Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Owning a car in Finglas

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Got that on a whatsapp 10 mins ago. Must have won a few quid on the rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Seems like a nice area...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Most vulnerable in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ghetto people doing ghetto stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Feel sorry for the young girl standing outside watching that thinking that this is "normal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Gotta love the long summer evenings.
    More time to be productive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Saab lasted longer than I expected.

Farranree boys will need a good comeback now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Little girl with ribbons in her hair looking out over the wall.

Terrible for kids growing up there thinking this behavior is normal or acceptable in any way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

anewme wrote:
    Terrible for kids growing up there thinking this behavior is normal or acceptable in any way .

Possibly is normal for them.

That’s my point.

Poor kids dont stand a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

It is, that is the sad part. Not that all people are involved but that they have just accepted knackers crashing into garden walls and parked cars as life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

rizzodun wrote: »
    I'm guessing there's 3 very pissed off car owners in Finglas or surrounds right about now.

Don't even get me started on nearly clearing out a lad walking on the footpath, utter scumbags.

https://www.facebook.com/1508319129436612/videos/2051710601764126/

4, they smashed that Polo parked beside the cameraman. There's 4 people that now can't get to work or to the shops. None of the cars are worth claiming on the insurance for... so a couple of grand needs to be saved to buy another. Absolute scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

kids scooter in the middle of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Finglas in the 1980s was like this everyday. Nothing's changed I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

4, they smashed that Polo parked beside the cameraman. There's 4 people that now can't get to work the post office to collect their continuing lifelong dole handouts or to the shops. None of the cars are worth claiming on the insurance for... so a couple of grand needs to be saved to buy another. Absolute scum.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Another case put forward for sterilization in certain areas of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

No consequences, so they don't give a fcuk as they will get away with this lifestyle while the taxpayer sponsors it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

neris wrote: »
    fyp

Yeah, because everyone in Finglas is on the dole.... sap

Sure there’s nothing for the poor kids to do.

Cesspit of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭cd07

Send in armed response unit and shoot everyone involved no questions. End of....! Whats the point in any court appearance for ***** like them? They all probably go to court every week anyway. ****in ****hole of A country..No justice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭wyf437gn6btzue

the sad reality is a majority of the local people are decent, its the 10-20 percent of absolute wasters who suck up all the resources, destroy the local area and make life difficult for the other 80 percent.

I`d personally believe that access to social welfare, housing and such should be based off how productive someone is to society and how likely they are to impede on honest peoples life with crime etc. So active and recently convicted criminals should have no access at all to any social welfare, social housing until they make an obvious change in behavior.

The sentences for crime in this country is abysmal anyway, hit them in the pocket is the way to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

4, they smashed that Polo parked beside the cameraman. There's 4 people that now can't get to work or to the shops. None of the cars are worth claiming on the insurance for... so a couple of grand needs to be saved to buy another. Absolute scum.

Apart from the Polo (which oddly enough no one gave a fcuk about) all those cars are cheap ****ters off done deal. The dirtbirds in my estate buy them and rally them daily. In fact there's a Volvo with leather seats parked outside my house right now belong to them.

9 years we are here now and we're moving tomorrow mostly because of them. My daughter can't go outside the door for fear of getting knocked down.

I hope they fcuking crash and die screaming in pain some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

jacksie66 wrote:
    If they had hit my parked car I'd be putting a *Petrol bomb* through the windscreen at the rotten bastard inside..

Fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Used to live near there.

I'll go back to live there when Hell hosts the Winter Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

So active and recently convicted criminals should have no access at all to any social welfare, social housing until they make an obvious change in behavior.

I don't know really, I'd mostly agree with you but having people with a criminal lifestyle like that who now have absolutely nothing to loose anymore is hardly going to make things much better. It's unlikely they'll suddenly end up reformed citizens and take up jobs.

I don't think it's right they get looked after by us the taxpayers but I'm not sure what the alternative is either. Maybe food coupons or something...

Most vulnerable in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Kamu

My question is; most likely some people from that local area, or indeed the immediate wider area, know who these people are, yet will they say anything?

Absolutely not.... And I don't blame them.

The people who did this, you can basically guarantee that they have many previous convictions, of which this would be just one more.

Any decent people from the area don't want this, are fed up with this, but live in fear knowing that if they actually attempted to notify the authorities, you can bet their windows would be smashed in an accident that has "no relation" to them going to the Garda.

Scum whoever did this, yet they are all laughing now.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Apart from the Polo (which oddly enough no one gave a fcuk about) all those cars are cheap ****ters off done deal. The dirtbirds in my estate buy them and rally them daily. In fact there's a Volvo with leather seats parked outside my house right now belong to them.

9 years we are here now and we're moving tomorrow mostly because of them. My daughter can't go outside the door for fear of getting knocked down.

Terrible to have to live with scumbags like these dragging you down.

Am familiar with Greenfort and best of luck in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

anewme wrote: »
    Terrible to have to live with scumbags like these dragging you down.

Am familiar with Greenfort and best of luck in the future.

