Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Why are media publishing this twisted man's photo. Looking at him is making me sick, I can't imagine how the family and friends are feeling when they see the face of such evil actions when they still have not even found her

Doesn't help his poor family either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I think you are 100% right about the dangers of knife in close combat/contact.

However that doesn't really apply to the situation we have here. The Garda didn't feel himself in danger and wasn't in close proximity to the knife man.
    He believed he saw two heads in the jeep and saw the knife. Believing the victim about to be stabbed he fired to preserve her life. Now it transpires that there was only one person in the car. However if the Garda genuinely believed he saw two and believed a life was in danger then he was professionally and ethically obliged to fire.

There will be a lot of focus on the Garda's actions and of course a GSOC investigation. I think his actions will be upheld. I think the public for the most part are/will be supportive of that.

How on earth are you even making all this up ? Are you the Garda or just able to read his mind ./YOU WERE NOT THERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 VainHard Bendix

pah wrote: »
    Another poster who was actually at the scene!!! Fill is in on the rest will ya

That description is from Garda Paul Williams. Official Garda mouthpiece of the last thirty years. It's as close to gospel as you'll get for now.
    Otherwise, why discuss the matter at all? Why are you on the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 VainHard Bendix

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    How on earth are you even making all this up ? Are you the Garda or just able to read his mind ./YOU WERE NOT THERE

I can read your mind. It's a blank page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

OscarBluth wrote: »
    The vast majority of cases like this have male perpetrators. It could be purely to do with their physical size, or it could be something else- either way not acknowledging that, and wondering if there's some way we're failing boys and men that contributes to it, seems pointless.

Rape is a nearly solely make perpetrated crime, that is just the logistics of it. I've no idea what conclusion you're trying to draw from the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Andy Magic

Why are media publishing this twisted man's photo. Looking at him is making me sick, I can't imagine how the family and friends are feeling when they see the face of such evil actions when they still have not even found her

Doesn't help his poor family either

Probably best if you just turned your computer off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I can read your mind. It's a blank page.

Ba dum tish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,271 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Reading back and of course there's posters/links to idiots trying to virtue-signal and/or generalise men everywhere! :rolleyes:

I've only started using Reddit over the last few months really, but one thing Boards could benefit from is their [Agenda Spammer] tag to help cut out/easily identify and thus bypass this nonsense.

It's worrying though how many Irish people seem to be soaking up this US-led shyte. As I said in the the Jordan Peterson thread, the problems of the US are very different to those elsewhere in the West, and I don't understand these attempts to project those problems onto societies/countries/cultures elsewhere.

Rape is a nearly solely male perpetrated crime, that is just the logistics of it. I've no idea what conclusion you're trying to draw from the above.

Now that you say it, has a woman ever been convicted of actual rape in this jurisdiction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

Rape is a nearly solely make perpetrated crime, that is just the logistics of it. I've no idea what conclusion you're trying to draw from the above.

Does this give you a clearer picture? 90% of sexual violence against women and girls is by men. 93% of sexual violence against men and boys is by men. The majority of victims of sexual violence are women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Omackeral wrote: »
    Now that you say it, has a woman ever been convicted of actual rape in this jurisdiction?

They can't be:
    Rape is defined by the Criminal Law (Rape) Act 1981 as sexual intercourse by a man with a woman who is not consenting to the intercourse, and where the man either knows that she is not consenting or is reckless as to whether she is or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I think you are 100% right about the dangers of knife in close combat/contact.

However that doesn't really apply to the situation we have here. The Garda didn't feel himself in danger and wasn't in close proximity to the knife man.
    He believed he saw two heads in the jeep and saw the knife. Believing the victim about to be stabbed he fired to preserve her life. Now it transpires that there was only one person in the car. However if the Garda genuinely believed he saw two and believed a life was in danger then he was professionally and ethically obliged to fire.
    I can't believe they couldn't just shoot the gun out of his hand. I saw John Wayne do it in a movie once, surely the gardai could have done this rather than killing yer man!!!
    FFS....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Considering how grim this news story appears and the fact it's still totally open, I think it'd be more tasteful to leave all the gender-politicking and ACAB sh!te to another thread FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Reading back and of course there's posters/links to idiots trying to virtue-signal and/or generalise men everywhere! :rolleyes:

I've only started using Reddit over the last few months really, but one thing Boards could benefit from is their [Agenda Spammer] tag to help cut out/easily identify and thus bypass this nonsense.

