Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My weird neigbour thread

• 21-05-2018 2:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭

Title says it all . And let me kick this off.

I recently moved in to new area ( 3 years agoo ) . Off the city grounds nice quiet row of houses. And since then i just cannot stop amusing myself with my strange neighbors next door. Granted that now its starting to get ditruptive and i do not know even how to approach the problem. My neigbours are loveley irish couple in their early 30s have a beautiful child little girl lets say about 5 or 6 years old. Male leaves every morning like clockwork at 5.45 am . 7 days a week and comes back at exatcly 4.25 pm . i do not know how he times it so specific. But anyway . woman remains home with the child she drops her off and comes back thats monday to friday. Then like clockwork next car pulls in male in big bmw .... And then it starts . at first i thought there was fight between her and this male untill .....
    I realised it was some sort of pleasurabe activity. One can only wonder what sort activities took place. After very long activity could hear shower going and after man gets in car drives off and womans partner returns home with the child . THIS HAPPENS monday to friday. Lady must be exausted .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

My weird neighbor spy's on us and know's our every movement. They even listen to what's going on inside our house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

OP; Ye don't want AH. Ye want the Daily Mail.

They'll pay for this sh!t. Here ye'll just get torn to pieces.

True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My weird neighbor spy's on use and know's our every movement. They even listen to what's going on inside our house!

I thinking of changing the BMW .

Or we could just have the neighbor whacked by your friend in the know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

mea_k wrote: »

I recently moved in to new area ( 3 years agoo ) . Off the city grounds nice quiet row of houses. And since then i just cannot stop amusing myself with my strange neighbors next door. Granted that now its starting to get ditruptive and i do not know even how to approach the problem. My neigbours are loveley irish couple in their early 30s have a beautiful child little girl lets say about 5 or 6 years old. Male leaves every morning like clockwork at 5.45 am . 7 days a week and comes back at exatcly 4.25 pm . i do not know how he times it so specific. But anyway . woman remains home with the child she drops her off and comes back thats monday to friday. Then like clockwork next car pulls in male in big bmw .... And then it starts . at first i thought there was fight between her and this male untill .....
    I realised it was some sort of pleasurabe activity. One can only wonder what sort activities took place. After very long activity could hear shower going and after man gets in car drives off and womans partner returns home with the child . THIS HAPPENS monday to friday. Lady must be exausted .

Husband works 7 days a week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

worded wrote: »
    Husband works 7 days a week ?

Someone has to pay for the escort.

Pac1Man wrote: »

Maybe he runs a brothel and she works from home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Pac1Man wrote: »

It's a BMW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Maybe the wife and the bmw man are banging. What’s so weird about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I moved into a small house in a row of terraced cottages. The day I moved in, there was a woman standing in the doorway 2 doors up from me but anytime I tried to catch her eye, she'd try to hide. She seemed like she wasn't the full shilling. Anyway, I finished moving in my stuff and then I arrived with my dog. When she saw my dog she went absolutely ape, came running down the road street shouting "no dogs, no dogs!" I put my dog in the house and tried to speak to her but it was hard to make any sense of her. Next thing, her mother came out of the house and basically snatched her back inside, I could then hear her shouting at her daughter.

So anyway, I thought that was the end of it. I brought my dog for a walk around to the local shop to familiarise myself with the area. When I got back to the house, I had literally just closed my door when I heard someone banging on it. I opened it and there was this woman again. She started screaming at me "your dog was barking and it's making me crazy!!" I tried telling her that I hadn't been home and neither had my dog (as far as I remember, we had been gone from the house for nearly an hour) but there was no speaking to her. She was clearly a very unwell woman.

So I stayed in that place for around 6 weeks and every day I had a run in with this woman so eventually I had to move out because I started to fear for my safety. One night she tried to force her way into my house and another night she had a knife.

So I contacted the landlord after the night the woman tried to force her way into my house and in all fairness, the landlord was very nice and understanding about it and I was able to move out.
    The last I heard was that the landlord was actually involving solicitors because apparently, this woman was interfering with the landlord being able to rent out the house because, for some reason, every time someone new moved in, the woman started this carry on.

