Why do women believe in Psychics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I'm a time traveller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Its about making sense of the world.

It's bullsh-t and way more women seem to be into it but it's not like men can feel that superior considering how 90% of conspiracy theory heads seem to be male.

Does point to a difference though, one is focused on the personal/social, while conspiracy stuff is about the wider world/society.

Very good point I never thought of that contrast
    Conspiracy theories v Tarot cards
    Both made up mumbo jumbo but at different ends of the spectrum.

One searching for facts - and using thier confirmation bias as proof (conspiracy mostly male)
    The other searching for the intangible mystic stuff and using thier confirmation bias as proof (tarot mostly female)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 VainHard Bendix

Some do, some don't.
    One girl, I was chatting to next week, told me it was all total garbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Pugzilla wrote: »
    Einstein was the worst one of them all.

Him and his spooky action at a distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    I was about 20 at the time, ex gf went to see one. The psychic told her that I would go off with her best friend. I was in the doghouse for a few days over something that never happened. Crazy when I think back about it.

I went to one with a GF too. The guy was obviously a fraud and yet they thought he was great value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,077 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    I’m not your buddy mate.

He's not your buddy, guy!

Apparently according to one philsopher fella from the UK belief in the supernatural is both natural and false.

https://aeon.co/ideas/belief-in-supernatural-beings-is-totally-natural-and-false
    "
    The last part is probably the most relevant to the people who use psychics

".....we possess good evidence that humans are very prone to false belief in invisible beings when those beliefs are based on subjective experience, then I should be wary of such beliefs. And that, in turn, gives me good grounds for doubting that my dead uncle, or an angel, or god, really is currently revealing himself to me, if my only basis for belief is my subjective impression that this is so. Under such circumstances, those who insist ‘I just know!’ aren’t being reasonable."

Grayson wrote: »
    I went to one with a GF too. The guy was obviously a fraud and yet they thought he was great value for money.

I like the idea of a good value fraud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Seems like a rush to be offended alright.

The word 'predominantly' was not read in my original post either.

"If there was a thread why do men like football?"
    It would not bother me.

People have thier own quirks, and get hung up on things to get upset about, I suppose.

Ehhhhhh just to be straight about this, so there are no misunderstandings.

Your original post states that women fall for what you call this this “guff” but men are more “practical”.

You are inferring that women are stupid but men won’t fall for guff.

Don’t act all surprised or offended when people take you up at being labeled stupid.

People registering just to make posts replying belittling women should show you the level of misogyny that exists on these message boards.

But maybe your own crystal ball is blurred when asked to look at that.

anewme wrote: »
    Ehhhhhh just to be straight about this, so there are no misunderstandings.

Your original post states that women fall for what you call this this “guff” but men are more “practical”.

You are inferring that women are stupid but men won’t fall for guff.

Don’t act all surprised or offended when people take you up at being labeled stupid.

People registering just to make posts replying belittling women should show you the level of misogyny that exists on these message boards.

But maybe your own crystal ball is blurred when asked to look at that.

Please re-read my post and look up 'confirmation bias...' I clearly said predominately women.
    I posed the questions as to why it could be so?
    It is as simple as that.
    If you spend all your time looking for rows on the internet you will get an ulcer.
    Male or female can get those you know.
    Stop attacking the poster and look at the issue at hand.

As for controlling others -I am not a mod I cannot control what other people say or do not say.

If you just want to attack posters.....
    And not look at question I posed as to why it is predominately women that use tarot etc.
    Then maybe this thread is not suited to you?

No point in getting worked up over nothing?
    Would the old you have done this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,637 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I saw this coming.

PARlance wrote: »
    I saw this coming.

You won’t be getting any prizes in fairness.

“Woman objects to women being called “stupid and guillible”. Now, who would have predicted that.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Don’t try and patronise me for calling you out on labeling women ”stupid and gullible”

It’s offensive and not acceptable.

I’m not offended - I’m just telling you it’s not on.

Which is it? Make up your mind :rolleyes: If you're offended by me saying that women that visit psychics are stupid and gullible then, chances are, you're one of them and it applies to you. I have no doubt that many women reading this thread agree with what I said and aren't offended as it doesn't apply to them.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Which is it? Make up your mind :rolleyes: If you're offended by me saying that women that visit psychics are stupid and gullible then, chances are, you're one of them and it applies to you. I have no doubt that many women reading this thread agree with what I said and aren't offended as it doesn't apply to them.

Just so there is no ambiguity- I have no doubt that every woman reading this thread objects to your use of the term ““Bint” to describe a woman. It is a derogatory term for a woman, similar to the “n” word, used by crass and classless people and really says a lot about the person using it.

Please re-read my post and look up 'confirmation bias...' I clearly said predominately women.
    I posed the questions as to why it could be so?
    It is as simple as that.
    If you spend all your time looking for rows on the internet you will get an ulcer.
    Male or female can get those you know.
    Stop attacking the poster and look at the issue at hand.

As for controlling others -I am not a mod I cannot control what other people say or do not say.

If you just want to attack posters.....
    And not look at question I posed as to why it is predominately women that use tarot etc.
    Then maybe this thread is not suited to you?

No point in getting worked up over nothing?
    Would the old you have done this?

In fairness, you really need to think about your question.

