Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great run today, fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

OOnegative wrote: »
    1.26.11 for a PB of 5 mins 28 secs, not the 1.25 I was hoping for but over the moon with the time and performance. I cramped badly over last 3k but not blaming that for not getting the 1.25. I left it all out there today & I can’t do anymore than that. Thank you all very much for the well wishes the past few days, why I love this place so much.

Ah here! Congrats on the PB, I'd take that in a heartbeat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

CPC Loop Den Haag 2018 - 1.26.11(New PB)

When i found out i was moving to Holland this was the first race Coach L recommended to me, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CPC_Loop_Den_Haag. The late great Sammy Wanjiru ran a world record for the half marathon in 2007, and if it was good enough for Sammy it was good enough for me!!

I'm normally very good at remembering the races i've ran, but this was a complete blur, felt like it was over in an instant. I''ll try put some of it together. Up and got the porridge into me and then hung aroud the house nervously, butterflies in my stomach were unreal, till it was time to get the tram into town for the 2.30pm start. Got to the Malieveld at about 1.30pm and the place was thronged with thousands of runners, 10kers just finishing and half marathoners waiting to race. Got into the starting pen early enough and took my place at the very top of it but when the pacers took there place i was to far back as i was behind the 1hr 35 min pacer who was in the pen ahead. I had no qualifying time to get myself into the faster pens in wave 1 unfortunately, bang on 2.30pm we were off.

First half mile was spent weaving in and out of runners that had zero business starting where they did, but thats all part of racing. I settled down then and got into my running, passing plenty still and moving well. The support was excellent with supporters on the route giving runners plenty of encouragement, hearing my name shouted in a Dutch accent sounded strange. Just short of 5k i got a good shoutout from Dermot McDermott who appeared to be pacing a few runners from Sligo AC. Moved on and went through 5k in 20.03.

Feeling great and full of running i remember little of the next 5k only as we approached 10k a runner ahead reminded me of Murph_D(sorry D) as he was dry retching badly, i moved by him and few steps later heard the remnants of his stomach hitting the road. The facial expressions of some of the roadside supporters told the story, through 10k in 40.08.

On towards my sons school we then turned left towards the beach and the Haven, i remember passing the 13k marker and thinking for first time this is starting to hurt a bit, ignored it though and kept moving and the pace did not suffer. Picking off more runners that had started out to quick still which kept my mind focused and off the growing pain hitting 15k in 1.00.31.

We raced through some streets out around the beach and the pinch started to grow even more, i ignored it as best i could hoping i'd gain another wind and it would go away but that never happened, then bang on 18k my right hamstring cramped badly, i stepped off the route to stretch it out that cost me a good 30-40 seconds till i got back running. I couldn't push as hard as i would have liked as when i tried i could feel the hamstring about to cramp again. I felt like i was crawling but remember looking at my Garmin and i was still running 6.40 pace.

Spotted the left turn for the finish ahead and tried to increase more, no the hamstring bit forcing me to slow again. I turned left for the finish and seen the clock creep over 1.25 into 1.26 as i approached the finish line, over the line in 1.26.11 and a very satisfied man. I missed my target but i can honestly say hand on heart i left every bit of effort i had in me out on the streets of The Hague on CPC Sunday. A new PB of 5 min 28 secs and a sub 90 minute performace that was a long time overdue.

Now i have to not get lazy like i normally do after a big goal race, its over and done with now, move onto the next goal which is The Royal 10k at the end of May, i start a 6 week plan for that in a few weeks so i will have another target to focus the mind on then. This week will be all about easy running and nothing more. 40 odd miles for my week i won't bore ye with the other 27 i ran. Thanks for all the support and well dones again, ye are all a sound shower :D:D:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Super stuff :D Well done again. How's the hamstring today?

Still sore, quads are in proper ribbons though. Hate living in a house with stairs!!!

At least you have a nice shiny PB to make the pain more bearable :) Look after yourself until you're fully recovered!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Glad to have been of some, eh, assistance, B!

