Scumbags in Cork city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Personally, I think it was worse in the 80s.

It was acceptable in the 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭kub

Gardai had a lot for clout when it came to dealing with scumbags back in the 80's. Also I wonder did they have more judicial support with regard to punishment?
    If they even dared to look at some low life the wrong way now then there could be a complaint to GSOC.
    As always, an Irish cure to an Irish problem and as always too far in the other direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 abitofboth

Cannot be worse than Limerick.......... or as the Sunday world call it, Europe's murder capital!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

kub wrote: »
    What is their fascination with track suits? Is it the challenge of buttons too much for them or what?

What is wrong with tracksuits? I wear one every day as they are comfortable. I only wear jeans if I'm going out. I'm not an unemployed actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

abitofboth wrote: »
    Cannot be worse than Limerick.......... or as the Sunday world call it, Europe's murder capital!

Cheek. There hasnt been a murder in Limerick in a long time. I think it's Dublin you are referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Driving along today minding my own business and passing through a residential street, passed 2 women one pushing a buggy & they had a young fella with them - no more than 4 I would say. Young lad hopped a pebble or whatever he had in his hand at the windscreen right as I passed. I turned the car and maintaining a smile informed his oblivious parent/carer what he'd done. To be fair they told him that was bold but walked off without the need to even make him say sorry. I achieved nought but at least called him out on his unacceptable behaviour and would like to think (naive I know) he'd think twice before doing it again. Lovely city :-/

Gardai had a lot for clout when it came to dealing with scumbags back in the 80's. Also I wonder did they have more judicial support with regard to punishment?
    If they even dared to look at some low life the wrong way now then there could be a complaint to GSOC.
    As always, an Irish cure to an Irish problem and as always too far in the other direction.

Less (or none at all) no win, no fee solicitors. Was there free legal aid back then?

More real fear of the Guards then. Scumbags laugh at the guards now because they know their hands are tied.

Different level of scumbaggery, playing knifey-spooney no doubt.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/threat-to-kill-over-length-of-time-in-bar-toilet-844325.html

'the accused had been using the knife at home and failed to remove it from his clothing before going out that night.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Saw some mother leaving her young son pIss all over a bus stop there the other day classless-not the first time seen this disgusting behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Was heading down Oliver Plunkett St. on Friday and there was a guy in the middle of the road top off with his cup out looking for money, needless to say people were ignoring him like he was invisible but he did seem out pretty out of it and this was about 1pm.

I dont think the Gardai want anything to do with it because theyed probably lock them up for a few hours only for them to do the same thing the next day, locking them up is pointless really, they'll be back tomorrow doing the exact same thing and probably the same condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

Maybe a death squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I've also been hearing this kind of rhetoric for decades, too.
    Back in my day, the guards could beat the lard out of a young fella and he'd learn his lesson!
    No fear of authority! Blah blah blah.

It has been such for as long as I can remember.
    There will always be crime and antisocial behaviour and each generation will claim it's worse than ever and when they were young it wasn't bad at all and people had respect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Oul doll outside the grafton collapsed in her tracksuit the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Cheek. There hasnt been a murder in Limerick in a long time. I think it's Dublin you are referring to.

Limericks serious crime issues are mainly in the past.Although for a small city compared to Cork and Dublin, Limericks issues were way off the scale back in the day.It got to a point where it couldn't get any worse!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Limericks serious crime issues are mainly in the past.Although for a small city compared to Cork and Dublin, Limericks issues were way off the scale back in the day.It got to a point where it couldn't get any worse!

Limerick isnt small compared to Cork... they are very comparable.

When things escalated years back with the Dundon/McCarthy and Keane/Collopy gangs, the Guards reacted really well and stomped that ****e out.

Those criminals were mainly self contained in particular areas though, and everyone knew where those where.

The murders of Geoghean and Collins raised the stakes though, as these were innocent people in decent areas, murdered. Limerick people reacted to this, as evidenced by the march against these scrotes, which I also attended.

These gangs are decimated now and have been for quite a few years. The Dundons in particular were hammered out of it. Even then though, the murders didnt quite compare to what we have witnessed in Dublin in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

When things escalated years back with the Dundon/McCarthy and Keane/Collopy gangs, the Guards reacted really well and stomped that ****e out.

Those criminals were mainly self contained in particular areas though, and everyone knew where those where.

