Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

It's amazing here when it comes to the Guards. They just can't win.
    They take out a guy who was obviously mentally unstable and comes at them with a knife and thus potentially saving more victims but no, it's best to focus on how they were at the start.
    We haven't a clue if they took it seriously, they must have if they had detectives connecting everything so quickly.
    She went missing Saturday, he was found and shot on Sunday and on Monday they found the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭More Music

No justice exists here, especially now that the Garda who shot him (and indeed Gardai in general) are going to be and already are vehemently being targetted as if they are the true protagonists in this.

I mean look at this spiteful tweet, seconds after her body was announced as being found

She doesn't even have her facts right!!

https://twitter.com/MsSusieBenson/status/998571930042208256

What did she tweet? Looks like it was removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

I believe the Garda will sleep easily knowing he did his job and removed a dangerous animal from the world.

Sadly he won't with so many on his back, many calling for his p45, many saying that it was disproportionate action as the man "only" had a knife others even going so far as to say and some on twitter still maintaining that his actions might have led to her being found alive.

Imagine having those voices echoing behind you, hopefully he is strong enough to cope with it all.

And thankfully her body was at the very least, found, even though it is far too early to consider this as anyway anyway positive.

No expenses on prison costs, no expenses on paying solicitors to represent him. No emotional cost to the victims family of going through a trial.
    I think it is a good result the dog is dead.

While I agree with all that, I personally feel that he got off light. Her poor family and his, are now serving life sentences. God Love them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I believe the Garda will sleep easily knowing he did his job and removed a dangerous animal from the world.

That Garda has my backing. Fair play to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Sminkypinky

bear1 wrote: »
    It's amazing here when it comes to the Guards. They just can't win.
    They take out a guy who was obviously mentally unstable and comes at them with a knife and thus potentially saving more victims but no, it's best to focus on how they were at the start.
    We haven't a clue if they took it seriously, they must have if they had detectives connecting everything so quickly.
    She went missing Saturday, he was found and shot on Sunday and on Monday they found the body.
    Yes. I'm not the biggest fan of the Gards but it's difficult to see how they could have done more.
    Too many armchair experts, too quick to criticise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭maninasia

Obviously should have gone to scene of crime that evening and do a check on the Nissan qashqais owners in the area overnight. Confirmed abduction and identified the abductee by 11pm
    Seems like delays could have been crucial here.
    Should not have waited for daybreak.

Also know it can be easy to question in hindsight, but still some questions there.

Well known that you've got about 12 hours in most of these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,695 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

RIP. So rarely do these type of events have good outcomes. :(

It's very similar to the Karen Buckley tragedy in Scotland.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

While I agree with all that, I personally feel that he got off light. Her poor family and his, are now serving life sentences. God Love them all.

I disagree. "In Ireland, time served for those released under life sentences averages out at more than 14 years." He's have been out at 54 soonest.

Just look at Larry Murphy getting released. Perfect example of our very broken "justice" system.

More Music wrote: »
    What did she tweet? Looks like it was removed.

not even worth giving people like her a platform

maninasia wrote: »
    Obviously should have gone to scene of crime that evening

Absolutely. Why didn't you phone them and tell them where it was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

RIP, poor girl :(

I salute the Garda for taking this sicko out, one less creep walking the streets of Dublin.

Reati wrote: »
    Just look at Larry Murphy getting released. Perfect example of our very broken "justice" system.

Murphy wasn't sentenced to life though. He was released far too early, I agree with you there. He was always gonna get out at some stage however as he had a release date.

Omackeral wrote: »

Abduction was witnessed and reported immediately.

Omackeral wrote: »

Abduction was witnessed and reported immediately.

On going to the site the next morning they confirmed identity from the bag there. Would have been better to check immediately at site.

Just a protocol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

RIP to that young girl. Fair play to the Garda for downing that sick bastard.

Imagine being the search team trying to recover the body at the moment. Apparently they cant even get to it physically yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Hard to make any sort of sense of it at all. So many unanswered questions.

Indeed. Who knows? The man may well have been suffering from severe mental illness (psychosis) so it would be unwise to pass judgement given that nothing is yet known about his background or character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭More Music

not even worth giving people like her a platform

True. But you did post a link to it on Boards thus giving it a bigger platform. You might as well tell us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

As a parent of a 21 year old daughter who lives very close to the scene of the abduction, he certainly has mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

chicorytip wrote: »
    Indeed. Who knows? The man may well have been suffering from severe mental illness (psychosis) so it would be unwise to pass judgement given that nothing is yet known about his background or character.

Stop making excuses.

Velvet Trolls everywhere..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,402 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

From what we've heard, the killer came at an unarmed traffic cop with a knife (and those who were in attendance were of the opinion he had already probably murdered someone). Shooting dead a maniac who was resisting arrest and who was about to launch a knife attack on a policeman doesn't seem that unreasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

chicorytip wrote: »

F#@k him and his 'pychosis'....

RIP Jastine, and my thoughts and prayers are with her family and friends, and with the family of the evil f*ckt*rd who is responsible for her horrendous death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭touts

RIP. Very sad for her family and also for the family of the murderer.

I hope the guard who took him down isn't scapegoated out of the service. The Irish Council for Civil Liberties and other Criminals Rights organisations will doubtless make his life miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,050 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

F#@k him and his 'pychosis'....

You may know someone that has experienced pychosis, have a chat to them about it, it's rather disturbing

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Obviously should have gone to scene of crime that evening and do a check on the Nissan qashqais owners in the area overnight. Confirmed abduction and identified the abductee by 11pm
    Seems like delays could have been crucial here.
    Should not have waited for daybreak.

Also know it can be easy to question in hindsight, but still some questions there.

Well known that you've got about 12 hours in most of these cases.

Where'd you get this information from that they waited for daybreak? Do you know when the body was left at site? Was it Saturday? Or did he move it there and dump it on Sunday?
    Interested to know as you seem to have this information that the guards don't.

No one knows, she could have been dead and dumped within an hour. The two sites are a few km's from each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

touts wrote: »
    RIP. Very sad for her family and also for the family of the murderer.

I hope the guard who took him down isn't scapegoated out of the service. The Irish Council for Civil Liberties and other Criminals Rights organisations will doubtless make his life miserable.

All the baying for Guards to have guns and when one is used and someone is shot (and rightly so for being a murderer) now all the outrage is going in the other direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Imagine being the search team trying to recover the body at the moment. Apparently they cant even get to it physically yet
    There's a thick, dark cloud looming over the Wicklow mountains and that general area now from where I'm sitting, which is not going to help at all. You'd almost swear it was 20 minutes before nightfall in December which hopefully clears after the great little bit of weather we've had. I would imagine it will be a lot easier to keep going in dry & clear than dark, misty and rainy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Terrible news. :(:(
    Very very sad.
    I had a very very faint sliver of hope and was really clinging on to it that she might be found alive.
    This whole thing just seems so pointless.
    The poor girl going about her own business on a sunny day and ripped from her life and from her family.
    We may never know, more importantly, both families may never know why.

Poor girl. :( R.I.P.