Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving to Northern Ireland

• 02-05-2018 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭

Has anyone moved to NI or know if the cost of living is cheaper?

Houses seem to be generally cheaper as are motoring costs but rates of circa £1000 GBP are payable on a 3 bed semi-detached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

What ever you save you'll end up paying for in the form of depression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Carnmore

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Donegal is great craic though. :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

You will be very near Parcel Motel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Carnmore wrote: »
    Has anyone moved to NI or know if the cost of living is cheaper?

Houses seem to be generally cheaper as are motoring costs but rates of circa £1000 GBP are payable on a 3 bed semi-detached.

Have you considered Scotland, Wales or England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Wouldn't think anyone can answer that question very well casue the list of ppl who ever moved from the south to the north is very very short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

What route will you be taking to NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Norn Irish people are very dour types. Very aggro and argumentative. Lots of gamey birds though. Nice leggy yokes with big cans and a luminous tint of orange to their skin. Normally like going to country and western gigs and getting a good length of pipe after a gig.

Pros and cons OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

AllForIt wrote: »
    Wouldn't think anyone can answer that question very well casue the list of ppl who ever moved from the south to the north is very very short.

there was a bit of a migration there about a hundred years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

1000 seems a bit mental. Me ma pays about 600.

Everything is cheaper in ni. Ireland is a complete rip off which is why internationals love to come here and sell us stuff at high prices. Didn't DMcW say that Ireland is economically occupying Ireland. Basically Rome would invade Gaul and import goods cheaply while exporting them at high prices and pocketing the differential

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Greyling

The nordy protestant mots are mad for the fenians. They're taking daddy issues to a new level. So that will probably work out well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Greyling wrote: »
    The nordy protestant mots are mad for the fenians. They're taking daddy issues to a new level. So that will probably work out well for you.

Aye dirty tramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Donegal is great craic though. :confused:

Dafq is wrong with Donegal? We're all nice people up here. But go from kph to mph and you're in a different and sometimes scary world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

After being up Tyrone last week and driving back through small rural towns, you kinda reckon some of them close for a half day weekly - pretty architecture but somewhat grey, dour and soulless at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

FanadMan wrote: »
    Dafq is wrong with Donegal? We're all nice people up here. But go from kph to mph and you're in a different and sometimes scary world.

Nothing at all, I even said it's great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Lot of freaks up there.

DUP lot are basically flat earthers.

At least our religious nutters down here are dying out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

I've done the move, it really depends where you're thinking of. Saying that, I wouldn't just move here for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Donegal is too near Norn. It leaks across the bridge at Lifford :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cost of living comparison between Galway and Belfast
    https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_cities.jsp?country1=Ireland&country2=United+Kingdom&city1=Galway&city2=Belfast

Consumer Prices in Belfast are 14.74% lower than in Galway
    Consumer Prices Including Rent in Belfast are 19.93% lower than in Galway
    Rent Prices in Belfast are 32.61% lower than in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

PARlance wrote: »
    Have you considered Scotland, Wales or England?

How about somewhere that actually gets sunshine and is a bit warmer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

From what I hear from Nordies that have moved south, up there it's all about where you come from and your surname - i.e. religion...whether you're 'orange' or 'green'.

Down south in general, people here couldn't give less of a sh!t about that kind of stuff which relocated Nordies find refreshing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

biko wrote: »
    Cost of living comparison between Galway and Belfast
    https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_cities.jsp?country1=Ireland&country2=United+Kingdom&city1=Galway&city2=Belfast

Consumer Prices in Belfast are 14.74% lower than in Galway
    Consumer Prices Including Rent in Belfast are 19.93% lower than in Galway
    Rent Prices in Belfast are 32.61% lower than in Galway

But surely the wages up north are way lower too?

If you click the link and scroll down it will say what the Average Monthly Net Salary (After Tax) is.
    It is lower in Belfast than Galway but your salary should increase with experience and expertise so it is not set in stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

biko wrote: »
    If you click the link and scroll down it will say what the Average Monthly Net Salary (After Tax) is.
    It is lower in Belfast than Galway but your salary should increase with experience and expertise so it is not set in stone.