I would like to point out however that I have never actually puked during a race - maybe I'm not trying hard enough. :pac: Also dry retching is pretty common from what I can see, it's just that most of those afflicted seem reluctant to admit to it!

But it's not about me - that's a great performance especially with the hamstring trouble. You really do know how to leave it all out there. Kudos.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Glad to have been of some, eh, assistance, B!

I would like to point out however that I have never actually puked during a race - maybe I'm not trying hard enough. :pac: Also dry retching is pretty common from what I can see, it's just that most of those afflicted seem reluctant to admit to it!

But it's not about me - that's a great performance especially with the hamstring trouble. You really do know how to leave it all out there. Kudos.

Cheers D, the one time I raced with you I never heard any dry retching, we must have been taking it to easy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

superDDooper.:D Great running and great report. Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great stuff B congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

In my best Dutch accent....fantashtic raching :D:D:D

Well done B. Delighted for you.

RedRunner wrote: »
    In my best Dutch accent....fantashtic raching :D:D:D

Well done B. Delighted for you.

Good accent!!! Cheers R.

Bit of housekeping required here me thinks:

Week 12th-18th March 2018

I ran the huge total of 10.50 miles the week after the half, two reasons:

1. I had a few niggles bothering me, pain in my left achilles that would flair up every few weeks for few days then go away and a pain in the sole of my right foot, not PF as i have suffered from that before. This was more like there was bruising on the sole of the foot but there wasn't, this like the achilles would come and go.
    2. I had promised myself a down week after doing the half as i was shattered if truth be told.

Monday 19.3.18

5.15 miles Easy@8.30min/miles in 43min 48secs

Easy run around BVP and Westduinpark, nothing to report.

Tuesday 20.3.18

w/u, 10x400m@5k off 45secs rec, c/d

With all the talk on the Strava Superhero's log about hills and undulating routes i thought i better pay heed and do something similar myself. Headed for the running paths in the dunes to do these and found the session very enjoyable. Few of the reps were a bit hot pace wise but for the most part i think i got them in the right pace:

5.40/5.53/5.49/5.52/5.44/5.52/5.50/5.58/5.54/5.52

7.83 miles for the whole run.

Wednesday 21.3.18

Rest

Thursday 22.3.18

6.05 miles Easy@8.32min/miles in 51min 35secs

Another easy plod around Bosjes Van Poot and Westduinpark and home, nothing to report again.

Friday 23.3.18

w/u, 5min 10k, 5min HMP, 5min 10k, 5min HMP, 5min 10k, c/d

Totally underestimated this session, thought it would be a sinch to do :o. It was blowing a gale out doing this so again with undualtions in mind i decided to do this around the running paths circling Bosjes Van Poot. Theres a nice little climb around one side of it. First 10k rep was fine but i died a death after and struggled through the remainder of the session, wind played a small part but a session i felt i should have been a lot more comfortable doing.

The missus hit nail on the head somewhat later that evening when she said it was the first bit of decent fast running i had done since the CPC and that was going to effect me in someway, think she was spot on to be fair. Reps for session were:

6.06/6.30/6.10/6.30/6.10

The paces were there or there abouts so that was something when struggling, 9.15miles for the day.

Saturday 24.3.18

7.10 miles Easy@8.23min/miles iin 59min 31secs

A first trip down to Zuiderpark since the CPC in the spring sun. Done two big laps of the park and back home, some fatigue in the legs from previous days run but loosened out after a mile or so. Very enjoyable run.

Sunday 25.3.18

Rest, eldest had an all day birthday party to attend so no chance to run.

A shade over 35 miles for the week in my first proper week back, happy with that but will get my normal 6 days in this week and get 40 plus mile in which i hope will the minimal norm from now on. Oh and achilles and foot feeling good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Hey B,

Slacking again of late keeping up to date so made the effort today.

A fantastic performance for the 15/10km and HM. Brilliant racing and going. Well done.