It's worrying though how many Irish people seem to be soaking up this US-led shyte. As I said in the the Jordan Peterson thread, the problems of the US are very different to those elsewhere in the West, and I don't understand these attempts to project those problems onto societies/countries/cultures elsewhere.

And here you are continuing the argument, it was dead. Can we stick to the topic please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

OscarBluth wrote: »
    In the last week, we've had a first year student sexually assaulted and murdered, possibly by someone close in age to her, and a 24 year old abducted by someone with a 'sexual motive' according to the gardai. I don't see what's wrong with investigating how we're raising the men who do this, and if there's a way to intervene earlier.

The 'lone psychopath' argument can be very damaging - ultimately, rates of sexual assault vary hugely throughout the world. There's not some set percentage of people who are evil who do this that can't be changed. There has been a huge upswing in use of very violent porn: I would personally like to see more investigations into the impact this has, if any, and what kind of steps we can take. Our conviction rates for sexual violence are low: if they were higher, would cases like this be less prevalent? The vast majority of people do not commit crimes like this, so what do we know about those who do?

The vast majority of cases like this have male perpetrators. It could be purely to do with their physical size, or it could be something else- either way not acknowledging that, and wondering if there's some way we're failing boys and men that contributes to it, seems pointless.

I get where youre coming from but what do you do?These men,boys, knew full well what they were doing was completely wrong and society completely disapproved of what they were doing, hence why they tried to cover it up. I dont think much could be done to stop a small minority from doing horrible things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

this thread is gone full retard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

Specialun wrote: »

Same as it ever was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

They have no respect for the missing woman or her loved ones. It's much more fun to turn her case into a gender war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Vote Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Dublin Live on twitter reporting a body found.

Mirror too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭pah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

pah wrote: »

The poor girl and her poor family . Of course no one would want this outcome but at least they will know now and be able to grieve and bury her .
    RIP Jastine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

Ugh. Was hard to see this ending any other way after yesterday's developments unfortunately. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

A body has been found in the search for missing 24-year-old Jastine Valdez from Enniskerry, Co Wicklow.

Investigators discovered remains next to Pucks Castle golf course, not far from where a purse believed to belond to Jasmine was discovered earlier today.

Gardai have been searching an area in Rathmichael, Co Dublin this morning as part of their investigations into her disappearance.

From DublinLive

A body has been found in the search for missing 24-year-old Jastine Valdez from Enniskerry, Co Wicklow.

Investigators discovered remains next to Pucks Castle golf course, not far from where a purse believed to belond to Jasmine was discovered earlier today.

Gardai have been searching an area in Rathmichael, Co Dublin this morning as part of their investigations into her disappearance.

Purse found in search for missing Jastine Valdez in Rathmichael
    Areas including 'the scalp' and a walk on Killiney Hill remain cordoned off while a Garda helicopter has been combing the area.

It’s understood gardai are searching the area after studying the suspect’s car computer.

The Defence Forces and the Civil Defence are helping with the search.
    Gardai issued a statement earlier today looking to speak to anyone who may have noticed suspicious activity in the area of Puckscastle Lane and Kiltiernan Lead Mines, Rathmichael, from 6pm last Saturday 19 May 2018 to 8pm Sunday 20 May 2018.

The statement read: "Gardare looking to speak to any persons who may have observed suspicious activity in the area of Puckscastle Lane and Kiltiernan Lead Mines, Rathmichael, from 6pm last Saturday 19th May 2018 to 8pm Sunday 20th May 2018. Anyone with information, however insignificant should contact Bray Garda Station on 01 6665300, Garda Confidential Line 1 800 666 111 or any Garda Station."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Ah lord, such a needless loss of a young life :( RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Horrible dirty scumbag. Hope he rots in hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,231 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Very sad but when he was found yesterday and she was not in the car I feared the worst. He had already ended her life.
    RIP little lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Desperate news.

Poor girl, 5ft and slight build, probably looked like more like a teenager/child to that evil scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

This is the most horrific thing. The poor beautiful young girl with everything in life ahead of her. Her poor poor family.

This case has shook me and never extremely invest my emotions so much. I think it was the fact we were following it all as it went along.

So sad.