Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,957 ✭✭✭threeball

Let this be the last year KW is in charge as we've made no progress under him.

What's improved is the players available.

We had an extra man yet we were still kicking it long and losing theirs.

They were holding onto the ball like they had the extra player.

When year after year you have players doing what Conroy done with that goal chance you know the coaching is poor.

No point wasting another year with him in charge... should have been sent packing after Tipperary hammered us.

Completely fed up seeing us being stunted by someone who doesn't understand the modern game. The kick and catch days playing off the cuff are over.

Will you cop on. Excellent display in the final of division 1 of the national league and every post has been a moan.
    Every Galway person should have been delighted leaving croker today. Light years away from where we were and only finding our feet. Big future for this team. Is kw the perfect manager... No. But I give him credit for what he's done. We did a lot more right today than wrong and we'll learn from it. Should be a long expensive summer ahead for Galway fans and I for one welcome it. It's been 2001 since we were last in this position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Let this be the last year KW is in charge as we've made no progress under him.

What's improved is the players available.

We had an extra man yet we were still kicking it long and losing theirs.

They were holding onto the ball like they had the extra player.

When year after year you have players doing what Conroy done with that goal chance you know the coaching is poor.

No point wasting another year with him in charge... should have been sent packing after Tipperary hammered us.

Completely fed up seeing us being stunted by someone who doesn't understand the modern game. The kick and catch days playing off the cuff are over.

I usually agree with your kick out analysis but it's complete tripe today. Our own kick outs were superb today. Fair play to Lavelle.

Bar Eoghan Kerin, Conroy has been our best player in the league. I have some laugh at everyone giving out about him, and then you challenge them to ask what other midfielders around him contributed and he didn't. He's the highest scoring midfielder in Ireland and has been for a while. Granted the odd stupid moment like the left footed shot late today but that's a small trade off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I usually agree with your kick out analysis but it's complete tripe today. Our own kick outs were superb today. Fair play to Lavelle.

Bar Eoghan Kerin, Conroy has been our best player in the league. I have some laugh at everyone giving out about him, and then you challenge them to ask what other midfielders around him contributed and he didn't. He's the highest scoring midfielder in Ireland and has been for a while. Granted the odd stupid moment like the left footed shot late today but that's a small trade off

Wow, is Conroy really the highest scoring midfielder? Wouldn't have thought that. Thought Conroy did well today, fought very hard and won a lot of frees. He did give an awful ball into comer at an important time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I'd say Lavelle is nailed on for number 1 after today. If he'd a bad day today, power may have got back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I'd say Lavelle is nailed on for number 1 after today. If he'd a bad day today, power may have got back in

2 mighty saves.kickout needs some practice I think.needs to get the ball away quicker at times but overall I was impressed with him today.after the first ten minutes he had a few crucial touches and you knew looking at him he was going to cope well today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

As positive as I've been come out from Croker in the last 15 years. The red card was maybe the worst thing that could've happened to us as we seemed to make really poor use of the extra man and rarely attacked in waves that the Dubs utilised to kill us off. That said the referee was so pro-Dubs it was crazy. It didn't cost us the game but there's certainly black cards and frees in that we didn't benefit from whereas Dubs got lots of softies all day long. Dubs also were absolutely clinical when they were in space and we dallied an awful lot of good momentum away by Cooke and Brannigan going backwards.

Thought Cathal Sweeney deserves immense credit as somebody who gets very little praise on here. Best opposition we've played under Walsh and he was excellent in that first half. Just died for the cause and ran his arse off.

I hope the lads and management gain a lot from this. We gave a good account of ourselves against the best in the country and have an extra game that Mayo won't have come May.

Also fairplay to Conor Devaney. Really classy thing to mention at the end of the speech and the excitement in that Rossie match alone was worth admission.

Wasn't a moral victory today. They're unbelievable and don't miss at all but we looked like we belonged as opposed to being a smaller team that lived with them for a while. Thought Bradshaw was immense, along with Comer. Plenty to improve on from the rest but that's good. More positives than negatives

Wow, is Conroy really the highest scoring midfielder? Wouldn't have thought that. Thought Conroy did well today, fought very hard and won a lot of frees. He did give an awful ball into comer at an important time though.

No science there but someone mentioned it on Twitter recently. I'd challenge it with Enda Smith possibly but he's more of a forward. From play, can't think of anyone else from the top teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

A gouge or not, not looking for debate a simple yes or no, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

ArielAtom wrote: »

Gouge yes.
    And MDMA also got the card.
    Refs are brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,010 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Looks more like a fish-hook than a gouge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

When is Val Daly's young lad due to come back?

Can't believe some of the negativity here from the Tribesmen. Just lost a league final by 4 hard won points to the best team of this generation. Competitive throughout. Players able to come off the bench and make an impact. Comer starting to look like a proper talisman. Obvious improvement to come. Most counties would give their left one to be in that predicament after today to be honest.

Will be a long summer for the Galway GAA supporter. Bit out there, but I'm predicting both the hurlers and footballers to lose in the AI final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

Why are you looking for a yes or no on a still shot of an incident with no context of the ‘incident’ in play? Away with your **** lad, you’re acting the bollocks.

When is Val Daly's young lad due to come back?

Can't believe some of the negativity here from the Tribesmen. Just lost a league final by 4 hard won points to the best team of this generation. Competitive throughout. Players able to come off the bench and make an impact. Comer starting to look like a proper talisman. Obvious improvement to come. Most counties would give their left one to be in that predicament after today to be honest.

