Garda making up numbers again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭mattser

So they sent a file to the DPP, and a judge advised them to make the guy pay you??

All within 5 days.

Common practice and nothing wrong with it. Are you saying that if you were the injured party, you wouldn't settle ? Yeah right you wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

mattser wrote: »
    Common practice and nothing wrong with it. Are you saying that if you were the injured party, you wouldn't settle ? Yeah right you wouldn't.

Don’t we have courts to decide guilt and set compensation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Don’t we have courts to decide guilt and set compensation?

Do you really think all issues are only resolved in court? Or that they should be?

How did the Garda come to the amount of compensation required?? Can’t believe people are still backing AGS cutting corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

How did the Garda come to the amount of compensation required?? Can’t believe people are still backing AGS cutting corners.

I presented a quote for repairs.

Lol, and the Garda just took this as gospel? Pure paddyland. Ah shure it’ll be grand. AGS, cutting corners everyday.

The life of the perpetually outraged. Rabble rabble rabble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Milkman..

I'm glad I'm not buying beer and weed wherever AGS gets it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Swanner wrote: »
    Well to get back on topic I trust revenue a whole lot more then I trust the Gardai.

They just seem to be a bit better at counting

But then it is their core business

The Gardai would have been disqualified from any maths paper for cheating..

The gardai didn't tally up the numbers in the breathalysing tests. That was done by civilians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

The gardai didn't tally up the numbers in the breathalysing tests. That was done by civilians.

The report found that in a significant number of cases gardai had simply made the numbers up. One of the reasons this whole stinking affair came to light was because a civilian informed the RSA that they had watched a Guard blow into a breath test machine and record his own test on the pulse system.

That's not true. The report found that in a significant number of cases gardai had simply made the numbers up. One of the reasons this whole stinking affair came to light was because a civilian informed the RSA that they had watched a Guard blow into a breath test machine and record his own test on the pulse system.

The majority of the the data recording was done by civilians in pulse offices etc. And it was fairly innocuous also, not a deliberate fraud.

I don't know what your source is but it's incorrect.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/everything-you-need-to-know-about-the-latest-report-into-the-garda-breath-test-scandal-36283202.html

According to that report, my sources were entirely correct.

'There was a lack of precision in recording the number of breath tests administered and a sense "across the organisation" that such precision wasn't important' - it was pulse that recorded the numbers, not that gardai. They asked gardai how many were breathalysed but apparently no one thought precision was required so the gardai estimate was nearly always rounded up.

I presume the offending party didn't need a quotation from the good book. Cloud Cuckoo land must have a bigger accommodation crisis than Ireland these days.

The involvement of large numbers of both Gardai and Garda management in this scandal isn't in dispute.

Even the Gardai don't dispute it..

You also conveniently forgot to quote the following findings..

An independent report into the garda breath test scandal has found that there were almost 1.9 million breath tests recorded in an “inaccurate and dishonest” way by large numbers of gardaí for almost a decade.

Policing Authority chairperson Josephine Feehily said there was “widespread falsification of the figures by a large number of gardaí” and her organisation wanted to see all Garda members and staff embrace the code of ethics.

I wish it were different. I know some great Guards both personally and professionally and i'm embarrassed for them as they're honest guys trying to do an honest job. But the force they work for is rotten to the core from the top down and they'd tell you that themselves when no-one is listening.

We've had scandal upon scandal upon scandal since the 70's and the culture remains exactly as it was back then. We've had minsters being sacked, commissioner's "stepping down" following late night visits from senior civil servants, Then Noirin goes on an extended holiday and does a bunk while she's at it..

You couldn't make it up.

But sure trust away there.

I have a large bridge for sale if you're interested..

I presume the offending party didn't need a quotation from the good book. Cloud Cuckoo land must have a bigger accommodation crisis than Ireland these days.

So what if the "offending party" decides to go public and claims that the Garda shook him down for cash after an accident?? Which is precisely what happened. How many more times has this happened? Are drug dealers/drunk and disorderly cases/assault cases dealt with like this? Few quid and we won't bother with a judge, all facilitated by AGS. Is this AGS protocol?

The involvement of large numbers of both Gardai and Garda management in this scandal isn't in dispute.

Even the Gardai don't dispute it..

You also conveniently forgot to quote the following findings..

An independent report into the garda breath test scandal has found that there were almost 1.9 million breath tests recorded in an “inaccurate and dishonest” way by large numbers of gardaor almost a decade.

Policing Authority chairperson Josephine Feehily said there was “widespread falsification of the figures by a large number of garda/B] and her organisation wanted to see all Garda members and staff embrace the code of ethics.

I wish it were different. I know some great Guards both personally and professionally and i'm embarrassed for them as they're honest guys trying to do an honest job. But the force they work for is rotten to the core from the top down and they'd tell you that themselves when no-one is listening.

We've had scandal upon scandal upon scandal since the 70's and the culture remains exactly as it was back then. We've had minsters being sacked, commissioner's "stepping down" following late night visits from senior civil servants, Then Noirin goes on an extended holiday and does a bunk while she's at it..