As for the ingrown hair I'm sorry I missed that. I love picking at things. Try tea tree oil next time.

aquinn wrote: »
    Hey B,

Slacking again of late keeping up to date so made the effort today.

A fantastic performance for the 15/10km and HM. Brilliant racing and going. Well done.

As for the ingrown hair I'm sorry I missed that. I love picking at things. Try tea tree oil next time.

Cheers A, tea tree oil would sting like fcuk no? I’m a man remember!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Cheers A, tea tree oil would sting like fcuk no? I’m a man big baby remember!!

FYP :D

Cheers A, tea tree oil would sting like fcuk no? I’m a man remember!!

No, it shouldn't do. Try it with a cotton ball or those ear things that are perfect for ears but not to be used for ears, what are they called, cotton buds?

Monday 26.3.18

6 miles Easy@8.30min/miles in 50min 59secs

Bog standard easy run around BVP and Westduinpark then back down Laan Van Meedervoort and home, all good.

Tuesday 27.3.18

w/u, 3x800m@10k(60 secs rec) + 10x1min@5k(30secs rec), c/d

Usual 2 mile warm up down to Zuiderpark before starting the faster stuff. From the outset this was tough, tough, tough!! It shouldn't have and i couldn't figure out why, i had to stop the watch completely after the 800's to get my breath back, good 5 minutes before i stated the 1min reps, had the pull the plug before the 8th one ended as it was proving much to difficult to get into 5k pace, 10k pace was even a big struggle:

800's: 6.04, 6.10, 6.04
    1mins: 5.53, 5.53, 5.53, 5.55, 5.54, 5.55, 5.55, 6.10(plug pulled)

Figures for 1mins may look god but dont reflect how tough they were, another bad session, this one not fully finished :(:(:(.

Wednesday 28.3.18

6.15 miles Easy@8.30min/miles in 52min 16secs

Another jaunt around BVP and Westduinpark, legs were tired for first few miles and took longer than normal to loosen out. Not the most enjoyable run ever.

Thursday 29.3.18

w/u, 3x2k@10k + 5 secs(500m recoveries), c/d

Out towards the dunes to do this in the sun, warm up was laboured and not as fluid as i would have liked. Wanted to use the rolling terrain of the dunes to do this so as to make it a bit tougher :rolleyes:. First one was into the breeze towards Kijkduin and was horrible, i was ragged and must have looked a picture trying to keep pace. Recovery flew past and into second one, continued on past Kijkduin into breeze but had to stop twice on this one as i was goosed!!

Turned around then and again the 500m flew by, the last one was again a big struggle but i done the whole thing without stopping, rolled onto the grass instead of active recovery. Stayed there till i was able to breath correctly again before i ran home once more with my tail firmly between my legs once more :confused:. Splits were:

6.14, 6.12, 6.13

Again paces look good but this was a total sufferfest!!

Friday 30.3.18

5.35 miles Easy@8.43min/miles in 46min 37secs

The body was sore before i even headed out to do this, and the run made it no better, the effort was a struggle at the pace i was running and i was sweating a storm up. Glad to get home. In bed that night by 8.20pm(7.20pm Irish time :eek::eek::eek:) feeling horrendous.

Saturday 31.3.18

Rest, spent day in Rotterdam, mostly walking around the zoo. Feeling ok, but not 100%.

Sunday 1.4.18

Day in bed/couch sleeping on and off, once more feeling terrible. No Easter eggs :eek:.

34.31 miles for the week and only 5 days running again but an explanation i hope for the poor performances in the last 3 sessions i ran with the way i'm feeling. Still far less than 100% as i type this, its not a cold or vomiting sickness, a strange one i can't put my hand on. I have decided to forgo the 6 week 10k plan and instead just run a few 5/10k's with zero expectations just go out and race and see how i go. I have PB'd in every race i have ran this year and i know that's a trend that can't continue. I have finally decided on my marathon plan for Cologne, have gone with the Level 3 plan from the BAA, its a 20 week plan that is broken down into 4 stages, a 3 week prep phase, 6 week Half Marathon phase, 9 week Marathon phase and 2 week taper phase.

