Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexual assualt list posted in boys toilet in Cork school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

For what though?

Some stupid scribbles on a toilet wall? Very hard to really form an opinion on this without know what was actually written.

I very much doubt "sexual assault" was written on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Wow that is beyond appalling.

It's also a reason why we just cannot tolerate allowing young boys to be exposed to sports stars who have shown themselves to be unashamed misogynists that think women are just pieces of meat whose sole purpose is for their sexual pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

ya send in the Garda CSI team ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

amcalester wrote: »
    For what though?

Some stupid scribbles on a toilet wall? Very hard to really form an opinion on this without know what was actually written.

The ones with the most ticks will get raped

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/school-finds-reported-rape-list-in-boys-toilets-and-disputes-claim-it-is-third-list-in-two-weeks-837031.html

amcalester wrote: »
    For what though?

No probably not that word. More likely something else cruder that they've decided not to publish.
    Rape, groping, pulling up a skirt. They are all assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I would feel absolutely sick if I was the parent of any of the boys involved. Even if there was no intention to actually go through with it, the very fact that they think that kind of thing is fun and acceptable would worry me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

2smiggy wrote: »

The very least that should have been done is the Gardai should have been called. Possible prints or handwriting analysis. That is mental that the school never contacted them.

At the very least it could put the frighteners on whoever wrote the graffiti and prevent them doing it again, if it was a stupid stunt.

2smiggy wrote: »

Wow, you're talking about minor girls, your daughter, your sister. Is that really what you think any young child should have to face at school?
    At that age the intimidation of a threat is so intense and so real.
    No one of any age should have to put up with it but the idea of children and young teens having to meet that in their school day is appalling.

Any young boy who found that funny or participated in adding ticks needs serious sorting out too. That is an attitude it's not safe to allow young boys carry around. Not safe for the women in their lives, or for themselves. If you grow up with that outlook and such disregard for female safety you are quite likely to find yourself in deep trouble too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I definitely think the instigator/s of this should be expelled. It's time society started to send out a very clear message to young people about this kind of behaviour and attitude .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Daithi101

It's also a reason why we just cannot tolerate allowing young boys to be exposed to sports stars who have shown themselves to be unashamed misogynists that think women are just pieces of meat whose sole purpose is for their sexual pleasure.

Serious jump there. Should we not be more concerned that the children's own parents aren't setting proper boundaries and influencing their behaviour.

But I suppose it's always easier to blame someone else especially when it's suits.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I would feel absolutely sick if I was the parent of any of the boys involved. Even if there was no intention to actually go through with it, the very fact that they think that kind of thing is fun and acceptable would worry me.

You do realise that it could have been a girl that done it, a faculty/staff member, anyone that has access to the school.

Given that it's the boys toilet, I'd admit they are the likely suspect, but you can't pin it on being a boy(s) unless it's known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Daithi101 wrote: »
    Serious jump there. Should we not be more concerned that the children's own parents aren't setting proper boundaries and influencing their behaviour.

No no no, it's never a parenting problem.

it's videogames, lack of consent classes, bad influences in the news or society at large

Never a parenting problem though :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Tongue in cheek but maybe they're just embracing their culture rather than fighting it. We do have a rape culture after all apparently.

Back on track, it's stupid thing to do. I doubt it would have resulted in an actual rape or rapes but it's completely out of line and horrendously poor timing given the uproar about the guys in Belfast.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Given that it's the boys toilet, I'd admit they are the likely suspect, but you can't pin it on being a boy(s) unless it's known.

I would be shocked if the teachers in that school didn't have a pretty good idea where this originated.

Something on an article about the SPHE teachers "facilitating discussions". I assume it'll involve asking the girls to leave and let the lads know there's a hiding waiting if they want it. I'm sure a few of the teachers know well who it was but I doubt we'll hear much about them or their background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

because young boys like certain sports people to get dating tips? :confused: , you'd be amazed at the male mind's ability to only focus on the skills of a player if talking about soccer say and have no interest in what the player does off the field.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

What an absolute mound of horsesh1t. How have you made the link between the two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Tell young men that their masculinity is toxic often enough, and they'll start to believe you... :p

I'm sure a few of the teachers know well who it was but I doubt we'll hear much about them or their background.

