Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened to your Debs date?

• 09-04-2018 10:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I was reading this mental story a while ago and it got me reminiscing about my own debs date back in 2003.

It took me a good ten minutes to remember his name. He was a friend of my friend's boyfriend because I went to an all-girl's school and knew the total sum of 2 boys by the time the debs rolled around. Ah the innocence!

Pretty sure I wore the face off him half the night between all the sambuca and shots of aftershock. Did a quick facebook stalk and he looks the exact same, though he hasn't updated his profile pic since 2010. Doesn't look like he's married yet, but then maybe he's just not a social media kinda guy. Good for you Rowan!

So what about you? What became of your debs date? Did you marry him/her and live happily ever after? Did you have a quick fumble on the night, never to set eyes on him/her again? Did you meet the guy/gal in an awkward encounter at the water fountain at work ten years later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

He was a lad that hung out in our group so I just asked him along. I haven't seen him in years and can't actually remember his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'm damned if i can remember her name. Not even her first name. I only asked her because my mate wanted to ask her mate and her mate wouldn't go on her own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭jimbobalob309

She died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

She ended up in a dull, lifeless marriage to an a**hole. Our 5th wedding anniversary is coming up soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

She died

Ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Was seeing him for a while beforehand, naively thought I was the only one seeing him (i wasn't...) he was a total player.. Finished with him not long after the grad.. He's married with a kid now, still looks the same! I'm married to lad I met 5 months later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

She married my best friend. I was best man at their wedding and am god father to one of their kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

We were close friends since childhood, neighbours and we remain close friends (just realised we've been friends for 30 years!!) He was a great laugh at my debs, had a fantastic night.

Both married to different people, I attended his wedding and he came to mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Never had one. London born and educated, we didn't have American influnces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Emer.

She had a late 80's perm and drank Ritz.

Never laid eyes on her since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Jesus was 17/18 years ago,
    Used to hang around with her and her mates as a teen , haven't seen her in years so no idea what shes up to,
    She was sound so probably still is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Mine broke her hand on the night when we went to a nightclub afterwards and her boyfriend showed up. He went to the bar to take a few swings at the most innocent fella in the whole school mistakenly thinking he was me. Saw her once in the 25 years since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

She's happily married with children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'd met her during the summer after the leaving and before the Debs. She was from a different town.

We ended up going to the same college. On the first night out there I saw her, said hello and she blanked me.

I asked our common friends what was up and they said the same thing happened to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Aiyana Noisy Crab

went by myself in 2005

I sat beside her at a talk twenty years later and didn't immediately recognise her.

She introduced me to her husband as a school friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I didn't go to mine, my boyfriend at the time was a good bit older than me and was all "I'll go if you reeeaaaaaalllly want me to but I'll feel so uncomfortable" and like a sap, I went "No, it's fine, we won't go."

He was a big, fat (like, morbidly obese), disgusting, manipulative asshole but unfortunately it took me another two years to see that. (Well, I could see that he was fat, but the rest of it.)

We have a mutual friend on social media and every so often she likes to disgust me by showing me pics of him. He's still morbidly obese and presumably still a manipulative asshole.

To this day, I'm sorry I didn't just go to the debs on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Never had one. London born and educated, we didn't have American influnces.

You are thinking of the 'prom' in America perhaps?

'Debs' is an abbreviation of Debutantes Ball - which comes actually from the BRITISH social season.

But yes, it is stupid and you missed nothing whatsoever.

Can barely remember him, we were in a brief relationship, the things I do remember are that he came from a wealthy family and he wanted me to meet his mother on the night of the debs so off we go. I get introduced to his mother who was drunk and had issues with alcohol and the housekeeper, being a bit young and green I had never come across people with alcohol issues before and was very shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I went with my boyfriend at the time, I was meant to go to his to his too 10 days later but he dumped me in between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

WAs my boyfriend at the time. We broke up when I went away to college. On the night we didn’t stay long cos I had a room upstairs :D

He’s dead now. Crashed his car into a pole drunk driving a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

There was so much trouble at the debs( cops called) the year before us that we didn't get to have one in our year.
    Did i miss anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I think she's in London, last I heard.
    I wish her well in her future endevours, though I have never seen her since the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

Myself and four friends all went as a group with no dates. A couple of the group were asked, and considered it for the sake of having a date, and another panic-asked a really unpopular guy but he amazingly told her no because he didn't want to just be a fill-in date. My respect for the guy increased after that. But we all agreed screw the 'date for the sake of it' element and went as a group.

My 'boyfriend'* at the time was meant to come to mine, but he was in a different county and it would have been awkward, so I excused him from coming. By the time his rolled around, he had a different girlfriend. He's still one of my best friends 13 years later, and he's currently happily living in Japan with his (new, Japanese) girlfriend.

* We were like 16/17 and in different counties, it wasn't really a relationship. We just dug each other because we each thought the other was cute and amazingly awesome compared with many of our peers. The amazingly awesome is why we're still friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

After university , she moved to America , been married three times since.

Our debs relationship lasted longer than one of her marriages , three months.

