Sexual assualt list posted in boys toilet in Cork school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    It was a rape list. The girl with the highest marks was to be raped.

I doubt if anyone was going to be raped but surely this attitude towards girls should be discouraged by the school.

The boys involved need to be educated

Absolutely agree, but I'd imagine that barring the disturbing language it is basically a 'put a tick beside the girl you think is the hottest'.

Its a bit of a left field idea, but it could work; sit these lads down and lay out the stark realities of life with a sex assault/rape charge....losing years of your life, getting shunned and maligned by friends, family and community, and having a permanent criminal record that will **** up their future. If this idea was brought out to other schools/given by parents, emphasis that the young person isn't being accused of the crime, but that the reality is simply being stated.
    https://www.google.ie/search?q=ishmael+akinade&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-b-ab&gws_rd=cr&dcr=0&ei=5ILPWvvPHsutgAbE0arIDw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

kylith wrote: »
    Absolutely agree, but I'd imagine that barring the disturbing language it is basically a 'put a tick beside the girl you think is the hottest'.

This is more along the lines of what I expected the writing to be.

I think it's a bit more than that tbh. They could've had a "hot" list instead. I've got some ideas about this incident but I'm sure an instant ban would come should anyone dare state it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Daithi101

Its a bit of a left field idea, but it could work; sit these lads down and lay out the stark realities of life with a sex assault/rape charge....losing years of your life, getting shunned and maligned by friends, family and community, and having a permanent criminal record that will **** up their future. If this idea was brought out to other schools/given by parents, emphasis that the young person isn't being accused of the crime, but that the reality is simply being stated.

Exactly this. But is this not the jobs of patents in educating and raising their own children.

Too often you see the lack of above being blamed on everyone else but the parents.

Surely the parents of these kids need to be spoken to aswell. Made fully aware of the mindset of their children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

on a positive note it wasn't done on social media, it cant go viral to make individuals known and haunt them for years to come.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Girls in a private south Dublin school did a similar list years ago but it wasn't covered in the media even though it was common knowledge.
    The most popular boys were the ones who received the most attention from the girls that Friday night at a teenage disco

I think it's a bit more than that tbh. They could've had a "hot" list instead. I've got some ideas about this incident but I'm sure an instant ban would come should anyone dare state it.

IDK, some lads have a pretty twisted idea of what funny is.

Girls in a private south Dublin school did a similar list years ago but it wasn't covered in the media even though it was common knowledge.
    The most popular boys were the ones who received the most attention from the girls that Friday night at a teenage disco

Really? Were they threatening to assault the young men?

I know I do. :pac: This is a couple of steps over what would have been "normal" for me 10 or so years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Does anyone remember the case of the sexual assault on a schoolgirl a few years back, it was filmed by the cretins who carried it out and shared about then it went public. I don't recall anything about a criminal case or any sanctions. Maybe I just missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,717 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

silverharp wrote: »
    on a positive note it wasn't done on social media, it cant go viral to make individuals known and haunt them for years to come.

There is no positive note to be found in this, other than the fact that nobody was actually sexually assaulted.

But seriously, this kind of "Ho hum, boys will be boys" attitude is a very large part of the issue.

I can't believe that there are people here that are so inured to this kind of carry on that they don't find this even remotely disturbing and are actively dissing those who do.

There is nothing even remotely funny, understandable or excusable about a group of teenage boys who think it's acceptable to make a "rape list" and if you think it is, you should take a very long, hard look at yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Really? Were they threatening to assault the young men?

Really? Don't we really need more this nonsense, demonising men/boys in general.

Do some girls not have a twisted idea of what funny is?
    Did you miss the part above about the girls and the whore scribbling?

These particular idiots should be treated as such, not taken as some kind of bench mark or standard.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dial Hard wrote: »
    There is nothing even remotely funny, understandable or excusable about a group of teenage boys who think it's acceptable to make a "rape list" and if you think it is, you should take a very long, hard look at yourself.

Who said it was teenage boys though?
    Who has access to the boys toilets?

Boom_Bap wrote:
    Who said it was teenage boys though? Who has access to the boys toilets?

Caretaker Willie? :)

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Who said it was teenage boys though?
    Who has access to the boys toilets?
    Them janitors can be well dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Daithi101

Boom_Bap wrote:
    Who said it was teenage boys though? Who has access to the boys toilets?

In a strange way you would hope that it was teenage boys who did it through some mis-guided idea of fun.

If it was found to be from someone who had access to the school, I'd be seriously worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

There are things other than official channels. If there's a teacher at that school with a daughter present I hope they show some integrity. And I don't mean by following the rules and guidelines.

