Sexual assualt list posted in boys toilet in Cork school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭North inner city hoodlum

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Yeah 1st to 3rd year, I suppose 13 to 16 year olds.

From what you have gathered or can, was the "list" a bit of bravado or are our 13 to 16 so in tune to Irish media that "the writer of the list and contributers" knew that this reaction would happen?

Woman are so outraged they want guards an all to investigate and letting their daughters be interviewed about how "upset" they are.

I've never heard the word "rape" so much since the Belfast trial it's shoehorned into every social media since said trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I would feel absolutely sick if I was the parent of any of the boys involved. Even if there was no intention to actually go through with it, the very fact that they think that kind of thing is fun and acceptable would worry me.

Yep, and if the school has 200 boys it only takes one to not take it as a joke for rape/attempted rape to actually happen.

I've never heard the word "rape" so much since the Belfast trial it's shoehorned into every social media since said trial.

Not so much shoehorned as written at the top of the list by the list authors - just in case you forgot

I wasn't just on about this "non story".

Worse is written in McDonald's FFS, kids younger than 13 to 16 see it there, it's painted over or removed as quickly as they can.

What other media stories have had rape references shoehorned in recently?

You can pay me to do your research, I charge 4 squares of old style dairy milk and half a bar of yorkie per hour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Worse is written in McDonald's FFS, kids younger than 13 to 16 see it there, it's painted over or removed as quickly as they can.
    Surely the caretaker goes into clean the toilets once a day, you'd imagine it would be removed within a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You can pay me to do your research, I charge 4 squares of old style dairy milk and half a bar of yorkie per hour :)

.... or YOU can do your OWN research before posting, instead of having to claim some mythical moral highground in order to save face when you get caught making **** up in the hope that no one notices...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Surely the caretaker goes into clean the toilets once a day, you'd imagine it would be removed within a day or two.
    There's a good chance that the caretaker has very limited English literacy, so they may not read or realise the significance of the content.
    .... or YOU can do your OWN research before posting, instead of having to claim some mythical moral highground in order to save face when you get caught making **** up in the hope that no one notices...

I was going to patiently explain the difference between a request for easily searchable factual information and an opinionated claim, but in fairness, you dealt with much better than I could have.

I've made no ****e up, poster told me they charge by the hour to research a question I asked about how many people are in said school, relax there :)

There's a good chance that the caretaker has very limited English literacy, so they may not read or realise the significance of the content.

That's a fair leap there,are caretakers or cleansers less workers than some "professionals"?.

Its words on a wall FFS, I repeat there is worse written in McDonald's.
    I was going to patiently explain the difference between a request for easily searchable factual information and an opinionated claim, but in fairness, you dealt with much better than I could have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

The media needed to pick up and run with this 'story', because we have a 'rape culture' after all :rolleyes:

Next up: a powerful report on how Irish schools have a growing and serious neo-Nazi culture, as a swastika is found drawn in biro behind one of the chairs in a woodwork class.

I've made no ****e up, poster told me they charge by the hour to research a question I asked about how many people are in said school, relax there :)

You made up stuff about how " "rape" so much since the Belfast trial it's shoehorned into every social media " and you still have failed to produce any evidence of this.
    That's a fair leap there,are caretakers or cleansers less workers than some "professionals"?.
    It's a fair bet that the English language literacy of school caretaker is less than the English language literacy of school teachers. This could be due to the caretaker not being a native English speaker, or it could be because the caretaker had poor access to education here.

It could also be completely wrong - the caretaker could have PhD qualifications in English, but the odds are that he/she doesn't.
    Its words on a wall FFS, I repeat there is worse written in McDonald's.

Does the stuff in McDonalds make threats of sexual assault against specific teenage girls who are in that building for 6 or more hours each day?
    The media needed to pick up and run with this 'story', because we have a 'rape culture' after all :rolleyes:

Next up: a powerful report on how Irish schools have a growing and serious neo-Nazi culture, as a swastika is found drawn in biro behind one of the chairs in a woodwork class.
    Does the swastika on a chair make threats of sexual assault against specific teenage girls who are in that building for 6 or more hours each day? Just want to make sure we are comparing like with like.