A nice girl , mad when gargled though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I brought my then girlfriend. We had been going out for about 6 months at that stage. We stayed together for about 4 years in total. Just after we broke up she was set up with a guy (think it was her sister in laws friend and was a way of getting her back on the horse from what I heard). About a year later they moved to Australia together and have been there since (about 10 years). They are married and have a kid now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

kylith wrote: »
    WAs my boyfriend at the time. We broke up when I went away to college. On the night we didn’t stay long cos I had a room upstairs :D

He’s dead now. Crashed his car into a pole drunk driving a few years ago.

jesus that's shocking, poor lad
    _Roz_ wrote: »
    Myself and four friends all went as a group with no dates.

I remember the absolute PANIC when it came to having to ask a lad to go with me when I knew no lads and had the confidence of a typically awkward 17 year old. Retrospectively I should've just gone along with my mates and not had the headache of having to babysit this random guy all night. Nice fella all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

Engaged to mine now, We also have a 2 year old :). We were going out for 2 years before the debs even!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Summer In the City

15 years later and we're married. We went to her debs 16 years ago first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Dunno, didn't have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 goonbag

Went with a girl I was totally infatuated with, then we had a massive fight on the bus to the hotel where the debs was on. Didn't talk to each other at all for the whole night and I haven't seen her since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

goonbag wrote: »
    Went with a girl I was totally infatuated with, then we had a massive fight on the bus to the hotel where the debs was on. Didn't talk to each other at all for the whole night and I haven't seen her since

Ah jaysus goon that's tragic. Would you not drop her a cheeky facebook message and apologise? :pac:

ETA Can I say how flattered I am that you registered an account just to post this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

We were just friends for Debs in 84. We're married 27 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 goonbag

Bambi985 wrote: »
    Ah jaysus goon that's tragic. Would you not drop her a cheeky facebook message and apologise? :pac:

ETA Can I say how flattered I am that you registered an account just to post this.

I'm too proud, still waiting for her to message me. It'll be any day now I'd say. And yeah, I'm glad this was my inaugural post :pac:

One of my sisters married the person she took to her debs, she was going out with him from the age of 16. I would say it's not an uncommon story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Bit of a weird one, went with my first love, but we had broken up a couple of weeks before. We still went as friends, and had a really nice night together. I went off to college soon after that (she was a year behind me in school), and we lost touch.

We eventually re-connected on Facebook a couple of years ago, and I saw that last week she got married. Must drop her a congratulations message!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Went with a mate to her debs. She got smashed in the face by some lads elbow by accident and had to go home. I stayed like a true gent that I was. Cringe at it now. Debs were awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

It was a Friday night.

Her old boyfriend was a d*ck. He brought a gun to school

I had doubts whether I would go.

She sealed it with two tickets to Iron Maiden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

My debts was in 1995. I didn't go. I had the ticket bought but my date and I ended up booking a Club 18-30 holiday instead to Ibiza. We're still together.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Married him and bore 2 of his children :) we'll be 8 years married this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Toots wrote: »
    Married him and bore 2 of his children :) we'll be 8 years married this year.

Ah don't be so hard on yourself, I'm sure they find you interesting enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Asked an out of town girl who was very pretty. She brought her mother and granny down to see her off and I had my brother playing chafeur. On the night she broke out in hives all over, which luckily didn't affect the night in the slightest. She got married recently and I liked the post on fb. The grey area between friends and acquaintances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Mine was my teenage love. The first guy to proper break my heart.
    So I had been to his debs the year before but he dumped me that summer ad he was going away to college. To say I was heartbroken isn't an exaggeration.
    Anyhow my debs was a year later so I invited him back because I still had feelings for him...but the magic had gone.
    He was now a college boy and I could tell he was distant and didn't have the same feelings for me.
    That was in the 90s.
    I have no clue where he is now but I know it's not back at his home town. Don't know if he's married.
    I always hold him in my heart with a lovely nostalgia because at 16, that is magic but now if we met it would be polite chit chat for 5 minutes I'd imagine as we have nothing in common or aything shared since way back when.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No debs in our school but all the LC class went for a few scoops in the pub.

Was going out with someone at the time so was with her, last I heard she was in London and married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I believe he went home with another girl from my class after the night was over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I went to mine with a lad that I was friends with in my class although going by the way his older sister went on in the house and taking the photos, I think she thought we were together which was awkward. :/:) Not sure what he's doing now.

Also went to a debs with a neighbour who i grew up with the next year because he didn't have anyone to take. There was no romantic interest in each other, just good friends. Havent seen him for years but he was a lovely fella and is married now afaik. Met his older brother out a while ago and he was laughing saying there's still a picture of us on the night up his mother's house :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

Mine was a guy I'd been dating for about a year and a half; really it was well and truly over by the time my debs came around. He was forever cheating on me. Pretty sure he was seeing someone else at the time of my debs (didn't stop him fooling around with me though...) and just came with me to honour his commitment.

Never saw him again, although we share a mutual friend on Facebook, so I can see that he's living abroad and managing a bar. Seems to have been engaged at least twice over the years, although never married from what I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

Didn’t go to mine. Spent that evening sitting in a small cafe in Barcelona sipping glasses of beer imagining the chaos. Best decision I ever made ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Went with my sister, she's doing grand!

(As a sister-sister duo)

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyyesno

When did the debs first become a thing in Ireland out of curiosity? I remember it was already well established by the 80''s.