The murders of Geoghean and Collins raised the stakes though, as these were innocent people in decent areas, murdered. Limerick people reacted to this, as evidenced by the march against these scrotes, which I also attended.

These gangs are decimated now and have been for quite a few years. The Dundons in particular were hammered out of it. Even then though, the murders didnt quite compare to what we have witnessed in Dublin in recent times.

I agree with you although Cork has a bigger population base than Limerick.Limerick is a lot better now, and there's not a chance in hell that it will get that bad again.There have been a couple of gangland shootings in Cork, since there was last one in Limerick.Limerick is no worse than Cork and it's a lot better than Dublin in terms of scobes and drug addicts.I find it a safer city for a night out as well tbh.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭kub

I've also been hearing this kind of rhetoric for decades, too.
    Back in my day, the guards could beat the lard out of a young fella and he'd learn his lesson!
    No fear of authority! Blah blah blah.

It has been such for as long as I can remember.
    There will always be crime and antisocial behaviour and each generation will claim it's worse than ever and when they were young it wasn't bad at all and people had respect.

You have a good point, but previous generations did not have to put up with junkies in Cork, that is only a recent issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

You have a good point, but previous generations did not have to put up with junkies in Cork, that is only a recent issue.

Well, for the last decade or so, in my obversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

There's an overhang at the back of the fire brigade station at Angelsea street, it's an employee entrance.

For the past year there's been different homeless people sleeping rough under the over hang and I don't have a problem with that. Well I do, but it's to do with our state and not them.

But recently in the past month or 2 the amount of people hanging around here can be up to 10 at any one time and there's regularly night fights on the street as there drinking all day.

I know this as I live right opposite and have had plenty sleepless nights.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

There's an overhang at the back of the fire brigade station at Angelsea street, it's an employee entrance.

For the past year there's been different homeless people sleeping rough under the over hang and I don't have a problem with that. Well I do, but it's to do with our state and not them.

But recently in the past month or 2 the amount of people hanging around here can be up to 10 at any one time and there's regularly night fights on the street as there drinking all day.

I know this as I live right opposite and have had plenty sleepless nights.

Seen some dodgy goings on on a couple of side streets on the cities west side recently as in behind Washington street (think its James street?) and near to the mercy hospital, also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lardzeppelin

I remember a couple of years ago in Ennis / Clare, there was this one handed foreign man with a stump for a hand, looked like he'd come from' Borat country', no biggie you'd think, he probably shuffled his way to Aldi with his big tin cup, and you'd nearly feel pity for the old sod.......that is until you see him the next day being 'dropped off' at Lidl by a goldy chain wearing brick sh*t house Borat in a two year old high end Mercedes Benz executive saloon... Huh, good business is where you find it eh!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I've definitely noticed a difference in the city centre compared to when I went to college in Cork back in the early 90's. It was a really safe city then, not that it's particularly dangerous now, but it doesn't have the same friendly vibe I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

One evening after work last year i met a friend for a bite to eat. Was walking down oliver plunkette street and lets say it was a fast work. Never noticed it then that evening that there was a not so nice element in the city that created an uneasy atmosphere. Someone else commented on the same in work a few weeks later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,767 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

A lot of junkies and drunks down around Anderson's Quay at the moment. With the decent weather they're openly drinking and generally acting the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

I spend a lot of time in Limerick for work and Limerick is much smaller than Cork, and in the best possible way, there is very little comparable between Cork and Limerick.

Even though theres only about 30,000 in the difference between the population of cork and limerick, limerick does seem a lot smaller. I've lived in both cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭podmu80

Even though theres only about 30,000 in the difference between the population of cork and limerick, limerick does seem a lot smaller. I've lived in both cities.

30,000?? Its quite a bit more than that. More like 100,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

No comparison really between Cork and Limerick whichever way you look at it.

There's about 130,000 more in Cork city
    or 250,000 more in the metro area
    or 350,000 more in Cork county.

Anyone in doubt that's there's no comparison just needs to look at the amount of private sector development under construction which is currently in excess of 1 billion euro with another several billion euro of developments likely in the short to medium term when the Docklands really gets going. There are also hundreds of millions being spent on public infrastructure projects within the city area in the next few years alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,983 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm Billy Murphy.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

You're talking admin areas. There's an imaginary line drawn within the Cork urban area that they call the "city". The population is much bigger than that.