Then a more lighthearted one. I lived in a small flat, in an old Georgian house in Dublin, which contained a few small flats. The walls were thin enough but it was cheap and only a 20 minute walk to the city centre. My neighbours were this Italian couple, who spent the majority of their time screaming at each other, screaming at the Serie A or having very rambunctious sex:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

erica74 wrote: »
    I moved into a small house in a row of terraced cottages. The day I moved in, there was a woman standing in the doorway 2 doors up from me but anytime I tried to catch her eye, she'd try to hide. She seemed like she wasn't the full shilling. Anyway, I finished moving in my stuff and then I arrived with my dog. When she saw my dog she went absolutely ape, came running down the road street shouting "no dogs, no dogs!" I put my dog in the house and tried to speak to her but it was hard to make any sense of her. Next thing, her mother came out of the house and basically snatched her back inside, I could then hear her shouting at her daughter.

So anyway, I thought that was the end of it. I brought my dog for a walk around to the local shop to familiarise myself with the area. When I got back to the house, I had literally just closed my door when I heard someone banging on it. I opened it and there was this woman again. She started screaming at me "your dog was barking and it's making me crazy!!" I tried telling her that I hadn't been home and neither had my dog (as far as I remember, we had been gone from the house for nearly an hour) but there was no speaking to her. She was clearly a very unwell woman.

So I stayed in that place for around 6 weeks and every day I had a run in with this woman so eventually I had to move out because I started to fear for my safety. One night she tried to force her way into my house and another night she had a knife.

So I contacted the landlord after the night the woman tried to force her way into my house and in all fairness, the landlord was very nice and understanding about it and I was able to move out.
    The last I heard was that the landlord was actually involving solicitors because apparently, this woman was interfering with the landlord being able to rent out the house because, for some reason, every time someone new moved in, the woman started this carry on.

Then a more lighthearted one. I lived in a small flat, in an old Georgian house in Dublin, which contained a few small flats. The walls were thin enough but it was cheap and only a 20 minute walk to the city centre. My neighbours were this Italian couple, who spent the majority of their time screaming at each other, screaming at the Serie A or having very rambunctious sex:pac:

Classic Italians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

I parked in front of my neighbors house. The next day he bought a junker of a micra and put it there. Never drove it once just leaves it there to keep the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭mea_k

Edit : house was built early 2007 . walls are paper thin hence i hear every footstep. Not paticulary want to be listening in . And yes the all week thing is strange and i dont know anyone that would work 7 days a week. I am a nurse on sick leave , and dont really be going anywhere witch means most of my time is spent in this house. Not that i want to be at home all the time. Anyway anyone knows how to approach such a sensitive subject? Because the sounds are getting so loud i cant speak on phone anymore inside my house without person on other end going shall i ring you back ha ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

erica74 wrote:
    ........having very rambunctious sex

The dirty feckers!!!!! Is that like bukake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

OP you're the weird neighbour here.

erica74 wrote: »

Oh god. Sureley her mother should control her behaviour ? Im guessing mum is her full time carer? Its sad to see people who need extra help not getting it due to family memmbers saying everything is ok...and recieving good money for beeing a carer.

How ??? I cant even talk on my phone in the house anymore ? They are sooo loud. Her partner parks his car in front of my house so i know exatct time him leaving and arriving. Read edit up above. I just want to know how to aproach this without not putting my foot in to couples relationship or what ever else they are doing on the side

Easy - at 5.46 go around and tell them to keep it down or you'll be back around at 4.26.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

He needs to mind his own alright. If he just had a job to go to, or something like that.

Who's to say I'm not at work already. If the OP wanted people to mind their own business I'm sure they wouldn't be posting in an online forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Who's to say I'm not at work already. If the OP wanted people to mind their own business I'm sure they wouldn't be posting in an online forum.

I was agreeing with you. Was musing that it'd be great if he had a job to go to, rather than watching someone's house 24-7.

Sorry Baron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I parked in front of my neighbors house. The next day he bought a junker of a micra and put it there. Never drove it once just leaves it there to keep the spot.
    My pet hate is people parking in front of my house...but wouldn't go to that extreme.
    Why did you park there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

I suppose it's more a funny one, but one night I had to knock up to an upstairs neighbor who was clanking around for an hour nonstop at 3am, kept us awake with it so I decided to head up and just nicely ask him to chill out with that for a while lol.

