Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best documentaries you have seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

bear1 wrote: »
    I don't think those of us who have watched it should say anything more about it cause it can ruin it but it's got quite a few twists.

It's very hard to try let someone know it's worth watching without saying too much . I don't think I gave anything away though ? Hope not :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

ironwalk wrote: »
    Agree anewme. I watched it Saturday evening and it's still in my head.
    I had Wikipedia open on my lap for a lot of it.

I was also doing searches on some of those featured to see what happened.

I simply could not believe the amount of pure thugs there were and how they were beating up other blacks in the babe of justice.

A couple of ppl stick out for me, the black man crying when the verdict came in, and what it signified , Korean lady in her shop window, and a middle aged black man walking up and down remonstrating with rioters (this is not right)

The people who cane to the aid of the truck driver were also very brave and inread up on their story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭carter10

anewme wrote: »
    The documentary on the LA Riots is a tough watch, very graphic, but excellent.
    Whats the name of this documentary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

carter10 wrote: »
    Whats the name of this documentary?

LA92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭storker

You might like Soviet Storm - 14 parts on eastern front from Russian point of view.

I did, and enjoyed it. Except for the place names being in cyrillic. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭RichT

Loving this thread!

One that hasn't been mentioned yet is Talhotblond, which I thoroughly enjoyed. All wrapped up in one snack size episode.
    This is the true story of a love triangle that takes place entirely online. Lies lead to murder in real life, as a teenage vixen (screen name 'talhotblond') lures men into her web. Revealing a shocking true crime story that shows the Internet's power to unleash our most dangerous fantasies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Hated Wild Wild Country. Six hours of tediousness with very little pay off.

Someone said it needed six hours to tell the story right. Cut out all the one note scored dramatic pausing and you'd lose three hours right there.

Loved The Jinx by the way, whichever of you were recommending that.

Durst goes on trial next month. Wouldn't surprise me if he someone how slithered his way out of being found guilty once more.

Wouldn't mind but when I seen 'All Good Things' I had believed his story. As did most I guess, hence them bothering to make the film.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 5red

Watched The Jinx in one sitting last night. Absolutely brilliant. A very troubled man who was destroyed by money and his own family. One of, if not the best doc I've ever watched. Better than Making a Murderer IMO.

Watched Staircase last week, also very good, well worth a watch. Has anyone read about the "owl theory" on Wikipedia? That was very strange. Do people actually think Mike did it? I genuinely haven't a clue.

LA92 was decent. I felt genuine anger when the blacks were pulling innocent white people out of their vehicles and beating them within an inch of their lives. They didn't exactly help themselves.

Has anyone any other recommendations along the lines of Staircase, The Jinx, Paradise Lost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

Has anbody watched "Shadow of Truth"?

I had to stop watching it as I felt the guy was getting fecked over. Haven't finised it so don't know the end. It made my blood boil though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭QueenRizla

5red wrote: »

Watched Staircase last week, also very good, well worth a watch. Has anyone read about the "owl theory" on Wikipedia? That was very strange. Do people actually think Mike did it? I genuinely haven't a clue.

Has anyone any other recommendations along the lines of Staircase, The Jinx, Paradise Lost?

I don’t believe he did it, I think the owl theory is a decent possibility.

The thin blue line, The imposter, Mommy dearest mommy dead, the oj American story (documentary)....are all good crime type ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Ones I liked....

The Imposter
    The Jinx
    Searching For Sugar Man
    Capturing The Friedmans
    Grizzly Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Paradise Lost - Documentary about the West Memphis Three
    Some Kind of Monster - Metallica documentary

Other than those I also seen a bunch of animal documentaries by David Attenborough and Steve Irwin. I've watched some WWII documentaries too. Basically anything from the History Channel or Animal Planet is good for me.

The Nazis and the Final Solution.

BBC documentary - six episodes.

Remember watching it years ago, jaysus must have been a teenager then.

Watched it again on Netflix recently and I was just as captivated by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭QueenRizla

MANUTD99 wrote: »
    Has anbody watched "Shadow of Truth"?

I had to stop watching it as I felt the guy was getting fecked over. Haven't finised it so don't know the end. It made my blood boil though

Just looked it up, looks very good, it’s on the watch list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Every heart beats true: The Jim Stynes story. He had a phenomenal character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,058 ✭✭✭✭briany

Shooting Bigfoot

A British filmmaker spends time with 3 different Bigfoot 'researchers' in their separate quests to find the elusive creature.

