Sexual assualt list posted in boys toilet in Cork school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Defunkd

You've just made that up, right?

Do you know what was written? Not a journalist/editors version but the actual words used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

wexie wrote: »
    You seem to be somewhat vague on the difference between 'intentions' and 'actions'

But sure I'll bite, give me an example (just one) where 'intentions' on their own have ever done anything, good or bad.
    You do know you can go jail for basically your intentions.
    A famous murderer, recently deceased, did not go to jail for the murder, but because she was found out to be planning and intending to murder the victim.
    Nearly ever week people are arrested around Europe because they intending to carry out terrorist activities.

I am not allowed discuss …

Defunkd wrote: »
    Do you know what was written? Not a journalist/editors version but the actual words used?

Do you?

Blame Game wrote: »
    Why should I believe something the media says just because it's trendy at the moment to be 'me too'? Any proof on what was written? Or does evidence not matter anymore?

Fact is, it's only news because of the Ulster. Money to be made in outrage and the papers need it!

So that's a No then - zero research.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

jmayo wrote: »
    Nearly ever week people are arrested around Europe because they intending to carry out terrorist activities.

No...no they don't

They go to jail because they are acting on those intentions. Be that by doing research, making preparations or whatever.

Intentions are nothing and mean nothing until they get acted upon.
    Nobody has ever been arrested even for having an 'intention' to do anything.

They are arrested for 'doing' something 'with' the intention....

• Site Banned Posts: 21 Blame Game

So that's a No then - zero research.

What research am I supposed to do? Listen to Joe Duffy? No thanks. It's bs story that's only in the news because of the me too crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭North inner city hoodlum

What research am I supposed to do? Listen to Joe Duffy? No thanks. It's bs story that's only in the news because of the me too crap.

Exactly, I've seen worse written in McDonald's toilets, it never made the "media".

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/investigation-into-two-more-rape-lists-featuring-names-of-girls-at-secondary-school-36806163.html

Two more "rape lists" doing the rounds, no name on the article, can I assume the article was written by a woman?:), all supports made available FFS stop publishing it then.

• Site Banned Posts: 21 Blame Game

B0jangles wrote: »
    If a similar list were written up in a girls bathroom, except the vote was for which male student (or staff member) should be accused of sexual assault, (for a joke, of course!), would that be no big deal, just kids looking for attention too?

I wouldn't give a crap. Then again it'd never make the papers.

Hey, I saw some racist graffiti in the pub jacks last night. Who can I sell my story to?

wexie wrote: »
    No...no they don't

They go to jail because they are acting on those intentions. Be that by doing research, making preparations or whatever.

Intentions are nothing and mean nothing until they get acted upon.
    Nobody has ever been arrested even for having an 'intention' to do anything.

They are arrested for 'doing' something 'with' the intention....

exactly like in that documentary:D with that researcher something croooze,
    oh yeah MINORITY REPORT

Actually, I was wrong, it was Red FM, not Liveline. So you can choose between their news report, which quotes the heading on the list as 'girls with the most number of ticks will get raped'.

http://www.redfm.ie/news/cork/cork-secondary-school-confirms-derogatory-list-is-third-of-its-kind/

Or you can listen to the first hand report from a student in the school who has seen the list, stating that this is the third list that references rape.

https://mm.aiircdn.com/157/5ad09434de70c.mp3

But hey, you know better, right?
    Why should I believe something the media says just because it's trendy at the moment to be 'me too'? Any proof on what was written? Or does evidence not matter anymore?

Fact is, it's only news because of the Ulster. Money to be made in outrage and the papers need it!

That's fairly classic Trump tactics. When you don't like some facts in the media, you just blame the 'media agenda' regardless of the facts involved.

It's remarkable that you have the gall to refer to 'does evidence not matter' when you're explicitly sticking your hands over your ears, like the 'hear no evil' monkey to make you don't hear the actual evidence that is available.

