If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Let's say something nice about Travellers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

I've been punched in the face three times in my life by Irish, white settled males. All Irish men are scumbags.

I have never been punched in the face by a traveller. All travellers are sound.

Am I missing something?

Missing some cop on obviously to make that generalisation

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

i tend to find that ethnic cleansing is not something to be sarcastic about. some may do so, and that is their right. i won't be joining them however.

Yeah, because it went right over your head :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

you must have yes.

well, in a debate, people can and will be challenged from time to time. that is a given.
    anna080 wrote: »
    I see plenty of UN drivel

you will have to take that up with the UN. i can't help you there. i can only give you the information they provide on a given issue where relevant. you will be delighted to know that they do look at mountains of evidence before coming to a decisian, across all outlooks/sides and so on, so they don't make it up as they go along.
    You do in your barney..you see what thread you can get in on...find out how you can go against the grain...do a quick Google post absolute nonsense and then go scurrying for a shovel to dig up with.

What was your contribution to the thread? Where is your positive thing to say about travellers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,740 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Yeah, because it went right over your head

what was said was said. i responded to what was said. the statement i responded to wasn't correct.
    You do in your barney..you see what thread you can get in on...find out how you can go against the grain...do a quick Google post absolute nonsense and then go scurrying for a shovel to dig up with.

yes, i dare to have an opinion (something last time i checked, one is entitled to)
    having a different opinion to someone else will always be going against that someone else, and anyone else who disagrees with it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,466 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

you must have yes.

well, in a debate, people can and will be challenged from time to time. that is a given.

What was your contribution to the thread? Where is your positive thing to say about travellers?

'Close' quote tag missing at end when quoting the above post (and previous).

Not your ornery onager

seachto7 wrote: »
    Have you ever met an honest one? Or a bald one?

Sure come to think of it, Baldy McDonagh isn't even bald. How's that honest.... or bald?

Just listening to Andy Lee on the radio earlier. Articulate, intelligent, engaging...though some would say he must be a criminal scumbag because he is a traveller, male and in his 30s.

I didn't know Andy Lee was a traveller actually. Ya learn something new everyday. Handsome bloke too.

Omackeral wrote: »
    I didn't know Andy Lee was a traveller actually. Ya learn something new everyday. Handsome bloke too.

Has to be said, desperate accent! But he always comes across extremely well.

Esel wrote: »
    'Close' quote tag missing at end when quoting the above post (and previous).

The poster I was quoting messed up the quote tags and I wasn't sure where their post started and the other post finished, so I left it as it was.

"They" are saving me a fortune. I put a slew of old radiators outside the house during the summer and within 40 minutes a man of the road gave a cnag ar an doras and asked could he have them. Thank you, arsa mise. Put a slew of windows out a couple of weeks back and again one of them was in his standing straight outside the house within an hour asking could he take them from me. All that recycling is good for my pocket, and for the environment.

That is the long and the short of my interaction with Travellers. That, and watching Wanderley Wagon on RTÉ. I'm old enough to remember those actual pre-caravan caravans on the sides of Ireland's roads, when travellers were viewed with considerable sympathy (and not a few piseoga were in existence about what could befall you if you didn't treat them well; John B. Keane's play Sive captures that well).

More general positive things: the uilleann piper Paddy Keenan of (most famously) the Bothy Band - extraordinary talent. Seán Keane and his even more famous sister Dolores Keane and of course The Fureys, composers of one of the most famous trad instrumentals of the past 70 years. All members of the Travelling community who have brought happiness to many others. Rath na raithní orthu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭passatman86

Here is a question
    If a thread started about african people or Asians maybe middle eastern
    Now will everyone be allowed make jokes of each persons mentioned above
    Will the thread be allowed run it’s course highlighting each persons faults
    Would anyone like to comment on that or belittle each persons mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

I had never had any encounter with travellers at all until I started in secondary school. From then on I was honestly terrified of them, as were most of the 100+ kids in my year. The one traveller in my year who integrated, and who I played on school sports teams with, had turned scarily aggressive by third year.

There was one traveller kid, however, a few years younger than me who was a great contributor to the school. Played music in recitals, got excellent results in his Junior Cert etc. He would regularly spend his lunches with his friends doing extra study. This kid's brother (only a year older than him) was a complete scumbag, and all his other relations in the school were dropping out as soon as they were old enough.

