Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man with 90 previous convictions defended by family on Facebook

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Same guy 2016. Shouldn't really have been out on the streets ?

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2016/07/22/man-who-stole-cider-wine-and-nappies-jailed-for-two-months/
    The defendant had an appalling record, and had string of previous convictions, which ranged from theft, robbery, assault, possession of knives and other articles and the unauthorized taking of a car.

“All the offences he has been guilty of in the past have been alcohol fuelled.”

If you can't rehabilitate someone, then try to deter them and others, if you can't deter then at least keep them off the streets.

Big question - what was he out on bail for ?
    And if found guilty what was the sentence for that other offence ?

Mutant z wrote: »
    Why is not paying a TV licence taken more seriously than someone slashing someone else's throat in this country is there any proper justice at all.

It's really not. There's hyperbole and then there's straight up lying. Stupid comment.

I work in the prison system for the last decade and I still don't understand the concept of concurrent sentences. To me, it's basically a commit one crime, get the second one free type of deal. You're actively encouraging a spree of criminality by having them. He'll think to himself ''sure I might as well thump this fella's head in after robbing that other woman's shop down the road, it'll get ran in.'' That's the vernacular they use by the way, ''ran in'', as in concurrent. The defense solicitors actively tell them they'll have X ran in with Y if they admit to it. It's sickening to see such a system. They then return to prison and their mates will say, ''what happened ya in court bro?''. ''Got ran in.'' ''Nice one.'' In other words, off scott free. As I said, sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

How come there are no photos of this guy on the news articles???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

He's not very photogenic

Happy4all wrote: »
    He's not very photogenic

No pics from Facebook?

Seems strange no shots as they usually get them at the court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

No pics from Facebook?

Seems strange no shots as they usually get them at the court.

Only if there's a photographer assigned. In a local paper like where the article is from, often you'll just have the court report from someone present in court that day, may not have even known in advance this case was to be heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Unbelievable. 6.5 years, am I reading that right?

That animal should be caged for life. I won't even go into the fact that he had 90 previous convictions. That's 90 offences he's known to have done - how many do you think he's actually committed?

Then at the same time (I'm going to make an educated guess here) he's taking every benefit going and has protection with his ethnicity. Now the taxpayer gets to spend money housing him in prison.

What a pillar of society.

I'm actually raging after reading that.

And fair play to the person who intervened, that was the only positive to take from that article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Pa8301

Unbelievable. 6.5 years, am I reading that right?

That animal should be caged for life. I won't even go into the fact that he had 90 previous convictions. That's 90 offences he's known to have done - how many do you think he's actually committed?

Then at the same time (I'm going to make an educated guess here) he's taking every benefit going and has protection with his ethnicity. Now the taxpayer gets to spend money housing him in prison.

What a pillar of society.

I'm actually raging after reading that.

And fair play to the person who intervened, that was the only positive to take from that article.

Should pack him off to Hamsterdam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Pa8301 wrote: »

He wouldn't last two minutes down the Western.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,684 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Omackeral wrote: »
    It's really not. There's hyperbole and then there's straight up lying. Stupid comment.

I work in the prison system for the last decade and I still don't understand the concept of concurrent sentences. To me, it's basically a commit one crime, get the second one free type of deal. You're actively encouraging a spree of criminality by having them. He'll think to himself ''sure I might as well thump this fella's head in after robbing that other woman's shop down the road, it'll get ran in.'' That's the vernacular they use by the way, ''ran in'', as in concurrent. The defense solicitors actively tell them they'll have X ran in with Y if they admit to it. It's sickening to see such a system. They then return to prison and their mates will say, ''what happened ya in court bro?''. ''Got ran in.'' ''Nice one.'' In other words, off scott free. As I said, sickening.

I get the reason for concurrent sentences. When one act breaks more than one law.

But I am totally against it when it come to physical violence against innocent people where it puts their very lives at risk.

The problem is is that these scumbags, as wrenched humans as they are, know exactly how the law works, and therefore the law is not acting enough as a deterrent for them, when they know they can go on a spree and just be done for all they have done as if it were one crime, singular in terms of the sentence that runs concurrently.

It's a totally outrageous policy and I think it really needs to be looked at on a national and parliamentary level. There is little point in bitching about these things here if noone talks to their politicians about it because it's just going to stay the same forever if we don't do something about it.

Anyone a list of tds emails that would be a good start and get as many as possible to email them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I see one of his ilk commented "You'll be out before you know it <3<3" on the Tribune Facebook post.

A person who genuinely holds an attitude like that is incapable of partaking in our society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

AllForIt wrote: »
    There is little point in bitching about these things here if noone talks to their politicians about it because it's just going to stay the same forever if we don't do something about it.

Was just coming to ask about this.

Do any political parties / politicians have stated policies of reforming the judicial system in this country?

If there aren't votes in it, then things will stay as they are.
    I plan on informing myself about candidates views on law and order before I vote next.

There's an underclass in this country for whom breaking the law is a badge of honour, and violence against innocent people doesn't cost them a thought.

It has to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,050 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Well known name in Galway from members of a certain ethnic community.

Culchies?

Pa8301 wrote: »
    He wouldn't last two minutes down the Western.

VoMNq.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

You'd know him if you saw him.
    Short legs. Long back. Hasn't washed in a while. Leather jacket. White vest. Four fingers on one hand, 6 on the other.
    Smells a bit like cabbage. Looks 25 years older than he really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,684 ✭✭✭AllForIt

UsedToWait wrote: »
    Do any political parties / politicians have stated policies of reforming the judicial system in this country?

