Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Started a 10 days ago first time ai ING myself, only 30% herd done. Getting better each day. I seem to be missing some, and cows arent cycling, a little low in bcs imo, using eik fr 2249, 4100 and some he
    Are you tail painting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

whelan2 wrote:
    Are you tail painting?

Yes, but should have topped up after 4 days as paint faids

ye , I'm using the spray cans 4 days max before changing to another colour. My head does be wrecked trying to remember what ones are served or not. Started putting a spray on the legs of the ones that are served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye , I'm using the spray cans 4 days max before changing to another colour. My head does be wrecked trying to remember what ones are served or not. Started putting a spray on the legs of the ones that are served.

Why do ye need different colours? Same colour paint here all season. Top it up weekly. Only need to know if it's gone or not and the records tell you the rest

Always use different colours, milking on my own so having to go and check records slows the milking down, ai man here at 8.30 each morning

whelan2 wrote: »
    Always use different colours, milking on my own so having to go and check records slows the milking down, ai man here at 8.30 each morning

Milk on my own here too and do most of the heat detection, tried all the different colours. Didn't see the point, only need to know if she's bulling. If Paint is gone in the crush they go for AI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Milk on my own here too and do most of the heat detection, tried all the different colours. Didn't see the point, only need to know if she's bulling. If Paint is gone in the crush they go for AI

If paint is gone and not badly marked do ye put a cheap bull in?

Get tech to try an empty gun on the very odd cow that id be suspicious of, done that twice so far this year and both have been bulling. Wouldn't happen a handle of times in the season though. Nearly everything presented here so far are fairly raw, no mistaking them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Ah it is handy in fairness. I paint all cows with pink paint on day 1 and then put blue on them as they are AI'd. It's simple to draft out cows not served(any blue cows) for estrumate or scanning after 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I put a diff colour on the evening milking after they were served. To help me remember which cows are bulling which day, I have 3 different tail tapes, blue green and yellow, and I use a diff colour each day, like this evenings milking I put blue tape on 3 tails, I'll spot them very quick in the morning. Tape usually gets pulled off tomorrow evenings milking.

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Ah it is handy in fairness. I paint all cows with pink paint on day 1 and then put blue on them as they are AI'd. It's simple to draft out cows not served(any blue cows) for estrumate or scanning after 3 weeks.

It is handy for that alright but still don't see the real need. Here a lot giving out about how tough the few weeks of AI are before the bull goes in, were 100% AI here and I know I'd be really tired if all that painting after a few weeks

yewtree wrote: »
    In fairness they are a bit mental, but only keep for one season. Its the second year i find they get very cross. Kept a couple for a second season and they were unmanageable, only option was to hang them up, lesson learnt.
    The reason I use them is calving ease, I find it gives heifers a great start. I also use to be able to pick them up at handy money but not this year.

Have 3 je teasers here, 2 are grand the other is starting to be a little fooker. He was out in the garden when I got up this morning, no way would he do what I wanted. He might be getting the burdizzo when dad comes home on Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Keep fr bulls here to vasectomise the last few years. Found that if they are but in with stronger animals say incalf heifers if they are yearlings or dry cows if they are a bit stronger when at grass they tend not to be wicked. Obviously you never turn your back on them. Have 3 year-old ones here now and tbh they are too old for there purpose as they don't follow as much as younger bulls but when they were inside they were in with the old angus and he had manners put on them. May be it's nothing only luck but the last fr we bought in was a dangerous fcuker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

It is handy for that alright but still don't see the real need. Here a lot giving out about how tough the few weeks of AI are before the bull goes in, were 100% AI here and I know I'd be really tired if all that painting after a few weeks

Making a simple job very hard .dint get the hassle of using 2 different color paints .paint say blue day 1 and as there served paint red .makes seem what’s served and not so easy paint unserved ainmals day 1 and weekly after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭einn32

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Making a simple job very hard .dint get the hassle of using 2 different color paints .paint say blue day 1 and as there served paint red .makes seem what’s served and not so easy paint unserved ainmals day 1 and weekly after that

Using scratch cards and then rip off and tail paint once served. Works well I think.

The different colours also show you what hasn't been in heat. Different folks different strokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

2 colours here
    Red not served
    Blue served
    Blue mark on front shoulder when Ai'd to avoid confusion at next milking

After 3 weeks check reds

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Might be an interesting cross border business proposal for the bank manager.....

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

your bring up old new there

will they adjust flate rate farmer vat addition to account for increase in input vat, or we could just all register for vat and claim it back, you would think ersi would do an old calculation on how much the administration cost from the gov side that would arise from farmers registering for vat and supplying bimonthly vat returns and trying to get paid on time (laughing all ready at the thought of farmers meeting the strict payment deadline) or administer the refunds plus do the routine checks, is the reason for flat rate farmer vat rate to avoid all that and keep it simple on both sides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

your bring up old new there

will they adjust flate rate farmer vat addition to account for increase in input vat, or we could just all register for vat and claim it back, you would think ersi would do an old calculation on how much the administration cost from the gov side that would arise from farmers registering for vat and supplying bimonthly vat returns and trying to get paid on time (laughing all ready at the thought of farmers meeting the strict payment deadline) or administer the refunds plus do the routine checks, is the reason for flat rate farmer vat rate to avoid all that and keep it simple on both sides

The payment side would ve simple enough. Very few smaller contractors in the construction industry get paid VAT nowadays. Deducted by main contractors/developers before invoice is paid and forwarded by them to revenue. Processors would find themselves in this boat immediately. This still leaves revenue with several tens of thousands of extra vat returns every two months and all of them due a rebate.

