Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

whelan2 wrote: »
    Ye did the Anfield tour earlier.

You must have your own seat there by now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I've a bottle of it here and a bottle of 15 year old Glenfiddich. They're the only Scottish whiskey I have here. I've at least ten Irish whiskeys. Some expensive ones and some standard ones. Twice over Xmas I got herself to set up a blind taste test on 5 of them. Only she knew which was which.
    On both occasions I chose the same as my favourite.
    I can only conclude that I'm a man of simple tastes. Standard Bushmills it was for me.

Ha!, be lucky to get the breakglass in case of emergency bottle of Jameson at home maybe some gin. Reliably told 'we' have invested in a good wine collection even though i can't stand the stuff.
    A christmas party for local farms was a whiskey tasting night and after a few they all taste the same to us troglodytes, though the Scot on our table force fed us Jura which was quite nice.

Predator is on rte2 now. Not bad for a 30 year old movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭tanko

Odelay wrote: »

You’ll have some nightmares tonight, that yoke will be under your bed.

Would you not watch the Eurovision, much nicer to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I've a bottle of it here and a bottle of 15 year old Glenfiddich. They're the only Scottish whiskey I have here. I've at least ten Irish whiskeys. Some expensive ones and some standard ones. Twice over Xmas I got herself to set up a blind taste test on 5 of them. Only she knew which was which.
    On both occasions I chose the same as my favourite.
    I can only conclude that I'm a man of simple tastes. Standard Bushmills it was for me.
    Prefer the black, but Standard is nice too

tanko wrote: »
    You’ll have some nightmares tonight, that yoke will be under your bed.

Would you not watch the Eurovision, much nicer to look at.

Feckin Eurovision would give me nightmares!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Prefer the black, but Standard is nice too

I thought I did too! Black Bush was in the mix too. I noticed it's a deeper colour. Still I went for the ordinary one. In fact I'm having a drop here tonight :-)

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭I says

Ah the Shirley bassey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

One of the best of the lot at the moment is powers john lane. Expensive but great for a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

sea12 wrote: »
    One of the best of the lot at the moment is powers john lane. Expensive but great for a treat.

Here's a few close to hand, I didn't even have to stand up to reach these ones :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Classic film

Here's a few close to hand, I didn't even have to stand up to reach these ones :-)

You seem to be struggling, we boardsies could call round & help you polish the off
    Cos we’re good like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,684 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

While the United Kingdom were never going to win the euro vision I felt sorry for their performer last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It was also a good song and she's a fine singer. Saw her on with Graham Norton also. It's gone to pot. Some good songs, last night. None got a look in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Ah lads the relief-the heifer I was fully convinced would need a caesarean calved. I was walking up the lane saw her tail up but I wasn't sure if it was legit or not so said I'd keep going and loop back to check on her. Walked into the field 20 mins later and job was done!! Calf on the ground being licked! Don't know who the daddy was as she a v light coloured CH and the calfs a caramel colour but TBH I don't care as I'm delighted she calved!! She was only 15 months! So thanks to all the ppl who told me not to presume a caesarean!!

You must have your own seat there by now?

Job done. Was a good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,973 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

While the United Kingdom were never going to win the euro vision I felt sorry for their performer last night.

Yea.
    She did well, recovered very composed considering the shock she must have got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Putting the 3yr old to bed here. We've child gates at the bottom and top of the stairs. They are used like anti backing bars for this job! There's only one way bucko... so keep moving! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Muckit wrote: »
    Putting the 3yr old to bed here. We've child gates at the bottom and top of the stairs. They are used like anti backing bars for this job! There's only one way bucko... so keep moving! :D

Have a 3year old here too. Its takes nearly 2 hours to calm him down for bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Yea I have twin boys the save age group. Takes an hour or more to get them to calm down into bed. The older girls are a doddle in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

_Brian wrote: »
    Yea.
    She did well, recovered very composed considering the shock she must have got.