Anyway, he opened the door about 3 cm and just asked 'who is it' so I told him who and just asked him to relax with the clanking around on the wooden floor if he wouldn't mind, next thing there's some frantic clanking and a crash!!!!

LOL I asked him was he alright but opened the door as I asked and lone behold there he is on the floor, high heels, stockings, a corset lol.

Needless to say he was mortified, I let him know that I wouldn't say a word but God love the chap he was bordering on panick attack.

Feel bad for the guy , to be fair it's not exactly something awful but I can see how he'd be freaked about getting caught out like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

My new neighbour is apparently a drug dealer, he ticks all the boxes of the drug dealer bingo.
    Last week I found out that the company he works for and rents out the house he's living in is under police surveillance for drug trafficking.
    The amount of random dodgy cars showing up is unreal.

LirW wrote: »
    My new neighbour is apparently a drug dealer, he ticks all the boxes of the drug dealer bingo.
    Last week I found out that the company he works for and rents out the house he's living in is under police surveillance for drug trafficking.
    The amount of random dodgy cars showing up is unreal.

I'd continue to be friendly and polite to this guy so, if you suddenly start acting off with him. He will think there's something up and straight 9ff point the finger at you when he gets done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

italodisco wrote: »
    I'd continue to be friendly and polite to this guy so, if you suddenly start acting off with him. He will think there's something up and straight 9ff point the finger at you when he gets done.

He's a very quiet guy, you never see him outside, if so, I greet him like I do with everyone, I mind my own business really as long as I'm not getting involved.

It's quite funny though, there are 10 houses on the street, half of them still belong to the council, that one is the only privately rented and attracts weird people for some reason. The previous tenant was some scumbag mother that would run to her solicitor if you even look at her or her children. She was a proper nutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

LirW wrote: »
    He's a very quiet guy, you never see him outside, if so, I greet him like I do with everyone, I mind my own business really as long as I'm not getting involved.

It's quite funny though, there are 10 houses on the street, half of them still belong to the council, that one is the only privately rented and attracts weird people for some reason. The previous tenant was some scumbag mother that would run to her solicitor if you even look at her or her children. She was a proper nutter.

I've had a few of them over the years, commiserations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭gargargar

I was driving down a small road in an estate recently. Near the end of it there were two cars parking on the road either side with maybe just enough room to squeeze a car through. The rest of the road both side empty. There was a kid sitting on the wall beside one of the cars. I got out of my car and ask the kids did she did her parents own the car. Then a man came out of the house and told me to ask the guy across the road to move his car!! Some kind of war. I just got in the car and drove it through the gap. About an inch either side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

gargargar wrote: »
    I was driving down a small road in an estate recently. Near the end of it there were two cars parking on the road either side with maybe just enough room to squeeze a car through. The rest of the road both side empty. There was a kid sitting on the wall beside one of the cars. I got out of my car and ask the kids did she did her parents own the car. Then a man came out of the house and told me to ask the guy across the road to move his car!! Some kind of war. I just got in the car and drove it through the gap. About an inch either side...

Handy lads if the fire brigade were ever needed for houses down below their own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

My neighbour sometimes cuts the grass when it's dark. Torch on his head. Also does noisy outdoor work at inappropriate times. Cutting sticks, strimming, power washing, early on a Sunday morning. Spends about 2 hours every Sunday cleaning his car, there doesn't even be a mark on it. We call him "the man who can't sit down" to the tune of The Script song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Gwynplaine wrote:
    My neighbour sometimes cuts the grass when it's dark. Torch on his head. Also does noisy outdoor work at inappropriate times. Cutting sticks, strimming, power washing, early on a Sunday morning. Spends about 2 hours every Sunday cleaning his car, there doesn't even be a mark on it. We call him "the man who can't sit down" to the tune of The Script song.

