Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags in Cork city

• 17-05-2018 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭

Was in town today by Dealz on Daunt square and as I'm walking by I'm approached by a rough looking fella in a tracksuit (late 20's/early 30's I'd say) who asks if he can "speak to me for a sec" and asks for money. I apologise and say I've nothing on me, continue walking and he shouts back to me "shut yer mouth so ya f***in c**t" ...

Not the first time this has happened to me in this area of town, seems to be a few people in particular always hanging around this area and bothering people, including tourists which I've seen before.

Rang Bridewell Gardai to make them aware of it as I don't feel it's fair for people to be putting up with this kind of abuse, although just verbal, from scrotes like this who most likely contribute nothing to society and collect dole thanks to our taxes.

Anyone else notice similar problems in town?
    Post edited by Gaspode on

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

It's definitely getting worse, there seems to be loads about lately. Also, I've seen several people strung out around town (One fella was nearly sideways on Oliver Plunkett street a couple weeks ago at lunchtime on a Friday, then saw loads outside Mmmad on bank holiday Saturday. A fella in a Liverpool jersey on the bridge by bus station start of the week, and then yesterday evening two passed me by the Thomond.)

To be fair though they're so bolloxed, they don't give any hassle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Just walk on and ignore it. I'm regularly around that part of Cork city and while theres always a few dodgy characters around Daunt square I've never had any hassle.

Wasting your time reporting something like that. They know full well its going on but it would be at the lowest level of anything they might get involved in.

I've lived in Cork all my life (45) and had one brief altercation when I was about 18. This despite being out all weekends in my youth in various states of inebriation at all hours and in locations all over the city and suburbs. And back then I'd have been a magnet for the scumbags as one of the more alternatively dressed Henrys crowd.

Cork is a very safe city. Don't let the odd idiot get to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

What is their fascination with track suits? Is it the challenge of buttons too much for them or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Daunt square has been getting worse recently no doubt about it. I'm sure it was covered on the radio and echo a few months back. I don't know what the draw to that particular area is. If you were to sit outside the roundy you'd see enough of the type you're going on about. I wouldn't say there the usual homeless/drinking crowd that you'd see on the other streets as they're usually harmless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

so sad to see the scourge of glue sniffing back on the streets of cork too

its like the 80s again

The draw is McDonalds, a few outside seats and an open space to congregate. And from there they can watch people heading up and down pana as well as from Cornmarket street, Washington street, Grand Parade etc.

The same reason any body holding a rally of any sorts starts there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

I've walked on and ignored it previously and was also shouted at and even followed for a few moments.

Why are Gardai not more visible on the streets in the city centre? These kinds of issues sound fairly minor but when you are getting verbally abused every time you walk past these idiots it's a serious problem, even more so for tourists to our city. It gives off a seriously bad vibe and we shouldn't have to put up with it. If Gardai tackled it head on they'd be less likely to approach and subsequently abuse passersby getting on with their day. I mean, this was 11am, not 11pm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

kub wrote: »
    What is their fascination with track suits? Is it the challenge of buttons too much for them or what?

That and being able to pick them up off the floor in the middle of the day and put them on without ever having to iron them.

I've walked on and ignored it previously and was also shouted at and even followed for a few moments.

Why are Gardai not more visible on the streets in the city centre? These kinds of issues sound fairly minor but when you are getting verbally abused every time you walk past these idiots it's a serious problem, even more so for tourists to our city. It gives off a seriously bad vibe and we shouldn't have to put up with it. If Gardai tackled it head on they'd be less likely to approach and subsequently abuse passersby getting on with their day. I mean, this was 11am, not 11pm!

Seriously now though ? Every time ? I'm only in the city at nighttime and while I see these scrotes there never have I once been subject to that. I'm not trying to denegrate your reaction but the odd guy hustling you for for change or a smoke etc ? Either say no or blank them. If they verbally abuse you just keep walking. If it goes into physical abuse then thats a whole different ball game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I hate to say it but if the Gardai can't even have a visible presence on Dublin's streets what chance do you have in Cork. Much better to turn a blind eye and pretend it's not happening - worked well in Dublin. :rolleyes:

Gardai no longer seem to have the resources to go on the beat. They seem only to be able to provide a response these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Dublin is the worst place for beggars, charity beggars, clever beggars, stupid beggars, aggressive beggars, drunk beggars, hopeless beggars, 'homeless' beggars, out of their head beggars on drugs and all that. The Roma have moved out to the suburbs its that bad. Genuine travellers have given up entirely. There are limbless Middle-Eastern refugees in wheelchairs tapping the bus queues. There are con-artists looking for a Euro for the bus fare to Navan; or for the fare to visit the sick mother in Kildare. There are well dressed young women with babies in buggies scrounging for money for groceries outside convenience stores. The last con who tapped me said he and his girlfriend had 'just flown in from South Africa and needed €24 for a hostel'.

