Since when have Communions become such a plebian affair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's quite simple really. With the vast numbers defecting from their organisation, why wouldn't the church encourage people to bribe children to join their cult with sweets, bouncy castles and ostentatious parties?

It's (hopefully) the dying gasps of a defunct and repugnant death cult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Sleepy wrote: »
    It's quite simple really. With the vast numbers defecting from their organisation, why wouldn't the church encourage people to bribe children to join their cult with sweets, bouncy castles and ostentatious parties?

It's (hopefully) the dying gasps of a defunct and repugnant death cult.

Cool theory but somewhat wide of the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Had one last week for the little one.

A mate runs a party business, so had all the crap the OP mentioned, Bouncy Castle, Giant Garden Games, Candy Floss/Popcorn on the go. (Paid **** all for it) Weather was great, BBQ on the go.

The child had the friends over, all her family and cousins. Great oul day.

There was a few drinks on the go.

Not many times during the year you get all your family & friends together in the one place so see no reason why the older folk can't have a bit of craic too.

Cheaper than bringing them all out for a meal in a hotel/pub while the child sits in a corner for the day on their IPAD bored out of their mind.

P.S. there was no fake tan or limos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭facehugger99

On a separate note, there were a few traveler kids getting their communion on Saturday.

My god, the women from the families looked like they were attending a stripper convention.

It was most diverting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I think bouncy castles are not that expensive. Some here use them for birthday parties and I think cost is comparable or cheaper to having it in some play centre. I never hired one because ours have birthdays at the wrong time of the year but if you can avoid kids going into the house and sticking sweets under couch cushions then I am all for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Had one last week for the little one.

A mate runs a party business, so had all the crap the OP mentioned, Bouncy Castle, Giant Garden Games, Candy Floss/Popcorn on the go. (Paid **** all for it) Weather was great, BBQ on the go.

The child had the friends over, all her family and cousins. Great oul day.

There was a few drinks on the go.

Not many times during the year you get all your family & friends together in the one place so see no reason why the older folk can't have a bit of craic too.

Cheaper than bringing them all out for a meal in a hotel/pub while the child sits in a corner for the day on their IPAD bored out of their mind.

P.S. there was no fake tan or limos.
    Likewise a few weeks ago with the youngest lad. Food at the house for family and games outside and xbox inside for the kids when it rained. All immediate family in the one place together for a few hours, a few drinks and craic, what's not to like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I made my Communion in May 1980. Afterwards, my parents, sister and I went up to Dublin from Kildare where I had my first McDonald's (on O'Connell Street). Fish and chips. I got all upset because McDonald's had violated my fish with probably tartare sauce and loads of salady stuff all over it, and I've always been fussy about food.

Yeah after unleavened bread, everything else is just an assault on the palate one finds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

My communion was in 1984 and it was a piss up for my family just like every other occasion was. I was stuck in the pub for the day bored out of my skull. The idea of it being a day about me never entered anyones head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

We went to the beach - don't ask me why - only for my sister to go running headlong into the water, ruining her clothes, and forcing us home five minutes after we arrived. I didn't get anything off the relatives because the few that hadn't long since buggered off to England weren't on speaking terms with my parents.

I was probably back in civilian clothing and out on the streets acting the scut within 2 hours of leaving the church. The year was 1983.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Omackeral wrote: »
    I wonder are the priests cringing at the names like Braxton and Codi-Mai and such in God's gaff.

hey now... there's no need for that carry on....

Cody is a deadly name.... it really suits my 13 year old Cocker :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

My communion was in 1984 and it was a piss up for my family just like every other occasion was. I was stuck in the pub for the day bored out of my skull. The idea of it being a day about me never entered anyones head.

1987 for me, but similar story. Stuck in a hotel that my parents thought was posh enough to impress the relatives and shouted at during the dinner to mind my dress because 'do you not know how much you're costing us'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I’d say it depends on where you live but it definitely seems to be the norm in lots of parts of Dublin. I think they calmed down a bit post Celtic Tiger but I’ve noticed this year for the first time ever the amount of people going along to communions of their friends’ kids as social events and excuses to get mouldy.

Yeah, that's so tacky. Why would anyone even want to do that?

I went to one of my good friend's son's communion and party a few years back. A few drinks were had but it was very clear that this was not an occasion for getting mouldy. Nobody did. Just a few glasses of prosecco and wine and that was it. It was just a nice sedate garden party on a lovely sunny day with a buffet of finger food. Classy and appropriate.

Back to the topic of the thread - I think the OTT stuff has been gradually creeping in over the years. Holy Communion children used to spend the day calling on relatives, ending up with tea at their granny's or somesuch - or as a big treat they might be taken to the zoo.

Then the calling at relatives was changed to an event in the child's house, buffet, drinks etc.

Then the bouncy castles started to come along.

Then it became a meal out, and a late afternoon party with bouncy castle.

