If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What are ye eatin'? (NOW WITH DRINKING!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Someone bought me smarties and m&ms :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Autosport wrote: »
    Someone bought me smarties and m&ms :D

Smarties - yeah!! :)
    M&Ms - pass. :(

Bowl of cereal before bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Any of ye ever try a kefir drink.like a yop.its a grand sup too and suppose to be good for you

Yes we make it. Did wonders for my boys stomach. He'd been on medication for a year, started with kefir and could reduce, then eventually eliminate the meds (under doc supervision).

Having a caramello and a glass of iced tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,849 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Whispered wrote: »
    Yes we make it. Did wonders for my boys stomach. He'd been on medication for a year, started with kefir and could reduce, then eventually eliminate the meds (under doc supervision).

I do buy mine in super value.it definitely settles the guts when they are rattling a touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Finally got out for a meal this evening with the ladies. This was a great belly liner for pints. A humble mixed grill with a big portion of chips.

20180510_172401.jpg

Little G had roast pork and mash. Mrs G opted for Chicken Ceasar Salad. Only one dessert followed and that was for little G. Chocolate brownie and chocolate ice cream. But jaysus lads, the mixed grill.......:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Slice of white bread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Toast; one slice white, one brown. Best butter and home made pineapplejam... coffee.

anti histamine.. Done as much outdoor work as I could before eyes swelled up as well as running for their life. Never had it this bad in my entire long life.

But got things done.. ;) Seeds in and their job now to grow. and tatties in a hay box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,009 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Missus makes Kefir milk and adds some fruit to take away to sourness, also gives it to the dog. We dont have stomach issues :)

How please do you make it? pm if need be?Need something like that; thanks

The "stew": is excellent; apple makes all the difference... Made in minutes then simmered gently and plenty for tomorrow. mmmmmmm

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Milky way stars, cupan tae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,009 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

@Graces7, I shall add it to my list of things for June delivery.

Basically you get kefir grains and ferment them, once you have started with the grains you can keep them growing and use them repeatably.

Milky way stars, cupan tae.

These weren't nice at all :-/

smurfjed wrote: »
    @Graces7, I shall add it to my list of things for June delivery.

Basically you get kefir grains and ferment them, once you have started with the grains you can keep them growing and use them repeatably.

Now I feel pampered.. ;) Thank you!

By the way it is a heli-pad we have here on the island, not a runway :D

Cake with hot milk and raspberry jam... comfort food..

Plain old beans on toast - food time kind of crept up on us today.

Will be snacking all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

These weren't nice at all :-/

I prefer Milky Ways, they just don't hit the spot

Steak Burger

northgirl wrote: »
    I prefer Milky Ways, they just don't hit the spot

The chocolate tasted weird :-/

Graces you need grains to start, keep feeding them fresh milk, much like feeding sourdough starter I believe. It turns it into a yoghurt like consistency/flavour. It grows as it feeds on the milk so you can make more, make it faster or give it away. There is a water kefir too, but I know nothing about that.

Have a google of milk kefir and see if it's something you want to try. I'm not sure if grains would survive in the post, but I'll do a bit of research and if there's a way to do it, I'd be happy to post a starter amount to you.

Oh, about to make bruschetta. With feta.

EDIT: Made and eaten, with a big pile of rocket, it's really the simple things that make food great sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

Most of the 'polski sklep' in the country sell kefir. Think I've also seen it in Li/Al-di
    Hake & a green salad

<pedant mode> Kefir not sold in local Lidl, is sold at local Polo </pedant mode>

Ice-cream float made with Pepsi Max, vanilla ice-cream and blended pineapple. Deliciously refreshing.

0lddog wrote: »
    Most of the 'polski sklep' in the country sell kefir. Think I've also seen it in Li/Al-di

They do, as does tesco, but as far as I know shop bought kefir is pasturised after fermentation, if it's not, it'll continue fermenting in the packaging and it'll burst. Whereas homemade, you're drinking it "live" so getting more goodness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

....... shop bought kefir is pasturised after fermentation, if it's not, it'll continue fermenting in the packaging and it'll burst. Whereas homemade, you're drinking it "live" so getting more goodness.

Thats interesting, have often wondered how kefir compares to yogurt

When making kefir does it need to be kept within a tight temp range ( the way yog does ) ?
    Stewed blackcurrants & plain yogurt

It's much easier than yoghurt, just keep it at room temperature. If you leave it too long or it's too warm it ferments quicker and it gets a bit fizzy and sour. But it's still drinkable. If you use too much milk or have it too cold it ferments more slowly. It's really about getting a feel for it to be honest. I'm still learning.
    I recently learned that when you're going away for a few days, you can put it in more milk than usual and put it into the fridge and it sort of goes dormant in there. When you come back you wake it up with fresh milk and warmer temperature. Like a tamagotchi. :pac:

EDIT: compared to yoghurt it is thinner, more sour and has different bacteria in it. As far as I know bacteria in kefir stays in your digestive system. Yoghurt bacteria doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭badabing106

A pink lady apple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Whispered how much kefir do you give the little dude?

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Whispered how much kefir do you give the little dude?

I started off so carefully with a teaspoon a day, measuring it, panicking if I forgot, especially when I was dropping the movicol. Now he gets anything from a spoon in his porridge to a half cup in a smoothie depending on the day.

Having banana chocolate French toast. This with cocoa powder. Delicious.

http://www.geniuskitchen.com/amp/recipe/easy-banana-french-toast-199743