alps wrote: » K.G. wrote: » The exact figure is 3.6%of an increase No wonder the country is full of cows.....I hope both of them are good....
K.G. wrote: » The exact figure is 3.6%of an increase
K.G. wrote: » If your clever you should be able to work out the numbers
Mooooo wrote: » Cow calved this morning fine fr heifer calf. Went and milked the cow and came back up calf nowhere to be seen. Fecker went off thru two barriers and into the dry cows. Of course I had to carry her out then wouldn't walk at all. She's grand born a bit too late but a tad tight on heifers so will see how she goes
Mooooo wrote: » 17 left i think, 9 of those likely the first week of may. Only 2 or 3 fr to land rest will be aa. Only aa stock bulls this year. When ye starting ai? Thinking April 20th here
straight wrote: » Calves are a very bad trade this year. I've about 20 aa's left to sell. Would it be worth keeping them until maybe July or August?
alps wrote: » Gone out to May 1st here last 2 years and delighted with it. Going on the parameter of MCD 40 days before magic day.. It was taking us far too long after calving to allow cows a full feed at grass, which I believe was not benifical either health wise or financially. We've produced more kg MS since moving from 20th April.. However you need to be really smart with the heifers especially if you are selling some in calf, as buyers ow really only want feb calvers..
Mooooo wrote: » Trade was better today I think, 4 wk old fr bulls 130. Id say hold till 6 weeks and let em off then any longer and you may not get much more for them. Sold calves and yearlings from 7 months to 13 months last week and ranged from 390 to 550
K.G. wrote: » What breed were those weanlings.
Icelandicseige wrote: » Is it possible get a automatic calf feeder by grant?
Mooooo wrote: » Ground soft again after last night's rain, cows staying in till 2moro. Only one paddock in "dry" half of farm left. Will need some serious drying to get into wetter half
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Cows out by day yesterday and today here. No choices left to spare what's left for the drys. A dry week would make a huge difference here but we'll deal with what's given, I suppose.
whelan2 wrote: » April tenth was being given as the turn around date when the weather would improve. Was raining here earlier.
Injuryprone wrote: » whelan2 wrote: » April tenth was being given as the turn around date when the weather would improve. Was raining here earlier. I think it was wishful thinking to some extent. While the temperature has certainly improved, it looks like there's no end to the wet ground conditions for a while yet.
Mooooo wrote: » K.G. wrote: » What breed were those weanlings. Oldest were fr that made 550, 2 simx made same money but they were black and white so prob came against em. Rest were angus range of ages and sizes smallest ones were back on where they should be but caught on space had hoped they all Would have been out with a month before selling but this spring put paid to that
K.G. wrote: » I m low on fr heifer calves this year and hd s heifers are not making great money so i was thinking id rear maybe 20 herefords and sell on next spring and transfer the money into bulling fr heifers,i reckon bulling heifers will be a soft trade next year as fellas will be well sick of milking cows by the time this year is over.i was thinking if you had herefords to sell the first week in a normal april you might get 2 € a kilo
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Total so far this week is 37mm and still raining away. Giving dry next week with temps of 26-28*. Ground is swimming. Over 400ac of wheat with flag leaf peeping...no fert or chems on any of it yet. Lovely. Another load of hay for ye this morning. A friend has around 600t of washed spuds for sale @ €6/t collected. PM if interested.
jaymla627 wrote: » Anyone on wet ground under pressure for feed are going to have to make some tough decisions, realistically cow numbers need to be dropped and any passengers cleared out, the spiel about it taking up next week is wearing thin, been the same line been rolled out since February, it would take a brilliant summer and autumn to anyway undo the financial damage that's occurred on farms and replenish feed stocks