Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Reggie. wrote: »
    Someone else's stock is it

There me own.
    Just moving them off ground was reseeded last autumn onto a harder field beside it ahead of tonights rain.
    But still wanted to get a few hours grazing more of the reseed this evening after milking.
    The lights on the quadtruc are a right job for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

There me own.
    Just moving them off ground was reseeded last autumn onto a harder field beside it ahead of tonights rain.
    But still wanted to get a few hours grazing more of the reseed this evening after milking.
    Put a LED lights on the roof. Some job :D

I have a few modifications planned for it.

Thinking just thinking about putting tracks on it and maybe in the future putting a removable fert spreader on the deck and maybe the sprayer too.

Going to bring it somewhere this week to get a rough price on tracks.

They have tracks on them in the U.S. and fert spreaders on them in nz so I can't see why the two can't go together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I have a few modifications planned for it.

Thinking just thinking about putting tracks on it and maybe in the future putting a removable fert spreader on the deck and maybe the sprayer too.

Going to bring it somewhere this week to get a rough price on tracks.

They have tracks on them in the U.S. and fert spreaders on them in nz so I can't see why the two can't go together.

This I wanna see

The fundraising starts now.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,853 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Are you expecting us all to contribute, through Crowdfunding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

There me own.

How you getting on with the quad truc? Happy with it?

Panch18 wrote: »
    How you getting on with the quad truc? Happy with it?

Yea but it is heavier than an atv or quad on the land hence the interest in the tracks. Plus where I bought it put bigger wheels on the back so I can't really use the 4wd and the low range is 4wd.
    That said it still was a lot cheaper than an atv with more comfort.

It might end up like this this.
    The father never liked the quad and who doesn't like comfort.
    https://youtu.be/ViZA2-_AIpA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yea but it is heavier than an atv or quad on the land hence the interest in the tracks. Plus where I bought it put bigger wheels on the back so I can't really use the 4wd and the low range is 4wd.
    That said it still was a lot cheaper than an atv with more comfort.

It might end up like this this.
    The father never liked the quad and who doesn't like comfort.
    https://youtu.be/ViZA2-_AIpA

What sort of money for the tracks? Wouldnt mind a Suzuki jimny or pajero junior here for a similar job, I was thinking of quad wheels lol?

Timmaay wrote: »
    What sort of money for the tracks? Wouldnt mind a Suzuki jimny or pajero junior here for a similar job, I was thinking of quad wheels lol?

I'll find out this week on the price for definite. So I'll hold fire on my estimate.

There's atv wheels on this yoke and even I'm afraid to bring it on the land now unless necessary and this would be lighter than a jimny or junior. It won't get stuck ( I tried it fairly well last year). But I just want to get a lower ground pressure.

I have a lend of a trailer off someone to bring it around for a few days and they had dumper wheels on a range rover. :p
    Not for the fields though more like the mountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Mf310

Man looking for me for full time work until the end of summer he told me to name my price i havent really a clue what the going rate is id be well experienced in cows and machinery id be able to do any job no bother that way but just wondering what is the general run of pay what would be fair on him was gonna say 12-13€ per hour ... dairy farmer ... what would ye reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Mf310 wrote: »
    Man looking for me for full time work until the end of summer he told me to name my price i havent really a clue what the going rate is id be well experienced in cows and machinery id be able to do any job no bother that way but just wondering what is the general run of pay what would be fair on him was gonna say 12-13€ per hour ... dairy farmer ... what would ye reckon?

Sounds about right, famine for lads out their that are willing to milk cows so wouldn't be doing it for anyless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

Ask for more. You won't get it if you don't ask. A good lad around a yard is value at 20 an hour. A bad lad is well bad value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

visatorro wrote: »
    Ask for more. You won't get it if you don't ask. A good lad around a yard is value at 20 an hour. A bad lad is well bad value.

Gross or net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

At foto zoo today for the twins birthday, Feck hardly saw an animal with them all taking to shelter!! Came back fuse blown in parlour as esb upgrade yet to happen, rejigging around has up and running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JOAT

Anyone get grass tested for minerals? What’s involved in it and where in the Munster area can it be tested? Cheers

Gross or net?

