Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangladeshi Trainee Garda and His Sham Marriage

John_D80 wrote: »
    Well when you are blatantly and obviously wrong you’re gonna get pulled up on it.

Well, I haven't been wrong so nothing to pull me up on.
    Anyway, like I said AGS did their job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

bubblypop wrote: »
    Well, I haven't been wrong so nothing to pull me up on.
    Anyway, like I said AGS did their job.

Yes, you have been.

You've claimed, at least twice that this came to light in the vetting process which it plainly didn't as is referenced in any of the articles in the media over the last few days. In actual fact he passed through all stages of the recruitment process, including the vetting.

He was caught after an investigation by the Immigration Beureau. Nothing to do with the National Vetting Beureau.

What's this about, lying under oath?
    Like I said, this is a pointless discussion because the Gardai did their job & exposed a sham marriage.

You seem to be getting the Immigration Beureau and the National Vetting Beureau mixed up.

One of these did their job right yes, but one certainly did not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭irishproduce

To bring all of this back to the original point I made in OP, we know now after much discussion here that the immigration and recruitment functions within AGS are not able to do their job properly. Operation Vantage is the one that caught him.

Therefore, why did it get so far as to see the chancer in training in our state police service?
    I am of the opinion that the recruitment service is instructed to be blind or positively biased toward certain circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

As I understand it, it is for this reason Garda checks on applicants are so detailed, going right out into cousins and uncles/ aunts married into the family. Their character must be unquestionable if they are to be used in the prosecuting of crimes as witnesses.
    I am not sure if international applicants, certainly from outside EU are subject to the same checks.

It's true. I applied to be a Garda and a Prison Officer concurrently. As strict as the PO application was, the Garda one was even more watertight. You'd to provide contact details and references on all family members, including branching out into cousins and such. How is that even feasible for someone coming from as far away as Bangladesh I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

What's this about, lying under oath?

Example of Immigration application form submitted by applicant, Section 9 is the relevant bit.
    http://www.inis.gov.ie/en/INIS/Form%20EU1A.pdf/Files/Form%20EU1A.pdf

Explanation of the consequence of not signing Section 9 is explained in the explanatory leaflet Part 8 Section 9

http://www.inis.gov.ie/en/INIS/Form%20EU1A%20Explanatory%20Leaflet.pdf/Files/Form%20EU1A%20Explanatory%20Leaflet.pdf

General information on court process and the use of an oath

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/witnesses/the_procedure_for_being_a_witness.html
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/witnesses/types_of_witnesses.html
    Like I said, this is a pointless discussion because the Gardai did their job & exposed a sham marriage.

Give me a number between 1 and 100, your solicitor comes in to your jail cell, your new home for a minimum of 10 years, and said
    "good news we in court tomorrow we can prove that Garda X, forged document and lying under oath, you have a (0% to 100%) chance at a new fair trial"

What's your number?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Geuze wrote: »

I always presumed the cops had let this scam reach the levels of "taking the piss completely" before they investigated.

I said it earlier in the thread, I would love to ask the guy we are discussing, for his views on what the opinion is of our immigration and security controls, among his Bangladeshi peers.
    I cannot see that we are feared or there is genuine aversion based on our policies.
    We are ridiculous in some aspects.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 TheManTheMyth

Geuze wrote: »

They then bring over their real families.

"The men then divorce their fake partners, with many applying to secure family reunification rights for relatives living outside the EU."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/businessman-and-pretend-bride-spared-jail-over-sham-marriage-36910475.html

what do you do with this lad ?

Chuck him out for his fraud or thank him for the 30 jobs his hard work are providing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

mynamejeff wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/businessman-and-pretend-bride-spared-jail-over-sham-marriage-36910475.html

what do you do with this lad ?

Chuck him out for his fraud or thank him for the 30 jobs his hard work are providing ?

He should have been escorted to the airport ffs!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I wonder can he drive?

Arrived 2006, married 2012.

Six years on a student visa. Not bad. Must have studied some high tech stuff if hes running a few sandwich bars.

Why aren’t CAB seizing all of his assets?? All earned through criminal activity. Without committing the crime he got a suspended sentence for he wouldn’t have amassed the businesses he has. Take everything and deport him. Sell on the franchises and seize any money he has in Irish banks.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Why aren’t CAB seizing all of his assets?? All earned through criminal activity. Without committing the crime he got a suspended sentence for he wouldn’t have amassed the businesses he has. Take everything and deport him. Sell on the franchises and seize any money he has in Irish banks.

