Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's say something nice about Travellers

• 25-11-2017 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭

Here on AH, there's always a new thread denigrating our nomadic bretheren. Well let's see if we can change that by posting some postives. I'll go first. In my job, there's a traveller lad who acts like a Big Brother to our other clientele and he helps them with their reading and writing. It's called the Step By Step programme. Anybody else got any?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

They always have great deals on slightly used power tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Great at recycling precious metals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

they often have a courage and confidence that many people lack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

They're good boxers, have won Olympic medals for their country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I go for a pint once in awhile with traveller lad who's in d'army , good company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

They like dags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

they go to nice sunny destinations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They sh1t on your door step....

No i mean sit,, sit on your door step.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They look after the elderly....

Really really do look after them ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Tenigate

They look after their own family. Thick as thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

They always make it home for Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Great bunch of lads. They make great tarmac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

They were very good at robbing an elderly man in my old parish.

Very knowledgeable of their rights and entitlements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

I've met a traveller woman shopping in my local supermarket a couple of times and she was really friendly. I grew up in the UK so unlike everyone I know, I grew up with many different types of people. I don't actively avoid travellers like many others would (I assume due to bad experiences with them).

I notice a lot of people stare at her due to her accent and clothing. I try to smile and be polite to everyone and because of it she has let me in front of her at the checkout when I only have a few things and she came over to me to give me back some bank cards that fell from my purse. My interaction made me feel for her, I don't want to sound patronising but it's so obvious everyone else is judging her, and thinking she is the plague. How horrible must it feel to go shopping and be ostracized like that. She is still a person with feelings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

They have nice Caravans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

I admire their not giving two f#®ks attitude when on occasion I have caught them scoping out my yard n sheds!
    No scurrying off, just brazen it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Real comedians... allied wheels, tilted windows, cans of fantana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

They constantly look for ways to contribute and give something back to society. They're always doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

They cherish their children. Observe a courtly dignity when in conversation with persons who behave respectfully. Are usually optimistic in spite of high suicide rates and short life expectancy. Endure horrendous degrees of racism and ostracism with fatalistic calm.

Yes, some of them cause a lot of trouble. And some are really great people with a very different culture than the bourgeoisie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Romantic Rose

A lot of them I know from teaching could sell snow to the Eskimos, gift of the gab and have real cute hoarness that money couldn't buy.

A lot of the young female travellers I know are lovely. Very kind and caring. They are another Mammy to their younger siblings but suffer terrible sexism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

For some reason they bring slash hooks to funerals.

Must be for the offertory gifts:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Valuable contributions to sport science - use of petteril

Paulzx wrote: »
    For some reason they bring slash hooks to funerals.

Must be for the offertory gifts:confused:

Probably tending to the graves. They are renowned horticulturalists and gardeners.

A lot of the young female travellers I know are lovely.

Some Traveller girls are absolutely stunning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Romantic Rose

Omackeral wrote: »
    Some Traveller girls are absolutely stunning.

I meant more from a personality point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

They are adept at getting into buildings with the owners knowing.

I know but I'm just adding to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I just burst out laughing at the misinterpretation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I was at school with some traveller lads. When my granny died, one of them made a sympathy card for my younger brother who was in his class. They were about 13 years old at the time, this was a card he made himself. I dont wat to sound patronising btw, but it was the only card he got from anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭TresGats

Used to be a traveller guy living in my village, years ago you'd see him coming out of the shops with a load of cans.
    A little while later, I saw him looking a whole lot better, and sober as a judge. The woman with him introduced herself to me, a new girlfriend , she had him off the drink, they were living in a nice little place together, and any time I met them shopping in Aldi their trolley was filled up with healthy food. Neither drank at all, the man was off the drink a good 6 years.
    I would often meet them at the train station and get the train across to college with them because they were more interesting and less pretentious conversationalists than many of my student peers.
    Last week I heard the woman had died suddenly. She had a couple of medical issues. She was in her late 30's, and I felt genuinely saddened for her, and also her partner who I know will find things tough. They were one of those couples you'd see together all the time, never apart, never arguing. never reinforcing the stereotypes a lot of people would have about travellers.
    I'm not going to name her, but it's a sad story, she was an interesting and inspiring woman , may she Rest In Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I know a settled Traveller lad and he's sound, a bit rough around the edges but a very decent lad. He's mortified by the carry on of his people. Even though he has always worked he gets a lot of discrimination and bad attitudes from people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Yes, some of them cause a lot of trouble. And some are really great people with a very different culture than the bourgeoisie.

agreed. i have always maintained that if we judged all groups on the basis of some of their members, by the way a number judge the traveling community as a whole based on some of it's members, then we really wouldn't like anybody at all.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I'm an American expat who's been living in the west of Ireland almost 4 years now. I have no idea really how to tell any group of Irish people from any other group. I am pretty sure that I've spoken to enough people in Ireland that I have spoken to some Travellers, but not one single person has identified themselves as one. The only bad behaviour I know I've been on the receiving end of (and this has been rare) has been from people who are settled and influential in the community and know they can get away with it. I have very likely received kindness and courtesy from Travellers. I don't think this is merely because I'm a Yank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

They always visit the vulnerable elderly people who live in rural areas, usually at night, but they don't phone ahead to say their coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

There were some traveller children attending my friend's school and they taught her how to play the game "Five Stones" and then she taught me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

About 5 years ago I was in a bookie shop on a busy Saturday and a young settled Traveller lad who would be, as they say, 'known to gardai', starts shouting over to an older fella across the shop, 'Sorry, excuse me, excuse me!'

The old fella realizes he's the one the lad is shouting to and looks back like, 'oh jaysus, what's this lad want?'

'You dropped your money there,' the lad says, and sure enough just behind the man on the floor is a thick wad of bills.
    No one else in the shop had seen it, the lad could have easily walked over and stood on the wad of money and discreetly helped himself to it. When others realized he had done something so decent he rightly got a round of 'fair play to ya' from everyone in the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

They acknowledge that I truly am "The Boss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭The Jman

When I catch them robbing from the shop I work in they usually just drop the stuff and run without putting up a fight, that's fairly sound of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭gnarbarian

Lets say You were doing some work in your house and you were taking out an old bathtub from the bathroom, all you need to do is leave it in your front yard.... They will come and take that away for you, No Charge!

gnarbarian wrote: »
    They will come and take that away for you, No Charge!

They did that with an old copper boiler tank for me. Despite being told earlier in the day it wasn't for them. I suppose they just loved recycling so much. Such environmental awareness. They truly are a national treasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,413 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I've been punched in the face three times in my life by Irish, white settled males. All Irish men are scumbags.

I have never been punched in the face by a traveller. All travellers are sound.

Am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

The house next-door to my Mother's is rented. About 8 years ago we found out a young traveller couple were moving in. The neighbourhood watch (or whatever they're called) tried to setup a meeting with the Gardai so they could not move in!

Anyway they moved in and they were the best neighbours my Mother ever had. Kept the house spotless and same with the back and front garden. They had a small baby and just kept to themselves. They even apologised a few times that their baby was crying all night and were sorry if we could hear her through the walls. They were there about 2 years and we were devastated when they moved out as the next tenants were a pain in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Any travellers I've ever heard had dealings with paid what they owed.

More than I can say for a lot of dickheads living in fancy houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

They love being drove into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

There aren't that many of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

I've been punched in the face three times in my life by Irish, white settled males. All Irish men are scumbags.

I have never been punched in the face by a traveller. All travellers are sound.

Am I missing something?
    Yup, you need to stop getting into fights.