using force, be it light or extreme, make sure when the gardai turn up that you make it very clear to them that before you laid a hand on anyone that they clearly roared at you ' I'll kill ya' or 'ill stab ya in the chest'.

That way you're covered with self defense.

The biggest mistake though is chasing after someone and attacking them, that's when the self defence line becomes useless, let them run off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭italodisco

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Shake flour or sand along all the paths around the house, then you'll see the footprints, (or paw-prints, or whatever it is) next morning.

That's a great idea, that's how my neighbors attempted burglar was caught in Dublin city centre, after chasing him off the gardai caught him on the canal, they finger prints but also the print his shoes left in the lane, there was a heap of wet sand he walked through and his soles of shoes were clear in it.

As usual he was brought to court and let go Due to the ' family man with hard upbringing' excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

italodisco wrote: »
    Putting all the jokes aside, you would want to increase your security IE some halogen lights for a start.
    Personally I don't see anything to joke about, with the amount of rural robberies being committed these days, in particular by the 'culture boss' lot it would be wise to be careful.

And a word to the wise, in the unfortunate event that you are confronted by a trespasser and you end up using force, be it light or extreme, make sure when the gardai turn up that you make it very clear to them that before you laid a hand on anyone that they clearly roared at you ' I'll kill ya' or 'ill stab ya in the chest'.

That way you're covered with self defense.

The biggest mistake though is chasing after someone and attacking them, that's when the self defence line becomes useless, let them run off.

Wise words. The old man at the old house tried time and again to provoke me, Once I found him attacking my old collie with his stick, Will hear her yelp to my dying day.. I took the dogs in and called the Gardai.

By the time they came, he had claimed all round the neighbourhood that U had set my dogs on him and they were vicious and had bitten his ankle so he had had to get an anti tetanus shot.

I spent an hour terrified persuading the Gardia that my dogs did no such thing. The old collie had hardly any teeth and the creep was wearing thick wellies.

As it was the Gardia knew his history which is why it is wise to involve them. Keep it all in public view .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

A few weeks ago I heard noises like mams ceramic flower pots beside the front door being dragged.
    Here's your answer...
    7721e71f293ffdcd362a64c8eb26444a.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

You've got great suggestions here. The flour/sand one is the cheapest, while waiting to get the lights and camera that come on at activity. Borrowing someone's big barky dog is another possibility...let them roam the night on a long chain for a while and see what that throws up. A friend of mine also had an old harmless man wandering around and peeking in her windows at night; he was just senile and living in the past.

But it might not be anyone. I live very remote, and often alone as my husband sometimes works away. So far this year at night I have been visited by hedgehogs, hares, wild cats, badgers, foxes, pine martens, minks, wild goats, wandering ewes and lambs, lost bullocks and a small herd of sitka deer that are leaving their hoof marks all over the place - and that's only the critters I know of, there could be more. They are all quite noisy in their own different ways. This place is far busier by night than it ever is in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

razorblunt wrote: »
    Its probably the Sligo Strangler.

Don't let the name scare you though, he only strangles his willy.

House in county Sligo where the gates would always be removed from the pillars and left to the side.

They stopped putting the gates back.

Op leave all the gates, doors and windows open.

If they are murderers then this has to be the only way they can get in.....

A locked door is sure to keep them out ¿?¿

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

House in county Sligo where the gates would always be removed from the pillars and left to the side.

They stopped putting the gates back.

Op leave all the gates, doors and windows open.

If they are murderers then this has to be the only way they can get in.....

A locked door is sure to keep them out ¿?¿

I don't think I would take the above advice if I was in the same position :eek:. My first step would be sensor lighting and CCTV. I don't think I'd waste a moment asking on Boards either, to be fair its a tad scarey. If it is just roaming animals I would have thought the OP and their family would already be aware of that if they live in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    I don't think I would take the above advice if I was in the same position :eek:. My first step would be sensor lighting and CCTV. I don't think I'd waste a moment asking on Boards either, to be fair its a tad scarey. If it is just roaming animals I would have thought the OP and their family would already be aware of that if they live in the country.

It's after hours all advice is good advice.

If they leave the doors open then they won't have to replace them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Malayalam wrote: »
    You've got great suggestions here. The flour/sand one is the cheapest, while waiting to get the lights and camera that come on at activity. Borrowing someone's big barky dog is another possibility...let them roam the night on a long chain for a while and see what that throws up. A friend of mine also had an old harmless man wandering around and peeking in her windows at night; he was just senile and living in the past.

But it might not be anyone. I live very remote, and often alone as my husband sometimes works away. So far this year at night I have been visited by hedgehogs, hares, wild cats, badgers, foxes, pine martens, minks, wild goats, wandering ewes and lambs, lost bullocks and a small herd of sitka deer that are leaving their hoof marks all over the place - and that's only the critters I know of, there could be more. They are all quite noisy in their own different ways. This place is far busier by night than it ever is in the day!

