49% of gardaí marry other gardaí

• 01-06-2018 09:41AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,364 ✭✭✭✭

80% of female farmers marry other farmers
    62% of women publicans stick to their own
    58% of female taxi drivers are wedded to their taxi men
    55% of male midwives and nurses find love in the workplace
    35% of doctors marry each other
    39% of male florists marry female florists

49% of female gardaí marry other gardaí
    15% of male gardaí marry nurses

https://www.cso.ie/en/csolatestnews/featuredarticles/whomarrieswhom-anoccupationalhazard/
    Interesting statistics altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Birds of a feather fu'ck together.

I expect people in large companies offices also pair off to a high %.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,781 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Handcuffs used in bed! Fact. Any garda couple who said they have never tried them for sexy time are lying

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭D3V!L

93.8% of IT staff are single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Was there a Referendum for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭Allinall

Do you’re saying that only 2% of Gardai are not married to other Gardaí?

I call bs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Allinall wrote: »
    Do you’re saying that only 2% of Gardai are not married to other Garda

I call bs.

er...what?

no 49% are married to a guard so 51% are not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Makes sense, shared interests and working together can often blossom into a relationship.

Add to that in the case of Guards/ Doctors/ Midwives/ Taxi drivers/ Publicians, they don't work regular 9-5 hours, so if they were married to someone who worked 9 -5, it may not work as well. We partner up for companionship, if that isn't there, relationship's fade in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

zell12 wrote: »

Probably understandable. They are around those of the same profession most often. Socialise together and so on. And when they do start to get together, they have plenty in common to discuss and to empathise with.

I knew a guy who was a mechanic and was going out with a radiographer. Every time he mentioned her he said "My girlfriend, she's a radiographer...." It definitely felt like he himself believed he was playing out of his league. It shouldn't matter but it probably does.

I also have a friend who is a scientist who is married to a farmer and when she tells people, many used to ask "but what's he qualified as?" their assumption because all of them were 3rd level educated as she was that that was most people are and maybe some choose to do something different but it's in conjunction with the education. She was telling someone one day about her husband being out in the middle of the night with cows calving and the person went straight to assuming that he was a vet.

We all think we are unique and want to meet our soulmate but its probably fair to say that most people are playing within a set of rules that they might not even know about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

So - people marry other people they meet daily in their profession? Not really surprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

It must be the uniform that does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭Allinall

Riskymove wrote: »
    er...what?

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.

oh jaysus I hope you are joking...otherwise stats will have to be banned on AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

oh jaysus I hope you are joking...otherwise stats will have to be banned on AH

Top class trolling, when people aren't sure if the poster is trolling or just a bit dim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭DeanoG14

Do you’re saying that only 2% of Gardai are not married to other Gardaí?

I call bs.

Nope, 51%. How did you get 2%?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.

nevermind_nathan_fillion.gif

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

amcalester wrote: »
    Top class trolling, when people aren't sure if the poster is trolling or just a bit dim.

unfortunately that is occurring all too often these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.

you made a mistake in your maths, you need to multiply by 4.281 due to overtime.

So its actually 209.769% of guards are married to other guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Are those figures from the Garda Press Office? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

DeanoG14 wrote: »
    Nope, 51%. How did you get 2%?

probably both wrong , its 49% of female gardai but they probably only make up 1/3 of the force. So overall it looks like it would be around a 1/3

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭DeanoG14

silverharp wrote: »
    probably both wrong , its 49% of female gardai but they probably only make up 1/3 of the force. So overall it looks like it would be around a 1/3

Yup, you're right. Should have read 51% of female Gardai not married to other Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.

Very rarely I'll burst out laughing at a post. This is gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,364 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I left that 49% of female gardaí marry gardaí ambiguous.
    I'm only following the example of responsible counting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

so the rest are married to teachers?

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

biko wrote: »
    So - people marry other people they meet daily in their profession? Not really surprising.
    loyatemu wrote: »
    so the rest are married to teachers?

As per Biko, No, the rest are married to crims..:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

A massive amount of people meet their future spouse in college or work.

So it's not at all surprising that half of Gardai marry other Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

It's more likely because they have no lives with the stupid hours they work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭mjv2ydratu679c

er...what?

With that grasp of maths you should be a guard logging breath tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

49% married to guards.

49 X 2 = 98.
    By the same "logic" does that mean that 102% are not married to guards? I can see where the breath test figures came from now.

Female gardai are a no no for non AGS gents.
    Odds are they're being passed around the station, willingly of course. More or less made public recently too.