Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Anyway having trouble getting on their site ?

lawred2 wrote: »
    https://www.thesun.ie/news/2412879/richie-sadlier-referendum-on-the-eighth-amendment-is-about-handing-back-a-basic-human-right-to-women/

If if only it were that simple Richie.

I would hope a political podcast on second captains would a give a more rounded discussion on the issue than Richie's take.

Why is this in the SC thread?
    Maybe because Richie recently took part in a SC podcast on the rape trial and consent and other "gender relations" issues so it's not completely unrelated. But it does seem like a whole other can of worms that I have no intention of getting involved in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Maybe because Richie recently took part in a SC podcast on the rape trial and consent and other "gender relations" issues so it's not completely unrelated. But it does seem like a whole other can of worms that I have no intention of getting involved in!

His personal opinions on the 8th amendment have nothing to do with Second Captain's content. Nothing whatsoever.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Dunphy had another cut at Ken this evening.

Can't wait for round 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,826 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Dunphy had another cut at Ken this evening.

Can't wait for round 2!

What he say? On Game On was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

He was slagging off Ken's piece on Guardiola, also said he doesn't understand some of the words he uses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,826 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I thought Monday's football pod was brilliant. Loved the 'OCD Pep' bit.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭jones

Thought that was gas aswell. Very funny. I love how he describes Klopp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,760 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Patww79 wrote: »
    The idiot that jumps in with both feet to reply and has to be told what quotation marks mean is priceless.

The lad who tells him to get a dictionary because of Ken quoting another's is of "decodify" despite the article literally explaining that it isn't a real word and that one could only surmise what said other (Ferrán Adrià, I think) was trying to say.

Few days behind but just got to Ken wishing McGregor would turn up at the Masters..

Actual laugh out loud moment. It's the deadpan delivery. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,783 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I'd love to see Dunphy and Ken go at it again. I listened to him on 2fm last night and I'm giggling at the prospect of Ken responding. That's this months €5 well spent (I hope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

How stupid is Dunphy in fairness? How could he really have an issue with that article? Giving out about Ken's use of language, for Christ's sake... what kind of a man-child is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

He's right to give out about Ken's language, Dunphy's is much more better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Arghus wrote: »
    How stupid is Dunphy in fairness? How could he really have an issue with that article? Giving out about Ken's use of language, for Christ's sake... what kind of a man-child is he?

It sounded like he didn't actually read it.

Nokotan wrote: »
    It sounded like he didn't actually read it.

I reckon that was probably the case, which makes his reaction even more Dunphyesque and even more stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Holy god i hate the clips of football commentators screaming into the mic. Why do they persist with playing these clips.

Beersmith wrote: »
    Holy god i hate the clips of football commentators screaming into the mic. Why do they persist with playing these clips.

Yeah I find those pretty annoying too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Beersmith wrote: »

I loved it. So they're doing it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Nearly up to 10k subscribers. Guess it will happen quite soon.

9,974 patrons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What the story with the Dunphy business?

When they had him on, it was so bland I didn't even listen to all of it (and I even listen to the rugby coverage).

But when they were covering his recent nonsense, they seemed to think he was a f*ckin eejit, and weren't exactly shy about it.

All very strange.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    What the story with the Dunphy business?

When they had him on, it was so bland I didn't even listen to all of it (and I even listen to the rugby coverage).

But when they were covering his recent nonsense, they seemed to think he was a f*ckin eejit, and weren't exactly shy about it.

All very strange.

I think they gave Dunphy the perceived
    appropriate of respect when they talked to him. He deserves it to an extent, he's had a hell of career in journalism, to be fair. They were probably also conscious that for all his tough guy posturing and shoot from the hip waffle, Dunphy actually has a very thin skin and hates having to answer for some of his nonsense.

End result: bland interview.

But I can't blame the lads for laughing at him this week. He made a fool of himself.

He probably didn't read the article; clearly didn't understand it; used garbled English to question Ken's writing ability, like a child and then had the arrogance, after spectacularly missing the entire point of the piece, to say he'd been trying to "deconstruct" it: you have to read it first Éamon.

What. A. Flute.

Arghus wrote: »
    Ifor all his tough guy posturing and shoot from the hip waffle, Dunphy actually has a very thin skin and hates having to answer for some of his nonsense.

I've always had this impression too; he seems hyper-sensitive to any perceived slight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I've always had this impression too; he seems hyper-sensitive to any perceived slight...

Same here. I remember listening to Game On one night, and he lost the head with Alan Cawley, because he had the audacity to criticise Dunphy for something he wrote in one of his articles (can't remember what, but remember it being ridiculous at the time)

I remember a story about Dunphy going absolutely ballistic over a harmless little dig in a gossip column; I'd better not repeat it here in case m'learned friends are reading...but yeah, you can sort of understand a guy from his background would be sensitive to public schoolboys sneering at him behind his back, but he's been part of the 'media elite' himself so long you'd think he'd be a bit more relaxed about that stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭quad_red

Eoin questioning Ken’s exasperated rage at Mourinho’s style and tactics not being questioned in the way Pep’s are now (after Ken has been at the vanguard of absolutely thrashing Mourinho and his record, his approach, his ability all season etc) was a keeper moment.

And Kens ‘well, yeah’ response.

Around the time of the 2011 election he was on a panel show with Fintan O' Toole and an academic, Dr. Elaine Byrne, talking about the state of the country. Dunphy was giving it the usual both barrels: the place was a shambles, worst than the Third World, what we need is a revolution...you know the rest.

Now, Ireland did seem in pretty rag order at the time and there was no doubt there was some truth in what Eamo had to say, but there was equally no doubt that a lot of it - most of it - was him playing to the gallery and engaging in fanciful rhetoric, because he fancied himself some sort of sage of the age.

Dr. Bryne had obviously heard more than enough at that time of middle aged media types going on and on, talking like they were ready to storm the Bastille and doing precisely fck all about it - other than turning up on every channel and newspage to do yet again more talking about all that needed to be done. She put the question to the two men: If Ireland is so in need of change, revolution even, and if you seem to know all about how to enact that change then why don't you put your money where your mouth is and get politically involved, rather than just mouthing off constantly?

Rather than try to refute what she had to say. Rather than making a case for commentary about a situation that can have its own value aside from political action - y'know debate 101.

Rather than all of that, Dunphy threw a tantrum. How dare someone have the neck to question him! And there was definitely a tone of how dare this nobody, this ... woman! come into my realm of TV pubtalk and put it up to me. You could tell she rattled him because she called him out on his bullsht and he did not like it one bit. He talked down to her like she was an idiot child and made himself look like a pompous ass. He could have took what she had to say with a bit of class, disagreed with her even, but his tone was bullying and condescending.L

It was a minor incident but it stuck in my mind, I thought it said a lot about how Dunphy responds to criticism or disagreement: not well. He's a total spoofer and doesn't like being reminded of it.

That's not to say I absolutely hate the man. I don't. He's entertaining in small doses and that podcast he has is actually pretty good, for some reason he displays some humility and thoughtfulness. But his football analysis is absolute drivel and it has been for years. And it turns out that his analysis of other people's analysis is worst of all!