I haven't a clue, sorry. The political debates in this county as in many other countries seems to be too occupied with the disagreements between political parties on a personal level where real issues get ignored, and the media is hugely responsible for that imo - making a soap opera out of politics.
    There's an underclass in this country for whom breaking the law is a badge of honour, and violence against innocent people doesn't cost them a thought.It has to stop.

I totally agree. I will have more to say about this another time because what I find is that ppl from 'disadvantaged' backgrounds are not treated the same as everyone else. Some fluffy lefties regard them like a 'protected race'. Which they actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,107 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

How can a judge say to the victims you are lucky to be alive and the pictures reminded him of mass murderings in Rwanda and then hand down an assault charge - this kind of case should be taken back and retrialled as attempted murder. What were the charges brought against him?
    Judges make my blood boil in this country but this particular judge seems to always be very lenient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭techdiver

fritzelly wrote: »
    How can a judge say to the victims you are lucky to be alive and the pictures reminded him of mass murderings in Rwanda and then hand down an assault charge - this kind of case should be taken back and retrialled as attempted murder. What were the charges brought against him?
    Judges make my blood boil in this country but this particular judge seems to always be very lenient

Whilst the judge is at fault for the lenient sentence, the DPP are responsible for bringing the charges. In my opinion, the DPP seem to just play the numbers game and are more concerned with conviction numbers rather than risking it all in order to get real justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

techdiver wrote: »
    Whilst the judge is at fault for the lenient sentence, the DPP are responsible for bringing the charges. In my opinion, the DPP seem to just play the numbers game and are more concerned with conviction numbers rather than risking it all in order to get real justice.

Blame the whole Irish justice system.
    The whole gravy train is geared towards the criminals rather then the victims.
    For murder it’s practically impossible to get a conviction for which is why you see most cases ending in manslaughter etc.
    A highly placed lawyer was asked before why is is so hard to get a murder verdict in this country.
    His reasons?
    1. It takes so long for the DPP to bring charges to bear while investigating the crime as they are under resourced.
    2. The training period for cops is wholly inadequate and doesn’t involve enough training around reporting , questioning witnesses, documenting what they have seen , basic writing skills etc. When a cop is up on the bench and they’re trying to recall what happened last year or 2 years ago it’s easy for a defense lawyer to tear them to pieces as they’re also not given proper training.
    I mean 14 weeks training is a farce in reality.
    And then we hear this week that over half the force can’t drive a squad car with lights on and making emergency maneuvers due to no training shows you this.

Someone mentioned about polictical parties and their views on justice.
    Every single voter should be asking each party their stance on crime and should we get rid of concurrent sentencing which is basically a free crime for scum as one op said.
    But the majority of people are too wrapped up on themselves to even bother and invest more time in something like the Alfie Evans case and accusing doctors of murder or coverup rather than what is happening on their doorstep.
    Collectively we’re too stupid to look at the big picture and only care about the latest fads or Facebook.
    It’s why decisions like Brexit or the abortion referendum should have never been put to people to vote on as all they do is spew complete lies and nonsense to swing other voters. These cases are far too important to be left to people to make a decision on.
    It’s the reason we elect politicians, to make decisions for the people with full knowledge of what is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Blazer wrote: »
    It’s why decisions like Brexit or the abortion referendum should have never been put to people to vote on as all they do is spew complete lies and nonsense to swing other voters. These cases are far too important to be left to people to make a decision on.
    It’s the reason we elect politicians, to make decisions for the people with full knowledge of what is involved.

There's a word for that you know!

Communism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

We should start to sterilise the lot of them, they are of no use to society.

Communism

err no. We have politicians making decisions on a daily basis for us. Its not even close to communism:rolleyes:

mcko wrote: »
    We should start to sterilise the lot of them, they are of no use to society.

I've been saying this for years...anyone with 3 convictions or more should be sterilised and their passport removed from them to prevent them going abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

I've been saying this for years...anyone with 3 convictions or more should be sterilised and their passport removed from them to prevent them going abroad.

Amateur......let him go abroad and then take the passport off of them

err no. We have politicians making decisions on a daily basis for us. Its not even close to communism:rolleyes:

Legislation is certainly different than amending the constitution which is what you propose they have the power to do

Would it be any harm?
    I know there’s the whole abuse of power etc but seriously after reading all the crap on both sides of the abortion campaign bit especially the NO side and the whole Brexit farce can you really say it’s a good idea to let monumentally stupid people vote on something so serious?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

fritzelly wrote: »

You harldly ever hear of anyone charged with attempted murder in this country unless it's a planned gangland shooting. You'd read of cases where someone has survived being stabbed ten times and the charge is usually assault causing harm which seems to be the Irish legal version of what they term GBH in Britain.

Would it be any harm?
    I know there’s the whole abuse of power etc but seriously after reading all the crap on both sides of the abortion campaign bit especially the NO side and the whole Brexit farce can you really say it’s a good idea to let monumentally stupid people vote on something so serious?

Theres a referendum commission but honestly I think they're awfully quiet

The referendum commission should have more power including the ability to pursue blatant lies and even power to postpone a referendum if either side are acting the clowns promoting lies and confusing the electorate

Anyway, specifically for this, while I don't think any sane person could argue for the retention of concurrent sentences I certainly do not trust any government to meddle with the constitution which is what would have to be done

If they can legislate for 3 strikes and your out law, that's fine, because that's what I vote for, but certainly not unlimited power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Communism
    No it's called a representative democracy, look it up.