Sexual assualt list posted in boys toilet in Cork school

oceanman wrote: »
    its a bit of a non story really....just a bunch of young lads doing what lads do, we live in very different times now than when most of us here were going to school.
    that's how teenagers are these days..

If it was my young lad writing that I'd be very tempted to give him right good slap around the ear. I'd more likely say ''imagine you saw someone writing your sister's name up there, what would you think of that?''. It's stupid fcuking behaviour from young lads but it's not the end of the world either. Middle ground here folks. I sincerely doubt there was a plan to actually go out and do anything and it was probably meant to go no further than the jacks wall but it's still crude as hell and unacceptable.

Graces7 wrote: »
    No. In this case role models are more influential than parents. Surely you know that? And the recent publicity re the Belfast trial?

That should never be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Possible feminazi false flag. Nothing would surprise me these days.....

Even when it wasn't the feminists, it really was.

Candie wrote: »
    I don't think too much should be made of it, but it shouldn't be dismissed like that either.

Spot on. Middle ground is something seriously lacking recently when these outrages hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

As serious and as disturbing this may seem to us as mature adults...
    The boys in the school think it's great craic and the girls only concern would be how many ticks they got... The only devastation for the girls on the list would be if she got no ticks..
    I'll say again.. Teens are living in a social media 'app' world.. Which I reckon is probably impossible to police or to even understand!?
    We can kid ourselves that they give 2 shíts about anything us 'old' people have to say about their 'social' life.. It's a HUGE secret which involves lying, bluffing and all forms of sneakiness... We'r all doomed DOOMED I TELL YA.. .... DOOMED.

i agree - the hand wringing is laughable. the fact this made national news is worse than laughable.
    It will only encourage lads to act the maggot.

I feel it's an internal school thing and tbh I don't care .

Why I am posting if I don't care...I care strongly about the over reaction and hysteria minor infractions cause like this cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

oceanman wrote: »
    its a bit of a non story really....just a bunch of young lads doing what lads do

I'm sure it wasn't your intention, but comments like this do teenage boys a huge disservice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Do people really think that girls would be more upset by not being on the list than they would by being on it or are they just downplaying it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

Even when it wasn't the feminists, it really was.

Oh you never know. About time for another twitter storm with usual silly hashtags #notinmyschool etc. You get the gist....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Do people really think that girls would be more upset by not being on the list than they would by being on it or are they just downplaying it?

I can't believe that even After Hours would think that the "rape winner" girl would be in any way flattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

So They will have to be home schooled yes for public safety ?

I wouldn't give two fooks where they were schooled so long as it was not in the same school as my kids.

There used to be a time when if you acted the bollox in school you got expelled.
    Now it seems you are meant to get counseling and a hug.
    What does that say to the ones victimised ?

Maybe it was those times when people (and that included kids) were responsible for their actions and it wasn't always a case where the ones doing the shyte were classed as victims as well.

I am not allowed discuss …

Oh you never know. About time for another twitter storm with usual silly hashtags #notinmyschool etc. You get the gist....

Oh, I get the gist alright.

Not surprised by the dismissive reactions of certain posters on here, but I'd say they'd change their tune if it was their daughter/ sister/ girlfriend on the rape list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Not surprised by the dismissive reactions of certain posters on here, but I'd say they'd change their tune if it was their daughter/ sister/ girlfriend on the rape list.

I'd say they would be organising the vigilante group as we speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Past experience would indicate that at least some of them would be outraged on her behalf for a page or two before the usual crowd would have them convinced it was just the wimmen making a fuss over nothing for attention.

Or feminists - you can always rely on the feminists to be responsible, somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jmayo wrote: »
    So They will have to be home schooled yes for public safety ?

I wouldn't give two fooks where they were schooled so long as it was not in the same school as my kids.

There used to be a time when if you acted the bollox in school you got expelled.
    Now it seems you are meant to get counseling and a hug.
    What does that say to the ones victimised ?