So what do you mean then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

As serious and as disturbing this may seem to us as mature adults...
    The boys in the school think it's great craic and the girls only concern would be how many ticks they got... The only devastation for the girls on the list would be if she got no ticks..
    I'll say again.. Teens are living in a social media 'app' world.. Which I reckon is probably impossible to police or to even understand!?
    We can kid ourselves that they give 2 shíts about anything us 'old' people have to say about their 'social' life.. It's a HUGE secret which involves lying, bluffing and all forms of sneakiness... We'r all doomed DOOMED I TELL YA.. .... DOOMED.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭ignorance is strength

What a terrible time for them to chose to be public misogynists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The boys in the school think it's great craic and the girls only concern would be how many ticks they got... The only devastation for the girls on the list would be if she got no ticks..
    I'll say again.. Teens are living in a social media 'app' world.. Which I reckon is probably impossible to police or to even understand!?
    We can kid ourselves that they give 2 shíts about anything us 'old' people have to say about their 'social' life.. It's a HUGE secret which involves lying, bluffing and all forms of sneakiness... We'r all doomed DOOMED I TELL YA.. .... DOOMED.

I think this could be a lot more distressing for the girls than you migh think. I don't think many girls will be upset by not being on a rape list

givyjoe wrote: »
    Really? Don't we really need more this nonsense, demonising men/boys in general.
    did I say all men/boys? Or men/boys in general?
    Do some girls not have a twisted idea of what funny is?
    Yes, some do, but did I get an answer as to what the girls actually wrote? Not yet. We were told that there was a 'similar' list and that the boys were popular afterward. Did the girls say they wanted to assault these boys? Did they say they were hot? Was it a 'Golly jeepers, I think he's real neat' list?
    Did you miss the part above about the girls and the whore scribbling?
    By someone who admits that they didn't know what a whore was, just that it was a bad word, and applied it to a teacher they didn't like.
    These particular idiots should be treated as such, not taken as some kind of bench mark or standard.
    No-one is saying that they should. I've already said that if it were one of my family he would be left in no doubt of exactly how unacceptable it was, but that some young men may have used the word 'rape' specifically because it is an emotive word. And unfortunately some older men think that 'I'd rape her' is an acceptable way to say that they find a woman attractive, which may have influenced the boys who instigated this list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

What happens here is one or two idiots who take 4chan too seriously stick this up. And then the other boys row in for the lulz.

Been happening for a long time.

I speaks to the need to discuss these things stupid early, early in Primary school, and outline what's acceptable behaviour - whether the opposite sex can see it or not.

It shouldn't take a couple of days or a janitor to spot these things. The first kid into the bathroom after it was put up, should have known to go to the year head and report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I highly doubt any concerted and premeditated effort to actually sexually assault any girl was ever the intent - it was small boys with schyte for brains is all this is, despite the propensity to actually believe that young Irish boys are out there marauding in rape mobs. We don't even know if the 'list' existed in advance of any one student scrawling whatever filthy reference to assault was present after the fact.

You can be sure whatever little scrote(s) did this are absolutely bricking it and will probably be doing so for years and let it be a lesson their parents couldn't teach them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Do you really think any teenage girl wants to be on a rape list?

Maybe some of the girls could take the view that it was immature behaviour on part of the boys, but I'm pretty sure more of them would be horrified, and some of them might actually be terrified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,908 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

2smiggy wrote: »
    ya send in the Garda CSI team ...

Yep, they'll flush them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,932 ✭✭✭take everything

Jesus that's chilling.
    One of the most disturbing things I've read in a while tbh.

Very disturbing that young fellas today could think like this.

So what do you mean then?

I'm sure you're bright enough to work it out. Integrity has nothing to do with the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Do you really think any teenage girl wants to be on a rape list?

Maybe some of the girls could take the view that it was immature behaviour on part of the boys, but I'm pretty sure more of them would be horrified, and some of them might actually be terrified.

As I said.
    Who knows what their thinking!
    Who knows what teenagers think anymore!?!?
    DOOMED I TELL YA .....

seamus wrote: »
    The first kid into the bathroom after it was put up, should have known to go to the year head and report it.

Teachers pet. :pac:

It’s certainly the ideal that you’d hope would happen. And maybe someday that’s exactly what will happen in this and all schools. But teenage peer pressure, the pressure of conformity, the anti- snitching culture that is so typical of teenage years- just think back yourself - while I couldn’t imagine this happening “ in my time” I honestly don’t know how I would have reacted at the time if it did.

It may well have left a lot of pupils in this school very confused when they saw it- reporting it may not have been to the forefront of their mind. Some may well have been quite scared by it and confused as to how to respond. Nervous laughter may have been the best they could respond with.

but yes, I’d love to see that day too where it’s instantly reported- but a school toilet is not a nice online After Hours forum with a report button beside it ;)