I live in Fettercairn but I'm from Greenfort.. Greenfort is paradise compared to this place. I'll be moving to the other end of Tallaght which is nowhere near like this kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Link in the OP isn't working.

Searched finglas on FB and found it handy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,437 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I was waiting for Clint Eastwood to emerge.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭circadian

Haven't seen something like that since moving away from Derry years ago.

Lads that were up to that craic have limps now, not that I agree with the method it certainly has some level of success.

I think there are some eejit in this world that are just glutens for punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Cnuts around there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I feel sorry for the decent people who live there.

There’s always a huge element of very decent good people caught up in places like these.

Someone’s Polo parked outside their house there for example.

Not everyone living there is a dole blogging scumbag.

These are the people who need and deserve a break and help but are caught up in circumstances.

I was very lucky grew up in a lovely small community based council estate. That was just a mix of good luck and timing. Ten years later and the options would have been something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Sure there’s nothing for the poor kids to do.

Cesspit of a country.

yeah. country is to blame for this carry on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

Maybe it’s time to stop giving Mary and Johnny a council house for free just because they decided to have a few kids for house benefits etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

And yet there the disadvantaged victims..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

circadian wrote: »
    Haven't seen something like that since moving away from Derry years ago.

Lads that were up to that craic have limps now, not that I agree with the method it certainly has some level of success.

I think there are some eejit in this world that are just glutens for punishment.

They need their loaves examined

Specialun wrote: »
    yeah. country is to blame for this carry on

It is, actually.

If there's no punishment, why not act the bollocks?

That video wasn't taken at the first sign of this stuff happening. If everyone's out in the street then it's been going on before the video started recording, yet there's not a Garda to be seen.

If the Gardai do show up, and even manage to catch them red-handed, they get a slap on the wrist from a detached judge who sympathises with them.

The people who live there, the genuine, decent people, who do work jobs, do make an effort, and do want a good quality of life, have a misery of an existence because of the scummers who do this.

The people who get onto the Gardai and the Council; the ones that report every incident, liaise with the Council on who's doing what, what can be done to prevent it, etc. get told 'the community needs more people like you' and are then promptly ignored and left shouting to themselves.

In the meantime if the scummers do take a dislike to you, you can be sure the Gardai that appreciate your help when it suits them, will most certainly not be there to protect or help you.

As a result, all the decent, genuine people spend most of the life either working their bollocks off to get the fcuk out of there, or just give up and spend their life on the dole because what's the point.

I know personally a person who lives in a place like this, and they don't have a job because they're afraid to leave the house alone incase it's broken into (apparently it's happened a few times).

This country as a whole needs to cop on to itself. These lads out 'having the craic' will be the ones who are stealing and thieving for the next 20-30-40 years. These are the ones that will be pushing drugs in estates, or shooting up on O Connell Street, depending which side of the drug divide they end up on. These are the ones that you'll see in the paper for assault, driving without insurance, carrying weapons, burglary, etc. over and over and over again for the rest of your life.

But if you managed to get them now, and punish them hard for what they're at, it might possibly make them think twice. Under 18 year olds are invincible in the eyes of the law. Do what you like and nothing will be done. Over 18s get the slap on the wrist unless they murder someone. Then it's a few years and you're out long before you're due because you're a sound chap in prison.

It's a joke of a system and people need to cop themselves on. And I don't just mean judges, gardai and politicians, I mean general public. It's a growing issue and it's constantly being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Jimmy Dags wrote: »
    Maybe it’s time to stop giving Mary and Johnny a council house for free just because they decided to have a few kids for house benefits etc.

The house isn’t free. The dole money covers it though which is free.

To many it is free. If you have a few kids running around, and you cease paying your rent, the council will ask you to work on a payment plan. Ignore it and they'll ask again. Rinse, repeat.

They're not going to kick children out of a house into the streets. you're in that house forever. Worst case scenario they'll attempt to re-house you elsewhere, but you won't be homeless, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The people living here need to report their scumbag neighbours, have them locked up and taken out of the equation, silence breeds these scum. I pity the poor VW Polo owner, could potentially cost them their livelihood if they need their car for work.

They really can’t do that.

That’s the reality of having to live there and that’s why I feel sorry for them and believe these are the people who need help and support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

The community 100% know who these ****bags are

The community should put a stop to it and get together and work with guards and lock the inbred ****balls up

If the community continue to tolerate it, it'll continue to happen. These scum are known by most of those watching I'm sure of that

The people who are stuck there are probably law abiding citizens.

The scumbags have no fear.

They don’t give a fck about the guards.

It’s all very well being brave until you have to live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

pablo128 wrote: »

I seriously think they’d deserve it. Or a nice dose of quadriplegia at least. I wouldn’t lose a moment’s sleep over it. These absolute scutterbags will never ever bring anything to society. Human garbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

rizzodun wrote: »
    I'm guessing there's 3 very pissed off car owners in Finglas or surrounds right about now.

Don't even get me started on nearly clearing out a lad walking on the footpath, utter scumbags.

https://www.facebook.com/1508319129436612/videos/2051710601764126/

If only we had some armed guards to deliver summary execution.