Owning a car in Finglas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

bazz26 wrote: »
    Another case put forward for sterilization in certain areas of society.

Hear hear...anyone with more than 2 convictions...sterilise the ****ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Witnessed similar growing up in Clondalkin in the 90's. Scrotes would drive the cars into the primary school wall and burn them, and once even drove one into the Chinese takeaway and burned it, as the owner used to call the guards on the group responsible for hanging around outside his shop. They stoned the fire brigade when they arrived to put it out too, remember the shop car park being covered with roof tiles they used as missiles.

My little sister who would have been 2 or 3 used to be terrified of the screeching tires as we lived on a corner that they liked to handbrake around. Guards were never bothered, a van would usually arrive with the fire brigade to make sure they wouldn't be hassled putting the cars out. Few of the lads responsible met their maker in the canal one new years eve when their stolen car went in and they were too drunk/stoned to get out. Not too many tears were shed I can tell you.

Besides a 24 hour Garda presence or getting the shinners involved, nothing much you can do. These lads don't fear the courts system anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

The little scrotes should be gassed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

This is the all too consistent result of long term free dole for multi generational layabouts.

Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Great place ......

I would beat the living **** outa them scum bags....

Damn, it's unfortunate for finglas you live elsewhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The person i feel sorry for is the poor girl you can hear at 1:39

“Here, I can’t eat this kiwi any longer”

This girl has problems.

On the flip side, at least we know some of the lower socioeconomic groups are getting their 5 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

2/10

Stick to the GTA lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

did the guy with the phone not think to use it to call the police?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Vote Yes in the upcoming referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If the government increased taxes and supplied these people with more facilities and better housing this wouldn't be happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

silverharp wrote: »
    did the guy with the phone not think to use it to call the police?

I wonder that myself when people make recordings but it's possible he did and they were either tied up elsewhere or not bothered. The Guards know these little ****s just want a chase and will often just sit back and observe.

The guy on the footpath at the start is pretty relaxed considering he nearly gets wiped out. Not sure I'd have the same coolness. I'd either be a gibbering wreck or go all Incredible Hulk on the scrote behind the wheel.

Vote Yes in the upcoming referendum.
    It's not these kids that will get aborted.

If the government increased taxes and supplied these people with more facilities and better housing this wouldn't be happening.

Theres plenty of people working hard who can't afford their own homes; from that video the houses seem decent, pitty the iccupents aren't.

It's not these kids that will get aborted.

Get rid of the incentives for having them as well.

Now you're getting somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭Inviere

If the community continue to tolerate it, it'll continue to happen.

I think it's more a case of the legal system tolerating it. Who in their right mind is going to draw attention to themselves by confronting these gentlemen, and risk having their windows put in, risk having their car burned out, risk having their kids attacked, etc etc, if all that will come of it is a literal slap on the wrist?

The fact of the matter is, for these lads, there are no consequences for this kind of behavior. They won't serve time. Their social welfare will still be in the post office. The rent for their house will still be heavily subsidized, or even fully payed for. Life goes on.

I think I'd prefer my taxes to be put to better use, and rather than increasing their quality of life for such behavior, I'd rather such be harshly imprisoned, so that the good people in those areas feel an increase in the quality of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,746 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Now you're getting somewhere

What happens when they arrive?

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    What happens when they arrive?

There would be an ugly transition period but eventually fewer would arrive.

Inviere wrote:
    I think I'd prefer my taxes to be put to better use, and rather than increasing their quality of life for such behavior, I'd rather such be harshly imprisoned, so that the good people in those areas feel an increase in the quality of life.

It is well known, that some people have no reaction to serving time for their actions, our social systems are failing to deal with these complex social problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Inviere wrote: »

I would be happy enough to pay higher taxes to fund a big massive new prison and back it up with proper sentencing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Yeah but bankers something water charges we are salt of de earth ah heor leave it out!

There would be an ugly transition period but eventually fewer would arrive.

How can we be certain of this, and what happens if it fails?

We can but try

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

Cut the mickey money.

We can but try

Humans are humans, we re gonna reproduce if we want to, monetising this probably won't change much

We have monetised it, it's called the welfare state. We literally pay people to have children.

Will agree to a point, has this solved the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭Inviere

It is well known, that some people have no reaction to serving time for their actions

Well why would they with Playstations, Pool tables, and prisons being veritable creche systems? It's specifically why I mentioned harshly imprisoned, ie, a prison system that is a place that is quite unpleasant to be in. Not in a torturous or pestilent way, but more so, very strict, rigid, and highly, highly, boring - a place where the removal of your freedom actually dawns of you.
    our social systems are failing to deal with these complex social problems

I'd agree to a point, but they've been failing with complex social issues for a long, long time. It ain't changing any time soon. Coupled however with a legal system who doesn't really care at all about the victims of crime, and seems more concerned with the harsh upbringing of such gentlemen, we're left with the reality of estates where normal law abiding residents are virtual prisoners in their own homes.

I know imprisonment comes with a large enough bill to the taxpayer, but it's a far easier pill to swallow, than the one that says increasing/diverting taxes for 'better housing' to those terrorizing people. The whole 'everyone just needs more hugs' approach fails just as hard as our current legal system. If we brought reform to our laughable judiciary, our outdated and overstretched prison system, and modernise the Gardai with tasers, bodycams, increased numbers etc...and come down so very hard on the behaviour shown in the video, I'd be willing the bet the social issues would sort themselves out over time.

Will agree to a point, has this solved the problem?

Dunno
    Very hard to stop the rollercoaster once it's started. I guess a heavily advertised slow staged reduction in payments over the course of a decade. Wean them off other peoples money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,042 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Scumbags.

But in this country they will be given a few quid to make sure they don't starve.

And that poor girl. What chance has she got

EVENFLOW