They will, but they won't be able to do anything about it because they can't prove it. And if they did try to they'd end up dealing with the very same parents who raised these kids...(or didn't)

Wouldn't fancy being a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Morons doing moronic things.

wexie wrote: »
    They will, but they won't be able to do anything about it because they can't prove it. And if they did try to they'd end up dealing with the very same parents who raised these kids...(or didn't)

Wouldn't fancy being a teacher.
    There are things other than official channels. If there's a teacher at that school with a daughter present I hope they show some integrity. And I don't mean by following the rules and guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

On the one hand, this is exactly the kind of thing some lads would do just because they know it'd get a rise.

On the other hand, if I found out it was my son or nephew I'd tan his bloody hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I don't know why authorities, school principals, Gardaí or any adult or authoritarian figure,. thinks that the dark social media world that teenagers live in now-a-days can be infiltrated or policed!?
    Teens just lie lie lie bluff bluff bluff when questioned or integrated by 'old' people... We'r all doomed DOOMED I TELL YA.... DOOMED...

silverharp wrote: »
    because young boys like certain sports people to get dating tips? :confused: , you'd be amazed at the male mind's ability to only focus on the skills of a player if talking about soccer say and have no interest in what the player does off the field.

You should have an interest though.
    You should have an interest if your child idolises a person who makes deeply offensive racist slurs, who degrades people because they are gay etc, who describes his female peers as "merry-go-rounds" and "sluts".

Do you really think that a society can tell a child this man is a hero that they could dream of growing up to be like him but also tell its children that he is a horrible person that they must never emulate?
    Or that society will reward you for kicking a ball and not care what your character is and still expect your child to prize values of respect and being a decent human being.

I respect a person's right to hold ideals and values different than my own, I think a lot that's now considered politically incorrect can be fair comment, but abuse and utter disrespect are immediately identifiable. That's what these men's attitudes revealed.

In amazed at ability of some people to focus on their own entrainment and completely overlook really important points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

amcalester wrote:

It was a rape list. The girl with the highest marks was to be raped.

I doubt if anyone was going to be raped but surely this attitude towards girls should be discouraged by the school.

The boys involved need to be educated

You should have an interest though.
    You should have an interest if your child idolises a person who makes deeply offensive racist slurs, who degrades people because they are gay etc, who describes his female peers as "merry-go-rounds" and "sluts".

Do you really think that a society can tell a child this man is a hero that they could dream of growing up to be but also tell its children that he is a horrible person that they must never emulate?

In amazed at ability of some people to focus on their own entrainment and completely overlook really important points.

Im putting my dusty can barely find it teenage hat on but I can assure you boys don't care what adults get up to in their private lives. If some young lads are going off the rails its not this, anymore than video games make kids violent.
    My suggestion would be to stop looking for easy scapegoats.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SilverPenney

Its a bit of a left field idea, but it could work; sit these lads down and lay out the stark realities of life with a sex assault/rape charge....losing years of your life, getting shunned and maligned by friends, family and community, and having a permanent criminal record that will **** up their future. If this idea was brought out to other schools/given by parents, emphasis that the young person isn't being accused of the crime, but that the reality is simply being stated.

Sleeper12 wrote: »

I doubt if anyone was going to be raped but surely this attitude towards girls should be discouraged by the school.

Yeah, saw that after I posted. It was completely unacceptable.

There was no mention of rape in the first linked article and I thought maybe they were blowing it out of proportion.

Obviously they weren’t.

Sleeper12 wrote: »

Absolutely agree, but I'd imagine that barring the disturbing language it is basically a 'put a tick beside the girl you think is the hottest'.

Its a bit of a left field idea, but it could work; sit these lads down and lay out the stark realities of life with a sex assault/rape charge....losing years of your life, getting shunned and maligned by friends, family and community, and having a permanent criminal record that will **** up their future. If this idea was brought out to other schools/given by parents, emphasis that the young person isn't being accused of the crime, but that the reality is simply being stated.
    https://www.google.ie/search?q=ishmael+akinade&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-b-ab&gws_rd=cr&dcr=0&ei=5ILPWvvPHsutgAbE0arIDw

kylith wrote: »
    Absolutely agree, but I'd imagine that barring the disturbing language it is basically a 'put a tick beside the girl you think is the hottest'.