He's hardly robbing banks and importing boatloads of heroin or coke. He's obviously become a productive member of Irish society despite how he came to become part of that society.

If the state turns down his citizenship and revokes his right to reside her, fair enough. But what you're suggesting is just spiteful.

CAB has far bigger fish to fry than this eejit.

Collie D wrote: »
    He's hardly robbing banks and importing boatloads of heroin or coke. He's obviously become a productive member of Irish society despite how he came to become part of that society.

If the state turns down his citizenship and revokes his right to reside her, fair enough. But what you're suggesting is just spiteful.

He’s broken the law. He shouldn’t have been here, and had no legal right to be here. No wonder we are seen as such a soft touch. Grow a spine.

CAB has far bigger fish to fry than this eejit.

Surely there’s some department that could be sweeping up all this easy, free cash??

• Registered Users Posts: 81,894 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He's hardly robbing banks and importing boatloads of heroin or coke. .

Or garlic :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

He’s broken the law. He shouldn’t have been here, and had no legal right to be here. No wonder we are seen as such a soft touch. Grow a spine.

Good, non-emotive post.

It comes down to whether or not we want to have laws on the matter of immigration and whether we are going to enforce them.
    If we are not then there is no point having them. Any defending solicitor could use residency leniancy afforded to him as a precedent for other clients.

Good, non-emotive post.

It's completely non-emotive. The legal system should be non-emotive. Its the people saying, ah shure, didn't he do well for himself that are letting their emotions get the better of them.

He was here illegally, any money he earned while here was earned illegally, freeze his illegally gotten gains, sell the franchises and get him on the next plane home.

The situation of the guy who was nabbed in Templmore highlighted some serious national security issues and he at the very least should be removed from police training.

This latest case is totally different though and has caused me to rethink some of my earlier thoughts on the immigration issue. He came here with an intention of working and working hard. Made a positive contribution to his community. There is a time for compassion and common sense. Both cases need to be considered separately.

And let’s be fair here. This lad in Limerick did the exact same thing Irish people were/are doing in the US, Canada, Oz and others for decades. I personally know two women who entered into sham marriages in order to obtain citizenship of another country.

Irish people have been exploiting other countries immigration laws in larger numbers and for a lot longer than its been done to us.

John_D80 wrote: »
    The situation of the guy who was nabbed in Templmore highlighted some serious national security issues and he at the very least should be removed from police training.

This latest case is totally different though and has caused me to rethink some of my earlier thoughts on the immigration issue. He came here with an intention of working and working hard. Made a positive contribution to his community. There is a time for compassion and common sense. Both cases need to be considered separately.

And let’s be fair here. This lad in Limerick did the exact same thing Irish people were/are doing in the US, Canada, Oz and others for decades. I personally know two women who entered into sham marriages in order to obtain citizenship of another country.

Irish people have been exploiting other countries immigration laws in larger numbers and for a lot longer than its been done to us.

So if an Irish criminal is at large in Oz, should be go easy on an Aussie criminal over here?? Ridiculous comparison. The law is the law, there's a reason for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,324 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's completely non-emotive. The legal system should be non-emotive. Its the people saying, ah shure, didn't he do well for himself that are letting their emotions get the better of them.

He was here illegally, any money he earned while here was earned illegally, freeze his illegally gotten gains, sell the franchises and get him on the next plane home.

Yes he broke the law with his sham marriage. Yes he was here illegally. By all means punish him for that. Nothing he did after that was illegal so why should CAB seize the profits of his business?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Yes he broke the law with his sham marriage. Yes he was here illegally. By all means punish him for that. Nothing he did after that was illegal so why should CAB seize the profits of his business?

If it was necessary to get married in order to set up a business, then everything he has done after getting married has been done under false pretenses. The guy started his life in our country with a mindset for illegal activity. Do we really need more of this here, we have enough problems with those that we can't deport.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    If it was necessary to get married in order to set up a business, then everything he has done after getting married has been done under false pretenses. The guy started his life in our country with a mindset for illegal activity. Do we really need more of this here, we have enough problems with those that we can't deport.

Exactly, every cent he made here, was made fraudulently. He should never have been here.

K.Flyer wrote: »

I have no issue with deporting him. He shouldn't be here. Others want to confiscate all the cash he earned legally through his businesses. And it was earned legally unless somebody has information to the contrary.

Exactly, every cent he made here, was made fraudulently. He should never have been here.

absolute rubbish.