Moving to Northern Ireland

• 03-05-2018 12:12AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

Has anyone moved to NI or know if the cost of living is cheaper?

Houses seem to be generally cheaper as are motoring costs but rates of circa £1000 GBP are payable on a 3 bed semi-detached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

What ever you save you'll end up paying for in the form of depression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Carnmore

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Donegal is great craic though. :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

You will be very near Parcel Motel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,644 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Carnmore wrote: »
    Has anyone moved to NI or know if the cost of living is cheaper?

Houses seem to be generally cheaper as are motoring costs but rates of circa £1000 GBP are payable on a 3 bed semi-detached.

Have you considered Scotland, Wales or England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Wouldn't think anyone can answer that question very well casue the list of ppl who ever moved from the south to the north is very very short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

What route will you be taking to NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Norn Irish people are very dour types. Very aggro and argumentative. Lots of gamey birds though. Nice leggy yokes with big cans and a luminous tint of orange to their skin. Normally like going to country and western gigs and getting a good length of pipe after a gig.

Pros and cons OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

AllForIt wrote: »
    Wouldn't think anyone can answer that question very well casue the list of ppl who ever moved from the south to the north is very very short.

there was a bit of a migration there about a hundred years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

1000 seems a bit mental. Me ma pays about 600.

Everything is cheaper in ni. Ireland is a complete rip off which is why internationals love to come here and sell us stuff at high prices. Didn't DMcW say that Ireland is economically occupying Ireland. Basically Rome would invade Gaul and import goods cheaply while exporting them at high prices and pocketing the differential

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Greyling

The nordy protestant mots are mad for the fenians. They're taking daddy issues to a new level. So that will probably work out well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Greyling wrote: »
    The nordy protestant mots are mad for the fenians. They're taking daddy issues to a new level. So that will probably work out well for you.

Aye dirty tramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Donegal is great craic though. :confused:

Dafq is wrong with Donegal? We're all nice people up here. But go from kph to mph and you're in a different and sometimes scary world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

After being up Tyrone last week and driving back through small rural towns, you kinda reckon some of them close for a half day weekly - pretty architecture but somewhat grey, dour and soulless at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

FanadMan wrote: »
    Dafq is wrong with Donegal? We're all nice people up here. But go from kph to mph and you're in a different and sometimes scary world.

Nothing at all, I even said it's great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Lot of freaks up there.

DUP lot are basically flat earthers.

At least our religious nutters down here are dying out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

I've done the move, it really depends where you're thinking of. Saying that, I wouldn't just move here for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Donegal is too near Norn. It leaks across the bridge at Lifford :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cost of living comparison between Galway and Belfast
    https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_cities.jsp?country1=Ireland&country2=United+Kingdom&city1=Galway&city2=Belfast

Consumer Prices in Belfast are 14.74% lower than in Galway
    Consumer Prices Including Rent in Belfast are 19.93% lower than in Galway
    Rent Prices in Belfast are 32.61% lower than in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,008 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

PARlance wrote: »
    Have you considered Scotland, Wales or England?

How about somewhere that actually gets sunshine and is a bit warmer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

From what I hear from Nordies that have moved south, up there it's all about where you come from and your surname - i.e. religion...whether you're 'orange' or 'green'.

Down south in general, people here couldn't give less of a sh!t about that kind of stuff which relocated Nordies find refreshing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

biko wrote: »
    Cost of living comparison between Galway and Belfast
    https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_cities.jsp?country1=Ireland&country2=United+Kingdom&city1=Galway&city2=Belfast

Consumer Prices in Belfast are 14.74% lower than in Galway
    Consumer Prices Including Rent in Belfast are 19.93% lower than in Galway
    Rent Prices in Belfast are 32.61% lower than in Galway

But surely the wages up north are way lower too?

If you click the link and scroll down it will say what the Average Monthly Net Salary (After Tax) is.
    It is lower in Belfast than Galway but your salary should increase with experience and expertise so it is not set in stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

biko wrote: »
    If you click the link and scroll down it will say what the Average Monthly Net Salary (After Tax) is.
    It is lower in Belfast than Galway but your salary should increase with experience and expertise so it is not set in stone.

Much closer than I expected tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

FanadMan wrote: »

Tis outside Dublin! Uncivilized and has no infrastructure to support its population of 10 :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,845 ✭✭✭✭maccored

nothing wrong with the north - dont listen to the eejits in this thread that barely pass through the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

cnocbui wrote: »
    How about somewhere that actually gets sunshine and is a bit warmer?

Kent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I think the middle income groups do better up there. A teacher family (generally they marry each other) could have a top end house.

Me and my wife are also considering the move to NI. She is from Co. Down and we would like to be closer to her family.

Do move, worst case scenario you can move back again.