This is more along the lines of what I expected the writing to be.

I think it's a bit more than that tbh. They could've had a "hot" list instead. I've got some ideas about this incident but I'm sure an instant ban would come should anyone dare state it.

Exactly this. But is this not the jobs of patents in educating and raising their own children.

Too often you see the lack of above being blamed on everyone else but the parents.

Surely the parents of these kids need to be spoken to aswell. Made fully aware of the mindset of their children.

on a positive note it wasn't done on social media, it cant go viral to make individuals known and haunt them for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Girls in a private south Dublin school did a similar list years ago but it wasn't covered in the media even though it was common knowledge.
    The most popular boys were the ones who received the most attention from the girls that Friday night at a teenage disco

I think it's a bit more than that tbh. They could've had a "hot" list instead. I've got some ideas about this incident but I'm sure an instant ban would come should anyone dare state it.

IDK, some lads have a pretty twisted idea of what funny is.

Girls in a private south Dublin school did a similar list years ago but it wasn't covered in the media even though it was common knowledge.
    The most popular boys were the ones who received the most attention from the girls that Friday night at a teenage disco

Really? Were they threatening to assault the young men?

I know I do. :pac: This is a couple of steps over what would have been "normal" for me 10 or so years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Does anyone remember the case of the sexual assault on a schoolgirl a few years back, it was filmed by the cretins who carried it out and shared about then it went public. I don't recall anything about a criminal case or any sanctions. Maybe I just missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

silverharp wrote: »
    on a positive note it wasn't done on social media, it cant go viral to make individuals known and haunt them for years to come.

There is no positive note to be found in this, other than the fact that nobody was actually sexually assaulted.

But seriously, this kind of "Ho hum, boys will be boys" attitude is a very large part of the issue.

I can't believe that there are people here that are so inured to this kind of carry on that they don't find this even remotely disturbing and are actively dissing those who do.

There is nothing even remotely funny, understandable or excusable about a group of teenage boys who think it's acceptable to make a "rape list" and if you think it is, you should take a very long, hard look at yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Really? Were they threatening to assault the young men?

Really? Don't we really need more this nonsense, demonising men/boys in general.

Do some girls not have a twisted idea of what funny is?
    Did you miss the part above about the girls and the whore scribbling?

These particular idiots should be treated as such, not taken as some kind of bench mark or standard.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dial Hard wrote: »
    There is nothing even remotely funny, understandable or excusable about a group of teenage boys who think it's acceptable to make a "rape list" and if you think it is, you should take a very long, hard look at yourself.

Who said it was teenage boys though?
    Who has access to the boys toilets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Boom_Bap wrote:
    Who said it was teenage boys though? Who has access to the boys toilets?

Caretaker Willie? :)

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Who said it was teenage boys though?
    Who has access to the boys toilets?
    Them janitors can be well dodgy.

Boom_Bap wrote:
    Who said it was teenage boys though? Who has access to the boys toilets?

In a strange way you would hope that it was teenage boys who did it through some mis-guided idea of fun.

If it was found to be from someone who had access to the school, I'd be seriously worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

There are things other than official channels. If there's a teacher at that school with a daughter present I hope they show some integrity. And I don't mean by following the rules and guidelines.

So what do you mean then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

As serious and as disturbing this may seem to us as mature adults...
    The boys in the school think it's great craic and the girls only concern would be how many ticks they got... The only devastation for the girls on the list would be if she got no ticks..
    I'll say again.. Teens are living in a social media 'app' world.. Which I reckon is probably impossible to police or to even understand!?
    We can kid ourselves that they give 2 shíts about anything us 'old' people have to say about their 'social' life.. It's a HUGE secret which involves lying, bluffing and all forms of sneakiness... We'r all doomed DOOMED I TELL YA.. .... DOOMED.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭ignorance is strength

What a terrible time for them to chose to be public misogynists!