You are asking a mostly male audience why women use tarot cards.

And then sitting back at a sneering condescending audience.

Maybe this thread is not in the right place.

If you want women’s opinions - The ladies lounge?

It’s odd you are asking a question about women (to men) and then believing the men’s answers, not the women’s.

And as for personal smartass comments, not relevant, shows your train of thought though.

Just so there is no ambiguity- I have no doubt that every woman reading this thread objects to your use of the term ““Bint” to describe a woman. It is a derogatory term for a woman, similar to the “n” word, used by crass and classless people and really says a lot about the person using it.

You didn't know what the word meant and had never even heard it up until an hour ago and now you're an expert on it and the people that use it? Hilarious. Show me where you read that it's similar to that racist word, or did you make that up yourself? It's similar to "bitch" if anything. I could've said 'bitch' but 'bint' seemed more appropriate and it really wound you up so I'm glad I went with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Only the other night I asked somebody if they argued a lot on the internet. Turns out it seem to be their thing.

It’s odd you are asking a question about women (to men) and then believing the men’s answers, not the women’s.

And as for personal smartass comments, not relevant, shows your train of thought though.

Again please get back on track and stop attacking posters with whatver personal issues you may have going on in your life there are other threads for that.

In order to help you get back on track:

anewme:

Do you
    1) Think women predominately use tarot cards?
    2) If not why not?
    3) What sort of demographic do you think uses tarot card services and why?

All people are free to answer this question that I posed in the main thread.
    But you seem intent on creating a storm where there is none and you actually seem to be creating an argument so you can argue with yourself.

Those are simple questions I posed please, please be the good you whether that is the old one or the new one.
    They are simple questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Relikk

Also If I went into the ladies lounge then you would probably attack me for going in there to sneer at women!
    Futhermore, you are assuming I am male, you are assuming that most who read after hours are male.
    Women read after hours too.
    Whether you are male or female you are going completely off topic into some kind of social justice rant or rave for the sake of it.

NOT ONCE did you even attempt to answer my original question.
    Also you chose deliberately not to read my OP correctly in order to shoe horn your own prejudices and biasness and just destroy the thread.

Well done...
    Bravo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Physics are bollox conpeople who feed on the unfortunate and desperate. They're thieves masquerading as fortune tellers. Should be outlawed.
    Physics is total bollox, Einstein's ghost told me so in a vision.

Only the other night I asked somebody if they argued a lot on the internet. Turns out it seem to be their thing.

Your thread was very bizarre and had a strange condescending one dimensional view of people working in offices.

There are numerous other replies to your thread giving the same opinion as mine that your views are odd, strange and extremely dated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

I read somewhere that women tend to be more religious too. It's probably a bit to do with the way men aren't typically encouraged to explore spirituality, it's not exactly considered to be a masculine trait. In caveman times they hunted and gathered, women were more the moral force, the spiritual caretakers of the family. Men tend to confront religion and spirituality and all of that hocus pocus, rather than explore and experience it.

It's sad how like vampires these psychic lads are though. A cousin of mine worked in radio and said the phone lines used to go berserk when "Psychic Joe" came on the airwaves, they'd be hopping for days with sad lonely women in the countryside who had lost their husband or brother or mother and yer man making 20 euros a minute to tell them that he was "still with them in spirit."

Again please get back on track and stop attacking posters with whatver personal issues you may have going on in your life there are other threads for that.

In order to help you get back on track:

anewme:

Do you
    1) Think women predominately use tarot cards?
    2) If not why not?
    3) What sort of demographic do you think uses tarot card services and why?

All people are free to answer this question that I posed in the main thread.
    But you seem intent on creating a storm where there is none and you actually seem to be creating an argument so you can argue with yourself.

Those are simple questions I posed please, please be the good you whether that is the old one or the new one.
    They are simple questions.

If you wanted to ask a question of women in general, you would have asked the ladies lounge.

Maybe do a count of the answers from women and see what your answers are.

Because if you are asking why women use psychics or tarot’s or whatever, the only valid responses are women.

Asking men why women do something is talking to the monkey, not the organ grinder.

And personal insults or comments are off topic. Giving an opinion that is different than yours does not mean there is something going on in my personal life. It means I disagree with your opinion. That’s my choice so please do not try to censor that. Please respect the boards charter. This is the second time now I’ve had to request this from you.

anewme - you're all over the place. Go to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

I visited one once.

He told me he wanted to kill me. Then started breathing heavily whilst staring me down.

I started laughing, he said "you won't be laughing when I follow you home".

Twenty feckin euro it cost me. That's the last time I'll be visiting any psychos.

anewme - you're all over the place. Go to bed.

A man who sees fit to label women bints and bitches is not really a person whose advice you would heed or value.

You're just coming across as a bit of a mess tonight - rambling incoherently and engaging in several arguments that you clearly can't win but if you've got nothing better to do then carry on.

Again, that’s your opinion, but bearing in mind you label women, bints, biitches and your partners as “relatively”intelligent, where I haven’t used a single negative term against men at all, I don’t hold any weight in your views.

Is that coherent enough for you.?

You can always hit report post if you feel I am out of order, and leave it to the mods.

I ended up looking up this article because of 'anewme'

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/why-do-we-argue-online-1.2295986

The psychological reasons why people argue online for the sake of it.