No, the swastika makes threats against all the Jewish, Polish and Slavic students in Irish schools. Won't someone please think of the children! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I've made no ****e up,

The the other non-stories are...? Or do I link back to my point about doing your own research for your own points and save you the bother?

Also: if kids (or men, for that matter) are writing about raping people on walls, whether it be in schools, or fast food restaurants, or wherever; I'd argue it's the making of a threat of sexual violence one way or the other. Is it front page news? Probably not. Should it be investigated? Absolutely. Or is it being suggested that making threats of sexual violence against minors is a non-issue?

No, the swastika makes threats against all the Jewish, Polish and Slavic students in Irish schools. Won't someone please think of the children!
    Would you like me to explain the difference in a general threat against a group and a specific threat against an individual?

And what's :D about threats of sexual assault anyway?

The the other non-stories are...? Or do I link back to my point about doing your own research for your own points and save you the bother?

So that's your level of debate - you make an opinionated claim that rape has been "shoehorned into every social media", you fail to produce any evidence of this, and when challenged, you tell me it is my job to find evidence of YOUR opinion?

If that's your best, I'll leave you to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Not to worry, with the amount of Superman S's scribbled everywhere, Superman is defo coming to save us all

You made up stuff about how " "rape" so much since the Belfast trial it's shoehorned into every social media " and you still have failed to produce any evidence of this.

This is exactly what I wrote,
    "I've never heard the word "rape" so much since the Belfast trial it's shoehorned into every social media since said trial."

I agree it shouldn't have been written in the first place, but the media have completely blown it out its ass writing about this and interviewing minors about how "upset" they're even though they aren't on the list
    It's a fair bet that the English language literacy of school caretaker is less than the English language literacy of school teachers. This could be due to the caretaker not being a native English speaker, or it could be because the caretaker had poor access to education here.

It could also be completely wrong - the caretaker could have PhD qualifications in English, but the odds are that he/she doesn't.

Some of the most knowledgeable well balanced people I've interacted with in my life have been people in jobs like caretakers, cleaners, shop workers etc etc, so sir you're making stuff up, a quilfication isn't worth ****e if you're a ****, IMO :)
    Does the stuff in McDonalds make threats of sexual assault against specific teenage girls who are in that building for 6 or more hours each day?

You're grasping at straws now, I've see writing about a fast food workers, boys names who love penis, ring Mary on 088 12345678 she like big..... you get the drift.

*I thought a smiley face emjoi shows posters not to take a post so seriously, it's a discussion not a fight*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

You find nothing wrong with the fact that a joke was made where teenagers decide who should be raped? There's nothing problematic in that? How about that posters in this thread actually think girls would want to get the most ticks? I left secondary school in 2010, would have made the news back then too... It would also be viewed incredibly seriously by my school.

So that's your level of debate - you make an opinionated claim that rape has been "shoehorned into every social media", you fail to produce any evidence of this, and when challenged, you tell me it is my job to find evidence of YOUR opinion?

If that's your best, I'll leave you to it.

Wrong poster...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,711 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It’s all gone hysterical again. There’s a middle ground here where they should find the people who wrote it and see what it’s all about. Keep in mind that there is the original one who wrote it and all the other contributors who added ticks or added names.

So the reality is they will probably never find out who it was. The best they can do is talk with them and see what it’s all about.

No actual harm was actually done and as far as we know no harm was actually going to be done.

Would you like me to explain the difference in a general threat against a group and a specific threat against an individual?

And what's :D about threats of sexual assault anyway?

It was a bit of nonsense from a few schoolboys. Get real.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Are people really using the 'boys will be boys' argument for this?

