Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I made a joke post about the kind of thing that will trigger multiple Leinster fans to descend on a thread and post superciliously and humourlessly. Irishfan9 got it. Others, not so much.

I don't actually have much interest in starting a discussion about James Ryan on the Ulster thread this morning.

In the future, I'll post THIS WAS A JOKE so the buzzers don't go off on your desks telling you someone, somewhere, is questioning a young Leinster player and you need to ride to their defense.

IF didn't get it. He rolled his eyes.

If you don't want to start a discussion on a player then don't bring him up. If you just want to rile people, which is what you're saying you were doing, then you might want to relax there a little. That's pretty sad.

Also, inter-provincial BS is BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

In terms of available outhalves, I'm running through the T14 and the biggest issue at this stage is that the business has already been done. Guys like Simon Hickey (Edinburgh), Mike Harris (Toshiba) and Morne Steyn (Brive) already have moves sewn up for next season. Things are going to be incredibly tight for Ulster to bring in someone at this point

In the T14, there are a few different categories of guys after that. The superstars such as Carter, Lambie and Slade who are on stupid money and not really available anyway. The domestic players who are unlikely to move outside of France. And then we have guys who are a step down in terms of quality or suitability like Shane Geraghty.

I can see Ulster potentially having to buy someone out of contract if they're going to get a high quality outhalf or they'll need to accept that they're going to get a mid level player who is probably benching a fair bit if with a top tier team at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

No, it was a joke. I didn't want to rile anyone up. The purpose was to raise a smile with the juxtaposition of a my previous, serious, earnest post with a second post that everyone would know would cause inter-provinicial mayhem. I though people would get it. I though you got it, with the "what Ulster fans" comment.

Benetton have 3 quite decent 10s. Although I believe they're all signed up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Benetton have 3 quite decent 10s. Although I believe they're all signed up too.

Marty Banks is moving to the Japanese second division. I don't quite understand his story....

?! That's bizarre. He was exactly who I thought Ulster could bring across.

I really would prefer an "elder statesman" that the youngsters can learn from and who could play for any crucnh games or turn games from the bench. We're taking a hit next season, not matter what.

Did Farrell come up, do we know?

No, it was a joke. I didn't want to rile anyone up. The purpose was to raise a smile with the juxtaposition of a my previous, serious, earnest post with a second post that everyone would know would cause inter-provinicial mayhem. I though people would get it. I though you got it, with the "what Ulster fans" comment.

The problem with text is that it lacks tone. I replied to a different post of yours just taking the piss out of myself really. I didn't see the other one until after. When joking, smilies help. They just make up for the lack of tone. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I thought he was going to Japan on route back to New Zealand in the off season. Heard the hurricanes were involved in a deal

Marty Banks I mean

errlloyd wrote: »
    Marty Banks is moving to the Japanese second division. I don't quite understand his story....

He'll be very well paid for a very soft level. He never wanted to be in Italy and fought to get out of his contract. Between agreeing to join and actually joining, his earning power shot up thanks to an opening in the Highlanders team.

I'd imagine he's now looking to maximise earnings and possibly get back to NZ..

At this stage are we really talking about a SH journeyman type? As has been mentioned, top 10s are thin on the ground at the best of times. Top 10s available for contract negotiations are incredibly rare. Top 10s available for contract negotiations who are also affordable and willing to move to a club without a coach and without a guarantee of Champions Cup rugby next season are most likely non-existent. I haven't seen much SR the last couple of years. Is there anyone down there who would be of the Myler/Gopperth type mould?

molloyjh wrote: »

The problem with text is that it lacks tone. I replied to a different post of yours just taking the piss out of myself really. I didn't see the other one until after. When joking, smilies help. They just make up for the lack of tone. :cool:

I don't do smilies. I'm a Nordie in his forties.

NB - Very early forties.

molloyjh wrote: »
    At this stage are we really talking about a SH journeyman type? As has been mentioned, top 10s are thin on the ground at the best of times. Top 10s available for contract negotiations are incredibly rare. Top 10s available for contract negotiations who are also affordable and willing to move to a club without a coach and without a guarantee of Champions Cup rugby next season are most likely non-existent. I haven't seen much SR the last couple of years. Is there anyone down there who would be of the Myler/Gopperth type mould?

Very few. In NZ, they generally have a starter and then the other outhalves are young guys who are developing for the most part. Some of the starters are the young lads. There's West at the Hurricanes who is 26 but not overly convincing or Daniel Kirkpatrick at the Blues who played in France before.

