Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do women believe in Psychics?

• 20-05-2018 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭

I was looking for someway to access my TV's content store (changes to terms and conditions came up and can't get rid of it) -
    And I happened to see a thread "Rate the best psychic" you know (it appeared in new posts)

It always seems to be predominantly women that are into this type of guff.
    In fact know some otherwise intelligent women that believe in it.

My question is why do women believe in it?
    Is it a need for constant reassurance a missing connection or what?

But then why do most men not believe in it are they just too practical?

If any one can answer any of these questions it would be great.... maybe even the LG content store one...
    That would be fantastic or maybe if I could be sent some sort of a sign?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

My missus went to one and this guy told her things about her mother (who's dead) that nobody could know.

There's more to life than meets the eye, some people have gifts though and some take the mick with the gift of BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Schwanz wrote: »
    My missus went to one and this guy told her things about her mother (who's dead) that nobody could know.

There's more to life than meets the eye, some people have gifts though and some take the mick with the gift of BS.

If nobody could know then how did your missus know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭badtoro

Bogwoppit wrote: »

Sure the psychic told her, did ya not read it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

It helps people get over deaths. The mind is a fragile thing and if 50 euro to a psychic makes them feel better what’s the harm.

They are as real as priest magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Some women believe in them for the same reasons some men do I suppose. I doubt the answer's on the X chromosome.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Women tend to be more religious as well.

It helps people get over deaths. The mind is a fragile thing and if 50 euro to a psychic makes them feel better what’s the harm.

They are as real as priest magic.

Magic priests don’t usually ask you for €50+ up front though. They’re much more sneaky about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

Anyone else read the thread title as physics ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

What if its €50 that the Customer can't afford. What if it keeps going and costs several hundred / thousand?

Don't be silly pal.

What if its €50 that the Customer can't afford. What if it keeps going and costs several hundred / thousand?

I don’t think it does. Unless the psychic is a monster. Usually they see you once and that’s it.

Of course you get the odd one that’ll tell somebody they don’t have cancer when they do or one that’ll milk every penny out of someone but generally I think they just take the 50 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Scientology???

Don't be silly pal.

They can read your wife’s face and demeanor and let her say things she doesn’t even realize she is saying.
    It’s a trick that’s been around years. I’d say if you checked YouTube there would be an introduction type lesson on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

A few women do. Most of us have more sense.

Don't be silly pal.

You’re posting in After Hours, don’t expect anyone here to believe your wife’s psychic was genuine (there’s no such thing).
    I don’t have any pals

You’re posting in After Hours, don’t expect anyone here to believe your wife’s psychic was genuine (there’s no such thing).
    I don’t have any pals

I’m not your pal buddy.

Seriously though, if your missus knew then that’s at least 2 people who knew something nobody could know.
    On top of that, cold reading can be extremely convincing when done well.

I’m not your pal buddy.

I’m not your buddy mate.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Ah Bernie Stokes.. "your XXX misses you..." that'll be €50 sucker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Another thread generalising about women.

I know more women think it’s rubbish than believe in it.

Wonder how long for the 8th amendment to be brought up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pugzilla wrote: »

About now.

Pugzilla wrote: »

Why.?

Which psychic is an expert on that?

I don’t have any pals

Shock! Horror!!

anewme wrote: »

It’s a great chance for you to educate the op about generalizing. Explain to him there in a nice way that all women arnt sheep. How some of them fancy fat men and some fancy skinny men and some fancy muscular men some fancy women and some fancy a personality over looks some fancy money or social standing some fancy dress sense etc etc.
    Then you have tv shows some like Jeremy Kyle and some like wildlife some like scary films some like comedies some like religious programs some like reality tv.
    Then you have feminism some like being a wife and being told what to do some think it should be equal and some think men are the worst and should be oppressed.
    But when you come to psychics they all obviously believe in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I'd advise people to watch the time Derren Brown did psychic/medium tricks onstage, while the whole time saying that it was a nonsense industry, just very good cold calling

There was one guy where he (Derren) was able to tell the guy about the time his grandmother, who had since passed, once got bitten on the hand by a monkey at the zoo, he was able to name the zoo, give the grandmother's name and the age at which she died - it was quite impressive and Derren himself said it was pure cold reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

While we're at it, Why do errbody believe in Politicians?

