My weird neigbour thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

gmisk wrote:
    My pet hate is people parking in front of my house...but wouldn't go to that extreme. Why did you park there?

OT, but check if the estate is 'taken in' by local authority. If it is, report the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

[
    An Ri rua wrote: »
    Just make a very loud phone call to a friend and start laughing. When their noise has stopped. And before the showers.
    If they can then hear you...etc...etc.

Simples

Probably unaware you're there tbh
    Yeah a laugh followed by a loud "jesus, they've *FINALLY* stopped... she won't be able to walk right for a week!" should deal with the issue pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭nikkibikki

Sleepy wrote:
    Yeah a laugh followed by a loud "jesus, they've *FINALLY* stopped... she won't be able to walk right for a week!" should deal with the issue pretty quickly.

Or "Jaysus, he didn't last long enough for my liking at all!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Sleepy wrote: »
    [

Would standing at their window afterwards holding a scorecard be a step too far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Classic Italians

No, it's a BMW, they're German?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

mea_k wrote: »
    Title says it all . And let me kick this off.

I recently moved in to new area ( 3 years agoo ) . Off the city grounds nice quiet row of houses. And since then i just cannot stop amusing myself with my strange neighbors next door. Granted that now its starting to get ditruptive and i do not know even how to approach the problem. My neigbours are loveley irish couple in their early 30s have a beautiful child little girl lets say about 5 or 6 years old. Male leaves every morning like clockwork at 5.45 am . 7 days a week and comes back at exatcly 4.25 pm . i do not know how he times it so specific. But anyway . woman remains home with the child she drops her off and comes back thats monday to friday. Then like clockwork next car pulls in male in big bmw .... And then it starts . at first i thought there was fight between her and this male untill .....
    I realised it was some sort of pleasurabe activity. One can only wonder what sort activities took place. After very long activity could hear shower going and after man gets in car drives off and womans partner returns home with the child . THIS HAPPENS monday to friday. Lady must be exausted .

Slip out late at night and put a small note under his wiper. He'll get it first thing. After that it's up to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

The guy stopped drinking heavily next door abruptly about 20 or so years ago and has become the classic dry drunk narcissist and slowly became worse and worse annoying me when I was out the back..... walking to my car & just been genuinely an annoying self-centered p**ck that came to a head when he called me a fat-c**t in front of my kids.

I waited two days to get him after that, & gave it to him real good (verbally only) and the narcissist bottled it completely and ran into his house.

Like anything else with these fools he eventually started again but of course wouldn't slag me off like before, but like all narcissists he couldn't control his urge and asked me at my door recently could he use my side-gate for a house extension he was planning and could he knock down my sidewall as an entrance into his.

F**k-Off he was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I parked in front of my neighbors house. The next day he bought a junker of a micra and put it there. Never drove it once just leaves it there to keep the spot.

He is what is commonly referred to as a 'wanker'. You should call him that next time you see him, tell him I said he was a wanker too. What a wanker.

Ring the council and report it, if its not taxed then they can tow it. Report it to the Gardaoo as they can issue an on the spot fine for no tax also. That'll learn the wanker.
    Sleepy wrote: »
    Aren't you allowed to just barge through? I heard from a friend in the Ambulane service that this is what they're trained to do.

Your friend isn't in the ambulance service, that's just a story he makes up to cover up for the fact that he's a bit dim and cant get a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

My relationship is off now between me and my neighbor

She got net curtains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Reading this thread makes me really appreciate not having neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

gmisk wrote: »
    My pet hate is people parking in front of my house...but wouldn't go to that extreme.
    Why did you park there?

Probably for a skip to be collected. It’s fair game you don’t own the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

i Knew this bloke he lived with his mistress 3 days a week.
    he told his wife he needed to be near work.
    He pretended to be living with his friend joe.
    his wifes sister loved about 8 houses away from the mistress .
    This went on for about 3 years.
    one day his wife visited her sister and saw that his car was parked outside
    the womans house.
    So she knew he was having an affair.
    She threw him out and got a divorce.
    theres a problem with some house,s built in the boom.Theres low levels
    of sound insulation.
    You should not be able to hear your neighbour talking on a phone call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I live in a rural area and loved our lack of non-family neighbours. All the houses in the area were clumped according to family. Any new houses went up in their family cluster. It's been that way for generations. Until recently, when one person decides they want to plonk a house right beside us. They're so close they even wanted to cut out our garden to make their driveway. They're closer to our house than my family member on the other side. If you stand in the garden, we're closer to their house than ours for the most part. And they have a window that faces right toward our house. The worst part? They plonked the house right between us and the view.

What is the point in living in the country side when you no longer have privacy, peace, or quiet in your own house? You already know they're going to be pricks when they asked to turn our garden into a drive, and the house isn't even finished yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

What is the point in living in the country side when you no longer have privacy, peace, or quiet in your own house?

Eh the subsidies and grants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Eh the subsidies and grants.

If only!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

My neighbour masturbates their dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

There is enough space between my neighbours and myself, but they are nonetheless fabulous weirdos.

One ist a tin-foil-hat-nutcase, god-fearing and medieval reenactment-fan, occasionally running around in a suit of armour (once with a black binbag thrown over for "not to frighten people" - I kid you not).

The other is a passionate heathen that throws great garden parties that I join occasionally, unless they do that dancing naked around a bonfire.

Another one can't stand anything growing and sits relentlessly on his tractor mower to cut every tiny daisy as soon as it dares to grow, thinks the same about female opinions and the world as such and tries in vain to assert himself, to the endless entertainment of everyone else.