Will be a long summer for the Galway GAA supporter. Bit out there, but I'm predicting both the hurlers and footballers to lose in the AI final.

I’m gonna say I’m predicting the hurlers to lose the semi finals and the footballers to win outright.just a feeling.
    Galway footballers are in a serious position heading into the championship and today has improved their chances I reckon.they should be plenty focused in training after today and chomping at the bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭megadodge

I was quite impressed by Galway today. I thought they were very competitive, physical and intense throughout but possibly tired towards the end.

In the first half they really had Dublin's kickout under pressure while Lavelle's were such an improvement on last year.

On form right now, I'd say Mayo are getting nervous and I certainly wouldn't rule out the three in a row.

Finally, I just have to say it, and as a Roscommon man I know he's hurt us in the past, but I really love watching Damien Comer in action. He's possibly the hungriest and most legitimately aggressive footballer I've seen in my life. You could actually hear a kind of buzz/murmer from the Hill every time he got the ball. They were scared sh!tless of him. And rightfully so, he causes mayhem every time he's anywhere near goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Gouge? Not at all! Grabbed him by the jaw to prevent getting headed into the bollocks! The Golden Rule : "Protect Your Tool!" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

A simple question requires a simple answer, I’m sure even you are capable of that €&@“;. Please reply like a good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

megadodge wrote: »
    I was quite impressed by Galway today. I thought they were very competitive, physical and intense throughout but possibly tired towards the end.

In the first half they really had Dublin's kickout under pressure while Lavelle's were such an improvement on last year.

On form right now, I'd say Mayo are getting nervous and I certainly wouldn't rule out the three in a row.

Finally, I just have to say it, and as a Roscommon man I know he's hurt us in the past, but I really love watching Damien Comer in action. He's possibly the hungriest and most legitimately aggressive footballer I've seen in my life. You could actually hear a kind of buzz/murmer from the Hill every time he got the ball. They were scared sh!tless of him. And rightfully so, he causes mayhem every time he's anywhere near goals.

Ah Galway were excellent today.I see the bookies still have Mayo favourites to win Connacht but on the basis of what I've seen this spring I'd favour Galway to win on May 13th.

God I wish we'd a player like Comer,he is a ridiculously good player.All hyperbole intended.

A simple question requires a simple answer, I’m sure even you are capable of that €&@“;. Please reply like a good man.

You’re being both facetious and disingenuous. For the second time, away with your ****,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Comer's legs did give up near the end. In fairness to the lad he'd done a power of work by the time that happened. He's a proper talent. The No 3 with the Irish name is another lovely footballer. Galway have a top class back line. In both codes to be honest.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Ah Galway were excellent today.I see the bookies still have Mayo favourites to win Connacht but on the basis of what I've seen this spring I'd favour Galway to win on May 13th.

God I wish we'd a player like Comer,he is a ridiculously good player.All hyperbole intended.
    It’s going to be a humdinger in May! Shows the disadvantage Mayo now face compared to Dublin and Kerry. Galway and Mayo need to approach a peak in mid-May (win or lose) versus strolling to a provincial final and (probable) easy passage to the super 8s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,957 ✭✭✭threeball

Tellyium wrote: »
    It’s going to be a humdinger in May! Shows the disadvantage Mayo now face compared to Dublin and Kerry. Galway and Mayo need to approach a peak in mid-May (win or lose) versus strolling to a provincial final and (probable) easy passage to the super 8s.

More pressure on mayo to go the direct route than us. We have a very young team who can manage a heavy schedule. Hard to see mayo being able to keep the consistently high level the super 8s will demand of all teams. Just a lot of mileage to deal with. I've a feeling it will be Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone and Galway in the semis depending on if the group's allow that of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Galway/Mayo be one of games of the year. Winner will most likely be in semi finals, loser facing one long road back to even make the group stage.

Any tickets!

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Galway/Mayo be one of games of the year. Winner will most likely be in semi finals, loser facing one long road back to even make the group stage.

Any tickets!

When are them tickets out bonnie

Any tickets!

Plenty of room in Elvery's MacHale Park Bonniedog,all comers welcome!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

I’m gonna say I’m predicting the hurlers to lose the semi finals and the footballers to win outright.just a feeling.
    Galway footballers are in a serious position heading into the championship and today has improved their chances I reckon.they should be plenty focused in training after today and chomping at the bit.

No. Just have a nagging feeling it will require regime-change for Galway to make the final step . Bringing on a host of subs with 3 minutes remaining and chasing the game is not good game management. A very creditable performance but I think there's a Michael Farragher-sized vacancy where Paul Conroy is currently. Latter just made crucial mistakes at critical times. Can't understand some antipathy to Shane Walsh in comments; by far our best man to carry the ball today, had a better outing then Brannigan for e.g., the decision to sub him was silly. Ian Burke and Michael Daly are too good to be left off from now on. HB line still needs tweaking; Sweeney/Bradshaw probably can't be played together, too similar and too attacking.

When are them tickets out bonnie

No idea. I'd imagine season and county pass holders and clubs will take up most.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Plenty of room in Elvery's MacHale Park Bonniedog,all comers welcome!:)

I would promise to be quiet and respectful, and thus avoid any disciplinary issues :D

No idea. I'd imagine season and county pass holders and clubs will take up most.

Ah the tickets won't be out for quite a while yet.Start of May I'd imagine,plenty of room in the inn even taking into account season ticket holders and club allocations.

The capacity is circa 38,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

Jesus brolly is painful . So negative about Galway and there defensive approach . Yet when donegal and Tyrone used similar game plans words like superbugs etc were used . Really dislike him .