Yep but none of these can open gates or move plantpots...

I have a lock on my gate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

It's after hours all advice is good advice.

If they leave the doors open then they won't have to replace them

They can't replace themselves either! I forgot this is AH! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Watch all the scream movies.study them.you ll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭shivermetimber

OP, is the narrow path used much? If not then leave the gate unlocked, string up some barbed wire nice and taut at knee height right before the gate and then sprinkle broken glass on the other side.

*check to see if you have sleepwalkers first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭oholly121

Thats crazy, i cant believe the gards wouldn't do anything, he sounds dangerous.

Nothing's ever been damaged and it doesnt happen every night, just every so often. They could be lurking around other houses too. I dont think we've had any problems with any of the locals, cant imagine any of them holding a grudge :confused: I hope not anyway.

The Guards a great bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Sensor lights, CCTV Camera, Dog and Gun in no particular order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

sounds like burglars to me, let me hook you up with my usual guy for getting rid of them.

Mr.McCallister

He's inexpensive and always gets the job done, give him some rope,paint cans and youre sorted...although the years of this job havent been good to him

macaulay-culkin-zoom-b2c07d06-55ec-479f-9160-6df33eb4be87.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Obviously a Chupacabra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Op tonight
    giphy.gif

In all seriousness op, that is pretty scary. I’d be ****less too. My mam lives in a rural village and whenever I say i tend to be awoken by similar noises, the ceramic pots one especially. Could it be an animal or the wind moving things about? Maybe the footsteps you heard was a wild deer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's Shia Labeouf and you're screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Get a (big) dog.

And no harm just to start moving things about yourself or leaving little knowing nods and winks (like the sand) here and there. Just to let them know you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

If it's a thief, he's unlikely to be running around making noise. Maybe they are young fellas messing around. If they are thieves, once they are familiar with a place, they're likely to come back. If you live in the countryside, they'll have a van or a car. If they come back, you could go and look for that and get the reg.

I agree that a dog is a good defence here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Hedgehogs!

They scurry fast (up to 6 kph for a bog standard hedgehog), are nocturnal, and can make a sound like they are dragging - especially if you have gravel driveway.

Had similar ourselves and it freaked herself out for a while till we saw the little fecker.

THIS.

For some reasons hedgehogs sound like there's someone lurking in the dark. Footsteps and everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

scopper wrote: »
    And no harm just to start moving things about yourself or leaving little knowing nods and winks (like the sand) here and there. Just to let them know you know.

But what if they leave signs letting her know that they know that she knows and they don't care?

Does she then let them know that she knows that they know that she knows and don't care and do you know how she should do this?

Sheridan81 wrote: »
    But what if they leave signs letting her know that they know that she knows and they don't care?

Does she then let them know that she knows that they know that she knows and don't care and do you know how she should do this?

tumblr_o0r1uvuTmi1tkwytio1_250.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Technique wrote: »
    Get on of those Trail Cameras from Amazon. They take a photo when they sense movement.

Sometimes it's better not knowing:

990d40415af95e97c234be8f3068718a.jpg

Sometimes it's better not knowing:

Why would you do that

Why

I only managed to get that picture out of my head recently after years of nightmares

whyyyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I have a somewhat similar problem OP but in my case I know who it is. We live in a very rural area with just a few houses dotted around, a local lad, early 20s, he has ahem what would be the polite way to put this "metal health problems", he hangs around the roads, sheds, fields, in the area, total nut job. I came home from the pub one Saturday night about six months ago to find him inside in my front garden, he pretended to not know where he was even though he's living only half a mile up the road! He got a swift "fcuk off out of here" from me and I warned him that if I ever caught him hanging round my house again I wouldn't be as polite! He is notorious for loitering around people's houses/gardens in the area which is really frightening for older people. The guards are aware of his carry on but still it continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

Why would you do that

Why

I only managed to get that picture out of my head recently after years of nightmares

whyyyy

Could be worse, could be one of these

http://www.deepseanews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/0d75907b0d8898d80a5f595e7e076d36-the-bigfin-squid-is-a-real-deep-sea-creature-that-will-eat-your-dreams.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,645 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

If it's a thief, he's unlikely to be running around making noise. Maybe they are young fellas messing around. If they are thieves, once they are familiar with a place, they're likely to come back. If you live in the countryside, they'll have a van or a car. If they come back, you could go and look for that and get the reg.

I agree that a dog is a good defence here.

If it's a thief, it's highly probably something would have been taken at this stage. They wouldn't be scoping the place out in the middle of the night either.

What we have here is a classic case of a townie being spooked by night sounds in the countryside. My advice, go out in the middle of the night, sit down for 10 mins and familiarise yourself with the darkness and its noises. Go back inside then once you haven't been murdered.