You couldn't make it up.

But sure trust away there.

I have a large bridge for sale if you're interested..

Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity. The "falsifying" was fairly simple -

pulse: how many tests did you do today?
    gardai: i don't know, i wasn't really counting, 15 or 20?
    pulse: grand, i'll stick in 20 so.

The findings don't disprove what i was told, i didn't forget anything. My sources are all gardai I know personally very well, they may be lying to me but i would be surprised as they are very candid on other issues in the force.

It's all there in black and white. It couldn't be any clearer.

We'll just have to agree to disagree on the that point.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garda_Commissioner

Have a look at the list of Garda Commissioners and check out the 2 beauts at the end though.

Our generation won't be leaving a great legacy at this rate..

Martin Callinan - Resigned (Penalty Points & GSOC Bugging Scandal)
    Noirin O'Sullivan -Retired (Whistleblower Scandal and Breath Test Scandal)

Says it all really..

And we're over 6 months without another appointment..

I sincerely hope it's someone from outside Ireland with extensive experience not only in policing but in changing the culture of an organisation from the top down while eliminating corruption and dishonesty on a grand scale..

It's a huge ask but nothing short of that will restore faith in a force that has in, many ways, lost the trust of the citizens of this state.

As always, actions will speak louder then words.

We'll just have to agree to disagree on the that point.

Sure thing. I do agree that senior staff have a hell of a lot to answer for with regards to transparency etc.

So what if the "offending party" decides to go public and claims that the Garda shook him down for cash after an accident?? Which is precisely what happened. How many more times has this happened? Are drug dealers/drunk and disorderly cases/assault cases dealt with like this? Few quid and we won't bother with a judge, all facilitated by AGS. Is this AGS protocol?

How did you conjure up this BS. Two party's agree to a compromise, the Garda says go ahead. Absolute common sense, and he/she can continue on patrol.
    Whingers always gonna whinge anyway.

This was real life. Not a TV show.

How did you conjure up this BS. Two party's agree to a compromise, the Garda says go ahead. Absolute common sense, and he/she can continue on patrol.
    Whingers always gonna whinge anyway.

So as I said, the Gardai is now judge and jury?? Decided not to charge someone who was driving with no license and no insurance, because they had a bit of spare cash. What level of crime is the threshold, that you can pay to get out of any punishment??

What happens the next time the scumbag decides to get behind the wheel of a car with no tax and insurance, knowing he'll only have to throw a bit of cash at it and it'll all go away if he's caught?? The cognitive dissonance is unreal.

What if a relative/friend is in a crash with someone like this and gets badly injured?? When it comes out that he'd done it before and the Gardai let him off as he'd paid a few quid would you say "ah shure it was grand he shouldn't have been charged and put off the road since he paid for the damage".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

anything for a bit of low level anti authoritarian outrage eh kid

theres plenty of genuine things you could be outraged about but you choose this or are you outraged by everything ?

So as I said, the Gardai is now judge and jury?? Decided not to charge someone who was driving with no license and no insurance, because they had a bit of spare cash. What level of crime is the threshold, that you can pay to get out of any punishment??

What happens the next time the scumbag decides to get behind the wheel of a car with no tax and insurance, knowing he'll only have to throw a bit of cash at it and it'll all go away if he's caught?? The cognitive dissonance is unreal.

What if a relative/friend is in a crash with someone like this and gets badly injured?? When it comes out that he'd done it before and the Gardai let him off as he'd paid a few quid would you say "ah shure it was grand he shouldn't have been charged and put off the road since he paid for the damage".

jesus your sad arent you ?

the poster was compensated for the damage caused to his car

the road traffic issues assuming there was a witness is a completely different issue .

get off your hobby horse will ya

mynamejeff wrote: »
    jesus your sad arent you ?

the poster was compensated for the damage caused to his car

the road traffic issues assuming there was a witness is a completely different issue .

get off your hobby horse will ya

Sorry Garda. Must be stressful what with all the scandals your colleagues have been involved in.

If this was going to court there’d have been no compensation paid before the case.

I’d say the cop knew the guy driving and told him pay up and it’ll be kept off the books. Corrupt to the core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,443 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sorry Garda. Must be stressful what with all the scandals your colleagues have been involved in.

If this was going to court there’d have been no compensation paid before the case.

I’d say the cop knew the guy driving and told him pay up and it’ll be kept off the books. Corrupt to the core.

Cool story bro.

every thread same BS from you ,

anyone calls you on it and you think they are a garda

lol isnt there a watermeter some where for you to shout at ?

your a parody at this stage mate

mynamejeff wrote: »
    every thread same BS from you ,

anyone calls you on it and you think they are a garda

lol isnt there a watermeter some where for you to shout at ?

your a parody at this stage mate

Sorry for wanting the Gardai to stop their corrupt practices. I can see how controversial a stance it is :rollseyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

How much are Lidl selling Heroin for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭North inner city hoodlum

Bambi wrote: »
    How much are Lidl selling Heroin for?

About 3 fiddy!

It's great stuff.