... until someone carries out an assault and people who think it;s just a bit of fun show up here demanding that heads roll for not seeing the warning signs and taking them seriously...

Every rapist was a schoolkid once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

... until someone carries out an assault and people who think it;s just a bit of fun show up here demanding that heads roll for not seeing the warning signs and taking them seriously...

Every rapist was a schoolkid once...

Nobody thinks that nothing should be done about it. Which is the suggestion you'e making. The point is that something like this should not be headline news. A few lads should be looking at being suspended and perhaps the school in conjunction with the authorities should speak with the girls named also. End.Of.Non.Story.

Wrong poster...?
    Sorry - I jumped too quick.
    Just have a think about the teenage girls in your life - maybe your daughters, or nieces, or cousins - or the daughters of people close to you. Are you saying that if they were horrified, upset, concerned to find that they had been named on a rape threat list in their school, you'd write it off as a bit of nonsense?
    It’s all gone hysterical again. There’s a middle ground here where they should find the people who wrote it and see what it’s all about. Keep in mind that there is the original one who wrote it and all the other contributors who added ticks or added names.

So the reality is they will probably never find out who it was. The best they can do is talk with them and see what it’s all about.

No actual harm was actually done and as far as we know no harm was actually going to be done.

Where's the hysteria? The school is doing what you suggest the school should be doing. Some of the press have reported the case, in a fairly straightforward manner - not the kind of lurid coverage we've seen in other cases. What more do you want?

This is exactly what I wrote,
    "I've never heard the word "rape" so much since the Belfast trial it's shoehorned into every social media since said trial."
    Yes, that's what you wrote - and you haven't given a single example of how rape was shoehorned into any, let alone every, social media since said trial.

Are you withdrawing the claim, or do you have any actual evidence?
    I agree it shouldn't have been written in the first place, but the media have completely blown it out its ass writing about this and interviewing minors about how "upset" they're even though they aren't on the list
    Why shouldn't media be writing about it? Is this 1960s Ireland where we brush all talk about sexual matters under the carpet and pretend that abuse doesn't happen?

And if those classmates do happen to be upset about rape threats against their friends, is that not relevant?

Some of the most knowledgeable well balanced people I've interacted with in my life have been people in jobs like caretakers, cleaners, shop workers etc etc, so sir you're making stuff up, a quilfication isn't worth ****e if you're a ****, IMO :)
    Yes, I've met some knowledgeable well-balanced people in low-paying roles too. It does happen.

THat doesn't take away from the fact that there is a possibility that a school cleaner will not have great English language literacy. It's a possibility - not a certainty.

There are many non-Irish natives in low-paid roles like clean who don't have great English literacy. I know one Chines qualified theatre nurse working as a cleaner as one of her jobs here, because she can't pass the English language test for nurses here. It does happen.
    You're grasping at straws now, I've see writing about a fast food workers, boys names who love penis, ring Mary on 088 12345678 she like big..... you get the drift.
    I don't spend a lot of times in McDonalds these days, let alone in their bathrooms, so I wouldn't have much expertise in this. But regardless, it's not comparable.

School is like a second home. It is the place where these kids spend most of their waking hours, outside of their home. It is supposed to be a safe place, where they can concentrate on learning academic subjects. They are children, unlike adults working in McDs. It's not comparable at all.
    *I thought a smiley face emjoi shows posters not to take a post so seriously, it's a discussion not a fight*
    It's a discussion about rape threats against teenage girls. That's a fairly serious topic to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,711 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Where's the hysteria? The school is doing what you suggest the school should be doing. Some of the press have reported the case, in a fairly straightforward manner - not the kind of lurid coverage we've seen in other cases. What more do you want?

The hysteria I’m referring to is the last few pages of the thread.

It basically is a case of boys being boys. It should be dealt with and it should be treated as a serious case because of the serious nature of the content. But they should keep in mind that it was almost certainly a case of young lads very successfully pushing boundaries.