Much closer than I expected tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

FanadMan wrote: »

Tis outside Dublin! Uncivilized and has no infrastructure to support its population of 10 :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

nothing wrong with the north - dont listen to the eejits in this thread that barely pass through the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

cnocbui wrote: »
    How about somewhere that actually gets sunshine and is a bit warmer?

Kent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I think the middle income groups do better up there. A teacher family (generally they marry each other) could have a top end house.

Me and my wife are also considering the move to NI. She is from Co. Down and we would like to be closer to her family.

Do move, worst case scenario you can move back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm wondering if the OP is actually looking for sensible answers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,732 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

There's a 'Moving to Belfast' megathread in the Belfast forum which may be useful. I've made the move myself. Been living here since 2009. Belfast is a much more affordable city to live in than anywhere down south. The wages are lower, yes, but so is the general cost of living. I've bought a 3 bed house in a lovely area here for around about £170k. That'd get you a cardboard box on a street corner in Dublin.

Don't mind the idiots saying that it's all green and orange here. I've never once felt intimidated here because of where I'm from. Sure I wouldn't be rocking up to any of the pubs on the Shankill but the same could be said for some areas in Dublin. The city centre is much more metropolitan than it was even in the last 10 years. It has a proper buzzing atmosphere in the evenings and at weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

NIMAN wrote: »

Well it's posted in AH, so obviously sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

People from the Free State think all us northerners are blood thirsty psychopaths.

I think people who think like that should be TAKEN OUT AND SHOT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭mr chips

Drawbacks are pretty well documented - all the knuckle draggers who want to get one over on "themmuns", marching season and the 12th July bonfires taller than some multi-storey carparks, religious loons, all that crap. But there are plenty of positives for living in NI. Health service being free at the point of use is a biggie - if you need to see the doctor, you don't pay for the appointment. Prescriptions are free too. Dentistry is also a lot cheaper than in the south, like a third of the price or less for some things.
    Yeah you pay rates according to size of house/no. of rooms, but it also depends on what's set by the council area you live in, with some charging higher than others for an equivalent house. However that covers the cost of bin collections etc which is paid for a separately in the south. Housing generally seems cheaper even in hotspots like Belfast, Derry, north Down, north coast etc in comparison with similar areas in Dublin/Cork/Galway, and has been more tightly controlled in terms of bungalow blight along the coastlines, one-off McMansions etc.
    Price of drink is cheaper, especially in supermarkets/off-licences. A bottle of wine that you'll get for £7 in the north will easily cost €12 in the south. A bottle of Jameson is usually around £22, but can be got for under £20. In the pub, a pint can be anywhere from £3-£4.25, depending what you're having. For eating out, two courses for two people with a couple of drinks can vary anywhere from £25-£60. Add £15-£18 for a bottle of house wine, and you should easily get a decent bottle in a restaurant for under £25. A bigger night out of 3 courses, bottle of wine, coffees can go over £80.
    Have to say driving standards generally seem better in the north, especially on motorways - people are nowhere near as bad for hogging the outside lane as in the south. Road tax is a lot cheaper even now, which makes up for the slightly higher cost of fuel. Car insurance is substantially cheaper, easily half the cost or less of what it is in the south - I've a clean licence and last time I paid £230 for a policy with business use and legal cover on a car with a 2 litre engine. MOT tests start once a car is 4 years old and are done annually - they cost £30.50 (£18 for a re-test if it fails). When buying a new car, the options list is often better - it's the UK market rather than RoI one - and the VRT is a token amount, something like £200. Used cars seem to get cheaper more quickly, especially from the higher end of the market - a pal of mine managed to get a 12 year old 7-Series in perfect nick for £3k last year. Its brand-new list price was £63k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Kent?

Be more imaginative - south of France, Italy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

From what I hear from Nordies that have moved south, up there it's all about where you come from and your surname - i.e. religion...whether you're 'orange' or 'green'.

Down south in general, people here couldn't give less of a sh!t about that kind of stuff which relocated Nordies find refreshing.

That’s a little bit nonsensical, if I may say so.

Gerry Adams has an English surname, for a start. Jim Shannon (DUP) has an Irish surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Nodster wrote: »
    After being up Tyrone last week and driving back through small rural towns, you kinda reckon some of them close for a half day weekly - pretty architecture but somewhat grey, dour and soulless at best

It makes picking paint colours very easy. You can have any colour you like so long as it’s grey.

