What happened to your Debs date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

She's married in Australia I think.

Sent her a friend's request a few months ago, she deleted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

My debs was in 94 she's married now, to a big heavy bloke who goes around in tracksuits.
    Nothing wrong with that, but she often used to say she'll never end up with a guy who turns into an alcoholic who's overweight and does Fck all....
    Ironically she's hot a great top of the scale public sector job and he's spending a percentage of it down the local bookies...

Another lady I went to a debs with, still looks great, stops for a chat sometimes and happily married to a guy who's a responsible adult....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

We ended up moving in together and it lasted about 5 years. I think he's engaged and living abroad now. Feels like a lifetime ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭GuessWhoEh

My debs was 8 years ago.
    Wasn't the best to be far. Was seeing a guy at the time who everyone absolutely hated. He wasn't the best of people in fairness. Was from Spain, started my school in 5th year and just immediately made enemies. Course me being 17 at the time and taught he was the best thing since sliced bread.
    Needless to say, my debs night was ruined because he kept starting fights and I broke up with him the next day. We stopped talking for a few years and recently got back talking.
    He's on the dole and currently on the run (so he says)
    I, full time job, car and in my own place.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

He was my boyfriend at the time, we broke up a few months later. He's married with two kids now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Eh, no idea! She was a mutual friend of a friend. Wasnt that bothered. jerked off with the schools senior midfielder in the jacks tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I ended up getting so drunk I got kicked out of the hotel, leaving her alone in their all night. In the end my parents were called to pick me up as I couldn't look after myself, she ended up staying with some friends if I recall correctly.

Never spoke again. Think she ended up as a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

LirW wrote: »
    Went with my sister, she's doing grand!

(As a sister-sister duo)

Did you drop the hand at the end of the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

He is sitting in his armchair in the sitting room with the youngest on his lap :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Didn't bring my gf at the time to my deb's as I was in the process of stealing her away from another lad who would be there.
    She told him she was sick that night.

I brought one of my friends instead and we're still friends 12 years later although we don't see each other too often.

Went to the gf's debs a few weeks later. Broke up with her about a year after and haven't spoken since. Found out she got engaged a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Last time I seen her we were both on stage that night but these bullies from the school had rigged up a big bucket of pig's blood over her head and dropped it right on top of her.

She went nuts and using telekinetic powers (which I didn't even know she had) she destroyed the school and then went home and killed her own mother with rakes of knives.

We're still together now and whenever I tell people that story they always say it sounds like the movie Carrie. But no, this happened to us in Ballinasloe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Try_harder wrote: »
    Eh, no idea! She was a mutual friend of a friend. Wasnt that bothered. jerked off with the schools senior midfielder in the jacks tho...

Dutch rudder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,723 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I went with a friend who had left the school year before, she was great craic and had a lovely time, she lives in Qatar with husband and a baby still vaguely in touch via Facebook.
    That was also about the last time I went on a date with a woman :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Lot of weirdos with issues on this thread

Just because you got wasted and wounded...

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I brought a woman I had been with a couple of times beforehand. We were good friends beforehand and I had already asked her. That summer hit and the heat was turned up.

She went away to the Gaeltacht (she was a year below me) came back the week before. Had a good night we kept at it for the rest of the Summer until we went our separate ways.

She's in London now and I always make the effort to meet with her when she's home. So much time for her. Our Summer would have ended any friendship so it's nice that we weren't kids about it and just got on with our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Never had one. London born and educated, we didn't have American influnces.

Passive aggressive much?...... :)

(I'm pretty sure you have both American influences and debs in the UK).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭blindside88

Married her, 5th wedding anniversary later this year. Couldn’t be happier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

A friend of mine brought a horse to his debs along with his girlfriend at the time.

Turned out the hotel didn't like the idea of a horse being brought into the reception which in itself was fair enough.

Things went downhill after that between the Gardai being called , teachers overreacting and his girlfriend spending the night crying her eyes out.

Anyhow nowadays he's a mechanic running his own garage and much calmer.
    Him and the horse are no longer together.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I decided last minute to go to mine. Asked a friend. She is still a good friend. She just had her 20 year anniversary with another good friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

Being a very shy 17 year old I was told that a girl in my class was mad about me and that I should ask her to my debs. I didn’t think that she liked me and the “will he/won’t he ask her?” debate was rampant for ages in the class, so much so that I thought it was a joke and she was going to say no to me. In the end I asked her best friend to go with me instead as she was far more approachable and she had a boyfriend so I was under no pressure to please her on the night. It was a simple turn up, have a few drinks and deliver her safely back to her boyfriend unharmed mission.

It turned out that the girl who did want me to ask her really was mad about me and didn’t take it too well. She ended up asking my best friend who was in a different school. It turned out to be a decent night and I ended up scoring my friend’s date whilst we left my date alone for the night. She was bored and wasn’t up for much dancing and messing around as she had a boyfriend.