Maybe it was those times when people (and that included kids) were responsible for their actions and it wasn't always a case where the ones doing the shyte were classed as victims as well.

So your suggestion is to move them on to a different school and act surprised when they pull the she **** again rather than dealing with the situation in the first place?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

In my day you'd go to watch the love of your life playing hockey. Youd spend a sizable portion of the match trying to look up her skirt.

Comparatively innocent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Vaginas are not halos.

Keeping that in my list of memorable boards quotes

Imagine being such a misogynist that you require a woman to be closely related to you before considering her worthy of giving a toss about.

I'd say they would be organising the vigilante group as we speak

Nah, they'd leave that to the crazy blue haired, unwashed feminazis. I find these people tend to criticize a lot but are strangely lazy when it comes to doing anything in the way of action themselves. The matricarchy, wah?
    B0jangles wrote: »
    Past experience would indicate that at least some of them would be outraged on her behalf for a page or two before the usual crowd would have them convinced it was just the wimmen making a fuss over nothing for attention.

Or feminists - you can always rely on the feminists to be responsible, somehow.

Feminists- the ultimate scapegoats for those constantly complaining of being scapegoats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

He's making a list
    He's checking it twice
    He's gonna find out who's naughty or nice
    Larry Murphy's coming to town

Just like father/ brother/ Son on the wrong end of a Rape accusation ?

Oh, we're playing this game of gender one-upmanship again are we?

Ok, yeah, just like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

jmayo wrote: »
    And it is eve more than my time in secondary school in the 80s.

There is no way in hell they should remain in the school.

What message does that send to other students, in particular the ones that were targeted in that list.
    Again I ask someone to think of being in the shoes of the ones targeted or at least the parents of the ones targeted and then see what you think.

I was actually meaning to keep them contained in some way rather than uleash them on wider society. But as I qualified, IF there were teachers adequate to that task Not sure what faciities we have in Ireland for this? ie I a agreeing with you fully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Vaginas are not halos.

I used to like to walk around with one above my head

A halo that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Feminists- the ultimate scapegoats for those constantly complaining of being scapegoats.

kinda makes sense to blame them. I mean if you were taking a punt - it's either muslims or feminists and 9 out of 10 times you are quids in.

apologies to the muslims though for being lumped with feminists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

paw patrol wrote: »
    i agree - the hand wringing is laughable. the fact this made national news is worse than laughable.
    It will only encourage lads to act the maggot.

I feel it's an internal school thing and tbh I don't care .

Why I am posting if I don't care...I care strongly about the over reaction and hysteria minor infractions cause like this cause.

Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

Oh, we're playing this game of gender one-upmanship again are we?

Ok, yeah, just like that.

Oneuppersonship

OFC gender bias is strong in this thread. Did people assume the Gender of the list poster due to the bathroom sign ?

Where did I mention the gender of the offenders?

Anyway, I thought we'd established it was the feminists that sneaked into the boys toilets and did it.

OFC gender bias is strong in this thread. Did people assume the Gender of the list poster due to the bathroom sign ?

With it being the boys' toilets in a school, what do you think is the likelihood of the perpetrator(s) not being (a) male teenage 'edgelord(s)'? Fairly slim, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

amcalester wrote: »
    For what though?

Some stupid scribbles on a toilet wall? Very hard to really form an opinion on this without know what was actually written.

I very much doubt "sexual assault" was written on the wall.

Do you think the gardai would be called for nothing? Of course what was written was dangerous and disturbing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Wow that is beyond appalling.

It's also a reason why we just cannot tolerate allowing young boys to be exposed to sports stars who have shown themselves to be unashamed misogynists that think women are just pieces of meat whose sole purpose is for their sexual pleasure.

I was wondering how long it would take for some righteous individual to lay the blame for this at Jacksons door.

Henceforth PJ is to be held culpable for every sexual transgression carried out by males in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

was there just some kinda glitch in the Matrix?

And winteremerald just disappeared in a small cloud of genderbias outrage?

Or is there some ninja modding happening?