Further there is a couple from Dublin that has a tiny, tiny holiday home that they consider as a country pile and everyone else is a peasant. It's fun to look down on one's nose at these wannabe-landed-gentry.

Ad then there is myself. I'm probably a weirdo, too, because I enjoy my weirdo neighbours no end.

And all of us gossip with each other about the weirdness of the others.

We are a great bunch of lads and ladettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

My neighbour pees in his garden, caught him twice in the last few weeks when I am letting the dog out before I head to bed.
    Didn't believe it as first - but saw him ( and heard him) on a moonlit night.
    I still cant figure out why, he has a 5 bed house, most are en-suites and its just him and the missus since his kids grew up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

My neighbour pees in his garden, caught him twice in the last few weeks when I am letting the dog out before I head to bed.
    Didn't believe it as first - but saw him ( and heard him) on a moonlit night.
    I still cant figure out why, he has a 5 bed house, most are en-suites and its just him and the missus since his kids grew up.

It's a male thing. I once had a boyfriend who always peed in front of the house after coming home from a night out. He just had to step in and go to the toilet, but no, he had to mark his place, like a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

mea_k wrote: »
    Oh god. Sureley her mother should control her behaviour ? Im guessing mum is her full time carer? Its sad to see people who need extra help not getting it due to family memmbers saying everything is ok...and recieving good money for beeing a carer.

Going off topic here a bit but i wouldnt class 200e less in some cases good money for 24hours a day 7 days a week job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

l The weirdest thing is seen my neighbor doing was painting the decking in the middle of a thunderstorm The rain was belting down and him out with oil skins and a paint brush

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Reading this thread makes me really appreciate not having neighbours
    So I bought this house in Dublin some years ago, needed a bit of renovation, and applied for planning permission which included renovation of one existing window plus permission for three new windows, all four facing south, and all four upstairs. The neighbours on the northern side couldn't have been nicer. Neighbours on the south side though whined about the existing window (which did look into their back garden) plus the three new windows which didn't look into their place. But they only mentioned this at the end of the planning observation period when all the paperwork had gone in, been paid for, and rested for six or eight weeks, so I didn't want to restart everything and delay for two months. So instead, I offered to block the existing window from looking into their place and not to build the three new windows, and would sign a Covenant to this effect, but they told me that wasn't good enough and they lodged an objection which was almost completely overruled by the local council. After losing, they complained again to me, this time threatening to to sue me for "harassment" if I ever looked out the existing window, so I said that one was staying (but had arranged that the the overlook into their place would be blocked by a new roof), and I made the same offer again not to build the other three windows and again to sign a Covenant to this effect, but instead of agreeing to this, they complained to An Bord Pleanala which upheld the local council's decision in the cracking time of two months instead of around five.

So I renovated the existing window, built the three new windows and they're all lovely and let in lots light upstairs :)

The whole mess cost them a few thousand in consultants' fees and they achieved absolutely nothing. But the funniest thing was that it turned out that their own house was not compliant with their own permission as my architect noticed during the An Bord Pleanala appeal, that they'd built a north-facing window in their place, which looked into my garden, which they'd built without planning permission. Didn't tell the local council about it though as I'm not a dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭xper

YzljYjdkNzZjZWMwZmViZGE5NGY3MWU0NjEyYWZmOWGgXb0vaD5TdsgrisZ3qyJEaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL21lZGlhbWFzdGVyLXMzZXUvNy9hLzdhZjJhOGFjY2E3YjMzODc5NzhjMTJmMjY4YWUyZjUzLmpwZ3w3MDB8NTI1fHx8fHxodHRwOi8vd3d3LmRhZnQuaWUvaS93YXRlcm1hcmtfZGFmdC5wbmd8fHw=.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

^epic.

Yes voters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Don't know about weird neighbour but dodgy neighbours yeah I know of. I just heard what I know was a gunshot there in my estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

xper wrote: »
    YzljYjdkNzZjZWMwZmViZGE5NGY3MWU0NjEyYWZmOWGgXb0vaD5TdsgrisZ3qyJEaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL21lZGlhbWFzdGVyLXMzZXUvNy9hLzdhZjJhOGFjY2E3YjMzODc5NzhjMTJmMjY4YWUyZjUzLmpwZ3w3MDB8NTI1fHx8fHxodHRwOi8vd3d3LmRhZnQuaWUvaS93YXRlcm1hcmtfZGFmdC5wbmd8fHw=.jpg

I would so gladly help the owner of that gaff to clear the ivy and scrub and paint the mother and father of a mural of Satan on that wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭markc1184

There is an older lady that lives at the bottom of my street. She does everything after dark. I've seen her cutting her grass, painting window sills, cleaning her windows at all hours. Even seen her on a ladder putting Xmas decorations up at 1am on a cold December night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Don't know about weird neighbour but dodgy neighbours yeah I know of. I just heard what I know was a gunshot there in my estate

You having trouble with poachers shooting in your estate too? Since we got the new gamekeeper all that has stopped at my estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

I parked in front of my neighbors house. The next day he bought a junker of a micra and put it there. Never drove it once just leaves it there to keep the spot.

That's within the rules.

However, so is calling the council to have it removed if the tax runs out.

(Public road)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

xper wrote: »

"Hello, we're canvassing on behalf of Together For Yes..."

"Oh hello, why don't you follow me out to the back garden and we'll discuss it"