Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pavee point criticise judge for telling truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Well any of the travellers I've met were on "disability".

Bearing in mind that your posts indicate that you despise travellers , how did the conversation go leading up to you finding out they were on disability ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Bearing in mind that your posts indicate that you despise travellers , how did the conversation go leading up to you finding out they were on disability ?

They were doing "work" for my mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,513 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Dr Brown wrote: »
    They were doing "work" for my mother.

yeah? how does that prove they are on disability?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Oh look another thread by a Fascist on boards.ie about how much he hates travelers.

You're quick to judge, at least you went a bit off the beaten path with, 'Fascist', instead of the rather humdrum, 'Racist'.. *clap* *clap* Job well done!

Feck off you , this is my bit of comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

In many encounters with travellers, I have met with kindness, courtesy and helpfulness. In many ways.

Occasionally there has been hostility, from different travellers.

ie they are like everyone else, a varied group.

And the good in my experience, outweighs the rest.

And there is no way to ever accuse the whole of the actions of the part; any more than with any other group.

Yes they are distinctive but that is fine too.

As for feuds; the worst feuds I have seen in Ireland have been between mass-going farmers over rights of way that have gone on for over 30 years.

Graces7 wrote: »

Why do you think that you're in the vast vast minority in comparison to most other posters on here? Not just this thread, mind you, but nearly any thread concerning Travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

liamo wrote: »
    Worked just fine for me. Well written. Good spelling, grammar and punctuation. Perhaps could have done with an additional linefeed between paragraphs but hardly "Impossible to read".

Seriously not a gap to be seen that sort of reading without gaps is so bad....

Whatever.

Graces7 wrote: »
    In many encounters with travellers, I have met with kindness, courtesy and helpfulness. In many ways.

Occasionally there has been hostility, from different travellers.

ie they are like everyone else, a varied group.

And there is no way to ever accuse the whole of the actions of the part; any more than with any other group.

Yes they are distinctive but that is fine too.

As for feuds; the worst feuds I have seen in Ireland have been between mass-going farmers over rights of way that have gone on for over 30 years.

Yeah you can't open a paper these days without reading about the latest feuding farmer slash hook riot. Sure there's 100 Garda outside every mass in the country these days to stop the farmers going mad and smashing up the town. They're the real problem, but they're just protected by the farmer loving D4 media in this country (they don't have to live beside them!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sorry Graces7 but I believe from your posts you are an older lady who lives alone

you are the exactly the target these scumbags go for

Hopefully it's never you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,524 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

From my dealings with travellers in my job as a Garda, I've a sizeable more experience than most when dealing with them (I said most, those of ye who work with travellers!). Granted, when I was called, a law had already been broken, so it wasn't like I was calling down for a chat and a cuppa.

Anyway, one of the biggest problems with dealing with travellers is their insistency on naming their children after themselves. So while you may have 15 distinct males living in a halting site, the most of them have the same name. Then it literally becomes impossible to find the one you're after. 'No, I'm John Snr, you need John Jnr', 'I am John Jnr, but I'm John 'The Eye's son', 'I'm John but not the John you're looking for', etc. Same with the women, Kathleens everywhere! And this is deliberately done, not due to the old ways, but due to the fact they know it makes it harder to catch them as a result. A number of different traveller men told me this, as they thought they were able to say stuff like this as they believe themselves invincible, untouchable by the law.

The older travellers are fine. It's the younger generation that are the problem, and that includes those currently in their 30s/40s. As one old traveller told me, everything was grand, under the radar, until the young ones got involved in drugs. And it has progressed, they now don't handle the drugs themselves, instead getting the local young scrotes to do the dealing, so it can't be traced back. If they get caught, it's a few weeks in St. Pats and get a few grand when they're out. Don't ask me for proof, if there was proof they'd be arrested.

The teen/early 20's travellers of now are going to be major problems in a few years. I was on the beat one night, and literally 7 feet away from me, while staring at me, one of them just straight up lands a lad on the ground with a box. No warning, no previous interactions between them. He looked at me, smiled and took off. He was caught a few days later as he managed to get away (as we found out, he had someone waiting for him around the corner 'just in case' anything happened). When asked why, he didn't even reserve his right to silence, he tried to tell me he didn't do it! They don't care, and this happens quite a lot with a certain group of travellers males where I worked. Word is that it hasn't gotten any better there in the last 2 years.

Then, as some mentioned above, you have the 'Don't rat' attitude, and for good reason, they will have no problem turning on their own, as can be seen at nearly every major event they are involved in. Again, from my experience. They will burn out each others caravans, smash the cars, they don't care. Then you have the general public who are not willing to testify against them, and I can understand why. The state will not protect you, save in extremely rare circumstances.