I sometimes wonder what he's doing now; I hope he was able to stay the course. I felt bad for him at the time; it can't be easy, especially for a boy that young, to go against the grain as starkly as that. It's a sad situation where even being like other kids is something that marks you out as different. I have a tonne of admiration for travellers who can rise above such pessimistic preconceived expectations set for them both inside and outside of their communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Here is a question If a thread started about african people or Asians maybe middle eastern Now will everyone be allowed make jokes of each persons mentioned above Will the thread be allowed run it’s course highlighting each persons faults Would anyone like to comment on that or belittle each persons mentioned

You seem to be the right person to give me advice. I'm in my mid-fifties and try as I might, I just can't seem to be offended by everything I read on the Internet. I feel as I'm missing out on something. All advice appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

You seem to be the right person to give me advice. I'm in my mid-fifties and try as I might, I just can't seem to be offended by everything I read on the Internet. I feel as I'm missing out on something. All advice appreciated

I'm 48 next birthday and agree. Perhaps we are the last generation not to be offended on other's behalf ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,759 ✭✭✭storker

I'm 48 next birthday and agree. Perhaps we are the last generation not to be offended on other's behalf ???

I'm 52 and I'm not even sure how "offense" is defined. I mean, I get that it's considered to something insulting or disrespectful, but it seems to have expanded to include things that people just don't like/don't agree with/don't want people to say/hear. I'd say the term offense, like so many other terms, has essentially become meaningless through over-misuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

storker wrote: »
    I'm 52 and I'm not even sure how "offense" is defined. I mean, I get that it's considered to something insulting or disrespectful, but it seems to have expanded to include things that people just don't like/don't agree with/don't want people to say/hear. I'd say the term offense, like so many other terms, has essentially become meaningless through over-misuse.

I think we should start a club. It'll probably offend someone, but feck 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yeah nobody said anything about being offended, can ye not read or do ye just have this notion that everyone is offended all the time and it doesn't matter what people actually say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Yeah nobody said anything about being offended, can ye not read or do ye just have this notion that everyone is offended all the time and it doesn't matter what people actually say?

I take offence to that, I can't read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

Cahirmee horse fair in Buttevant - great fun and wouldn't be the same without Travellers. See the tradition known as 'Grabbed' first hand - fascinating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,161 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Count Down wrote: »
    See the tradition known as 'Grabbed' first hand - fascinating!

Sounds well dodgy rather than 'fascinating' tbh.

A certain cohort would be calling it "rape culture" if it was being carried out by any other group of white people. Hilarious how a label means anything you do is beyond criticism.

Gravelly wrote: »
    A certain cohort would be calling it "rape culture" if it was being carried out by any other group of white people. Hilarious how a label means anything you do is beyond criticism.

You can dress it up as 'tradition' and it's ok.

Must try arguing that colonialism is a European tradition the next time it is raised as an excuse for islamic terrorism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

For the 'Traveller Tradition Ignoramouses' the tradition known as 'Grabbing' is where a Traveller lad sees a fellow Traveller girl he fancies and sneaks up on her, grabs her, usually from behind, and kisses her whether she likes it or not. He then retreats to the company of his fellow buckos, who are lending him moral support, and later plucks up the courage to ask the girl out. If she says yes, all well and good, if she says no, then he has to try again, usually with a different girl.
    This traditional mating ritual has resulted in many a marriage, but disturbingly, if this occurred in a non-Traveller situation there'd be a SA case.
    I just find the whole ritual fascinating, but it's not for me, sadly...especially as I'm 58, and my skirt-chasing days are finished. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Count Down wrote: »
    For the 'Traveller Tradition Ignoramouses' the tradition known as 'Grabbing' is where a Traveller lad sees a fellow Traveller girl he fancies and sneaks up on her, grabs her, usually from behind, and kisses her whether she likes it or not. He then retreats to the company of his fellow buckos, who are lending him moral support, and later plucks up the courage to ask the girl out. If she says yes, all well and good, if she says no, then he has to try again, usually with a different girl.
    This traditional mating ritual has resulted in many a marriage, but disturbingly, if this occurred in a non-Traveller situation there'd be a SA case.
    I just find the whole ritual fascinating, but it's not for me, sadly...especially as I'm 58, and my skirt-chasing days are finished. :(

.....So it's a kinda David Attenborough fascinating you mean?

wexie wrote: »
    .....So it's a kinda David Attenborough fascinating you mean?

More like National Geographic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

when we were getting married many years ago we were on the look -out for a mobile home to start off , my wife knew a traveller family fairly well and asked them to keep a look out for one for us , sometime later the traveller women called and said there was one but it was 40 mile away , as we had no transport we told her we could'nt go to look at it so she said she would bring us, when we got there it was perfect but really expensive 800 [in 1985 that was a lot of money] of course we told them we would'nt have that kind of money, so the traveller woman says 'sure i'll get it for you and you can pay me back----and so she paid for it +transport to my parents garden. we agreed to pay her every month but when we went to pay her there was always a row because they did'nt want to take the money from us as 'we were only starting off' [but we did pay ] this woman +her husband have passed away now but i never forgot their kindness to us. not one of my own or my wife's family ever offered us the help that these people did. we can't look down on the traveller community as the so called 'Settled ' community have good +bad also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I have had many good experiences with travellers especially in Kerry. Giving me free lifts in jaunting cars ( I am old and lame), many a good chat and when I was almost being evicted, offering me a house at a very low price. They always had a kind word and a wave.