Trust me, Cork is a much pleasanter and safer place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Heckler wrote: »
    Seriously now though ? Every time ? I'm only in the city at nighttime and while I see these scrotes there never have I once been subject to that. I'm not trying to denegrate your reaction but the odd guy hustling you for for change or a smoke etc ? Either say no or blank them. If they verbally abuse you just keep walking. If it goes into physical abuse then thats a whole different ball game.

It has happened on a number of occasions, over the past month. Which is why I've posted here, to see if people have noticed a similar surge in these kind of dopes on the streets recently.

I have no problem ignoring them, and have done so in the past, but when they are verbally abusive towards you on the street, and even following you down the street afterwards, it becomes a bit much, and even a bit scary.

I was physically assaulted on the London Underground randomly last month, which is why I am even more aware of these kind of incidents and how they can sometimes turn into random attacks if not sorted out...

I really hate to see this kind of carry-on in Cork. I love my city and allowing these kinds of scrotes to operate tarnishes the place, especially from a tourists point of view. I understand it happens everywhere - when they leave you alone it's fine, but when they swear and verbally abuse you, it's ridiculous and should be rightly treated as an offence.

We need more Gardai on Cork's streets, and must not put up with this kind of behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Why do people keep panhandling for smokes?
    Don't they know they can like, go to a shop and buy their own?

Some lad and his mates leaning around the doorway of a pub...
    "Got a smoke?"
    "No" (don't smoke anyway!)
    "Fùck you!"

Another eejit (more pleasant though) was panhandling for about a half hour one sat morning. Looked like he could well afford his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

It has happened on a number of occasions, over the past month. Which is why I've posted here, to see if people have noticed a similar surge in these kind of dopes on the streets recently.

I have no problem ignoring them, and have done so in the past, but when they are verbally abusive towards you on the street, and even following you down the street afterwards, it becomes a bit much, and even a bit scary.

I was assaulted on the London Underground randomly last month, which is why I am even more aware of these kind of incidents and how they can sometimes turn into random attacks if not sorted out...

Well it has definitely been raised by the businesses in the area.There was talk about hiring security if the cops weren't going to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Why do people keep panhandling for smokes?
    Don't they know they can like, go to a shop and buy their own?

Some lad and his mates leaning around the doorway of a pub...
    "Got a smoke?"
    "No" (don't smoke anyway!)
    "Fùck you!"

Another eejit (more pleasant though) was panhandling for about a half hour one sat morning. Looked like he could well afford his own.

Can never get why tell people to f**k off when they reply I don't smoke.

"Sorry for inconveniencing you ill take up smoking right now"

jamesbere wrote: »
    Can never get why tell people to f**k off when they reply I don't smoke.

"Sorry for inconveniencing you ill take up smoking right now"

Probably sense of entitlement, if they don't get what they want straight away, the toys get thrown out of the pram.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

From my own experiences, this type of in ones face asking for money/etc does seem to be on the rise. The workaround of having headset on and avoiding eye contact, while seemingly effective make it seem to make it more the impersonal major city rather than former Cork of yore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

To see a Garda on the beat in the city is pretty unusual, we are supporting children having children, in town yesterday and saw nothing but single mothers pushing prams laden down with JD Sports bags, travellers everywhere , beggars and winos, it must look great to tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Gardai no longer seem to have the resources to go on the beat. They seem only to be able to provide a response these days.

and even when they finally turn up on a respond they effectively do f**k all, they are not interested and couldn't be bothered, rotten to the core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭wally79

Now that’s not fair.