Say what you want, but this thread is full of the usual for/against that happens in every topic on this site. But, the major difference between this thread and most others, is that rather than the group in question being defended by most, there are more stories of the crimes and anti-social behaviour than the 'good' stories. So unlike every other thread where the replies usually disprove, to a degree, the potential racism/facism/other fancy words for negative comments against a certain group of people, this thread has more negative than positive stories, by a country mile. Not a defining indication, but it gives a general consensus.

In my own, now-civilian opinion, I have no time for them. They are reluctant to change, even if their way of life is literally a thing of the past. I don't think they should have a choice anymore. Integrate or move. The definition of traveller doesn't seem to matter anymore, only that you were born into a family of travellers, who don't actually travel and have permanent homes in halting sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

They told me they were on disability only would only except "cash" for the "job" they were doing for my mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

Varik wrote: »
    I think it's 0.5 to 1%.

So they're between 15 and 30 times more likely to be incarcerated.

And what about the number who appear in court or get caught and only get a fine or a suspended sentence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Milkman..

I wonder what sort of car insurance quotes they get?

If they actually have insurance

Do the companies discriminate , I'll bet they do if they can even though it's illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Of all the crap , you've posted thats the beats everything hands down .

Inability to read will not get you a disability award.A G.P. must sign and say why he thinks you should get Disability and even then you can be still called for a review.

I'm a social care worker working with homeless travellers and guess what lots of 'em can read ,are working , have no convictions and couldn't even be classed as remotely violent.

Carry on with your biased , ignorant posts.

So you are biased then due to your vested interest ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

From my dealings with travellers in my job as a Garda, I've a sizeable more experience than most when dealing with them (I said most, those of ye who work with travellers!). Granted, when I was called, a law had already been broken, so it wasn't like I was calling down for a chat and a cuppa.

From your experience do you think that the Guards are afraid of travelers & reluctant to act ?

Uncharted wrote: »
    So you are biased then due to your vested interest ??

Sure .I take it you read the bollix he's been posting.

Oh look another thread by a Fascist on boards.ie about how much he hates travelers.

Why not start a thread about something positive they've done.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWJ7SmOVUO8

Why don't you start a thread on something positive about travelers and see how much support you get.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 194 ✭✭Mackerel and Avocado Sandwich

http://www.thejournal.ie/traveller-family-housing-list-wrc-4005357-May2018/

This is interesting. Awarded money even though they were living illegally when applied for the social housing. This country is nuts.

Why don't you start a thread on something positive about travelers and see how much support you get.

I did that a while ago but the goodwill only lasted so long.

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057813360/1/#post105379527

Sure .I take it you read the bollix he's been posting.

To be fair,there's bollox being talked on both sides.

Ultimately,the vast majority of people in this country have a low opinion of travellers.
    I am one of those people too and I make no apologies for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

The irony of a complaint about punctuation being itself devoid of almost any punctuation is delicious.
    I say "almost" because there is an elipsis in the sentence. The fact that it is used entirely incorrectly only adds to the irony.
    Seriously not a gap to be seen that sort of reading without gaps is so bad....

Whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The irony of a complaint about punctuation being itself devoid of almost any punctuation is delicious.
    I say "almost" because there is an elipsis in the sentence. The fact that it is used entirely incorrectly only adds to the irony.

Whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Discodog wrote: »
    From your experience do you think that the Guards are afraid of travelers & reluctant to act ?

When you have a situation like what that poster mentioned, trying to get your man (or woman) is like nailing jelly to a wall. Add to that the non-cooperation from any decent ones there. They're a closed society, a sub-culture with their own rules.

There doesn't even need to be a threat of violence but when you are presented with sh1t like that, what are you to do?

It's pointless, they're running rings around the justice system.

"So while you may have 15 distinct males living in a halting site, the most of them have the same name. Then it literally becomes impossible to find the one you're after. 'No, I'm John Snr, you need John Jnr', 'I am John Jnr, but I'm John 'The Eye's son', 'I'm John but not the John you're looking for', etc. Same with the women, Kathleens everywhere!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,524 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Discodog wrote: »

Not afraid, but held back by red tape. Being a Garda is not straight forward, and unlike what most people believe, the evidence needs to be legally obtained and beyond a reasonable doubt before a prosecution could be brought against them. Throw in the fact they're all named the same, and if you do find the lad you know if the lad, he'll get off by saying it must have been a relative with the same name visiting, and they could be anywhere now.

It's extremely hard to get a prosecution on a traveller, because of the protected status and the bleeding hearts who jump to their aid.

Again, there's no fear, just a lack of support from management and too much red tape. Oh, time and manpower is a major obstacle too, but that's for another thread.

Not afraid, but held back by red tape. Being a Garda is not straight forward, and unlike what most people believe, the evidence needs to be legally obtained and beyond a reasonable doubt before a prosecution could be brought against them. Throw in the fact they're all named the same, and if you do find the lad you know if the lad, he'll get off by saying it must have been a relative with the same name visiting, and they could be anywhere now.

It's extremely hard to get a prosecution on a traveller, because of the protected status and the bleeding hearts who jump to their aid.

