Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man with 90 previous convictions defended by family on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Remember 2 things

Even if it only cost the state €1k per conviction; 90 x €1k is a mouth-watering €90,000

Literally a waste of time, money and space

2nd, 90 are only the offences he was caught a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭no.8

Tbh, if the justice system won't protect us from this level of scum, who will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Froshtbit wrote: »
    Let me get this straight, he attacked people with a deadly weapon, he had to be forcibly stopped, he was on bail, he denied it and he has 90(!) convictions.

Why wasnt he tried for attempted murder?

Easier to get S4. Causing Serious Harm to stick and it carries the same maximum sentence - life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

no.8 wrote: »
    Tbh, if the justice system won't protect us from this level of scum, who will.

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,180 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

the same maximum sentence - life.

So... What, like 20 years? And then out early.

J Mysterio wrote: »
    So... What, like 20 years? And then out early.

Life sentences aren't even 20 years IIRC. You are out on licence though for the rest of your life. That aside there was no need to go for the more serious charge, as it would have been more difficult to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Life sentences aren't even 20 years IIRC. You are out on licence though for the rest of your life. That aside there was no need to go for the more serious charge, as it would have been more difficult to prove.

All of which would have played a part in the tactical approach displayed by this individual and his legal team.

This is not some innocent abroad,caught up in the whirlygig of the Law.
    Garda Foley said McDonagh had 90 previous convictions and had been out on bail for other offences when he committed these crimes.

Gardai spend a substantial amount of Court time in the Irish Courts System outlining the previous convictions of individuals such as this,day in,day out but to no avail.

Mr McDonagh's hands-on experience of the system,most likely would outweigh many of the Gardai he would interact with.

It's a game..played by,and for the benefit of,those in Court on the day.....the only losers are here are the real victims...
    The couple refused and a struggle ensued, during which McDonagh sliced across the man’s neck, inflicting a deep 13 cm laceration from just below his left earlobe to the middle of his neck at the front.

The young woman went to the man’s aid and McDonagh sliced the knife downwards through her left ear from the top, right down to the lobe.

He then sliced the knife again across the left-hand side of her neck.

She fell to the ground, bleeding heavily.

These are real people......one wonders if they had enough previous convictions for criminality of some sort,would this Judge here have treated their experiences with a bit more seriousness....but it appears that like most of us on here,they were "ordinary".......which,in modern Ireland leaves one very exposed and unprotected indeed.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    All of which would have played a part in the tactical approach displayed by this individual and his legal team.

This is not some innocent abroad,caught up in the whirlygig of the Law.

No it would have been the very proper decision of the DPP.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

90 previous convictions. Where Gardai detected a crime, caught him as the likely main suspect, arrested him and gathered the required evidence to satisfy the courts in laying down a guilty verdict and conviction. Ninety fucking times. :mad: How many crimes did he not get collared for? I'd be willing to bet that unless he's the most ineffective or unlucky criminal ever you can at the very least double that figure.

And this individual is not unusual. Damn near every week we read of another with tens, often many tens of convictions, many crimes usually committed when they're already out on bail for another crime. The Gardai clearly did their jobs with this individual. Ninety fucking times. And yet they saw him walk free with a slap on the wrist.

I don't blame the Guards. And I don't blame those among them who get disheartened, even leave the force(I know three that have). I blame some in the legal profession in this country, I most certainly blame a goodly proportion of the judges and I blame the politicians who won't just call a spade a spade and call out this thuggery and in this case the "culture" that promotes it far and above background levels of the wider culture. Including very disadvantaged areas and demographics.

Ireland needs protection and justice from this kind of feral non citizens and we're not getting it. This has to made very plain to the politicians and their supporters the next time they slither to your door looking to keep their political gravy train going.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

valoren wrote: »
    It's Stockholm Syndrome.

If you had a family member who was a violent psychopath capable of slashing people's faces would you tell them that they're a violent psychopath? You'd be a brave person to confront someone like that. The reality is it might be you who get's their face slashed instead of other's and thus it is in your best interest to defend or stand up for that person to the amazement and incredulity of other people.

Give over. You can have entire families who know no better. Stop making excuses for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭druss

From 2016.
    Solicitor for the defendant Mr Dorrian told the court, “My client is 29 years of age, and is a father of three children, aged 9, 5, and nine months.

At the time of this incident my client was at a very, very low ebb – he was dispatched to the local shop by his partner for baby products.

“Unfortunately he diverted himself to a public house and spent all his money, he was intoxicated at this point and went to the local shop and stole these items.

(a bottle of Devil’s Bit Cider, Irish Cream Liqueur, tonic wine, and Pampers nappies )

“He is in Castlerea Prison, and is attempting to see an addiction counsellor, all his difficulties are all underwritten by his addiction to alcohol, and it has destroyed his family life.

“All the offences he has been guilty of in the past have been alcohol fuelled.”

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2016/07/22/man-who-stole-cider-wine-and-nappies-jailed-for-two-months/

Still, the nappy robbing reminded me of Raising Arizona, so set him free I say!

Really busy in Summer 2013. Apparently he had 95 convictions then!
    Defence solicitor Alma Whelan said that all the offences were opportunistic and that her client has serious alcohol and heroin addictions. She added that the only explanation McDonagh can give is that it is related to his drug issues, which he is anxious to deal with. Ms Whelan then urged Judge Fahy to consider suspending part of the custodial sentence.

