Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

What a score

Mistakes just killing us.

You need to attack the space at some point... cant just keep going in and out in their 45 or someone will make a mistake.

Another bad mistake again by Walsh before i could even finish typing this.

Last two scores conceded and and few attacks have been poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Take Walsh off ffs he’s at nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Need Armstrong now

Thats what happens when you don't have a kick out strategy.

3 lost in a row and over the bar.

Zero movement.

Dublin then just open space and we're foolishly man marking.
    You need to zonal mark.

Won't be beating teams equal or better if you're losing kickouts because there's no plan on either end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,395 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The ref is having a mare. Definitely favouring Dublin. He's cost Galway a few scores and several Dublin players should have received black cards instead of yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Galway showing well so far, lack of a kickout strategy and simple errors have given Dublin a handy 5 or 6 points - both are things that can be worked on however.

The ref bottling black cards earlier in the game has helped Galway now with that red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭lillielad

Some point by Shane Walsh there...

How the **** are they still being allowed to kick it short with 14 men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

what a save!

Another muppet decision from the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭lillielad

He really should have passed that off, could have been a goal chance on too.

Galway have made some dreadful decisions going forward and it's Dublin that look like they've the extra man at times.

Kilkenny will be auditioning for Fair City next week. A perfect match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

I know the ref isnt helping but there have been some very questionable decisions in the last 10 mins by Galway going forward.

Let this be the last year KW is in charge as we've made no progress under him.

What's improved is the players available.

We had an extra man yet we were still kicking it long and losing theirs.

They were holding onto the ball like they had the extra player.

When year after year you have players doing what Conroy done with that goal chance you know the coaching is poor.

No point wasting another year with him in charge... should have been sent packing after Tipperary hammered us.

Completely fed up seeing us being stunted by someone who doesn't understand the modern game. The kick and catch days playing off the cuff are over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LoveMeSexy

Let this be the last year KW is in charge as we've made no progress under him.

What's improved is the players available.

We had an extra man yet we were still kicking it long and losing there's.

They were holding onto the ball like they had the extra player.

When year after year you have players doing what Conroy done with that goal chance you know the coaching is poor.

No point wasting another year with him in charge... should have been sent packing after Tipperary hammered us.

What are you on about? Team is improving, performances are improving and we just pushed the best team in Ireland very close. With Corofin lads back we'll be a real threat in championship. Quieten down

LoveMeSexy wrote: »
    What are you on about? Team is improving, performances are improving and we just pushed the best team in Ireland very close. With Corofin lads back we'll be a real threat in championship. Quieten down

The players have improved. The coaching has not.

Yes offence but you haven't a clue

LoveMeSexy wrote: »
    Yes offence but you haven't a clue

Dublin won by 4 points and played a huge chunk a man down while also being down a number of All Stars and you think it's a good result or that coaching wasn't the difference?.

Seems you're the one that hasn't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

Getting to an Allianz league final would have been beyond our wildest expectations three months ago. We have to take the positives from that performance - very few can go toe-to-toe with Dublin like that.

Some poor decision making, bad wides and carrying the ball into the tackle cost us.

There is room for improvement in this very talented team. With the Corofin lads back we will be a major force in the championship and we will beat Mayo on 13 May.

Getting to an Allianz league final would have been beyond our wildest expectations three months ago. We have to take the positives from that performance - very few can go toe-to-toe with Dublin like that.

Some poor decision making, bad wides and carrying the ball into the tackle cost us.

There is room for improvement in this very talented team. With the Corofin lads back we will be a major force in the championship and we will beat Mayo on 13 May.

Not long ago we were limping over the line against Waterford in the championship at home. Great to have a good footballing side to get behind again. Fair play to the lads for their effort. Now the real test begins, bring on Mayo!

I completely agree there's improvement in this team but I just don't see KW being the one to deliver it.

I'd have no qualms with the players today either they all tried their best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

I completely agree there's improvement in this team but I just don't see KW being the one to deliver it.

I'd have no qualms with the players today either they all tried their best.

He’s there now so let’s back him and the team . I know Dublin had player sent off but I thought overall we got very little from ref . We are going the right way . Was very surprised Armstrong got no game time ??? Surely a better option then the likes of Flynn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Under Kevin Walsh Galway won their first Connacht championship in eight years, won Division two and in their first season in Division one reached the final
    coming within a score basically of what many pundits are calling one of the best teams in history.

Giving Walsh no credit for that is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Fair play to the lads.huge improvement in their overall performance in past while.they were hungry and gamey looking today.room for improvement but progress none the less. I was proud to watch them and I look forward to seeing them in championship.
    I think they are in a good position after today.kickout now can be worked on. I would question why management were slow again today.no way is Shane Walsh match fit and even though he kicked some scores he was nowhere for a lot of the game.
    And even though I wouldn’t try and use it as an excuse I thought the ref was shocking bad.roll on the championship.galway football is in a good place.also congrats to Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

spurshero wrote: »
    He’s there now so let’s back him and the team . I know Dublin had player sent off but I thought overall we got very little from ref . We are going the right way . Was very surprised Armstrong got no game time ??? Surely a better option then the likes of Flynn

He was injured, not on bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I would have said the same about Michael Donoghue last year and I was wrong, very wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Great to be competitive with Dublin all the way through that game but I don't think we played the last 10 minutes very well albeit the referee was giving Dublin everything down the stretch. Maybe subconsciously trying to make up for the Scully red card.

Conroy ignoring two teammates only to shoot wide himself was a pivotal moment near the end. There was a goal chance on there but at the very least get a point from it but he even missed that.

A few weeks ago you would have taken being very competitive wth Dublin over two games when a lot of people were saying Galway would get hammered in both or at least definitely up in Croke Park.

A few players to come back into the team yet like Ian Burke and Michael Daly. Will be some crowd up in Castlebar on May 13.