Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Meeting went well . Yer man was told tp back off and leave me do my work lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,663 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Time to get someone else ......

Done now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Done now
    Passed percolation test too?

All good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

All good

I'm expecting great things the next time I'm up there

Reggie. wrote: »
    I'm expecting great things the next time I'm up there

I was talking to a lad who is going into dairying. He is building a parlour and sheds for 120 cows and not going for planning at all. Maybe he's right and he'll be finished building before me. What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,944 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I was talking to a lad who is going into dairying. He is building a parlour and sheds for 120 cows and not going for planning at all. Maybe he's right and he'll be finished building before me. What do ye think?

He can always ask for retention and if he builds with all planning requirements in mind he should have no problems.

It’s not 100% stress free route but as the old saying goes it’s often easier to ask forgiveness than get permission.

It would be a balls waiting for paperpushers to go over and back over the summer just to grant permission as the weather breaks in the back end of the year :(

Would planning have to be legit to get the grants? I live on the edge of a village so planning has to be got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

_Brian wrote: »
    He can always ask for retention and if he builds with all planning requirements in mind he should have no problems.

It’s not 100% stress free route but as the old saying goes it’s often easier to ask forgiveness than get permission.

It would be a balls waiting for paperpushers to go over and back over the summer just to grant permission as the weather breaks in the back end of the year :(

Hopefully he has a strong enough power supply.
    I know a farm that converted to dairying, parlour built etc and incalf heifers and cows bought , only to be told by ESB Networks that neither the transformer nor line to their farm was up to the job. Something like 4 months to update it, threw their plans into disarray.

I wonder if buildings built without Planning Permission are insured if there is a claim put in relating to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

I wonder if buildings built without Planning Permission are insured if there is a claim put in relating to them?

Not sure about insurance but I seem to recall being asked by the bank if I had planning for a new shed when going for a loan.

Parishlad wrote: »
    Not sure about insurance but I seem to recall being asked by the bank if I had planning for a new shed when going for a loan.

I went for approval from the bank before planning as there was no point continuing if I wasn't getting the money. That said the first thing the lad who is doing the plans asked me was there planning for everything that's already here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Whats the best for a dog with an itch. Used 2 pour on things from vet. Still scratching. Used a bit of spot on on her. Still scratching...

May have missed an update but wondering how is your dog

Improved a bit. Still scratching but not as much. If it is the food it will take a while for the itch to go

National fish and chip day, what's seldom is wonderful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Queuing in the chipper as we speak

ganmo wrote: »
    Queuing in the chipper as we speak
    I thought they would be giving out small portions as it's cheap, got a fish the size of a cow :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

Radio is off here today. Sick of listening about it. Coral sherlock is from near here and some of the stuff she comes out with is unreal

Sick of listening to it too. If no win, we'll be back to vote again in a few years. If yes win, it'll go on for years with appeals and objections for years to come. Not to mention an inquiry into something or the other. I fear in ten years time it will still be going on...

Odelay wrote: »
    Sick of listening to it too. If no win, we'll be back to vote again in a few years. If yes win, it'll go on for years with appeals and objections for years to come. Not to mention an inquiry into something or the other. I fear in ten years time it will still be going on...
    It's been going on as long as I remember and I'll be long dead and it'll still be going on:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭older by the day

Sick of listening to it 3.. farmers on the radio looking for a yes vote, ex IFA president Downey I think, was he the fellow that gave a away all the members money

John Bruton was on looking for a no vote. I dont care but if any woman needs an abortion why should they have to travel for it. Women have died due to this law. This country sucks , between this and the cervical scandal it's a total joke in this day and age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

IIRC it was Tim O Leary opened his mouth and put his foot in it, leading on to the situation whereby Pat Smith received the severance package already in place.

That saga ran longer than this referendum ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

John Bruton was on looking for a no vote. I dont care but if any woman needs an abortion why should they have to travel for it. Women have died due to this law. This country sucks , between this and the cervical scandal it's a total joke in this day and age

Need yes. Want no. Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Need yes. Want no. Imo.

Ah it'll pass alright.

I doubt there's a citizen in this country that hasn't been someway affected by the rule.

I know of a woman lately that died from sepsis from carrying a dead baby and even in my own immediate area another woman that had to carry another dead baby.

Basket case of a country.
    But it's still everyone's privilege to vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭emaherx

Feckin car burried in hedge of one of my fields. No Tax insurance or NCT and car stinks of booze.

Burried in ditch right after a 90° turn on a bothereen, must have been flying. Lucky no one was walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

emaherx wrote: »
    Feckin car burried in hedge of one of my fields. No Tax insurance or NCT and car stinks of booze.

Burried in ditch right after a 90° turn on a bothereen, must have been flying. Lucky no one was walking.

If it has a number plate report it to the gardai.
    Well report it to the guard's anyway but usually those pecker heads would have the number plate removed after such a situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I thought they would be giving out small portions as it's cheap, got a fish the size of a cow :eek:
    How am I only hearing about this now ? :D It would have been a nice this evening instead of stew

If it has a number plate report it to the gardai.
    Well report it to the guard's anyway but usually those pecker heads would have the number plate removed after such a situation.

Done already, plate and expired disks still on it. But it's probably not registered in their names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭orm0nd

emaherx wrote: »

not very nice if they went up the shutesame here about 3 weeks ago, , plates off & disappeared the following night, Luckily I walked the field (closed for silage) found a headlight ,hubcaps and other bits fuked about 10 yards in from ditch

orm0nd wrote: »
    not very nice if they went up the shutesame here about 3 weeks ago, , plates off & disappeared the following night, Luckily I walked the field (closed for silage) found a headlight ,hubcaps and other bits fuked about 10 yards in from ditch

Unfortunately abondend cars are not unusual around here. We used to use old burnt out cars in gateways to prevent more appearing until the council errected pallasde fencing at the top of one of our lanes. I hit a burnt out motor cycle with the mower one year, didn't see it as grass had grown over it.