It starts on the 21st of May and will again give me something to fully focus the mind on and be disciplined about. Have 2 build up races planned, the Mullingar 10 mile in July and Tilburg 10 mile in September.

And so the illness eventually showed its head, another septic throat and no running for rest of the week!!

Rest and recover well. Don't return until ready.

I hope you have antibiotics for the throat, nasty dose.

Hope you're back running soon. Take it easy :)

Sounded a bit like man flu but septic throath sounds even worse get well soon mind the body :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

For the first four sentences, I thought that quote must be from Donald Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

just catching up with logs B. A belated "Well done" on your HM triumph. Get well soon.

Well the past two weeks have been far from ideal, am only now fully getting over the septic throat that as usual turned into a chest infection, the doctors over here don't give out antibiotics for illness at the drop of a hat so i had to fight it unaided. Suppose its good practise as we may be a little to dependent on antibiotics in Ireland.

There was then the sudden passing of my wonderful mother-in-law last week, if there ever was a definition of a lady, she was it. She lived every one of her 83 years to the fullest, a tough Donegal woman who loved life. I'm going to miss that coffee cake!!!

Back on the road on Monday again with just a week of easy running planned.

Sorry for your loss x

So sorry to hear that B condolences to your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

So very sorry to hear about your family's loss B. No doubt that her influence will continue to be felt. Take care on all fronts.

Monday 16.4.18

6.25 miles Easy@8.54min/miles in 55min 34secs

First run in 16 days so kept the pace well down, quick tour of Bosjes Van Poot and Westduinpark and back home.

Tuesday 17.4.18

Rest, first time in long time the missus was off during the week. Went to town, had some lunch & a few nice Dutch beers, lovely!!

Wednesday 18.4.18

7.10 miles Easy@8.40min/miles in 61min 29secs

Down to Zuiderpark for two big laps of the park and back home, 25+ degrees while i was out and i was a sweating mess by time i finished.

Thursday 19.4.18

6.25 miles Easy@8.40min/miles in 54min 11secs

Same route as Monday but not the same temperature, 25+ degrees once again and under the shade in the forests it was melting, sweating even worse than day before.

Friday 20.4.18

7.10 miles Easy@8.40min/miles in 61min 33secs

Man the heat, again upwards of 25 degrees out doing this, it was National Sports Day for schools today and i passed at least 4 schools who were out running a race as part of there activities. Our eldest came home and told us he had done workshops in judo, parcour, soccer and gymnastics as part of his day. If a country twice as small as Ireland can manage this surely we could :confused::confused::confused:.

Saturday 21.4.18

8.75 miles Easy@8.25min/miles in 1hr 13min 36secs

Up and out the door by 7.30am but it was still nearly 20 degrees at that point, down past Europol and the World Forum up Scheveningseweg towards the the beach that looked glorious in the early morning sunshine. On towards the harbour which had a fair few big fishing trawlers moured there, smell of freshly caught fish/shellfish was devine, onto Westduinpark for a quick lap and back home by 9am. Soaked through again when i was done.

Sunday 22.4.18

4.65 miles Easy@8.34min/miles in 39min 49secs

Out late afternoon and again the heat was over 25 degrees and humidity was unreal, decided to keep this to 40 mins max as a result. Few laps of BVP and home and i was again destroyed with sweat, man i can't'handle the heat!!!

So 40 miles of all easy running on the nose for the week, will keep this week all easy to and add another few miles onto the weekly total. Have scrapped the BAA plan to for Cologne.

I studied it and it just didn't sit well with me what was on the plan, so i have FINALLY decided its the 18 week P&D 55-70 mile plan. I like the look of this and am currently engrossed in Advanced Marathoning to try get the best out of it and myself. Advice from previous P&D advocates would be hugely appreciated