I saw 2 on the beat one morning last week in the affluent suburb of Mount Merrion

Have to prioritise somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

mcko wrote: »
    To see a Garda on the beat in the city is pretty unusual, we are supporting children having children, in town yesterday and saw nothing but single mothers pushing prams laden down with JD Sports bags, travellers everywhere , beggars and winos, it must look great to tourists.

How do you know they were single mothers?

Please don't insult my intelligence, I suppose they all got the day off together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Please don't insult my intelligence, I suppose they all got the day off together.

How do you know they all work? You have no way of knowing what their situation is, and anyway, what’s your issue with single mothers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

If all you see in town as you walk around is single mothers, travellers, beggars and winos; then you're insulting the intelligence of everyone else. If you've a political view on those people, ok; but at least state that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭raydar

These sick types have grown nastier over time , they will not understand what you mean , there is no rhyme or reason and they cant make the right decisions
    They dont no how to behave with integrity , maturity and respect ,

In Dublin as everyone knows when your approached by these ones , you have to completely ignore them .

Also stay away from the areas they hang out in and try and re route your way , I find Wednesdays and Mondays can be a problems but those days can shift , just being more aware helps to stand back and to stay ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭bogwarrior

Went to cork Wednesdays for passport . Stayed a while , walked around , had some food , not so bad , good vibe . Got car and was leaving, some bloke was walking in the middle of the road off his tits really bad , stopped to leave him on , he was in a bad way , in his early 20s id say , but dont think cork is to bad , cork people are sound enough , would prefer to go to cork than dub!in any time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

There was bit of a come along between two down and outs at the bus station yesterday afternoon.One of them beats the other one unconscious.This happened in full view of people queuing for buses.There was another assault in that area on Friday afternoon.The area around the bus station is quite rough now.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Nothing to do with politics, just don't like seeing scum and an under class every where, perhaps that makes me a facist but I feel the city should be a nice place to walk around free from the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

For as long as I can remember, people have been going on about how rough the city is, always claiming that it is at its worst and getting worse.

If this was true and the city is progressively getting worse since the 80s, then the city centre would be an absolute no go zone with no law and order, whatsoever.

It's really not that bad. Personally, I think it was worse in the 80s.

Personally, I think it was worse in the 80s.

It was acceptable in the 80s.

Gardai had a lot for clout when it came to dealing with scumbags back in the 80's. Also I wonder did they have more judicial support with regard to punishment?
    If they even dared to look at some low life the wrong way now then there could be a complaint to GSOC.
    As always, an Irish cure to an Irish problem and as always too far in the other direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 abitofboth

Cannot be worse than Limerick.......... or as the Sunday world call it, Europe's murder capital!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

What is wrong with tracksuits? I wear one every day as they are comfortable. I only wear jeans if I'm going out. I'm not an unemployed actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

abitofboth wrote: »
    Cannot be worse than Limerick.......... or as the Sunday world call it, Europe's murder capital!

Cheek. There hasnt been a murder in Limerick in a long time. I think it's Dublin you are referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Driving along today minding my own business and passing through a residential street, passed 2 women one pushing a buggy & they had a young fella with them - no more than 4 I would say. Young lad hopped a pebble or whatever he had in his hand at the windscreen right as I passed. I turned the car and maintaining a smile informed his oblivious parent/carer what he'd done. To be fair they told him that was bold but walked off without the need to even make him say sorry. I achieved nought but at least called him out on his unacceptable behaviour and would like to think (naive I know) he'd think twice before doing it again. Lovely city :-/

Gardai had a lot for clout when it came to dealing with scumbags back in the 80's. Also I wonder did they have more judicial support with regard to punishment?
    If they even dared to look at some low life the wrong way now then there could be a complaint to GSOC.
    As always, an Irish cure to an Irish problem and as always too far in the other direction.

Less (or none at all) no win, no fee solicitors. Was there free legal aid back then?

More real fear of the Guards then. Scumbags laugh at the guards now because they know their hands are tied.

Different level of scumbaggery, playing knifey-spooney no doubt.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/threat-to-kill-over-length-of-time-in-bar-toilet-844325.html

'the accused had been using the knife at home and failed to remove it from his clothing before going out that night.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Saw some mother leaving her young son pIss all over a bus stop there the other day classless-not the first time seen this disgusting behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Was heading down Oliver Plunkett St. on Friday and there was a guy in the middle of the road top off with his cup out looking for money, needless to say people were ignoring him like he was invisible but he did seem out pretty out of it and this was about 1pm.