My friend was annoyed with me over scoring his date so he got tooled up and ended up scoring mine! She felt guilty the next day and told her boyfriend all about it. My best friend ended up getting a hiding in a hurling match a couple of weeks later as my date’s boyfriend got his revenge.

I speak with neither of the girls any more. The girl who I brought is now working for a large multinational in a very good position whilst the girl I scored ended up as a scientist I think she’s living in San Francisco now. She comes home once or twice a year and I somehow always bump in to her on the same weekend every year (big social event in our home town) and always have a good chat. She’s a very nice girl and there’s always lots of flirting going on even after all these years. I often wonder how things would have played out in both of our lives if I had just asked her to be my date instead of how things actually played out. I thought she was gorgeous but didn’t think the feeling was mutual. We all headed our separate ways after the Debs and not many of our class have remained in contact, well apart from being Facebook friends, but I still often think about the decision I made when I was 17 and how different things may have been. She was gorgeous then and she’s gorgeous now (and single) and she was always great fun. She went to Wales to college the month after the debs and due to family issues at the time she never came home so things wouldn’t have worked out then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Couldn't care less about her. B#tch stabbed me in the heart a few weeks later. Worse thing was I saw it coming, but even then I didn't expect it to be as direct as it turned out to be.

^ Had a profound effect on me though, haven't trusted anyone ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Did you drop the hand at the end of the night?

lol! only you could wonder about something like that! hah

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Were happily married.
    ‘Twas a mere 30 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Motivator wrote: »
    Being a very shy 17 year old I was told that a girl in my class was mad about me and that I should ask her to my debs. I didn’t think that she liked me and the “will he/won’t he ask her?” debate was rampant for ages in the class, so much so that I thought it was a joke and she was going to say no to me. In the end I asked her best friend to go with me instead as she was far more approachable and she had a boyfriend so I was under no pressure to please her on the night. It was a simple turn up, have a few drinks and deliver her safely back to her boyfriend unharmed mission.

It turned out that the girl who did want me to ask her really was mad about me and didn’t take it too well. She ended up asking my best friend who was in a different school. It turned out to be a decent night and I ended up scoring my friend’s date whilst we left my date alone for the night. She was bored and wasn’t up for much dancing and messing around as she had a boyfriend.

My friend was annoyed with me over scoring his date so he got tooled up and ended up scoring mine! She felt guilty the next day and told her boyfriend all about it. My best friend ended up getting a hiding in a hurling match a couple of weeks later as my date’s boyfriend got his revenge.

I speak with neither of the girls any more. The girl who I brought is now working for a large multinational in a very good position whilst the girl I scored ended up as a scientist I think she’s living in San Francisco now. She comes home once or twice a year and I somehow always bump in to her on the same weekend every year (big social event in our home town) and always have a good chat. She’s a very nice girl and there’s always lots of flirting going on even after all these years. I often wonder how things would have played out in both of our lives if I had just asked her to be my date instead of how things actually played out. I thought she was gorgeous but didn’t think the feeling was mutual. We all headed our separate ways after the Debs and not many of our class have remained in contact, well apart from being Facebook friends, but I still often think about the decision I made when I was 17 and how different things may have been. She was gorgeous then and she’s gorgeous now (and single) and she was always great fun. She went to Wales to college the month after the debs and due to family issues at the time she never came home so things wouldn’t have worked out then.

Drop scientist girl a facebook message, see where it goes. What's the worst that could happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

I actually never gave him another thought. Probably married off to another farmers daughter the sad muck savage he was.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Being shy and a bit antisocial in school, I was unpopular and therefore didn’t get asked to the debs by anyone (and knew that I’d likely be turned down if I asked anyone myself).

School was fun. :rolleyes:

Wish I’d followed my instinct and not gone to the Debs. It was pretty crap. I did get the shift off someone else’s date though. Understanding the unpopularity a bit more now... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Didn't go. I didn't drink and girls in my school seemed suspicious of not drinking. I don't think I was ready for girls at that stage anyway. I ended up spending my night working at my uncle's petrol station so my cousin could go to my Debs instead :pac:

Didn't have a girlfriend in secondary school at all. Only got with one girl during school and I can't remember her name or what happened to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭fergus1001

she went on to become a teacher and she's still with the same arsehole 10 years later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,970 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Didn't go.. back in the day I was rather quiet and shy anyway and times they were tough in the 80s/early 90s.

Was somewhat gutted at the time, but seeing as the reunion a few years later was about 10 people who I didn't know, and I haven't spoken to anyone from school since then, I don't think I missed much.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Emer.

She had a late 80's perm and drank Ritz.

Never laid eyes on her since.

This sounds like part of a Pulp song. Please continue.