Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭williestroker1

I'd agree, and being undertaken a very unpleasant experience. I've a ropey junction on my commute which caused me so many near misses I take an alternative route most days.

Here where the silver car is, lane splits from one into three, two for left and one for right. I wanna head right. Move too early (at the split) and I'll be undertaken. Usually nearly clipped as the motorist realises I'm doing 35-40km/h and there's a line of traffic at the lights they need to get into. Move too late and I have to cross 2 lanes. Road is 60 and very hard to find a decent gap.

There is a ped crossing about 100m back that I'm tempted to hit as I pass, to hold traffic back too :D but in classic irish road design, it's awfully placed and backs traffic back onto a very busy roundabout, and I'm not sure about the legal (or moral) stance on that idea. Alternative route prob best.

Would you not be better using the cycle lane on the right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

Rechuchote wrote: »
    Remember that many people who drive for a living are very, very stupid.
    Also must agree. I'm sure there are exceptions but the norm is stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That's one of those lanes that appears out of no where and then disappears shortly after. Makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

That leads into a one way cycle track the opposite way I want to go, and need to use 2 ped crossings to get to it and another 2 to return to the correct side of the road to continue onwards. There is an alternative route which is a little longer but safer, it's more just frustrating that many motorists cant look 50 feet ahead to see that an undertake will effectively get them nowhere, never mind it being a dangerous manoeuvre.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

jjpep wrote: »
    Also must agree. I'm sure there are exceptions but the norm is stupid.

You are wrong. So very, very, very wrong.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,724 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

not quite a near miss, but enough for a '****, that shouldn't have happened' moment - coming onto the roundabout at the east link this morning, there's already a flatbed lorry on the roundabout - quick glance at him, he's not indicating which means the way is clear for me, so i proceed; then realise that it's just a slightly slow blinking indicator on the lorry, and he *is* coming towards me. far enough away that i wasn't in any real danger, but enough for a little shot of adrenaline.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,023 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Seen one this morning, a commuter racing acquaintance was coming up to the roundabout near Loughlinstown. Car merged across me at the bend before the roundabout to go into the left lane, while indicating left at the roundabout. I pulled my brakes and merged into the right lane as I was going right anyway. Crushed him into the edge and then proceeded not to turn left and go round the roundabout. Mental driving, I thought it was intentional but really hard to tell nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭queldy

I have seen many, but this is one of the most disgusting ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭plodder

My heart sank watching that ^, even knowing no direct harm came from it.

The photos don't do it justice; you have to see the video.

The person filming must have had a close enough shave there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

plodder wrote: »
    My heart sank watching that ^, even knowing no direct harm came from it.

The photos don't do it justice; you have to see the video.

The video is there in the tweet at the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭site_owner

That's horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,411 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Inches from death I would say!

And the usual aul sh1te reply from the lads at DB

https://twitter.com/dublinbusnews/status/991976491427786752

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

And the usual aul sh1te reply from the lads at DB

https://twitter.com/dublinbusnews/status/991976491427786752

Dublin Bus have this on a text expander shortcut, I think!

Rechuchote wrote: »
    Dublin Bus have this on a text expander shortcut, I think!

Yep and they'll get the canned response of "Driver has been interviewed and we take safety very seriously"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I've never even received a response to the form.

They were quick enough to engage with me a number of years back when the bus I was on was involved in a minor fender bender with a truck and wanted a witness statement surprise surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

queldy wrote: »
    I have seen many, but this is one of the most disgusting ever.

It’s really bad! I have seen that guy with the kids. I wonder if he knows ? Seemed oblivious.
    Location is Ranelagh Triangle. No excuse for the driver (horrendous decision to go through) but in my opinion it looks like the cyclist could be more to the right. Lots of traffic filters left there and they can come very close if you are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

One of the twitter responses, I hope it’s just a tool trolling.

“To be fair to the driver he couldn't have been expected to see the cyclists given that they weren't wearing hi-vis. In any case, thankfully they were wearing helmets so they would have been fine if the bus hit them.”

Pinch Flat wrote: »

“To be fair to the driver he couldn't have been expected to see the cyclists given that they weren't wearing hi-vis. In any case, thankfully they were wearing helmets so they would have been fine if the bus hit them.”

Must be the Dublin Bus driver or its PR dept trying to explain/justify insane decision making by one of their highly trained and aware professional drivers

I took that comment to be sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Pinch Flat wrote: »

I read that earlier as if it was dripping with sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I wasn't the cyclist, but I was the driver coming the other way this evening having picked the missus' bike up from a shop in the Peaks district (18 Bikes; they're awesome) for some maintenance work, and approaching the outskirts of Sheffield. Nice wide road (and by wide, I mean two tanks side by side overtaking cyclists at 1.5m sort of wide), feck all traffic - just a girl on a road bike, tosser in a car overtaking her, and myself coming the other way on a big wide straight stretch, albeit I had just come onto the stretch of road from a bend. I was met with watching her have to visibly and dramatically swerve back in towards the side of the road as he overtook like an absolute colossal bell-end. It wasn't even like the other driver was in danger of colliding with my car. He was just being a total d1ck as she had taken primary road position to turn off right, across the road not far up (having her arm out to indicate).