Before tax. Say working fifty hours per week average over the year.

€52,000 per year for an operative inc holidays.

Op let us know how that goes.

€52,000 per year for an operative inc holidays.

Op let us know how that goes.

Aim high! Not too much thought of a tenner an hour any more. Large scale farms expect alot from an 'operative' but I don't think the pay reflects the effort. I've my paye hat on!

€52k is decision makers pay imv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Mf310

Yes id think so too what would you reckon would be fair keepgrowing 13 14€ be very fair for both parties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

True, although normally the kind of decisions made by train drivers, tram drivers etc.

I think you are right though there wouldn't be many dairy farms paying it unless for a full time manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yes id think so too what would you reckon would be fair keepgrowing 13 14€ be very fair for both parties?

There is no "fair" set wage, it purely depends on the person's responsibility and ability, alongside the hours they would be expected to do. 10e/hr is fair for someone who is lowly skilled, and needs a decent bit of looking over (and the worst sort of lad is someone who thinks and says they can do everything but actually aren't as good as they think ha). 14e is a reasonable rate for a person who knows what they are at, they will usually know themselves and be able to tell an employer why they will have no problem getting 14e over a 10e chap ha. 20e as kg says is decision makers money, to be able to get this you would be able to sell yourself well, and show how you can run the show without much input required.

Finally, I said alongside the hours they work, if they are say just fulltime milking on the farm, which would be say only 5hours a day work, then they would be expected more like the 20e/hr as they are sacrificing the chance for an alternative fulltime job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Say for arguments sake I'm milking 200, with myself and one full time Labour unit. I can't go round holding hands or pointing out basic stuff. IF I was the owner in this situation I would have no problem paying someone who is making decisions and calls and showing commitment every day. I find alot of managers are over paid and clueless. Well I'm talking about managers in different industries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

The lowest paid here are on €34,689, for 35hr week, works one weekend in three, and gets seven weeks paid holidays. For the weekend they work, there’s a weekday off in lieu. Lunch, five course, is included for everyone at a cost of €11.50/day.

The highest are on €72k...then there’s yours truly and OH.

Adds up.

Figures are gross btw.

Assuming you know your stuff and are a good time keeper id say starting at €15/HR with the proviso that there be a review after 4-6 mths. Gross
    No employee should ever talk net when talking about wages, the cute guys give their tax allowance to their wives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What do frs pay/ charge per hour for general farm operatives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭einn32

Assuming you know your stuff and are a good time keeper id say starting at €15/HR with the proviso that there be a review after 4-6 mths. Gross
    No employee should ever talk net when talking about wages, the cute guys give their tax allowance to their wives.

Irish farming can't get to grips with employing someone as far as I can see. The rosters are not inviting, no bonus system for lots of hours worked, rarely see pay per hour, no perks like a house provided with the majority of jobs I've seen. No one seems to know the appropriate pay rates because there's no guidance. Also farm workers are seen as non skilled here, shur anyone can milk cows but you just have to keep an eye on them.

I suspect a lot of the manager jobs are just a title to get people in while the owner actually manages the place. Any person worth their salt are leasing their own farm or farms as far as I can see. There are a few people who are good employers with a grasp of how to employ someone. Once you get a good reputation as an employer the good candidates come in.

einn32 wrote: »
    Irish farming can't get to grips with employing someone as far as I can see. The rosters are not inviting, no bonus system for lots of hours worked, rarely see pay per hour, no perks like a house provided with the majority of jobs I've seen. No one seems to know the appropriate pay rates because there's no guidance. Also farm workers are seen as non skilled here, shur anyone can milk cows but you just have to keep an eye on them.

I suspect a lot of the manager jobs are just a title to get people in while the owner actually manages the place. Any person worth their salt are leasing their own farm or farms as far as I can see. There are a few people who are good employers with a grasp of how to employ someone. Once you get a good reputation as an employer the good candidates come in.

Nailed it