Judge Fahy replied that McDonagh had been on bail and that it was revoked because of reoffending. She said: “His reoffending has impacted on a lot of people. A lot of these businesses would probably employ young people who are trying to earn money and go to college, and he goes in and takes their money and phones.

“He went into areas he shouldn’t have been and took from people probably earning the minimum wage. This man who has not done a tap of work in his life takes this money from those people,” said Judge Fahy, who addressing McDonagh directly added: “If you are fond of money I suggest you go out and find a job and live in the real world.”

McDonagh was then convicted and sentenced to a total of 22 months in jail, the maximum sentence that can be imposed at district court level. Regarding Ms Whelan’s request to suspend part of the sentence, Judge Fahy said: “I considered suspending but due to his continuation and persistance of offending I can’t”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

AlekSmart wrote: »

Gardai spend a substantial amount of Court time in the Irish Courts System outlining the previous convictions of individuals such as this,day in,day out but to no avail.

Mr McDonagh's hands-on experience of the system,most likely would outweigh many of the Gardai he would interact with.

It's a game..played by,and for the benefit of,those in Court on the day.....the only losers are here are the real victims...

There's a whole tier of society, for whom courts/prison is as normal as going to Tesco/Aldi. They have absolutely no respect for law and order or society, or of contributing a single fcuking thing.
    (And theres another parasitic trophic layer thriving on this disfunctional system).

A day in the local district court is an eye opener.
    Well worth popping in for a look some morning if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

the comments are brilliant:

"He cornered me behind the cinema in 2002, took my cinema tickets and 20 euro.. He didn't even use the tickets. Tore them up and headed off. Who does that like?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ive often wondered why electronic tagging is not used more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Froshtbit

I mean the comments are hilarious but as a society, we need to address the key issue. Nobody should have 90 convictions and be on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ive often wondered why electronic tagging is not used more.
    What use would it be? There aren't enough prisons to hold them all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Prison isn't working either.

Inmates have ready access to drugs, phones and alcohol and much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

McDonagh

Yanny!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,405 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I don't understand how someone with 90 convictions isn't in jail for life. People make mistakes, but after 90 convictions, it's not a mistake, its a lifestyle.

The justice system in Ireland is a ****ing mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Kiith wrote: »
    I don't understand how someone with 90 convictions isn't in jail for life. People make mistakes, but after 90 convictions, it's not a mistake, its a lifestyle.

culture, I think is the term commonly used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

The problem within the McDonagh family is that from their point of view, the victims only have themselves to blame.
    If they had only handed over the money when he demanded it then no one needed to get stabbed.
    It doesn’t occur to them that McDonogh had no right to demand the money. He’s a McDonagh man. If he tells you to give him your money that’s what you do.
    They are exasperated with the Gardai and the justice system because they keep persecuting the McDonagh men over the stupid “buffers” who just don’t get it?!?
    McDonagh has to make ends meet. He’s entitled to go to whatever lengths he has to do just that. He’s a bit of a hero to be honest.

splinter65 wrote: »
    McDonagh has to make ends meet. He’s entitled to go to whatever lengths he has to do just that. He’s a bit of a hero to be honest.

I had this very argument with a traveler when I told him I wasn't going to pay him to powerwash my gutters and facia's....

'I gotta make a living!'

I actually didn't really know what to say to him, yes you've gotta make a living. But that doesn't put any onus on me to pay you for a job I can do myself :confused:

(just to be clear, I didn't get him to powerwash anything and then not pay him, I told him I didn't want him to do it and I certainly wasn't going to pay him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Kiith wrote: »

The justice system in Ireland is a ****ing mess.

Justice system?
    Family way of life?

Why are these families never ashamed of what he did.
    Couple years ago two joy riders robbed a car crashed it and killed them selves.
    Local community where shocked and supportive of them, blamed the garage where the car was stolen.
    Family attacked a persons house a few towns away, because of a Facebook comment.

Then People thinking it’s ok not to do f**k all other then destroy other people’s lives, and still get a handout from the state.

We need people to seriously do hard time, no easy pool and snooker tables PlayStations and gyms etc

There have being a few threads that have freaked me out lately.

coolisin wrote: »
    We need people to seriously do hard time, no easy pool and snooker tables PlayStations and gyms etc

670655967769204808.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Leave the poor man alone. How was he to know that a pizza knife was going to cut someone? It's advertised as a pizza knife not a people knife. I bet the box the knife came in said nothing about it cutting human flesh.

#pizzatoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I'd nearly make a deal with the devil and take the 'RA back if they'd just deal with his kind.

ED E wrote: »
    I'd nearly make a deal with the devil and take the 'RA back if they'd just deal with his kind.

Would they have done in the past? (just out of curiosity)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Well known name in Galway from members of a certain ethnic community.

Very popular Roma name I hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

ED E wrote: »

I’d even take the UVF at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

wexie wrote: »
    Would they have done in the past? (just out of curiosity)

As I understand it such carry on in the border counties would have been very risky. Might get away with it once or twice but sooner or later you'd assault/rob the wrong person and lose a knee or two.