Had to read twice, first i thought you were talking about L1985's heifer.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

So just want to say I'm extremely proud of myself as just calved my first cow on my own!! We have an easy calving bull so normally don't have any problems and the times we did since dad isn't able to , hen used to just call a neighbour or the vet and I never got a chance. One of the heifers(25months) and tbf she only needed a helping hand towards the end but still!! No one else was here and it's a great feeling knowing I did it!! Lovely little bull who wasn't as small as the AI man said he would be lol!! So that's 3calvings in 3days-busy weekend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Muckit wrote: »

Reminds me of this video;
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TRb-txSGUs0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Quick question guys....here at the BPS and was going through the different parcels and have noticed that the folio numbers have changed from last years application and also in a couple of cases the folio numbers are different on the online application tool compared to the yellow 'Statement of Land Details' that was received with the application letter in the post.
    It all adds up to the same amount of land etc. but it's very confusing and a little disconcerting. Is it something I need to check with them in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Heading off up the north for a few days with the Mrs. to get away before the madness of grass chopping starts. Last few days away before herself calves at the end of July too. Anything interesting up there I should check out? Only ever had a flying visit to Belfast before. Going there again, then Portrush and another couple of nights somewhere but haven't decided yet

I wrote this on friday night, but wouldn't load for some reason, so apologies if you're already away Roosterman.

Do the Titanic quarter and Titanic centre, also a black cab tour of the murals when you're in belfast. When you're heading north to Portrush make sure you go the Coast road. From Belfast head to Larne and then along the Coast Road towards Ballycastle rather than going inland. Portrush is a bit tacky tbh, Portstewart is nicer for walks, shops as Portrush offer Barrys' amusements, I doubt a pregnant Mrs would appreciate a roller coaster or dodgems.

From Larne stop in Glenarm Castle (Antrim Estates), they have a lovely tea room and walled garden, full working farm estate with forest and they sell all their own shorthorn beef to Peter Hannan of Hannan Meats which is hung in the wall of Himalayan Salt. They sell to Fortnum and Mason in London and they do a bistro night on a Saturday night for £25 pp for 3 course meal of all local produce and its byo.
    If you just want a cupan tae, give me a shout, I'm just round the corner.

There's a nice marina and forest walks in the village too and from there head north through Carnlough to Waterfoot and Glenariff Forest Park. You'll see the waterfalls and theres nice walks to see the whole Glens and a bit of geological interest there too. Onwards to cushendall and theres a nice restaurant called Upstairs at Joes for great seafood and a nice wee snug downstairs for a bit of trad music most nights.

If you know when you're about i can see what hurling league games are on, should be a few local games on. Head on to Cushendun where you'll see a bronze goat statue as a tribute to the animals lost in the F&M outbreak and then from there make sure you take the Torr Road to Ballycastle, don't go inland over the mountain. the Torr road is much more scenic and the road hugs the coastline, but if the wifes a nervous passenger, just tell her to look the other way. There's a crannog at Fair head and good rock climbing on the rock faces if you want to watch climbers scale it. For outdoor pursuits try ardclinis adventures, such as archery costeering, caving, rock wall climbing etc., or you could visit Watertop Open farm just before Ballycastle. Working hill farm that has diversified over the years, with fishing lake, pony rides, paddywagon tours and a load more stuff.

In Ballycastle for food, you should probably go to the Central Bar, although O'Connors do decent food also. Bit of golf there if you want it, or if you need an Ag buzz, theres a local mart with cattle on a monday and sheep on wednesday night.
    After Ballycastle there are a few options for game of thrones tours, charter fishing, sea tours, visit rathlin island. Try aquaholics or Predator charters in Cushendall and Ballycastle/Portrush for sea boat trips.
    Definitely visit the distillery in bushmills and if you want grub the Bushmills Inn is hard to beat and they're having a whiskey and salmon festival sometime this month. From there its only a skip to Portstewart and Portrush and you could do a bit of surfing.

Then Derry is only half an hour away if the Mrs wants a bit more of city life.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Is it too late to spray for docs usin mcpa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    A question to our more machinery proficient boarders? The last week an alarm has been sounding in the tractor with stop displayed on the dash? Tis a 92 ford 6610 4wd mk2, the dash is digital but allot of the indicators on it having worked in a while so I can really trust any warning lights that might be on it. I have to turn off the key when I'm using the tractor now as the alarm is fairly loud and would wreck your head. Any ideas?

InstaMold-Solid-Yellow-ScrewCord-InEar-1-600x600.png
    :p

Is there such a thing as a fence tester on your phone?

There is, turn on the torch, hold the phone in one hand and then the fence in the other. You will get a notification if the fence is on or off.