Make America Get Out of Here

It’s a great chance for you to educate the op about generalizing. Explain to him there in a nice way that all women arnt sheep. How some of them fancy fat men and some fancy skinny men and some fancy muscular men some fancy women and some fancy a personality over looks some fancy money or social standing some fancy dress sense etc etc.
    Then you have tv shows some like Jeremy Kyle and some like wildlife some like scary films some like comedies some like religious programs some like reality tv.
    Then you have feminism some like being a wife and being told what to do some think it should be equal and some think men are the worst and should be oppressed.
    But when you come to psychics they all obviously believe in them.

If OP needs to be educated in basics that people in general are different, , he should watch Father Ted repeats....where Dougal learns the difference between small and far away....

People want change but can’t be bothered to educate. I’d say he seen them two posts and said “ fecking women if they arnt at mediums they are compliainng. What’s generalizing anyway. “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

If you read the post I did day predominantly...

You are missing the point.
    It is a fact more women believe in this type thing then men.

Look how this site below is marketed for instance...

http://www.psychicsofa.com

Complete with woman on pink background, with a cat and slippers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I did find some sort of answer on a quick internet search.
    The believers in psychics have lower analytical skills then skeptics.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/what-believing-in-psychics-and-clairvoyants-says-about-you-a6878926.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I wish it was just women, I'm surrounded by men who are into ruin, astrology, horoscopes, I Ching and the like.
    The one who does my head in sees signs in everything that he says guide him in his decision making. I fully expect that someday he will refuse to do this and that because the dates aren't auspicious enough.

Having said that, am fond of a tarot reading as cheap therapy and the look on the faces of mediums who try to pass on messages from my mother and I refuse to hear them, stumps them every time.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

You need to delve a bit deeper to get to the bottom of this very scientific observation.

Maybe they were some of the chosen few who got a legendary Miracle Fortune Teller Fish in their Christmas cracker as a child and have been hooked (pardon the pun) ever since.

Rumour has it from recent readings that he’s now curling over and over in a figure of 8 and this has been scientifically assessed as a sign to vote to Repeal the 8th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

A friend was going to a fortune teller 20 years ago. Fortune teller rang at the last minute to cancel saying "something unexpected came up".

My friend rescheduled & visited the following week.

Not a word of a lie. The mind boggles

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

What the hell is the deal with angel therapy? It seems to be something that sprang up fairly recently and its always women who follow it.

What now?

'Morbid Angel' and 'Therapy?' Two good f**king bands man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Reminds me of that absolute tool of girl that I briefly know that paid 25 quid to a Facebook physic to predict her future...
    Jesus that was a load of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

But of the set of all people that believe in it , the vast majority seem to be women - correct ?

It's an interesting thing ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭justfillmein

I don't believe in them.
    although I would love to hear what would be said to me, if I ever did get 'read'. just for the craic.
    however I wouldn't part with any money for the joke that's in it, so I'll never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

But of the set of all people that believe in it , the vast majority seem to be women - correct ?

Its about making sense of the world.

It's bullsh-t and way more women seem to be into it but it's not like men can feel that superior considering how 90% of conspiracy theory heads seem to be male.

Does point to a difference though, one is focused on the personal/social, while conspiracy stuff is about the wider world/society.

You’d really have to quote official statistics on that to be correct.

Are there CSO stats or is it a question in the census?

Where are you getting that information from go back up your facts.

Otherwise it’s just conjecture.

You’d really have to quote official statistics on that to be correct.

Are there CSO stats or is it a question in the census?

Where are you getting that information from go back up your facts.