So your weak attempt to reverse the story might be enough to fool the average Trump supporter. And if you're fairly short on thinking skills, it might be enough to fool you. But it's not enough to fool me.

http://www.redfm.ie/news/cork/cork-secondary-school-confirms-derogatory-list-is-third-of-its-kind/

Or you can listen to the first hand report from a student in the school who has seen the list, stating that this is the third list that references rape.

What age group are we talking about here?

How many people attend said school?

Why are media asking opinion of girls from said school?

conorhal wrote: »
    Your 'drift' is laughable, impotent virtue signaling.

ahh virtue signalling , the new buzz phrase de jour, what what you last month? bespoke? ubiquitous? clown shoes!! more like.

What age group are we talking about here?

How many people attend said school?
    If you'd like me to do your research for you, we'd need to agree an hourly rate up front. Alternatively, you could try searching for the information yourself.

Why are media asking opinion of girls from said school?
    Probably because they are the targets of the repeated rape threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Honestly.... I don't see the big deal.
    They're f*cking stupid a*s teenagers. You'll always see crap written on the toilet walls like "Mr o'rourke is a knob" or "jessie byrne is a slut" etc.

Not saying it's right but there is a vast difference between some douchebag 14-17 year old immature boy writing stuff on the jax wall in school and then plotting to go out there and actually commit rape.

If you'd like me to do your research for you, we'd need to agree an hourly rate up front. Alternatively, you could try searching for the information yourself.

Probably because they are the targets of the repeated rape threats.

Its a question and I've the answer too so relax :)
    Enrolment total 825
    Enrolment boys 492
    Enrolment girls 333
    https://www.irishtimes.com/feeder-schools/davis-college/71020G

The girl/s asked for their opinion have stated their name isn't on the wall/s all articles besides the independent have woman as writing the articles.

You'll always see crap written on the toilet walls like "Mr o'rourke is a knob" or "jessie byrne is a slut" etc.

Not saying it's right.

I don't know Jessie Byrne but Mr O' Rourke is kind of a dick, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,711 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

jmayo wrote: »
    I think you’re right that it’s in the public’s mind because of the Belfast trial. I also think it’s sensible to treat sex education as a health issue and teach small children about relationships and sex.

But the main thing to keep
    In mind is that young lads grow up and cop on. This isn’t necessarily a big problem and it’s not necessarily that far out of the norm.

The young lads need a serious talking to, but I wouldn’t want their identities known or their lives impacted by this. They’ll probably grow up onto normal lads.
    Yes. They should get a serious talking to. I don’t think it’s good behaviour but it’s also not a sign of a true deviant who’s going to actually rape someone in the future. It’s probably just young lads acting the maggot

You have spent the entire time looking for excuses for them.
    Yeah lads will be lads, but I have never ever come across someone publishing, and yes that was what it was, a would be rape list.

We are always shouting that people need to learn about personal responsibility, well here is a chance to show youngsters that it applies to them as well.

And the girls on the list, their parents and indeed all the girls in the school and their parents have a right to know who was behind this.
    They have a right to know who targeted their daughter(s) and what type of people they has to share their time with.
    Of course there will always be those who couldn't give a shyte, but I would bet there are in the minority.

If your daughter went to that school how would you look at her male classmates in particular

I haven't excused them at all. I said I don't think it's good behaviour and I don't think it's alright. It shouldn't be ignored or go unaddressed. I also think the children should be the focus of the response, not the parents.

I always think it's funny when old people think making an example of young lads is a good idea. Young lads grow up and change their behaviour anyway and there's a fresh crop of young lads who don't remember the example you made of the the ones who came before. Low and behold, the new young lads behave like young lads to the surprise of the old folks.

Young lads need to be taught and coached. That's the responsibility of the older people.

It's probably going to go over some people's heads, but nobody was actually harmed. The list was almost certainly a terrible joke. It's being treated like a crime in progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,409 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Speaking of terrible jokes:
    Two peanuts walked down the road. One was a-salted.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Defunkd

Do you?
    Typical Trump tactic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I haven't excused them at all. I said I don't think it's good behaviour and I don't think it's alright. It shouldn't be ignored or go unaddressed. I also think the children should be the focus of the response, not the parents.