The old saying about idle hands comes to mind in relation to the genius from the esri who published that semi-formed brain fart because he had nothing better to do, ditto for the genius from the findo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

The payment side would ve simple enough. Very few smaller contractors in the construction industry get paid VAT nowadays. Deducted by main contractors/developers before invoice is paid and forwarded by them to revenue. Processors would find themselves in this boat immediately. This still leaves revenue with several tens of thousands of extra vat returns every two months and all of them due a rebate.

The old saying about idle hands comes to mind in relation to the genius from the esri who published that semi-formed brain fart because he had nothing better to do, ditto for the genius from the findo.

I’m not getting your line of thought Free...
    How could all farmers be due a rebate? Surely it’s only the vat reg’d farmers that would be due a rebate?
    I’ll wager that farmers wouldn’t be in any rush to register for vat. I remember doing some figures many moons ago and it’s only tillage farmers that it suits. (Things could be different now).

It’s the farmer that makes the vat returns so why all the extra work for Revenue?

I dare any business to be late with vat returns...they take it quite seriously because that business is collecting ‘their’ money for them.

At the end of the day it could be tricky to enforce because Merchants/Coops would just invoice fert as feed (for eg)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

How could all farmers be due a rebate? Surely it’s only the vat reg’d farmers that would be due a rebate?
    I’ll wager that farmers wouldn’t be in any rush to register for vat. I remember doing some figures many moons ago and it’s only tillage farmers that it suits. (Things could be different now).

It’s the farmer that makes the vat returns so why all the extra work for Revenue?

I dare any business to be late with vat returns...they take it quite seriously because that business is collecting ‘their’ money for them.

At the end of the day it could be tricky to enforce because Merchants/Coops would just invoice fert as feed (for eg)...

Doubt that they'd invoice incorrectly, Dawg. Makes a huge difference in derogation terms between feed and fert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I’ll wager that farmers wouldn’t be in any rush to register for vat. I remember doing some figures many moons ago and it’s only tillage farmers that it suits. (Things could be different now)..

It said that the smaller farmers would get rebate also. It suits contract rearers aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

How could all farmers be due a rebate? .

What's suggested would change the figures you did, they're much the same as things stand now, however if I'm going to be charged vat on fert I'd probably register. Farmers would be due a rebate because there's no way revenue are going to allow processors pay vat to farmers and then have to collect it themselves. It's in place in the construction industry for years at this stage. Main contractors and developers retain the vat element of invoices they receive and pay this to the revenue.

If any payments registered farmers are receiving are net of vat it stands to reason that they will be putting in a return bimonthly for a rebate on their purchases. This would be the case for most dairy farmers 17,000 or so of them and probably a similar number of full-time beef farmers under what is proposed in that article. The unregistered farmers currently receive a vat payment for their produce is precisely to stop them registering.

What's suggested would change the figures you did, they're much the same as things stand now, however if I'm going to be charged vat on fert I'd probably register. Farmers would be due a rebate because there's no way revenue are going to allow processors pay vat to farmers and then have to collect it themselves. It's in place in the construction industry for years at this stage. Main contractors and developers retain the vat element of invoices they receive and pay this to the revenue.

If any payments registered farmers are receiving are net of vat it stands to reason that they will be putting in a return bimonthly for a rebate on their purchases. This would be the case for most dairy farmers 17,000 or so of them and probably a similar number of full-time beef farmers under what is proposed in that article. The unregistered farmers currently receive a vat payment for their produce is precisely to stop them registering.

500 xbreds = 2mln litres@ 30cpl = €600k + vat = ~ €30k vat on milk.
    You’d want to be buying a fair bit of fert to pay €30k in vat... feed is zero rated, animals likewise, right? So contractor and any machinery purchases would be needed to tip the balance in favor of registering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

500 xbreds = 2mln litres@ 30cpl = €600k + vat = ~ €30k vat on milk.
    You’d want to be buying a fair bit of fert to pay €30k in vat... feed is zero rated, animals likewise, right? So contractor and any machinery purchases would be needed to tip the balance in favor of registering?

Animals 4%

Doubt that they'd invoice incorrectly, Dawg. Makes a huge difference in derogation terms between feed and fert

Lol.

It’d close that little loophole alright...big difference (for merchants) to be messing with vat inc goods (fert) and zero rated goods (feed).

Vat irregularities versus vat avoidance...

Planting away all day. Went to 29* and suddenly thunder and lightning...spilling rain now.
    Just as well because air con gave up on the tractor.

Will knock a few ha for the pit tomorrow and hopefully pit it Wednesday.
    Tuesday and Thursday are bank holidays. Lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A little bit from NZ on lengthening the rotation to 25 days and adding plantain to improve N use efficiency.

https://i.stuff.co.nz/business/farming/97071476/demonstration-dairy-farm-cuts-nitrate-leaching-30-per-cent-and-stays-profitable