Then during the celtic tiger some people went mad - fake tans for the kids, marquees and champagne and blahdey blah. I even heard of families going to a hotel the night before the 'big day' as if it was a wedding.

I think things calmed down a bit during the recession, but have probably started to wind up again over the last couple of years.

Meals out aren't anything new. I made my Communion in 1991 and half the class went out for a meal with their families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Meals out aren't anything new. I made my Communion in 1991 and half the class went out for a meal with their families.

I'm talking about before that.

It wasn't anything new in 1991. The immediate family going out for a meal for a big occasion is hardly extravagant, is it? Eating out was much less common then, reserved for big occasions, of which Communion was one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

Likewise a few weeks ago with the youngest lad. Food at the house for family and games outside and xbox inside for the kids when it rained. All immediate family in the one place together for a few hours, a few drinks and craic, what's not to like?

Same as any family communion I have attended. Lovely get together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

The events I'm talking about aren't a few hours drink and craic. They're an all afternoon, evening and night affair. Parents and their friends getting absolutely locked and going on a mad one. Kids either being carted off to grandparents as early as the parents can get away with it, or else up half the night surrounded by drunk adults.

In Italy they use little linen smocks and a wooden cross hung around the neck.

Bout three fiddy in total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The events I'm talking about aren't a few hours drink and craic. They're an all afternoon, evening and night affair. Parents and their friends getting absolutely locked and going on a mad one. Kids either being carted off to grandparents as early as the parents can get away with it, or else up half the night surrounded by drunk adults.

Tbh, as this was our fourth, I was just happy to make it to the church without a splatter of cow sh!te across my face and clean clothes.

Unlike the last one...:pac:

It wouldn't be my glass of prosecco either but everyone has their own idea of a good time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

At one last week. No outrageous outfits. Back to the house for a buffet type meal. Kids played in the garden and the adults chatted. All done and dusted by 7pm. A nice civilised day and reminiscent of our own kids' First Communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

After all the kids had gone home and daddy had a few on him he thought to himself it would be a splendid idea to climb the wall and jump onto the bouncy castle

Well as he left the wall the realisation hit him that he wasn't going to make the middle of the bouncy castle but instead he would land on the side tearing that bouncing castle in two

It was hurriedly deflated ready for collection

_Dara_ wrote: »
    It wasn't anything new in 1991. The immediate family going out for a meal for a big occasion is hardly extravagant, is it? Eating out was much less common then, reserved for big occasions, of which Communion was one.

Okay. I was just giving a general idea of how Communion celebrations have escalated over the years. I do remember a time when eating out in a restaurant wasn't part of it, but I'm older than you I think.

At one last week. No outrageous outfits. Back to the house for a buffet type meal. Kids played in the garden and the adults chatted. All done and dusted by 7pm. A nice civilised day and reminiscent of our own kids' First Communion.

Yeah, my nieces and nephews First Communions have all been like that. Just a family get together in the house, with the grannies helping out by bringing over a dish of something or a dessert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Okay. I was just giving a general idea of how Communion celebrations have escalated over the years. I do remember a time when eating out in a restaurant wasn't part of it, but I'm older than you I think.
    In Ireland we go out for family dinner with husbands parents and his sister an her family at least three times per year. When we are in Slovenia we go out with my parents and my brother and his family every time we are there, once or twice per year. When we were growing up we would always go out for family meal for our birthdays and other family occasions. I very much doubt we are some sort of crazy exception and I'm pretty sure plenty of people go out for a meal way more often than just for communion. While I appreciate people didn't eat out as much in the olden times ;) I don't think diner out now days is some crazy extravagance.

meeeeh wrote: »
    In Ireland we go out for family dinner with husbands parents and his sister an her family at least three times per year. When we are in Slovenia we go out with my parents and my brother and his family every time we are there, once or twice per year. When we were growing up we would always go out for family meal for our birthdays and other family occasions. I very much doubt we are some sort of crazy exception and I'm pretty sure plenty of people go out for a meal way more often than just for communion. While I appreciate people didn't eat out as much in the olden times ;) I don't think diner out now days is some crazy extravagance.

I'm not sure what your point is. I remember a time when going out for a meal for First Holy Communion was unusual and then it became a norm. I certainly never said it was a crazy extravagance. I was showing how, over the years, First Holy Communion celebrations gradually developed until they became the rather extravagant occasions they often are today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Going out for dinner isn’t a big deal is it? We do it almost every single week. For my communion the best auntie ever™️ Came to stay for a few days, my mam loooooved (and was very good!) cooking, so there was a huge hullabaloo at home, all the family over, and then next day me my mam my dad my brother and best auntie ever™️ Went to the zoo.

Who said it was? :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's all them over the top shows on channels like TLC that have brought this upon us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Whats the going rate if your the godparent?

50E?

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Whats the going rate if your the godparent?

50E?

500 bucks :)