Otherwise it’s just conjecture.

http://news.gallup.com/poll/19558/paranormal-beliefs-come-supernaturally-some.aspx

http://www.bmgresearch.co.uk/bmg-halloween-poll-third-brits-believe-ghosts-spirits-types-paranormal-activity/

There’s something off if people are quoting a “Halloween poll “ as official research.

I’m talking about real stats not Facebook trivia.

Are these real stats or more horse ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

This has crossed my mind too - my ex went to see one with her friends a few years back and an aunt of mine went around the same time too. They're all female and they all said the same thing when I questioned them about it: "She told me things about so-and-so that no one else would know". It's as if the bint claiming to be a psychic tells them when they're leaving to repeat that sentence when anyone questions them about it. Honestly, it's disappointing when your relatively intelligent girlfriend tells you in all seriousness that she paid a psychic €60 to tell her things she already knew.

Scam artists (psychics in this case) have always been around and they will stay around as long as there are stupid, gullible women to prey on.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    This has crossed my mind too - my ex went to see one with her friends a few years back and an aunt of mine went around the same time too. They're all female and they all said the same thing when I questioned them about it: "She told me things about so-and-so that no one else would know". It's as if the bint claiming to be a psychic tells them when they're leaving to repeat that sentence when anyone questions them about it. Honestly, it's disappointing when your relatively intelligent girlfriend tells you in all seriousness that she paid a psychic €60 to tell her things she already knew.

Scam artists (psychics in this case) have always been around and they will stay around as long as there are stupid, gullible women to prey on.

I had no idea what’s bint is so I looked it up.

British Slang: Disparaging and Offensive. 1. a contemptuous term used to refer to a woman or girl. Origin of bint.

I’m also no expert of psychics, but a quick search tells me that they are not all women..

Clearly your “relatively intelligent” girlfriend is well matched to yourself.

Its just people saying or wanting to believe in some sort of f**king nonsense to get them through whatever they need to get through. Everybody does it. I do it. We all do it.
    Look at Christians. If every single Christian that claims they 100% believe 'The Bible' actually did 100% believe that thing, they'd all be out on the streets screaming their heads off like lunatics like that cult over in the US. But they don't, because they really don't believe, they 'say' they believe, but they don't. They 'want' to believe. Big difference. And this 'wanting' to believe sets up other rackets like psychics to try their hand peddling their shtick, or politicians, or religions, or cults, or self help 'gurus'. People should believe in themselves and try to believe in others around them, but its a big ask. I can't do it really either, but I know I should. Then there would be less of these rackets - Religion, Politicians, Psychics, all claiming they have the answers and we should believe in them so we can get those answers too. It's all $$$$ making bull$hit and we should try to believe more in ourselves and each other and f**k those greasy shyster C**ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I had no idea what’s bint is so I looked it up.

British Slang: Disparaging and Offensive. 1. a contemptuous term used to refer to a woman or girl. Origin of bint.

I’m also no expert of psychics, but a quick search tells me that they are not all women..

Clearly your “relatively intelligent” girlfriend is well matched to yourself.

Read the post again. I never claimed all psychics were female and I never referred to all psychics as bints - just the one my ex visited. If it was a male psychic she saw then I'd have used a different term to refer to him. Relax ;)

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I saw this coming :rolleyes: Read the post again. I wasn't referring to all psychics as bints - just the one my ex visited. If it was a male psychic she saw then I'd have used a different term to refer to him. Relax ;)

But did you also not reference “stupid guillible women”?

So no men go to psychics?

funny how your girlfriend in the last post is now your ex, maybe the “bint” predicted your misogyny, if so so it was really 60 well spent.

There’s something off if people are quoting a “Halloween poll “ as official research.

I’m talking about real stats not Facebook trivia.

Are these real stats or more horse ****.

Gallup is one of the world's largest polling companies, http://www.gallup.com/home.aspx.
    BMG Research is legit, http://www.bmgresearch.co.uk/.

You ask for sources and then reject them without even reading them.