Again, there's no fear, just a lack of support from management and too much red tape. Oh, time and manpower is a major obstacle too, but that's for another thread.

Mmm. Perhaps no fear on your own personal behalf. I'll have to accept your opinion on that.

Although I have seen first hand examples of gardai afraid to approach travellers.
    3 of them sat in the squad car talking out through the window to a hiace van driver while he and his passenger read them the riot act about harassment.
    These were the same two sh1ts found guilty of seriously assaulting a local pensioner.
    There is absolutely no doubt that a lot of Gardai fear this subspecies.
    Whether it's fear of the PC brigade retaliation or physical retaliation, I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

he's got too many dots in it as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Amalgam wrote: »
    You're quick to judge, at least you went a bit off the beaten path with, 'Fascist', instead of the rather humdrum, 'Racist'.. *clap* *clap* Job well done!

No I'm not. I've read tons of anti-traveller threads on Boards going back over a decade & there always started by people with far-right leanings & attitudes.

There's miniorties for the right in Ireland that are fair game. Travellers & Muslims are the most attacked group by the right on threads ike Boards in Ireland. Luckily hate-crimes are kept to a minimun because these balless little pricks wouldn't say anything to anyones face in public.

Yeah you can't open a paper these days without reading about the latest feuding farmer slash hook riot. Sure there's 100 Garda outside every mass in the country these days to stop the farmers going mad and smashing up the town. They're the real problem, but they're just protected by the farmer loving D4 media in this country (they don't have to live beside them!).

That's just complete & utter bollox.

I live in one of the largest towns in Ireland, I walk past 3 churches everyday and there's never travellers or Garda outside any of them.

There does be some trouble in the parks by youths, like a gym and the fire station had it's windows smashed in the other day. Most of these problems are created by children from broken homes, that's because of social & econmic reasons not travellers.

The used to be a travelling family in my estate & the kids in it were the most behaved & cleanest.

Anyway, one of the biggest problems with dealing with travellers is their insistency on naming their children after themselves. So while you may have 15 distinct males living in a halting site, the most of them have the same name. Then it literally becomes impossible to find the one you're after. 'No, I'm John Snr, you need John Jnr', 'I am John Jnr, but I'm John 'The Eye's son', 'I'm John but not the John you're looking for', etc. Same with the women, Kathleens everywhere! And this is deliberately done, not due to the old ways, but due to the fact they know it makes it harder to catch them as a result. A number of different traveller men told me this, as they thought they were able to say stuff like this as they believe themselves invincible, untouchable by the law.

The older travellers are fine. It's the younger generation that are the problem, and that includes those currently in their 30s/40s. As one old traveller told me, everything was grand, under the radar, until the young ones got involved in drugs. And it has progressed, they now don't handle the drugs themselves, instead getting the local young scrotes to do the dealing, so it can't be traced back. If they get caught, it's a few weeks in St. Pats and get a few grand when they're out. Don't ask me for proof, if there was proof they'd be arrested.

The teen/early 20's travellers of now are going to be major problems in a few years. I was on the beat one night, and literally 7 feet away from me, while staring at me, one of them just straight up lands a lad on the ground with a box. No warning, no previous interactions between them. He looked at me, smiled and took off. He was caught a few days later as he managed to get away (as we found out, he had someone waiting for him around the corner 'just in case' anything happened). When asked why, he didn't even reserve his right to silence, he tried to tell me he didn't do it! They don't care, and this happens quite a lot with a certain group of travellers males where I worked. Word is that it hasn't gotten any better there in the last 2 years.

Then, as some mentioned above, you have the 'Don't rat' attitude, and for good reason, they will have no problem turning on their own, as can be seen at nearly every major event they are involved in. Again, from my experience. They will burn out each others caravans, smash the cars, they don't care. Then you have the general public who are not willing to testify against them, and I can understand why. The state will not protect you, save in extremely rare circumstances.

Say what you want, but this thread is full of the usual for/against that happens in every topic on this site. But, the major difference between this thread and most others, is that rather than the group in question being defended by most, there are more stories of the crimes and anti-social behaviour than the 'good' stories. So unlike every other thread where the replies usually disprove, to a degree, the potential racism/facism/other fancy words for negative comments against a certain group of people, this thread has more negative than positive stories, by a country mile. Not a defining indication, but it gives a general consensus.

In my own, now-civilian opinion, I have no time for them. They are reluctant to change, even if their way of life is literally a thing of the past. I don't think they should have a choice anymore. Integrate or move. The definition of traveller doesn't seem to matter anymore, only that you were born into a family of travellers, who don't actually travel and have permanent homes in halting sites.

Are you sure your not talking about the the Kinhan-Hutch feud?

And that's not a new tactic btw, drug dealers have been doing that in Ireland since at least the early 1990's, getting younger people to sell the actual drugs & letting them keep a small bit. You seem to know very little for about drug dealing for a Garda, you actually sound clueless..