I dont think the Gardai want anything to do with it because theyed probably lock them up for a few hours only for them to do the same thing the next day, locking them up is pointless really, they'll be back tomorrow doing the exact same thing and probably the same condition.

Maybe a death squad.

I've also been hearing this kind of rhetoric for decades, too.
    Back in my day, the guards could beat the lard out of a young fella and he'd learn his lesson!
    No fear of authority! Blah blah blah.

It has been such for as long as I can remember.
    There will always be crime and antisocial behaviour and each generation will claim it's worse than ever and when they were young it wasn't bad at all and people had respect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Oul doll outside the grafton collapsed in her tracksuit the other day

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Cheek. There hasnt been a murder in Limerick in a long time. I think it's Dublin you are referring to.

Limericks serious crime issues are mainly in the past.Although for a small city compared to Cork and Dublin, Limericks issues were way off the scale back in the day.It got to a point where it couldn't get any worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Limericks serious crime issues are mainly in the past.Although for a small city compared to Cork and Dublin, Limericks issues were way off the scale back in the day.It got to a point where it couldn't get any worse!

Limerick isnt small compared to Cork... they are very comparable.

When things escalated years back with the Dundon/McCarthy and Keane/Collopy gangs, the Guards reacted really well and stomped that ****e out.

Those criminals were mainly self contained in particular areas though, and everyone knew where those where.

The murders of Geoghean and Collins raised the stakes though, as these were innocent people in decent areas, murdered. Limerick people reacted to this, as evidenced by the march against these scrotes, which I also attended.

These gangs are decimated now and have been for quite a few years. The Dundons in particular were hammered out of it. Even then though, the murders didnt quite compare to what we have witnessed in Dublin in recent times.

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Limerick isnt small compared to Cork... they are very comparable.

When things escalated years back with the Dundon/McCarthy and Keane/Collopy gangs, the Guards reacted really well and stomped that ****e out.

Those criminals were mainly self contained in particular areas though, and everyone knew where those where.

The murders of Geoghean and Collins raised the stakes though, as these were innocent people in decent areas, murdered. Limerick people reacted to this, as evidenced by the march against these scrotes, which I also attended.

These gangs are decimated now and have been for quite a few years. The Dundons in particular were hammered out of it. Even then though, the murders didnt quite compare to what we have witnessed in Dublin in recent times.

I agree with you although Cork has a bigger population base than Limerick.Limerick is a lot better now, and there's not a chance in hell that it will get that bad again.There have been a couple of gangland shootings in Cork, since there was last one in Limerick.Limerick is no worse than Cork and it's a lot better than Dublin in terms of scobes and drug addicts.I find it a safer city for a night out as well tbh.

I've also been hearing this kind of rhetoric for decades, too.
    Back in my day, the guards could beat the lard out of a young fella and he'd learn his lesson!
    No fear of authority! Blah blah blah.

It has been such for as long as I can remember.
    There will always be crime and antisocial behaviour and each generation will claim it's worse than ever and when they were young it wasn't bad at all and people had respect.

You have a good point, but previous generations did not have to put up with junkies in Cork, that is only a recent issue.

Well, for the last decade or so, in my obversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

There's an overhang at the back of the fire brigade station at Angelsea street, it's an employee entrance.

For the past year there's been different homeless people sleeping rough under the over hang and I don't have a problem with that. Well I do, but it's to do with our state and not them.

But recently in the past month or 2 the amount of people hanging around here can be up to 10 at any one time and there's regularly night fights on the street as there drinking all day.

I know this as I live right opposite and have had plenty sleepless nights.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

There's an overhang at the back of the fire brigade station at Angelsea street, it's an employee entrance.

For the past year there's been different homeless people sleeping rough under the over hang and I don't have a problem with that. Well I do, but it's to do with our state and not them.

But recently in the past month or 2 the amount of people hanging around here can be up to 10 at any one time and there's regularly night fights on the street as there drinking all day.

I know this as I live right opposite and have had plenty sleepless nights.

Seen some dodgy goings on on a couple of side streets on the cities west side recently as in behind Washington street (think its James street?) and near to the mercy hospital, also.