Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

alps wrote: »
    K.G. wrote: »
    The exact figure is 3.6%of an increase

No wonder the country is full of cows.....I hope both of them are good....
    If your clever you should be able to work out the numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

If your clever you should be able to work out the numbers

Got it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Cow calved this morning fine fr heifer calf. Went and milked the cow and came back up calf nowhere to be seen. Fecker went off thru two barriers and into the dry cows. Of course I had to carry her out then wouldn't walk at all. She's grand born a bit too late but a tad tight on heifers so will see how she goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mooooo wrote: »
    Cow calved this morning fine fr heifer calf. Went and milked the cow and came back up calf nowhere to be seen. Fecker went off thru two barriers and into the dry cows. Of course I had to carry her out then wouldn't walk at all. She's grand born a bit too late but a tad tight on heifers so will see how she goes

Many left to calve now?

17 left i think, 9 of those likely the first week of may. Only 2 or 3 fr to land rest will be aa. Only aa stock bulls this year. When ye starting ai? Thinking April 20th here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

17 left i think, 9 of those likely the first week of may. Only 2 or 3 fr to land rest will be aa. Only aa stock bulls this year. When ye starting ai? Thinking April 20th here

Gone out to May 1st here last 2 years and delighted with it. Going on the parameter of MCD 40 days before magic day..

It was taking us far too long after calving to allow cows a full feed at grass, which I believe was not benifical either health wise or financially.

We've produced more kg MS since moving from 20th April..

However you need to be really smart with the heifers especially if you are selling some in calf, as buyers ow really only want feb calvers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭straight

Calves are a very bad trade this year. I've about 20 aa's left to sell. Would it be worth keeping them until maybe July or August?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

straight wrote: »
    Calves are a very bad trade this year. I've about 20 aa's left to sell. Would it be worth keeping them until maybe July or August?
    straight wrote: »

Throw them up on donedeal, you'll be surprised what extra you'll get in the yard over the mart from a lad wanting genuine healthy stock, averaging 240 for fleck bulls at 3 weeks and 250 plus for wh/bb bulls, talking to lads their a disaster in the marts

Trade was better today I think, 4 wk old fr bulls 130. Id say hold till 6 weeks and let em off then any longer and you may not get much more for them. Sold calves and yearlings from 7 months to 13 months last week and ranged from 390 to 550

alps wrote: »
    Gone out to May 1st here last 2 years and delighted with it. Going on the parameter of MCD 40 days before magic day..

It was taking us far too long after calving to allow cows a full feed at grass, which I believe was not benifical either health wise or financially.

We've produced more kg MS since moving from 20th April..

However you need to be really smart with the heifers especially if you are selling some in calf, as buyers ow really only want feb calvers..

My calviing spread is poor enough at the min and with the Feb calving cows I lost last year im thinking so start slightly earlier. Would hope to have autumn calvers and heifers served and hold early and do my best then with the spring ones

Trade was better today I think, 4 wk old fr bulls 130. Id say hold till 6 weeks and let em off then any longer and you may not get much more for them. Sold calves and yearlings from 7 months to 13 months last week and ranged from 390 to 550
    What breed were those weanlings.

Oldest were fr that made 550, 2 simx made same money but they were black and white so prob came against em. Rest were angus range of ages and sizes smallest ones were back on where they should be but caught on space had hoped they all Would have been out with a month before selling but this spring put paid to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Is it possible get a automatic calf feeder by grant?

Ground soft again after last night's rain, cows staying in till 2moro. Only one paddock in "dry" half of farm left. Will need some serious drying to get into wetter half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Is it possible get a automatic calf feeder by grant?

I don't think so. I imagine a lot of lads would be looking at them if they were in TAMSII

Ground soft again after last night's rain, cows staying in till 2moro. Only one paddock in "dry" half of farm left. Will need some serious drying to get into wetter half

My cows haven't been out since Easter Sunday. They aren't even bawling to get out anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Cows out by day yesterday and today here. No choices left to spare what's left for the drys. A dry week would make a huge difference here but we'll deal with what's given, I suppose.

April tenth was being given as the turn around date when the weather would improve. Was raining here earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

whelan2 wrote: »
    April tenth was being given as the turn around date when the weather would improve. Was raining here earlier.

Plus a cold north east wind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

I think it was wishful thinking to some extent. While the temperature has certainly improved, it looks like there's no end to the wet ground conditions for a while yet.

Anyone on wet ground under pressure for feed are going to have to make some tough decisions, realistically cow numbers need to be dropped and any passengers cleared out, the spiel about it taking up next week is wearing thin, been the same line been rolled out since February, it would take a brilliant summer and autumn to anyway undo the financial damage that's occurred on farms and replenish feed stocks

Oldest were fr that made 550, 2 simx made same money but they were black and white so prob came against em. Rest were angus range of ages and sizes smallest ones were back on where they should be but caught on space had hoped they all Would have been out with a month before selling but this spring put paid to that
    I m low on fr heifer calves this year and hd s heifers are not making great money so i was thinking id rear maybe 20 herefords and sell on next spring and transfer the money into bulling fr heifers,i reckon bulling heifers will be a soft trade next year as fellas will be well sick of milking cows by the time this year is over.i was thinking if you had herefords to sell the first week in a normal april you might get 2 € a kilo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

I see over in the weather forum that continental warm air hits Ireland in about 8-9 days time so that should improve things dramatically on ground conditions and growth

I m low on fr heifer calves this year and hd s heifers are not making great money so i was thinking id rear maybe 20 herefords and sell on next spring and transfer the money into bulling fr heifers,i reckon bulling heifers will be a soft trade next year as fellas will be well sick of milking cows by the time this year is over.i was thinking if you had herefords to sell the first week in a normal april you might get 2 € a kilo

Hard to judge off this spring, If you have the space and ground may do fine if you can get an even bunch. The spread of ages and Lack of facilities along with the spring came against me if I could have split them 4 ways they would have done better. Tb was the only reason I had them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Total so far this week is 37mm and still raining away.
    Giving dry next week with temps of 26-28*.
    Ground is swimming.

Over 400ac of wheat with flag leaf peeping...no fert or chems on any of it yet. Lovely.

Another load of hay for ye this morning.

A friend has around 600t of washed spuds for sale @ €6/t collected.
    PM if interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭White Clover

Total so far this week is 37mm and still raining away.
    Giving dry next week with temps of 26-28*.
    Ground is swimming.

Over 400ac of wheat with flag leaf peeping...no fert or chems on any of it yet. Lovely.

Another load of hay for ye this morning.

A friend has around 600t of washed spuds for sale @ €6/t collected.
    PM if interested.

Is the hay coming in as a back load dawg or is there a truck going out especially for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Farfield

I'm up North and my cows went in by day and night early September and they have'nt been out since - not even for an hour. Totally unreal. Fields are absolutley saturated and it just hasnt stopped raining since August last year. A normal 5 month winter has turned into at least 8 at this stage and the 10 day forecast is giving heat but still more rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

jaymla627 wrote: »

A lot of farmers on dry ground are as bad off or worse for feed and growth than lads on wet ground. Planning for a short winter is a risk and dry farms similarily will need a lot more silage and some less stock going forward. What's to stop us getting another spring like this? The last spring crisis was only 5 years ago.