I always think it's funny when old people think making an example of young lads is a good idea. Young lads grow up and change their behaviour anyway and there's a fresh crop of young lads who don't remember the example you made of the the ones who came before. Low and behold, the new young lads behave like young lads to the surprise of the old folks.

Young lads need to be taught and coached. That's the responsibility of the older people.

It's probably going to go over some people's heads, but nobody was actually harmed. The list was almost certainly a terrible joke. It's being treated like a crime in progress.
    NO SOMEONE MUST HANG OVER THIS!!!!
    AND WE WON"T BE HAPPY UNTIL SOMEONE DOES!!!!
    We don't really care who or whether or not they're actually involved just as long as someone hangs, publically, to serve as an example...

Or else we'll start a hashtag campaign and totally, like, screw up your twitter feed.

or summit :(, growing tired of all this hyperbolic, artificially inflated outrage.

You know who's the real victim here?, common sense is who.
    I'm going to crack open a bottle of wine and mourn it's demise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

B0jangles wrote: »
    If a similar list were written up in a girls bathroom, except the vote was for which male student (or staff member) should be accused of sexual assault, (for a joke, of course!), would that be no big deal, just kids looking for attention too?
    Do girls have baths in schools?

Defunkd wrote: »

I have a nephew going to said school maybe he knows what was written and we can put the matter to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

"The boy who gets the most ticks gets accused of rape."

Still a joke? Still harmless?

I don't think so.

I wouldn't be pissed off if some girls in my son's school wrote that. But I would be pissed off if management didn't think it was worth at least a chat to the pupils about the seriousness of rape - and how it destroys lives on both sides - for the accused and the accuser.

There's no need to go full Maude Flanders on it but the faculty does need to treat it with some seriousness. And with the recent trial and the fallout from that for everyone involved they have a pretty topical example of how jokes can escalate and come back to bite you on the arse.

Hey, I saw some racist graffiti in the pub jacks last night. Who can I sell my story to?

Does the racist graffiti threaten violence against specific, named teenage girls who are regularly in that pub?
    Honestly.... I don't see the big deal.
    They're f*cking stupid a*s teenagers. You'll always see crap written on the toilet walls like "Mr o'rourke is a knob" or "jessie byrne is a slut" etc.

Not saying it's right but there is a vast difference between some douchebag 14-17 year old immature boy writing stuff on the jax wall in school and then plotting to go out there and actually commit rape.

In fairness, there's a vast difference between 'Jessie Byrne is a slut' and 'Jessie Byrne is gonna get raped'. Replace Jessie's name with the name of someone close to you and see how it feels.

Though you're partially right - this is most likely macho BS that isn't going to turn into a real rape. But even given that, it is still very nasty, and very scary. It creates an environment where rape becomes normalised, where threats of rape become daily parlance and currency. It is one step on the road towards rape, and it is completely unacceptable.

It was in the junior boys toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Christy42 wrote: »
    Maybe if you didn't read things that no one said you would get less annoyed? No one is saying boys are evil and rapists. Nor are all girls angels.

People are saying that these particular people crossed a serious line and teens need to be shown it is not appropriate. Most have also said that this is not usual behaviour for boys (on the basis that many of us were boys and did not do it) - so saying the exact opposite of what you claimed.

If anyone has reached the Flanders level of hyperbole it is yourself.

Yeah I did go overboard a bit!

Dakota Dan wrote: »

What age are we talking?

Dakota Dan wrote: »

Is that 1st year to 3rd year or what?

Omackeral wrote: »
    What age are we talking?

Yeah 1st to 3rd year, I suppose 13 to 16 year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I've got a solution to this issue. It's a bit old fashioned to some but at least it will avoid a lot of hysteria and especially completely unnecessary distress to the families involved.

wall-touch-up.jpg