This is a hilarious film. It's one of those documentaries where you're thinking, "They can't be real people", and in fairness there are a couple of noted unreality moments where one of the 3, Rick Dyer, is concerned. However, the men's personalities are no fabrication. Their lack of self-awareness is crazy.

The main researcher, Tom Biscardi, comes across as an unpleasant impatient man whose two main passions in life are bigfoot and diet peach snapple. Dallas & Wayne, two local yokels, look for bigfoot as a way to fill the void in their lives since losing their jobs. Dallas claims to have a particular affinity towards bigfoot, since he claims to be part animal himself (he says he had a bit of sheep bone grafted onto his skull following a particularly nasty head injury as a child).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Really enjoying Wild Wild Country, and think I'm gonna keep the theme going by looking for good docs on Jonestown and on Waco..

Anyone seen one they'd recommend?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Hated Wild Wild Country. Six hours of tediousness with very little pay off.

Someone said it needed six hours to tell the story right. Cut out all the one note scored dramatic pausing and you'd lose three hours right there.

I watched 2 then gave up. Typical netflix stuff, massive amounts of padding around a small story. They could have told the first 2 episodes in about 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭DMcL1971

I watched Take Every Wave: The Life of Laird Hamilton last night. For anyone interested in surfing documentaries. It is the life story of big wave rider, Laird Hamilton. It goes through his life from when he was a kid and through all the major changes and innovations in his career right up to 2017. With interviews with himself, his wife (Gabrielle Reece) and all his friends. He is a very interesting and driven character. I would class this right up there with the likes of 'Riding Giants' and 'Step Into Liquid'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Great documentary on now on PBS America channel about 1977 plane crash in Tenerife. Saw it before and am going to watch it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Just watched that Rocco documentary. Bizarre and dirty but very watchable

Great documentary on now on PBS America channel about 1977 plane crash in Tenerife. Saw it before and am going to watch it again.

That was great. Watched it before. Kim pilot was very arrogant.

Not sure if I have pbs America.

Woo hoo edited to say found it. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I saw a fascinating documentary recently about Automata. These are clockwork machines made to resemble humans or animals. They were made in in the 1700 and 1800s. Every part of them had to be made by hand.

Apart from how intricate the machines are the documentary goes into detail about the people that made them and owned them. There was an automaton village made for a king who wanted to see a town made of clockwork. The man who built it was a salt miner who was forced to make it at gunpoint. I can't find a clip of the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Technically not a documentary, but Naked and Afraid is an excellent excellent show.

1 man 1 woman. Thrown into the jungle with 1 item each. Usually a machete and a pot.

No clothes. No support. No prize.

Survive 21 days if you can.

Basically reverts people to cave living days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

anewme wrote: »
    That was great. Watched it before. Kim pilot was very arrogant.

Not sure if I have pbs America.

Woo hoo edited to say found it. Thanks.

Chris O Dowd in the control tower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Schwanz wrote: »
    Just watched that Rocco documentary. Bizarre and dirty but very watchable

What's it called? Is it on Netflix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Defunkd

"The Dark Side of Everest". A British climber dying on Everest and a double amputee who was blamed for letting him die.

That led me to another doc about finding Mallory - the man who wanted to climb Everest "because it's there".

Both docs have footage of dead and dying people, but are fascinating. Everest is so dangerous.

I know it’s been said already, but Wild Wild Country.

Found it hard getting into, everyone looked and sounded like actors. It all sounded too far fetched and fake.

Had to do a few background checks and confirm everything was legit, and decided to give it another go. Once I started episode 3 that was it, one straight after the other until the last credits rolled.

One of the greatest things I’ve ever watched. Trembling at the end of the last episode. What a crazy story.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Technically not a documentary, but Naked and Afraid is an excellent excellent show.

1 man 1 woman. Thrown into the jungle with 1 item each. Usually a machete and a pot.

No clothes. No support. No prize.

Survive 21 days if you can.

Basically reverts people to cave living days
    Oh don't get me started on Survivor and similar stuff were people try to win prizes for "surviving" condition the locals line in every day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Defunkd wrote: »
    "The Dark Side of Everest". A British climber dying on Everest and a double amputee who was blamed for letting him die.
    Once you are in the death zone all bets are off.

You will die if you stay there.

Without oxygen you are already dying.

Anyone trying to help you is risking their life just by being there.

By being there you have already told the world - "do not resuscitate"

Mountaineering is an activity where cutting the rope is done.