I'm just left wondering what was the point. It's not like she'd have delayed him as there was next to no traffic ahead of him.

Saw another crazy one last sunday in the further into the Peaks district; myself and the missus driving back from mountain biking (funnily enough to drop her bike into said same shop from earlier), to encounter a fool committed to overtaking a single cyclist in the middle of a blind 'S' bend in a 50mph single-carriage road, and having to swerve back in nearly wiping said cyclist out whilst trying to avoid a head-on collision with myself having just rounded one end of the blind bend, all whilst having a bike strapped to the top of his big-black SUV-esque not-quite-a-jeep. The irony of a cyclist, driving a car, nearly causing an accident with another cyclist driving a car, whilst trying to do a dumb overtake on another cyclist is not lost on me.

Generally speaking, my experiences to-date of Sheffield have been mostly favourable; so it's a bit disappointing to see two incidents in such close proximity to each other.

I took that comment to be sarcasm.

100%..There is no other meaningful response to what was posted by the “Hi vis and wearing helmets” troll comment.

Sorry if it’s not your thing!

By the way, I have had multiple close passes by Dublin Bus drivers. One last week on Georges St, practically made contact as they passed and then they pulled into a stop just meters ahead. Had I fallen, hi vis, helmet, jock strap, back protector etc would not have prevented me going under the wheel. Nearly every day a Dublin Bus drops across me and other cyclists as we exit the cycle lane onto Westmoreland St. They impose their right of way (which legally they don’t have coming from behind)

A lot of these DB drivers (not all) are pure ass holes. Such is their driving and social skills, they probably would not get a driving job anywhere else.

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    100%..There is no other meaningful response to what was posted by the “Hi vis and wearing helmets” troll comment.

Sorry if it’s not your thing!

By the way, I have had multiple close passes by Dublin Bus drivers. One last week on Georges St, practically made contact as they passed and then they pulled into a stop just meters ahead. Had I fallen, hi vis, helmet, jock strap, back protector etc would not have prevented me going under the wheel. Nearly every day a Dublin Bus drops across me and other cyclists as we exit the cycle lane onto Westmoreland St. They impose their right of way (which legally they don’t have coming from behind)

A lot of these DB drivers (not all) are pure ass holes. Such is their driving and social skills, they probably would not get a driving job anywhere else.

But you have to tell their company! To which you'll get the answer:
    Hi Kaisr, please follow the link to our online webform and we will look into this for you bit.ly/1UQnvcO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Duckjob

The internal bus investigation should be irrevelent. In some other european countries, it would be straight to the police, an almost instant conviction of the driver based on clear evidence of dangerous driving, loss of licence and job, examples made, people change driving behaviour for the better, city gets safer to cycle, everybody gets healthier and happier.

Here the gardai probably won't even bat an eyelid - "Surrre nobody got hurt, whats the problem?"

For a country that beats our chest so much about our education and intelligence we really are the backward, "hills have eyes", island people of Europe when it comes to our backward attitudes towards a healthy positive thing as cycling. It's pathetic and embarassing. :mad:

Don't even get me started on how the ones displaying the worst behavour towards poeple on bikes are probably the ones that will be clogging up our health system with heart conditions, cancers, diabetes etc because they didnt give a flying f**k about their own physical health their whole lives. How far is your precious "road tax" going to go towards paying all those costs ? /RANT

Duckjob wrote: »
    The internal bus investigation should be irrevelent. In some other european countries, it would be straight to the police, an almost instant conviction of the driver based on clear evidence of dangerous driving, loss of licence and job, examples made, people change driving behaviour for the better, city gets safer to cycle, everybody gets healthier and happier.

So true!
    Don't even get me started on how the ones displaying the worst behavour towards poeple on bikes are probably the ones that will be clogging up our health system with heart conditions, cancers, diabetes etc because they didnt give a flying f**k about their own physical health their whole lives. How far is your precious "road tax" going to go towards paying all those costs ? /RANT

I was amazed by how many very fat people were at the meeting in Ranelagh about the Metrolink. It seemed to be an age thing: over-80s were skinny and wiry, under-60s were plump, and increasingly so in many cases down to the 30s. (I'm no sylph myself, by the way.)

It's tragic that the Quietway plan (hated by Ranelagh's motorists) seems to be stymied by the Metrolink - a good cycle route would inevitably get more people in the village riding bicycles to the shops and cafes and maybe even to work, and would do a world of good for their health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Cycling on Friday afternoon, slight downhill , car parked across the cyclelane ,so I pulled out well in advance to pass.

White van comes up behind me at speed and beeps at me twice.
    I caught up with the driver soon after , and asked why he beeped.

"you weren't in the cycle lane!"

Brought the video to the guards , but doubt anything will be done.