Use to work with a chap that use to cut his grass at night, and measure it with a ruler afterwards, he was also bipolar with possible borderline personality disorder, a dreadful condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭lolokeogh

my neighbours are crazy nosey fu*kers who are obsessed with car park spaces...sad realy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Edit : house was built early 2007 . walls are paper thin hence i hear every footstep. Not paticulary want to be listening in . And yes the all week thing is strange and i dont know anyone that would work 7 days a week. I am a nurse on sick leave , and dont really be going anywhere witch means most of my time is spent in this house. Not that i want to be at home all the time. Anyway anyone knows how to approach such a sensitive subject? Because the sounds are getting so loud i cant speak on phone anymore inside my house without person on other end going shall i ring you back ha ha ha

Tell the woman you are really enjoying the sex noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Tell the woman you are really enjoying the sex noise.

And do it in a Borat accent. Nice. *thumbs up*

Gwynplaine wrote: »

Isn't that counter intuitive, won't the grass be damp from the dew?

There's a lad in the corner house on my road, his front garden is probably 12 feet long, 4 feet wide and the sprinkler throws water about 15 feet down and 8 feet across. The entire footpath is soaked.
    On Saturday afternoon someone had moved it to in front of his door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

razorblunt wrote: »
    Isn't that counter intuitive, won't the grass be damp from the dew?

There's a lad in the corner house on my road, his front garden is probably 12 feet long, 4 feet wide and the sprinkler throws water about 15 feet down and 8 feet across. The entire footpath is soaked.
    On Saturday afternoon someone had moved it to in front of his door.

Sprinkler for grass in Ireland?

I've seen them the odd time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Occasionally my neighbour sends me photos of my own front garden. And photos of her dog. Not even doing anything unusual or cute, just sitting there.

Gotta say, I sometimes pity the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I've used one during the summer, we can go a couple of weeks without rain during a good summer and grass will burn.
    Also, if you have over-seeded its required.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

This very large family live directly across the road from my girlfriend. There's a girl of about 11 or 12 who seems to be autistic and spends an awful lot of time outside their house on the street holding up an I- pad and dancing along to something she's playing on it. She or the rest of the familys not causing any trouble or anything but she's directly facing my OH's living room and if you're sitting down watching the telly or whatever it can be disconcerting with this constant movement in your eyeline (she tends to bop up and down waving her free arm in the air). I usually end up drawing the curtains after a while though it doesn't seem to bother my OH as much. The family are kind of strange, one of the older daughters and her partner plus their two very young children are always at this house any time I'm there, you know because they go outside smoking every 20 minutes or so. I thought they were living there but my partner says they have a house of their own from the council somewhere nearby yet they spend a huge part of everyday at this place. As I said they're not causing trouble but they're a strange bunch and the girl dancing can be very annoying. They have a car but they never seem to go anywhere either, they're just always there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bet you're an Arsenal fan OP, voyeurism ain't right it's wrong wrong wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Used to have a neighbour that didn't mind walking around naked.
    And I could never understand why they couldn't move that headboard just a little bit away from the wall!!!!

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

It's a BMW

Oh man.
    LMAO at this

Nah, I live somewhere where sprinklers are properly used.

Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

My weird neighbour -

Man in his late 40's. Lives alone with about 10 cats. None are neutered and make lots of noise when in heat. His house looks derelict with wildly overgrown front and rear gardens which he thinks looks like the Botanic Gardens. When we moved in over 10 years ago, the net curtain in the rear bedroom had been ripped at the bottom by the cats. Gradually over the years it got smaller and smaller until there was just a 2 inch strip left at the top. It stayed like this for some time. He is the first owner. He never put a floor down in the kitchen. Its still the bare concrete. He made a hole in the wooden back door for the cats to come and go as they please. His curtains in the front living room have never been opened. His gutters are overflowing. His garden walls are cracked from the roots of the large trees and about to fall down.

We had walls built to divide the gardens years ago. A couple of years later his goes mad at me saying the wall isn't straight and THIS will affect the resale value if he wanted to sell!!!!!

There's more, but this will do for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Seems less like a weird neighbours thread and more like a Irish Mental Healthcare failing thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

gmisk wrote: »
    My pet hate is people parking in front of my house...but wouldn't go to that extreme.
    Why did you park there?

I'll go with park opposite my driveway. Pain in the glutes trying to reverse out and always be aware of their car right in the reversing line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

What's her address?