I live just across the border and there is no doubt that most smaller towns and villages are real closed shops, clannish dull and very very dreary:dead.

I personally wouldn’t live in Northern Ireland for any amount of money. It’s a real ****hole and will only get worse with brexits full implementation.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    NIMAN wrote: »

Well it's posted in AH, so obviously sensible.
    Which is the most appropriate forum?

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    There's a 'Moving to Belfast' megathread in the Belfast forum which may be useful. I've made the move myself. Been living here since 2009. Belfast is a much more affordable city to live in than anywhere down south. The wages are lower, yes, but so is the general cost of living. I've bought a 3 bed house in a lovely area here for around about £170k. That'd get you a cardboard box on a street corner in Dublin.

Don't mind the idiots saying that it's all green and orange here. I've never once felt intimidated here because of where I'm from. Sure I wouldn't be rocking up to any of the pubs on the Shankill but the same could be said for some areas in Dublin. The city centre is much more metropolitan than it was even in the last 10 years. It has a proper buzzing atmosphere in the evenings and at weekends.
    Whereabouts in Belfast did you move to? I'm looking for parking and external storage space.

Nodster wrote: »

It makes picking paint colours very easy. You can have any colour you like so long as it’s grey.

I live just across the border and there is no doubt that most smaller towns and villages are real closed shops, clannish dull and very very dreary:dead.

I personally wouldn’t live in Northern Ireland for any amount of money. It’s a real ****hole and will only get worse with brexits full implementation.
    A dystopian view..which is your nearest NI county/town?

Carnmore wrote: »
    Whereabouts in Belfast did you move to? I'm looking for parking and external storage space.

When I moved up initially I lived on the Lisburn Road. I've since moved out to Dunmurry.

Not sure what you mean by external storage space. Like.............a field? Or a driveway? A garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Was in a pub up there one evening. The lip was hanging out me with the thirst and I decided I’d have a swift pint bottle of Bulmers before I started on the porter.

‘Pint of Bulmers there dude’

‘We call it Magners around here, laddie’ was the reply from the red-faced overweight barman.

Ignorant bollôcks. A lot of folk up there have a terrible manner. Specially the ones close to the border. The average Armaghman is one step removed from the gorilla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yawn....no its not.

Most of you I'm guessing have never been across to NI and take your views from the negative shìte on the tele or the bastion of great journalism like the Sun or Daily Star.

Parts of the north are kips...housing estates in Belfast, Portadown or Derry. Comparable to housing estates in Dublin, Cork or Limerick?

Parts of NI are fabulous and some of the houses and views there will be beyond most of us on here.

The people are just the same...worrying about work, trying to bring up their families, watching the same crap on tv, following Liverpool or Man Utd.

Cost of living is cheaper but the wages are lower...however the money seems to stretch a bit further.

Anyway for the bank holiday I'm going camping to the north coast...I'll take in the giants causeway and the game of thrones locations as well as a bbq and a few cheap craft beers (yeah the drink is cheaper).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The average Armaghman is one step removed from the gorilla.

That's not a nice thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Most posting on here would have a touch of the vapours if they went past Drogheda let's be honest.

Every time this topic comes up you've dozens of bigots shyting on about the bigots in NI.

Personally I've more common ground with people from Fermanagh than Longford. There's great spots, shyte spots, great people and woeful doses.

Go up for a few trips, see what you think OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Was in a pub up there one evening. The lip was hanging out me with the thirst and I decided I’d have a swift pint bottle of Bulmers before I started on the porter.

‘We call it Magners around here, laddie’ was the reply from the red-faced overweight barman.

Ignorant boll. A lot of folk up there have a terrible manner. Specially the ones close to the border. The average Armaghman is one step removed from the gorilla.
    In fairness that goes both ways. If some nordy was down here looking for bottles of Magners he'd soon be put right by the barman.

Ignorant bollôcks. A lot of folk up there have a terrible manner. Specially the ones close to the border. The average Armaghman is one step removed from the gorilla.

But that is what it's called up here? Not sure what your point is here other than to have a little rant at people from Armagh. In any case, the English Bulmers is rank. At least he told you the right thing to order. He was doing you a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Shadowstrife

Do not move to Belfast under the false impression that all the guys you meet will be as sexy as Jamie Dornan. A falsehood, a great falsehood I say