Nobody thinks that nothing should be done about it. Which is the suggestion you'e making. The point is that something like this should not be headline news. A few lads should be looking at being suspended and perhaps the school in conjunction with the authorities should speak with the girls named also. End.Of.Non.Story.

No, the point I'm making is that it's not "just a bit of nonsense from some schoolboys" as the poster I was replying to implied.

I agree with you re the "not headline news" bit and have said so, but the kids that wrote this should need to be taken to one side and immediately made aware of the consequences of their actions in terms of making threats of a sexual nature: I'm not saying they were serious, but I'm neither a 14-year-old girl at the same school, nor a parent of one.

Also: if kids (or men, for that matter) are writing about raping people on walls, whether it be in schools, or fast food restaurants, or wherever; I'd argue it's the making of a threat of sexual violence one way or the other. Is it front page news? Probably not. Should it be investigated? Absolutely. Or is it being suggested that making threats of sexual violence against minors is a non-issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

markodaly wrote: »
    Say what?

You are making huge assumptions based on nothing by emotions and then have the gall to say that the twitter mob is some sort of empirical evidence to solidify your position?

Ask yourself, where are you getting your information from? I presume the national media and/or social media. Therefore your information is going to be filtered, skewed and biased towards a certain narrative.

The only outcome I can see from all this, is that the media Ireland from a journalistic integrity perspective is dead.

As I said, we can swap out rape/sexual assault with Muslim or immigrant or whatever the zeitgeist of the day is.

Are people that stupid to fall for everyday Moral panic.

Having concerns about the way some young people are behaving, and the attitude they have towards sexual responsibility is not 'moral panic'. The Belfast trial threw a spotlight on the way some young men treat and talk about women. No one is stupid or naive enough to think that was an isolated incident and that it's not going on elsewhere. It has provoked a wider conversation around the issue and if posting lists of girls the boys would like to rape on toilet walls is now going to be taken more seriously than it would have been a couple of months ago then that's a positive step forward, not ,'moral panic'.

Yes, that's what you wrote - and you haven't given a single example of how rape was shoehorned into any, let alone every, social media since said trial.

Are you withdrawing the claim, or do you have any actual evidence?

I'll withdraw it, today is Sunday my day of rest and relaxation.
    Why shouldn't media be writing about it? Is this 1960s Ireland where we brush all talk about sexual matters under the carpet and pretend that abuse doesn't happen?

And if those classmates do happen to be upset about rape threats against their friends, is that not relevant?

Do we know the actual wording of the writings yet?

They shouldn't be interviewed full stop they're minors and should be left consintrate on their studies. Are all boys now under suspicion now as the author? Is there writing in the girls toilets?
    Yes, I've met some knowledgeable well-balanced people in low-paying roles too. It does happen.

THat doesn't take away from the fact that there is a possibility that a school cleaner will not have great English language literacy. It's a possibility - not a certainty.

There are many non-Irish natives in low-paid roles like clean who don't have great English literacy. I know one Chines qualified theatre nurse working as a cleaner as one of her jobs here, because she can't pass the English language test for nurses here. It does happen.

I'll give you that, to not be padentic.
    I don't spend a lot of times in McDonalds these days, let alone in their bathrooms, so I wouldn't have much expertise in this. But regardless, it's not comparable.

School is like a second home. It is the place where these kids spend most of their waking hours, outside of their home. It is supposed to be a safe place, where they can concentrate on learning academic subjects. They are children, unlike adults working in McDs. It's not comparable at all.

Theyre very compatible, minors are McDonald's core business, it's cleaned and painted over no mass media articles by men hating women who are pushing agendas "rape culture" "all men are rapist" "metoo" "boys will grow up to be abusers of some sort" they can feck right off.
    It's a discussion about rape threats against teenage girls. That's a fairly serious topic to me.

Its writing on a wall, by 13 to 15 year old, they probably didn't/still don't know the reaction it has gotten.