There's equally scant options and possibly even less so in SA and some mediocre journeymen playing back up in Australia.

You'd be hard pushed to find an outhalf who has significant high level experience that isn't going to cost a small fortune.

NB - Very early forties.

Ah here, I'm in my late 30s. You've no excuse! Unless it's the Nordie bit you're relying on...... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

NB - Very early forties.

Always assumed you were Jaco’s Little brother.

Dan Carter for a year, would certainly get bums on seats and help the likes of McPhillips and Lowry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

stephen_n wrote: »

Dan Carter for a year, would certainly get bums on seats and help the likes of McPhillips and Lowry.

Signed to a Japanese team for 2(maybe even 3?) years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I'm a Nordie in my late 30s (don't think I can claim mid 30s anymore) and I never smile...its my thing...but I'm positively gleaming inside...

Let's see how McPhillips goes this weekend in Thomond Park. A big performance and he will have a chance to put himself into the national consciousness, at the moment it's really only Ulster fans and a few boardies who have seen him play. If he continues to go well I will start to come round to the idea that he shoukd be our first choice next season. We will still need another body in though in case of injuries..

Already signed up in Japan for his final year before retirement.

There's a list of confirmed transfers in the T14 available here

French rugby gets their deals done early so I'd be surprised if Ulster could nab anyone from there. I can see it being one of the Leinster duo, a journeyman from the SH or they're going to buy out someone's contract from somewhere.

Berrick Barnes has one more year left to run on his deal in Japan and turns 32 this summer. If Ulster were looking to coax someone over if they had to buy out a deal, he's someone I'd like them to have a look at. McPhillips would benefit from him and given his history of injuries, he wouldn't want to play in a huge amount of games.

I'd still rather Billy Burns though! I do think Lealiifano is a strong possibility again also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

How big is Lowry? Will he need a few seasons to develop physically or is he going to be able to move up quickly?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

How big is Lowry? Will he need a few seasons to develop physically or is he going to be able to move up quickly?

height wise he might be 5'7.

I would hope that McPhilips would be our usual starting OH next season, but I just think that if we can find someone to bring on Curtis and Lowry, we could end up with three talented 10s in the near future.

Maybe we could let one go to Leinster.

Or, in all seriousness, maybe Curtis ends up as a Paddy Wallace type 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

176cm  @ 76Kg.  At 19 he has finished growing, but obviously he will add weight with professional training.

Lealifano is a great player and - critically at this time - has a great attitude and character. But he's not really a ten.

If Ulster do go for a journeyman/lower level type outhalf to supplement McPhililips then I really hope they find an IQ option.

There's going to be a significant amount of money available from departures this season. If they don't use a spot on an outhalf, they'll have a serious chunk of change to try and recruit a top class player elsewhere.

This gonna sound mental but;

Ian Keatley to Ulster, Carbery to Munster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Yeah mental. :D

It would complete Ian Keatley's collection of jerseys though. He'd have the full house.

Would require convincing two players to terminate their contracts and relocate. Can't see it happening although I think there's merit in it from a rugby perspective.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Yeah mental. :D

It would complete Ian Keatley's collection of jerseys though. He'd have the full house.

Keats never actually played for leinster.

If we genuinely saw the team being rebuilt, with Kane, Dalton, O'Toole, Stewart et al becoming regular players and a game plan evolving, how much would other fans be prepared to see us sacrifice results next season? If the team starts to come together in a palpable way, would you be happy to miss out on any play-off? I think I would. This is a long-term rebuild, I think. I suppose it depends on who the coach is and how much faith we have in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

If we genuinely saw the team being rebuilt, with Kane, Dalton, O'Toole, Stewart et al becoming regular players and a game plan evolving, how much would other fans be prepared to see us sacrifice results next season? If the team starts to come together in a palpable way, would you be happy to miss out on any play-off? I think I would. This is a long-term rebuild, I think. I suppose it depends on who the coach is and how much faith we have in him.
    That bit's crucial. There seems to be no patience in Ulster for their coaches. Back when all the 'FOLK' stuff was going on, I suggested that people would need to be careful what they wished for and that there was a good chance if Kiss left, that Gibbes would follow him out the door. It's not hindsight, I believed that Gibbes went there on the basis of Kiss being DoR. Jordi Murphy said the same on The Rugby podcast; that Kiss and Gibbes being there influenced his decision to sign. He's still committed, but disappointed that they're gone now.